Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3281 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty but not fun

posted by tjs381 (ATCHISON, KS) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Even though the colors where nice. the slowness of the action was hard for me to endure. I like a game with a bit more to it than pretty colors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A lot of promise but...

posted by LoneSage (Saint Petersburg, FL) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game does show a lot of promise but the Wii's controls kill it. I didn't get a chance to play it on the ps2 so I was happy to finally play it on my Wii.

I don't know what happened but the controls needed some further work. The combat is very similar to the combat in Twilight Princess when you are a wolf but this game isn't as responsive as Twilight Princess is. I often found myself twirling the Wii mote around and the character not doing anything at all and taking damage from enemies.

The main problem with this game and the reason I didn't want to play this game anymore is the brush stroke part of the game. During some parts of the game you have to use a magical paint brush and draw things to either slash something, or create something but again it is very unresponsive.

You would think that drawing a straight line across the screen would be easy but the using the Wii makes it very frustrating and making the easiest side quests or fights longer and more annoying than what they should be.

This game is very unique and I was really looking forward to beating it, seeing how the story progresses and see what else the game has to offer but bottom line the Wii's controls make this game more frustrating than what it should be, if you have a ps2 play that version instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Okami - Much to be desired!

posted by JillShadow (KENNEWICK, WA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

After receiving my Wii for Christmas this year, I was very excited about Okami after reading so many good reviews about it. To my dissapointment, it is NOT the game I thought it would be at all. I have never taken the time, nor have ever felt compelled to write a review for a book, movie, or game, but Okami was just so bad I felt I had to.

1 - I don't know why people are saying Okami's graphics are awesome. To me, the graphics looked like a child quickly scribbled a picture and then I looked at it without glasses on. At first I thought it was my TV but it turns out the graphics are just that blurry and bad.

2 - The sound characters make when talking is SO ANNOYING and not needed. There is also a ridiculous amount of unnecessary dialog.

3 - The controls are horrible (which has also been mentioned many times). Your strokes must be EXACTLY on par or it fails (slash stroke anyone?). Combat is terrible. Again, as another reviewer has stated, sometimes Okami just sits there and does nothing while taking damage.

I really want to like Okami, I really do; however, between the graphics and controls, the game is not playable at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good story bad game.

posted by PtrThLeadr (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game has a really engaging story, a lot of neat quirks, but unfortunately it fails at actual game play. The brush strokes are oddly recognized, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. For example, at one point in the game there is a side quest to draw a bunch of symbols a little girl thinks will be fashion trends, the first of which is a star (The easy kind of star. If anyone has told you the easy way to draw a star, you know what I mean). No matter how many times I drew that star, it was just not recognized. I must have tried it like 100 times, using separate line segments and whole lines. I just gave up in frustration and constant yelling at the game (I did that a lot when I tried to do some of the techniques and using the sword in combat). The last thing is the camera angle. Going into brush mode slightly changes the camera, this wouldn't be a problem if parts of the game weren't as sensitive as a rock. At times, you will find yourself against a monster that has weak points. You tackle it, it glows at specific points, and when you draw a mark on it the camera moves and it doesn't go where you want it too. I am only glad there are a few of them, and they are not randomly spawned.
As for the story, it is above exceptional. It draws you in and the humor is very well done. There was not a single dull moment in the game and always offered a way to skip dialog (Something all games should have.) The dialog is all text and no voices, but you get used to it and it isn't that annoying. To make things short, story and things you can do = awesome. Drawing things = horrible. Combat = not so bad, don't use swords as a main (You can charge swords, and sometimes when you want to swing it if just keeps on charging).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Automated Reading Tutor

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I saw the high reviews for this game and had high hopes. But there was one thing i did not pick up on before renting the game. Okami apparently is the Japanese translation for "text reader". Because you will spend no less than 80% of your time reading text, most of which is pointless and has little or nothing to do with the story. Oh, and while your reading, there is an annoying little 3 second Sim-esque speech sound repeating in the background. The longer the character speaks, the more the 3-second speech sound repeats.

At the beginning of the game I tried to view the 'cut scenes' to learn the story. Well, 30 minutes later I got to take two steps before yet another text based 'cut scene' started.

The controls on this game are, hit or miss at best. When you 'draw' to perform one of your magic-type powers, it must be done in just the right place, at just the right speed, if there are any deviations from what is programmed it, you fail. What makes it worse is that a failure to 'draw' perfectly, is usually followed by another pointless bit of text that you have to skip through before getting another chance to fail.

All in all, the story is not bad. The game however, is not good.

Graphics - 4
Controls - 3 (Much tweaking needs to be done)
Story - 7
Entertainment - -8 (If I wanted to read this much I would get a book, not a "VIDEO" game)

I wish this game had been better. Better luck next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wants to be Zelda... but doesn't quite get there

posted by Jaguargeni (ROSELLE PARK, NJ) May 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of Zelda in most every way: the layout of the world, the gradual acquisition of skills to complete dungeons, the looming omni-monster presence, the art style, etc.

Two huge problems quickly arise when you start to play the game. The story isn't compelling. A good adventure game has a driving story with characters who are interesting and make you want to keep playing to find their fate. This game's characters are in their own little world and have no real bearing on the game. The controls are another issue (many control throws have ensued). The wii controls and their IR are an interesting addition, but more often than not, you have to have exact motions for the game to recognize what you want it to do.

All in all, its worth a play, but a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Unique Ideas, Repetitive Gameplay

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you're an adventure game fanatic, you'll love this game. Otherwise, you'll probably find that it's great for a few hours, then becomes just another typical adventure game, maybe worth trudging through.

On the upside, Okami has a great visual style, an out-of-the-ordinary concept (you play a wolf god, returning nature to a cursed land), and some unique gameplay elements - specifically, you can pause gameplay and draw with the "celestial brush" to use cool magical powers to cleave rocks in half, make flowers and trees grow, shoot mind bullets, and so on. For these reasons, this game stands out as very unique amongst adventure games.

On the downside, the overall game experience is very cliche. You spend most of your time running around talking to people, fighting random battles, or performing mundane tasks (make all the trees bloom, feed some animals...). There's not a lot of action, and the battles are non-challenging. While the celestial brush ideas sounds super-cool on paper, you only really get to use it in very scripted ways to advance the story. In battle, there's one move ("cherry bomb") which really undermines the challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Losses something in translation

posted by Mornstar8 (TINTON FALLS, NJ) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game better on the ps2 than the wii. The controls are not what I thought they would be at all and require more getting used than needed in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Okami Review - Not So Hot

posted by wiigamerev (BOAZ, AL) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Having read raving reviews of the game I was expecting far more out of this game. I did have an amazing artistic style, but that was the only thing it had going for it. Poorly written dialog, a very slow start, and a mediocre control layout were some of the worst problems I found. Any Christian family will want to veer away from this one as there are constant references to false gods.

I found myself completely unable to enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Take this brush and bury it

posted by Jedihoplo (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game looks good. The story is intersting. The controls... Horrible.

The brush strokes work when and how they want to. You want blossom and you get the sun. Forget the fact at one point in the game you need to do the blossom brush stroke numerous times in a row correctly. One mistake and you have to START OVER. Now add in the fact that half the time it decides to do the Sun power instead of the Blossom power both of which have the same brushstroke. If you do it over flora you are supposed to get the Blossom power. If you do it in the sky you get the Sun power. Now think of what happens if you have to do the Blossom storke on a tree that has the sky behind it... Unless you like frustration do not wsate your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just another Zelda Rip Off

posted by Htich575 (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

At first when i got this game i was thinking this should be fun. But after 1-2 hours of playing it i got bored and noticed how similar this game is to Zelda games. They took the fairy idea from Zelda with that little thing jumping on
Amaterasu's head. I can't stress this enough if you're not looking for an adventure similar to Zelda don't rent this game. Actually don't rent it even if you're looking for and adventure game because this game SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

abominable motion controls

posted by regularshowman Aug 3, 2014

Get this game on the PS2, because at least on that the wii-mote didn't constantly punch you with horrifically unresponsive controls, and brush strokes that need to be so precise that even when you DO preform it near perfectly it won't register! I constantly found myself getting in God knows how many positions to see which one would actually let me get the stroke right, and when you have to use the power slash, heh, well God have mercy on your soul!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An acquired taste

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

I'd heard a lot of hype about this game but to be honest it wasn't anything special. Another downside is also something meant to be an upside and that's the wii remote. The brush requires accuracy but the wii remote is far from perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredible Game!!!

posted by gamejerk13 (KENNEWICK, WA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since May 2013

Okami is an incredible game! I love how it uses Japanese lore and mythology. My only problem, the controls with some of the weapons are a tad faulty, save for the beads. But still, it is an awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disgusting port

posted by Sockplay (GOLDSBORO, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I don't how this game get high reviews. Honestly I couldn't stomach more than 15 minutes of this. My largest complaint is the "speech effect" that goes with every syllable of text a character is saying. That was just too annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story and Art but..

posted by ElectricAngel (MADISON, GA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I absolutely love the story and art that would be rated an Excellent. But the 2nd game for the DS is better, the reason why: Because it was on the DS. I say this because of the way you fight, you draw horizontal lines through your opponent which is much easier to do through the DS. Also In the 2nd game you are able to use your weapon with out a limited time. The only problem i have is the fighting,it is difficult and quite frustrating. All in All though it's a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beautiful game, terrible controls

posted by sugacube (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Pretty graphics great story blah blah blah: a game isn't worth playing if the "game" part is a constant frustration. I think the best evidence for my case is the /Nintendo/ Power review (the lowest score on Metacritic) which said, "You should play the original [PS2] game instead of the Wii version if you can."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, Great on the PS2

posted by SeaFang (DELTA, CO) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I first played this game on the PS2 and I simply loved it so I decided to try it on Wii. However, I was dissapointed as I found the motion controlls hard to work with. I still love this game but when I play it again I will play it on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game hampered by bad motion controls

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I have not played this on the PS2, but I can tell you right now that if you have an opportunity to play this without motion controls, do it. If you have a PS3, rent the HD version thats coming out, because, holy wow, the controls can be frustrating.

Visually, this game is beautiful. It looks like a moving painting. The story and characters are charming. The gameplay and game flow is incredible. It feels like and plays like a Zelda game.

The combat is great, when you aren't using Celestial Brush techniques.

Now, anyone who hasn't played this yet, Okami has one major gameplay element that other games do not, and that is using the Celestial Brush to alter/affect the environment. For example, you can paint the sun in the sky to make it day, you can draw a quick horizontal line to cut stuff down, you can draw bombs, make trees bloom, etc.

This is all well and fine, and most of the time its great.

But then, every so often you get to a point where the controls just DON'T LISTEN. You can draw what looks like a wind symbol over and over, and for some reason, 8 times out of 10 it won't perform the action. Then randomly it'll do it no problem. It's got to be the motion control.

And here's my issue with that. The Wii is not super precise. Even with Motion Plus it's not perfect. Okami requires so much precision in all the brush techniques that it becomes mind numbingly frustrating.

For example, someone decided to include these minigame levels where you have to dig to the bottom of this course while simultaneously guiding an NPC to safety. All of this is timed. What's more, is that all of this requires constant use of the brush. Normally, the brush pauses time. Nope. Not the case here. The clock still ticks while you draw. Also, if you run out of ink, it takes a solid 5 seconds to recharge. So the STUPID NPC walks into clear and visible hazards. I almost rage quit countless times from having to re do the same level over because the sensor couldn't pick u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okami

posted by furryguy (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

It's not the average shoot 'em up, high graphics online type of game, it's a laid back, use some skills and look epic, type of game. the best part of this game is using the brush strokes, pausing in mid air, doing some kind of combo attack or blocking right when they bad guy is going to attack, the story line itself is awesome and enterntaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hmmm

posted by ecruz6 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

not as great as i thought. fighting technique with the brush is too difficult. too much narration. kinda perverted characters. just don't expect anything zelda like here. awkward camera settings too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's just the Graphics

posted by PaSe65711 (MOUNTAIN GROVE, MO) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The only reason I am giving this game an 8 out of 10 is because I just didn't like the overall graphic set up. The game play is decent I just couldn't get past the papery cartoon look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by Akumaken (JACKSON, TN) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

First off, i played the one for the PS2 until the console died on me. I love the game on the PS2 and found it very entertaining and puzzles very fun. I really thought that Nintendo did a good job with it on the Wii, but I found the controls very awkward and hard to use. I don't know know if it is just me still getting used to the Wii control design, but I found it hard to play with the way that is was set up. The game itself, i would give it a 6/10. For the Wii design (controls and what-not), I would give it a 4/10. but I am more used to having two joysticks (one for movement and one for camera controls) and the fact that they make you reach across the map of the controller to go from your camera button to your canvas button. It would be better if Nintendo programed the controls to side-to-side movements with the remote and the attack to the Nun chuck add-on like Link's shield in Skyward Sword. Good title on the system if you can get passed the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by vyckee13 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I thought that this game was one of the best games I have ever played!!! ( no joke) I love the visual effect in this game, and how the game just keeps going! It's funny how the characters talk in the game. Also the story at the beginning ( Was SO long) really got to you. You really have to pay attention when it's telling you the story because it's telling you who your character is and what you have to fight at the end. =';'=

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okami is okay

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game is fun until you get to the end, the main problem with the game is the no check book for side-quests, unlike majoras mask. the characters look the same the just suck. the reflector /glaive are not ment for the Wii. The game is not better than all the zelda games combined. overall the is okay but I wasted a month playing with stupid mini-games and idiotic side-quests, with perverted game programers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse