Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3263 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OKAMI FOR THE WII IS ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING

posted by jacquel (LA PORTE, TX) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

IVE PLAYED A LITTLE OF OKAMI FOR THE PS2 AND I DID LIKE IT.
SO I DECIDED TO RENT FULL GAME FOR MY NEW WII, WITH HIGH HOPES.

BIG MISTAKE.

THE CONTROLS AIMING WITH THE WII REMOTE IS THE REASON I PERSONALLY HATE THIS GAME OR MAYBE I HATE THE WII TOO.

I WAS ASKED TO DRAW A SIMPLE STRAIGHT LINE ACROSS AND AFTER MY 50TH TRY I CURSED AND GOT SO FRUSTRATED.

MY ADVISE IS RENT THIS GAME ON THE PS2
OR NOT AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

okami

posted by whiteshadow (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I didn't like this game play for like 1mint i stop. I recomment not to rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I don't see it

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I rented this game because I heard such good reviews on it. I heard it was just like Zelda and it has such a unique style of visuals and gameplay and puzzles, but I simply don't have the urge to play any further. I will give this game credit for its art style, it is very nice to look at and looks like you're being put in the center of a Japanese myth. And I like the idea of the celestial brush, it's creative and original. So on paper this game sounds cool, but there's a consistant monotone of boringness. Basically picture Zelda, only made up completely of exploring towns and talking to people. Puzzles are pretty scarce, and when you do find them you finish them in a few seconds. And once in a blue moon you'll get to fight some enemies, but it's over within 30 seconds. Not only that, the attack system feels really awkward at first. You warm up to it eventully, but that's irrelevant. It's one thing when you try to copy something as magnificent as Zelda, but it's another thing entirely when you don't make it as good. Zelda is just one of those once in a lifetime masterpieces that you can't recreate, like the Halloween movies. In a nutshell, this game seems like a decent attempt to copy off of Zelda, but somehow lacks that extra push that makes it as enjoyable as Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, Bad Port

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I Played this game on the Playstation 2 when it came out. It was a great game with a cool art style and fun paint gameplay. This version however is not as good as the original. First of all attacking is done by swinging the wii remote. For anone who has played a wii game like this (The Force Unleashed) you know how unresponsive it can be. Some games manage to pull it off (Twilight Princess) but for this one it doesn't even make sence. If the caracter doesn't cary a sword then there is no need to make the game more imersive by swinging the controller like one. I know you do get a sword in the game but the controlls still don't fit the character. Another big problem with this game is the painting is done with the pionter. This sounds like a good idea but i found it to be much too dificult to simply draw a straight line and have it regester. I may be the only one with this problem though and you may find it easier. Other than the bad motion controls this is a great game. If you only have a wii than you should rent this game. If not try to get the PS2 version simply for better controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

im lazy so no long review trust me if u like or LOVE Zelda get it and if u havnt played zelda (U SHOULD!) and want a good story game and a funny game then....Get It! if u dont have a wii or hate pointing at tv then get it for PS2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the PS2

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I love this game! For me the Wii version of this is better than the PS2. Why? Here are the reasons:

1.) Better graphics: The PS2 just has bad graphics compared to the Wii. The Wii is clearer than any other system.

2.) How the pointer is used: The Wii's pointer is used for brush techniques and has better control than the PS2 joystick.

3.) Better for fighting: Now the PS2 controller just has buttons and joysticks. With looking at the screen for gameplay and using controls for the PS2, sometimes I forget where each button is (BELIEVE ME)!

Both have the same story and plot. With the reasons that I have, rent the Wii version than the PS2. But if you want to rent both versions to see which one you like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best adventure game

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this is by far one of the best games i have ever played it is an adventure game like zelda more like twilight princess only bad thing about this game is that it is hard personally i think it is harder and funner than zelda only bad thing it has a simple combat system but if you like any zelda game give okami a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, extremely well done, but not for me.

posted by NTACos (HERNDON, VA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

It's a good game obviously. Graphics and art are superb. Gameplay is good, but controls could be more self-evident or taught overtly within the game.

Although it's a very adult game in theme, it's written like a game only a 10 year old would have time to actually play enough to get into it. Too complicated - too many places to get stuck early on.

If you're a gifted gamer or have the time of a 10 year old on your hands, you'll be able to get more out of this than I did - and I still rate it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by 1234565 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

This was a great game. I was VERY sad when I had to send it back after I finished it. The game had great art and music. I loved the characters too...even Issun!!! Okami has a well developed story so you can't 100% it in 1 day. It takes more like a couple weeks or even months! If you don't think you'll like this game check out Chuggaaconroy's channel on Youtube. He did a complete play through of it. If you like the Zelda series, you'll probably like this game. Again, Excellent game. 10000000000000000000000000000000000/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by samantha1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

it has good art direction and fun gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Love It

posted by RosiOkami (LA PUENTE, CA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I don't write any reviews at all, but I had to write one for this game. The Wii fit this game just like a glove. You use your controller as a magical brush in this game. You get to fight monsters, 3 types of weapons, find hidden places, puzzles, drawing, humor, drama, An Old Man dancing funky. Its an RPG and fighting game done right. I just can't explain it in words. If you like RPGs like me, you just have to rent it and play it yourself. (Note: you can't buy this game from Gamefly...ITS JUST THAT GOOD:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Motion Controls

posted by Cafiend (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I quit in the tutorial part b/c I couldn't draw a perfectly straight horizontal line through a rock. I dunno if its b/c I only have the Motion Plus and its too sensitive or I'm just a hamfisted lobotomized monkey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Second time's the charm...

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This is the second time I tried to play this game, once on ps3, this time on wii. I didn't get far, but not because I couldn't. I simply had no interest after I chopped down the fruit. Maybe the timing wasn't right, but this games introduction made it seem like the game isn't fun.
This game might be 'filler' material for when everything on the Q is 'coming soon'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get this game!

posted by JustBarr (JONESBORO, AR) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I feel like most of the turn off for this game is the Japanese theme. Okami is heavily based in Japanese mythology. The protagonist is Amatarasu, the god of sun. Several of the enemies are pull from mythology such as the nine tailed demon fox and Orochi. But for this review set all that aside and lets take a look at the game separate from the theme.

The gameplay is very solid. It feels very much like Legend of Zelda games. The game is pretty platforming focused as well as combat. The combat is much better than Zelda in my opinion. Fighting is fast and furious. The trick is to attack when an opening appears and to block with perfect timing. The game isn't too hard or too easy.

The main feature of the game is the brush stroke techniques. Instead of getting boomerangs, grappling hooks, etc... you gain brush strokes that grant powers like revive plants, summon vine, control wind, create bomb, and summon lighting. As you gain these abilities you really do feel like a god. It flows perfectly with the game.

There are a few faults I find in the game. The plot in one the point. There is a big baddie hyped up all game. Finally the point comes to fight this guy. You beat him only to learn you're only half way through the game, it seems like a stretched attempt to keep the game going. Also the character's aren't as well ..... characterized as this game has the potential to. Most of the women look the exact same.

If you can get past these minor faults you have to play this game. Japanese mythology is a great change from Tolkien mythology anyway.

9 out of 10. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good adventure

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

An inventive adventure game influenced by Japanese mythology and a unique art style. It can be said to be similar to a Zelda game (particularly "Twilight Princess", thanks to the whole wolf thing). The combat isn't as much fun as the exploration and puzzle-solving, but fortunately there is much more of the latter than there is of the former. By and large, the game's drawing mechanic works very well with the Wii's motion controls, although it can also be a bit too picky. For example, if you don't draw a circle or a straight line exactly the way the game wants you to, then it won't work. This can make certain puzzles frustrating. Overall, however, "Okami" is a very good game, and I would heartily recommend it to any gamer in search of a quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

PS2 version excellent, Wii version Lacking

posted by lockefox (BOISE, ID) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Let me start by saying that Okami is one of the best games ever produced. I enjoyed every second of it on the PS2 and found it to be a truly inspiring title. If you have not played Okami before, you are doing yourself a disservice.

I was very excited for Okami to come out on the Wii. With some patterns being difficult to make with the analog sticks of the PS2, the Wii seemed like the natural next-step for the game. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed.

First off, I was a little peeved that the art and graphics didn't get a facelift. Though the original graphics are good, their age does show on the Wii.

Second, the controls are wonky. Though that's a general Wii complaint, melee combat is almost unusable, camera controls are in a poor place and the "brush" mechanic is atrocious. The entire reason to put this game on the Wii and they didn't tweak the pattern recognition to be more lenient. I spent 15mins in the intro area trying to get the vertical slash to register as a sword... not to mention using brush based attacks.

I grew far too annoyed with the hindrances to progress far into the game. Having already played the original PS2 version, I have to say that I would vote down this Wii version and opt for a PS2 version if you can get your hands on it. The game is still amazing and life changing... but the Wii version is not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

okanmi sucks

posted by CPROCKS (CLEBURNE, TX) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

this game sucks play it if you want to waste 2 hours of your life ; in conclusion this game SUCKS MONKEY MILK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really?

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Okami starts out like, "O.K! Sun God, beat the evil dragons' butt!"
Then you start playing, and you meet a bug-type thing, he has a brush, that is magical, that can make a sun... wait what? This game is fun if you like white wolves that are mystical sun gods. I'm not kidding.

LAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kinda Complicated

posted by bradtoy (WORTHINGTON, PA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If you like to read every couple of seconds, and you like to be confused, then this game is for you.

Good graphics though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A great and amazing game-for some....

posted by PenArmo (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2002

This game is only for those who have the time and patience to sit through unnecessary, long and contrived subtitled dialogue. If you can overlook or tolerate this, then you are truly going to love it because it is a very unique game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My Review

posted by Palitoman (RIVERTON, UT) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Well I thought i was going to be good but its not that great the story drags to much and some parts in the game it requires for it to be night time and that takes forever it to become night time so in the meantime you find yourself running around in circles. Not that great so i give it a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Leaves much to be desired

posted by drc006 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Okay, so first I should say that going into this game I had an unexpected, and much hated surprise, almost all of your actions are based on this paintbrush thing you have. We will get to that later though, let's start with the base game play, you play as the legendary wolf god, Amaterasu. I thought that was pretty awesome, except for the fact that the developers ruined her image, Amaterasu is known for her nine tails, they did however do well to capture her beauty else-wise. Directionally I had little trouble controlling her, my biggest issue was the camera here, you have a very finicky control of the camera and even when you get the angle you like it's still not so great. As far as fighting goes, it's pretty straight forward, to do anything of significance requires use of the brush witch in order to use, basically pauses all actions (Even the enemies) and allows you to hack and slash using distinct brush strokes. This aspect would be made much better if the enemies could move while you were in brush mode. I was discouraged by the game by this small factor. The brush also controls almost every aspect of the game from crossing that ravine to gaining brush powers. This was immensely discouraging and really broke my anticipation of a challenging game. I have to complement the graphics though, using the cell shading style that the developers did, they managed to create a beautiful landscape in the game which constantly evolves as you progress, this is perhaps one of few redeeming qualities in the game. I also thoroughly enjoyed the puzzle-like challenge the game offered, however it was not what I expected, which was what dropped my like of the idea. All in all this game gets a 10 for graphics, a 6 for game play due to the brush and camera, and as far as the story goes I did not like it at all. If it were advertised as a puzzle/action game, I would have given a better rating. All in all, Ookami was okay, not bad, but not what was expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a long game

posted by bman1234 (CHEYENNE, WY) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

okami is for people that want a long game to play its not a game that would be betten easyly even if u know where ur going it like a 40hr.game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very unique, but also very niche

posted by Kenkaku (LIVONIA, MI) Jul 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

The strongest point, and its weakest, is Okami's graphics. You'll be wowed by this game's presentation. It uses a cel-shaded style to bring an old Japanese-styled watercolor painting to life. Everything is very bright, vivid, and lively. The transition from the PS2 to the Wii also removes all the filters, so everything is even crisper than before.

Everything looks great: environments, effects, animals... but, for whatever reason, the people don't. Imagine The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker's character designs, but with no facial expressions, really annoying and lifeless sounding voice clips, and completely unnatural body motions. Even though Amaterasu moves like a real wolf, the people leave much to be desired. Their heads bob when they speak in a really cartoony manner, and their animations create really bizarre poses and transitions between animations.

It's all just really difficult to swallow, and since Amaterasu is a very realistic, impressive looking wolf, you'd think the people would be designed similarly.

The gameplay mimics the 3D Zelda games almost to a tee, so if you love Zelda, you'll love this game. You move throughout a big world, visiting small locales before entering dungeons. I love the dungeon designs because they're linear, keeping the game's tempo unhindered. Everything is designed just right to keep the game's flow going.

The biggest selling point of the gameplay is the Celestial Brush, where you paint objects to perform actions. It works for the most part, but there ought to be more options for the Wii Remote. Drawing a straight line can be difficult, and though you can use the Z button to straighten your lines, the game doesn't teach you how to do it for whatever reason. Also, the game is very unforgiving with circles; you have to create a loop and make sure that it's perfectly enclosed, otherwise it doesn't work. It takes practice, but it all works in the end.

Though the style is 'love it or hate it,' it's definitely worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting game but........

posted by sgtrichie (MALDEN, MA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

if I wanted to read I would have bought a book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse