Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3263 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okami Requires REALLY Good Fine Motor Skills

posted by PJaesMom (DAMASCUS, MD) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Cute story, but much too frustrating for someone missing well-honed fine motor skills. The brush strokes--particularly the "slash"--were exercises in futility. I still have no idea what I did differently the times it worked vs. the times it didn't work. This means I didn't get very far into the game. Might have been great, if only I could've slashed. <sigh>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect!

posted by HockeyStud (IRVINE, CA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

Okay, so I had seen copies of Okami in various stores ever since I first bought my Wii. Although the cover art was cool and interesting, the game description on the back of the package left much to be desired. And so, I continue to pass this title by. It never occurred to me that - maybe - the reason for such a lackluster game description was simply due to the fact that mere words can't describe how incredible this game really is - and what a surprise I had in store for me when I finally played it - but only after a very high recommendation by a friend of mine.
Okami, in a nutshell, is simply beautiful! I've always had an affinity for Asian Watercolor Art, but I never expected to see it fully demonstrated in a video game. The "softness" of the visuals is breathtaking! Every character and every texture seems hand-painted. And the gameplay itself is concise and simple, despite the two-handedness of the controls.
My only complaint: Much of the dialogue between characters seems to go on far longer than is necessary, but even this is easily overlooked.
In closing - this game is nothing short of amazing! And it deserves a place in your favorite Wii titles. Give it a try - you'll be surprised!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Motion Controls

posted by BmoreBoi (BEL AIR, MD) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I played about 5 minutes of this game before I gave up on it. The motion controls in this game do not work.

Try the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami vs Link progect is a GO!

posted by mudkip (EDGEWATER, MD) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

So your a god stuck in wolf's body with a perverted bug and you have to save the world, SWEET!!!! X3 I've always loved manga and anime so buying this game gave me amazing drawing ideas you couldn't get with a manga book. The colors the style the likeness of Legend of Zelda and the story can give you an exciting feeling and when you finissh the game you scream," KEEP GOING!!!!" The ending made me cry with the emoitions of all the charicters and the ssong Reset (thank you version) made the story feel like you were in it! I really wish Nintendo and Capcom could combind Okami and Legend of Zelda because they would make a powerhouse! All and All 10 goes all the way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would've Liked to Play This on the Playstation 2

posted by Kalueb (NORTH RIDGEVILLE, OH) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game has a great concept and is graphically beautiful. It has a very Zelda-esque feel to it, and I feel that had I been able to play it to it's fullest I would've given a much better score to it. But any game that frustrates you as much as this in control in my opinion loses so much. I gave it a weak score because the controls ruined it. Having to use brush strokes that 85% of the time didn't respond to what you were trying to do causes so much frustration that I finally had to put the game back in the GF envelope to save it from becoming a coaster on my table. I feel that had I not been confined to the gimmick of a Wii wand paint brush game, I would've played this through. Hence the title "Would've liked to play this on Playstation 2". Which I will probably do at a later date. For now, my frustration with Capcom to port a game over from another console without first polishing the controls has forced me to lose interest. Some of you Wii veterans out there may find this review lacking and overly harsh, but I consider myself a fairly good gamer and still put down the Wii sticks for this one. Sorry Capcom, I don't see how critics are raving about this title with the broken control scheme. If a sequel ever comes, please look into it for I wanted to like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by Tdlmacnt (HAMDEN, CT) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This was a pretty good game. It's a lot like Zelda: Twilight Princess though. And for all those moms out there who says that their son can't play this game, trust me when I say this, this game isn't bloody. I should know when I say this because I had to plead my mom to get me this game. But overall, this game is really good but their could be a few minor changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A bit too much of a good thing

posted by Annaski (PARKER, CO) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Okami was a great game that really allowed the player to fully use the Wii control capabilities. The player is involved in drawing and creating things with the Wii remote that directly impacts battles, the landscape, and solving puzzles. However, sometimes the Wii remote would not register completely and I was often frustrated if I was in the middle of a battle or a time-sensitive challenge.
The game itself and the story are wonderful. The creativity of the game and the design are very striking and unique and made playing Okami a very enjoyable experience. I loved the game, but I wasn't expecting it to be as long as it is. Okami is definitely a great game for someone who is looking for a visual experience and does not want an overly complicated or difficult adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Look out Zelda, Here Comes Okami

posted by SirDidimus (CORALVILLE, IA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Although I'm not the kind of person who likes the rpg genre, this game was fun to play. I think I actually enjoyed it more than Zelda just because it was something new. There are a lot of things to do in this game and small quests to undertake and it does a good job to help you not lose track of it all. In addition, the graphics I think used the fully capabilities of what the Wii can produce in comparison to the other gaming systems of this generation of systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oami

posted by samtana (WARREN, MI) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

If you want to read grab a book that's all you will do on this game you find your ridding the same thang over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game

posted by Billio121 (BLOOMINGDALE, IL) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

In this game, Okami Amaterasu, sun god, is sent on a quest with a little sidekick named Issun. The goal is to rid the land of Nippon of Evil and the terrifying three-headed dragon Orochi.

This game is perfect. There is only one bad thing. sometimes, in the middle of battle, the game freezes up and you actually have to unplug the Wii system - you can't just go to the Wii menu, turn the power off or reset! The Celestial Brush is just wonderful to use with the silky-smooth controls, and the graphics are just beautiful. In fact, I loved this game so much that I decided to buy the game for myself! I would say this is well worth at least renting, if not buying the dang game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Long game play and fun but questionable Wii contrl

posted by tougefreak (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Ok I like this game. However, the Wii remote sometimes really make it so difficult to play. It's hard to draw a straight line or when you swing your remote the dam n thing just won't attack especially when you obtain the evasive move, the remote keep jumping away from the enemy for no reason even I am not swinging.

It just becomes worse when you obtain the Tsumugari. I would give this game a 8.5. But since the Wii control sucks. I gave it 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the best games ever! Not for wii.

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

This game should only be played on PS2. It was made for that system and after a year brought to the wii by a different company that obviously rushed and/or didn't care. Please if you have access to a ps2 play this game on that system. It is so much better in so many ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I would usually dismiss it, but...

posted by jather (CONROE, TX) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I would usually dismiss a terrible game, select my rating and move on. But I felt this game was just a ridiculous bore. The beginning is a story that blah blah blah, yes you can skip but come on with it! Thanks, but no thanks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my Okami Review

posted by moonstone (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Okami is one of those rare games that comes out of Japan and is actually good, besides Mario and Legend of Zelda. Okami tells a beautiful story of a small village that is under the rule of the eight-headed dragon, Orochi. One day a white wolf named Shiranui, along with the swordsman of the village, Nagi, fought the dragon and sealed it away. The story takes place 100 years later, when someone destroys the seal by accident and chaos rises over the land again. A new hero arises, a white wolf named Amaterasu, who with the tiny wandering artist, Issun, sets out on an adventure to stop the evil that is terrorizing the land.
Along the way you meet interesting characters, like the cowardly and arrogant Susano, the desendent of Nagi, the handsome warrior, Waka, and the 13 celestial brush gods. In the game, your main weapon is a celestial brush, which has many abilities like the rebirth of plants, controlling the elements, and even making the sun rise in the night. The designs of the enemies are also unique in a way that I can’t quite describe in this review. The designs and the graphics are beautiful. They look like they were taken right out of a Japanese ink painting. The story itself is amazingly detailed and told through beautiful paintscrolls which gives the game an interesting element. The gameplay is smooth, as you use the Wii remote to do most of the attacks and brush moves in the game. A unique twist in the game is that after you beat Orochi, the story goes into deeper detail, and introduces even more villains , leading to the ultimate dark ruler, Yami.
Now, in every video game, there are drawbacks. The celestial brush is very sensitive, meaning that if you don’t do the right brush move, it might take it as a different meaning, or sometimes, it won’t do anything at all. During the side quest where you fight unique demons on a “Wanted” list, your brush stroke has to be perfectly straight while crossing the names out, or else it won’t do anything, and you can’t j

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Wii game EVER!!!

posted by bigdadiben (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

If you own a Wii you must buy this game! The lowest point of this game is fastforwarding through the diaglog, but that's very easy to do. Game play is FANTASTIC! The most inovative feature of this game is the paintbush feature where you can alter reality with a paintbrush. There are so many places in this game where you think "hmmm, I wonder if this would work", then you whip out the paint brush and all of the sudden you've fixed the bridge, made the sun shine, or made a magical forrest grow out of the ground. This game puts me in the mood to drink Saki.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and intriguing with a good story

posted by NifflerX (OAK PARK, IL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

Definitely worth renting, and if you really enjoy it you wouldn't go wrong buying it. The controls for the Wii are pretty good, they take a little getting used to but after a while become 2nd nature. One piece of advise is to definitely keep multiple save games unless you are absolutely strapped for space. There are points of no return in the game, this is especially true with techniques you get as they cannot be unequipped. Specifically I'm talking about the technique fleet-foot. I would highly recommend saving before you get it and trying it out. Some people like, others hate it so much it's worth starting over just to not get it. If you have a save point just before you get it, this isn't an issue. Overall the game is fun, the story is good, and if you like cell-shading the art is beautiful. If you don't like cell-shading, well, then the art won't be so good. As I said, definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9.75 Is More Like It

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Games like Okami don't come very often. It's hard to be innovative, but as Okami shows it can be very rewarding.

The game centers around Amaterasu, (aka: Ammy) a wolf, and its (Ammy was written as genderless) partner, Issun. Issun provides you with the "Celestial Brush", a magical paintbrush that gives you many abilities. To activate an ability, you have to make a certain motion with the Wii Remote. Many of these abilities are fun to use, but several of them feel redundant, and that is the only real negative point in the game.

Most of these abilities are used mainly in battle, which often contains many foes with various weaknesses. Some are open to all attacks, while others require you to break a shelling with one of your abilities before hand. At the end you are awarded Yen based on your speed, damage dealt and damage taken.

The game's story is the best part of the game. The story line is a mix of many Japanese legends, which makes for interesting plot twists and some great characters. While I won't spoil anything, the final hours of the game are some of the best I've played ... ever. You will have to play through some slower points to get there, but the ending makes it all worth it.

Despite its bizarre premise, Okami was one of the best on the PlayStation 2, and that hasn't changed with its move to Wii. It's a great game that everyone (who is prepared for it; it got a "T" from the ESRB for a reason), should give a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Been here before, but it was less fun this time

posted by ronokki (MEDFORD, MA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I have played through this game on the PS2 and only rented it for one reason; to see weather the Wii controls improved the experience at all.
It didn't. In fact it detracted from it for me, but at least the story and visuals are still there.
My advice is to get it on the PS2 if you own one (i would rate it about a 8 on ps2) but if you only have a Wii you could do a lot worse then play Okami.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad, bad, bad

posted by danfwii (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I tried this game based on some decent reviews. Awful game. The story lacks depth, although plenty of time is spent setting up the situation. Terrible graphics, bad controls and generic fighting made this a quick return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A viewtiful masterpiece

posted by Tashientsu (Branson, MO) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

the game my be hard at first but when you get the hand of it, the game is perfect. the places you go and the story is perfect too. will love the music. if you love art you will love the art style of this game. this game has everything.
I have not even beat the game yet. it is really long. the game is not too hard. but still gives a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doesn't feel like a port

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

Okami's praises have been sung by others, and it is a very good game, so I'm just going to add this: unlike a lot of ports for the Wii, Okami feels like it was made for the Wii and Wii alone. After playing it with the Wii controls, I can't imagine playing it on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Great!

posted by Sciurus (HAMPTON, VA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

Okami, surprisingly, uses almost the full potential of the Wii system. Although the graphics are a bit odd, it does go well with the asian theme. It doesn't end quickly, it doesn't get boring, and though sometimes the drawing can be hard to master and get exactly correct, Okami, overall, is a perfect Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Good, The Bad, and The Okami

posted by bmwboy15 (HUDSON, OH) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

To start, I was a little hesitant about renting the game. The color scheme seemed about different for my taste. That perspective changed in a hurry. The game was most enjoyable with the witty remark and memorable dialogue. The plot was excellent and always made you want to keep playing.

I can't say many bad things about this game. No tedious tasks for you to complete or any annoying repeating elements. The only thing I can think of would be that the game was a little easy. Some people won't want to put in the shier amount of time to complete the game. I clocked in 40 hours and loved every minute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nice idea, bad game

posted by burro1 (Smyrna, GA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

Pretty art style, terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great fun you'll love playing it!

posted by Panther82 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

okami...well your a wolf-god that can draw to defeat your enemies, your probably thinking this game doesn't sound fun but it is!! the controls work well on the wii. I this game in order to fight, you paint, it can be a blade or wind or what ever but you paint. you use the wii-mote to do this which is very fluid. You also have other techniques you get later on in the game but it has a great story line, memorable characters, easy controls, huge world, and a great arsenal of weapons. My real only complaint is once you beat it there is really no reason to replay it. Its like a mystery novel where you have to figure out who did it and once you do there is no reason to re-read it. Same thing goes for this game it's great but once you figure out everything there is no reason to replay it, and you can collect about 90-95% of everything the 1st time around. But it is still fun though you should still play it, you'll enjoy it very much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse