Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3269 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, A must have for the wii

posted by Yousinea (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of Okami back when it came out on the ps2, although admittedly I never got to complete it back then, I had rented it, got halfway through, figured I would just buy it next time I had the money to burn and finish it.

HA, little did I know that Okami would quickly become one of the hardest to find ps2 titles I'd ever seen.
anyway I found it out was comeing to the Wii and was quite happy

First impresson: You start the game out with the Reflector (a disc weapon that functions more or less like your standard adventerur sword) The wii 'shake' fighting is flat out aweful for the reflector, the main problem is that while you 'shake' it counts as holding the button down meaning you more have to do 'timed flicks' there's a huge learning curve there but once you get it down it's not so bad.... although it IS abit hard to keep your timing when you're being attacked.
Once you get your first rosary bead weapon (think whips) you can shake-fight much easier, and set your reflector to the subweapon slot and do 1-hit kills on any enemy stupid enough to fall into the sheilds trap ;p

The brush: When I played this game on the ps2, I admittedly barely used the main feature.. the celestial brush... mostly because drawing with the analog stick is such a chore. The wii makes -most- of the brush techniques SO much quicker and easier that I found myself fighting more with the brush than ever before. Though as someone mentioned, for doing the slash definately use Z instead to make a straight line. (or start making your slash motion, press the A button halfway through and release it before you get to the end of your swing)
In the orignal making cherrybombs was a pain (circle with a line comeing out) but on the wii it's laughably easy. Same for making Wind, it's so fast and easy to do wind now.

Storywise Okami is just all around great, and the game takes atleast 60 hours to beat if you don't rush things and do most of the side quests.

all in all I give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game with some serious flaws

posted by Lilija (UNION BEACH, NJ) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Story is awesome, art style, all that, I wish there was a whole Okami series. It's flawed, though. Great game, till you get to the brush screen, then it's wildly inaccurate, and it become extremely repetitive to try and get things right, just to further the story. The line or circle looks perfectly executed on screen, and you wind up failing. Over and over. Something is seriously lost in translation between the Wii remote and the giant brush on the screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only game to get me into a culture!!!

posted by aquakitten (MISSION, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i first played okami I didn't get it much until i kept playing. Every time i picked up the controls i just felt the power flow though me and cherry blossoms flowing around me, i really felt like okami amaterasu.
There was some disturbing content while playing the game but it was an amazing experience to feel. The brush techniques were awesome too. (especially because I am an artist myself)
The title says all, i got into Japanese culture after playing the game and being blown away while learning some Japanese along the way!
In short, breathtaking and entertaining wait until your child is about 13 or 14 though

- review by 11 year old......i learned the hard way about some content

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best rpg adventure games out there

posted by steve432 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now a lot of people really do not like the wii, I myself believe this is due to the fact the graphics are less then cutting edge unlike the xbox 360 and ps3 but that's just what I myself believe to be the cause of lesser ratings for the most part on the wii.
Now when I get a game I of course examine the graphics but not a great deal i don't really care how "cutting edge" they are or are not but when i saw okamis graphics it made me realize just how cool cell shading can actually look when presented the right way. So this game gets a 10/10 for graphics mainly because the game's selection of how the graphics were presented really matched one of the overall themes of this game which is the beauty of art.
At first when I started to fight using the reflector I was getting so aggravated because no mattter how rapidly I shook the wii remote amaterasu didn't attack constantly but then I realized you had to time the weapon swing right which made me realise how good this game actually was compared to all the other games I've played where you can just swing the remote constantly and basically be a god, not even having to use any skill to take down enemies, thats why this game made me love how you actually had to work at mastering the combination sets and the timed attacks.
One of the best features to this game was the vast character cast, true the characters are usually based off the same model but they also were given very different appearances and personalities which I loved. The quests were hard making this game a great challenge so i didn't spend only ten hours on it and beating it feeling so let down...the game took me 38 hours to beat even when i didn't do all the side quests so the whole adventure was just awesome.
Overall i loved okami it actually was a very good adventure game it was humorous in parts and very serious in others paired with the music it really made me feel heroic(lol ya i know nerdy). I'd have to say rent okami see if you like it. I sure did!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A unique adventure

posted by mhendon (Missoula, MT) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami is truly a beautiful game with a unique art style, a fitting music score, an epic story and memorable (if sometimes annoying) characters. This is the only game I've played that is enhanced by the use of the wii remote. Okami is huge. It took me about 45 hours to explore every nook and cranny and that was with a guide. I enjoyed every minute, as well as the extra art work that came after beating the game.

The only things that detract from this game is that the exposition can sometimes be overly long or repetitious. Some of the battles have the same problem. Lastly, the game sometimes doesn't get what you're trying to draw, leading to some minor frustration. Other than that, gameplay is smooth and enjoyable. I strongly recommend this game.

P.S. The teen rating is no joke. Despite the whimsical art style, there is a smidge of blood, and a smidge of nudity (bare buttocks mostly.) The violence is less disturbing than your saturday morning cartoon however, and a true death is handled seriously with a gravitas that I think is missing from a lot of games. I'd have no qualms about letting a child of mine play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by loudinni (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is, quite simply, the best video game I have ever played. The mix of puzzle and action is perfect.
I also appreciate that if you just want to step back from the narrative for a bit and kill monsters and rack up points, you can. The final boss fights are awesome and I feel that this game is the best use of the Wiimote that I've experienced.
The story is wacky and makes practically no sense, but the fundamental narrative is enough to drive you forward.
The graphics are sensational and imaginative. Using the paint brush as your weapon is a lot of fun.
This is the only game I have ever played three times all the way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adventure worthy puzzle game

posted by Purple71 (ELKINS, WV) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am an old school gamer whose has been playing since Pong! Became addicted to Zelda and now will be adding Okami to the list. I got this game on the advice of the other reviews. If you are into adventure puzzles with a good storyline this is the game for you. This was a hit with my 18 yr. old son, my 63 yr. old Dad (who has just as many consoles as we do) and myself. I am actually going to go out and buy this game we all loved it so much.
The "artwork" anima is something to get use to but the characters are great, funny and the more you play the harder it is to stop for the night. I was glad to finally find another game out there that did NOT have blood, guts, shooting as its main story goal. There are fantasy battles but the main goal of the game is solving puzzles within the adventure. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exquisite!

posted by YukiChan (NEKOOSA, WI) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami will take you on a journey through a beautiful new world, filled with color, nature, and interesting people and missions.
The graphics of this game left me in awe, as did the soundtrack. Each and every color and tree is placed in the perfect spot to make the most eloquent terrains possible. The songs greatly enhance gameplay as well. Each one fits in with any situation Amaterasu may be in, and even make certain scenes anywhere from more exciting to more peaceful.
I found that the controls could sometimes be a little iffy, especially during battle, when you must shake the Wii remote to attack. Painting with the remote is fun, but often doesn't work if you have shaky hands.
Gameplay and storyline were absolutely amazing. With so much area to explore, you'll never get bored with this game, and with the storyline, you'll have a hard time putting that controller down. The storyline allows you to do many missions, yet never gets too confusing. Also, if you're looking for a long game that'll take you a while to beat, look no further.
The battle system worked very nicely, allowing you to move freely within an enclosed space when a battle is triggered. I would rate the boss battles as being a bit easy, but fun all the same.
As you travel through the land of Nippon collecting brush techniques and restoring color to nature, keep in mind how addictive this game gets after an hour of play. I highly recommend Okami to anyone looking to travel the land as a wolf, anyone who loves all things Chinese and Japanese, or just to any gamer looking for a fun new game to occupy their time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I wanna hold your hand.

posted by Deltree (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Capcom has proved why they've been around as long as they have once more. Okami has a cute story and incredible artwork (it wouldn't be right to say graphics, the style is amazing). It's essentially Legend of Zelda, without all the Zelda: Action/Adventure dungeon crawling, a main character that doesn't speak, a rich environment, and plenty of cool powerups as it goes along, oh yeah, and an annoying little sprite that yells advise at you every two seconds. Which brings us to the downsides of Okami. Capcom apparently thinks they're too clever for you, so they've given you a guide who insults you and then gives you a ridiculously huge hint everytime you come up against a puzzle. All in all I can't fault the game all that much as the rest of it is entertaining and quite charming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by Eragon14 (MARIETTA, GA) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games I have EVER played. The controls are great(you don't get something like that very often...)! Everything has a specific button and that's really helpful. The game play is fun and allows you to figure stuff out but gives you helpful hint if you need them. If you liked Zelda: Twilight Princess I think you'll really like this game. Oh and about the graphics its supposed to look the way it does not 3D but not 2D more like a 2.75D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun Game But a Little Long

posted by Arkule (HUDSON, WI) Oct 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami is a very good, fun game. It is a title that does not excel in anything, but when taken as a whole makes for a very enjoyable experience.

The Good:
-Graphics, sound, music. While not great, they work well together and help set the atmosphere of the game.
-Gameplay. Very easy to learn and quite enjoyable. It is simple but remains fun.
-Story. It flows well and keeps me compelled to keep playing.
-Lots of things to do. Even while not sticking to the main story line, there are lots of things to interact with or collect or improve.
-Epic boss battles. These are some of the best boss battles I think I've ever played.
-Difficulty is just right. It is challenging at times but not frustratingly difficult. Most of the time it can be a little too easy, but still remains fun.

The Bad:
-Too long. It feels like it just keeps going and going and does not know when to quit. Ares last too long and seem excessively drawn out.
-Weak Ending. I was quite disappointed at such a weak ending after such a strong story line.
-Annoying characters. They are likable at first, but after a while just become annoying.
-Required mini game. The mini games are not bad, but they are required to progress the story line. Not good at a particular one? Tough, you must do it to move on.
-Camera does not stay where you put it. I prefer the zoomed out view, but after every time you talk to a character, it gets reset to the default.
-Cut scene speed. Sure you can skip them, but I want to watch them and have them just go faster. The text displays very slowly and you can't speed it up.

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience. Fun gameplay and mechanics. If it were a bit shorter it would have been better, as it started getting a bit tedious and annoying near the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Goddess of the Sun, not so much the Wii Remote.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Amaterasu, the sun goddess taken the form of a wolf is once again attempting to save the world. Utilizing the Wii remote, you will control the Celestial Brush to stir up wind, cause the sun to rise, and perform powerful slashes to decimate your enemies. At least, that's how it's supposed to work...

The Wii Remote is responsive most of the time, but in combat it becomes more than a chore to accomplish the slash (holding B and A, whilst attempting your best to draw a straight line.) It's much easier than it sounds, often leaving you frustrated. While playing, I'd recommend holding B, but use the nunchuk + Z to draw. YOU WILL THANK ME!

Other than the aforementioned flaw, this game is a gem. The story is one of the best I've played through, rivaling that of Zelda. If you enjoyed Twilight Princess and Galaxy, definitely give this a try.

Graphically, the cel-shaded style of this mythical Japanese story is awe inspiring. There are few games that make you truly appreciate innovation in their art style, this being a glaring exception.

The audio in the game is paced with the story and therefore a boon to the overall experience. It crescendos during dramatic moments and soothes in others.

Okami is one of the best games of the last few years and certainly a welcome member of the Wii library. If it weren't for a few slip ups a la the Wii Remote, this game would net a 9.5 or 10. Regardless, don't miss out on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Howling Good

posted by gamerfan06 (ANAHEIM, CA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Two years ago Okami for the PS2 was largely an under-apreciated gem.

Now that its on the Wii this is definitly your best chance to catch up on one of the best games of last gen.

Gameplay: Ill be honest. If you have ever played a Legend Of Zelda Game you have definitly played this before. But that doesnt make it any less special or fun.

Controlls: Although you would think the point and click interface of the Wii would be perfect for this game, its sorta not. It works, its just in accurate some times but nothing that realy detracts from the game.

Visuals: Although its not technicly in HD It Doesnt matter. The Visuals are soo impresive and colorfull and just intreaguing to the eyes that you will not even care its not in HD. Even still the colors are more vibrant than they were on the PS2.

Sound: I wish the people in the game would talk but you will have to do reading. Music and sound effects however are pretty good and fit right in with the visual style of the game.

Overall: At less than $30 this is a game you must buy. Its long enough that you wont feel gipped out of your money. Its completely enthrawling and fun that you will find yourself playing hours on end. If you have been waiting for something to play on the Wii this is definitly that game.

Rent it or buy it but you owe it to yourself to play one of the best games ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautiful Interactive World, Not Very Challenging

posted by ItsRobinEh (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Okami is based on Japanese folklore and allows you to play in a beautiful interactive 3D world. You will find yourself immediately immersed in this world as you explore, fighting demons and spreading color and life throughout the world.

You play as Okami Amaterasu, the God of the Sun and the reincarnation of a wolf named Shiranui who saved the world from the evil Orochi 100 years ago. Although Okami is back, the world has lost a lot of it's belief in the Gods so her powers are limited. You embark on a quest to recover the 13 "Celestial Brush Techniques" of the Gods on your journey to rid the world of evil.

Although the graphics are great and the story line keeps you wrapped up in it, I did find a few "less than great" issues with the game. The first issue I had, was a less than challenging set of bosses and generally boring fight scenes. The second issue I had, was a few problems getting the Wii remote to register a lot of the "Celestial Brush Techniques" in the game. Often it would take three to four attempts to get the game to register what you were trying to accomplish.

All in all, I gave this game an 8 of 10 because although the challenge was less than spectacular and the Wii remote was downright annoying at times, the beautiful graphics and story more than make up for these problems. It allows for hours and hours of game play with plenty of side quests and a large world to explore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by Ricochet (PARK CITY, UT) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Though this game may look and seem old, it was one of the best wii games I have ever played (besides The Legened Of Zelda Twilight Princess) and I recommend it to EVERYONE.

I had so much fun going through the life of Ammy, that I began to feel like I was her, which is weird but very true.

It was difficult getting the brush motions down, and frustrating when they didn't work, but other then that the game was top notch when it came to controlling the wii remote.

All the characters had their own personallity and seemed to come alive even though they were only on the screen and I enjoyed talking to each individual till they ran out of things to say and began to repeat themselves.

Some of the bosses do repeat themselves and I found that I actually yelled at the TV when I had to fight Orochi THREE TIMES over in the exact same style which was....Kinda laaaame; they were also very easy to beat if you had Execute Slip L because they would blow away any Demon in a heartbeat and I found myself using those more then anything else and was kind of bummed when I ended up running out on the last level.

Just for the record I almost cried at the scene where Issun and Ammy parted ways because of how loyal they both were to each other and the bounds they had formed.

I also thought Waka was going to turn out to be the last boss for various reasons but in the end he'd grown on me and I loved how he came to Ammy's rescue against Yami.

ANNNNYWHO, this game is a must play for everyone. =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Visual with Japanese arts and tradition

posted by MightyYuna (DENVER, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If the game graphics did not incorporate the fantastic Asian traditional water paint arts, it would be a 7.

The gameplay itself is quite innovative with the motion sensed "paint brush" so that you can draw to complete a bridge, or stardust to make the river flow so you can swim across. Other than that, it was the usual "shake the wiimote" to knock down your enemy, or rush into the pots to get items.

There is no voice acting in this game. You hear nonsense voices and that's about it. You still have to keep pushing the A button to read the stories, although I didn't find it a problem since the writing isn't bad at all.

The best part I like about this game is the amount of Japanese culture and traditions embedded in the arts and game play. Such as the 13 gods of the brush with each one represented as a Japanese character.

Although it is not a hard game to play, it is still fun and refreshing because of the visual. I'd say you definitely want to rent it. And if you dig Asian arts and culture, then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If You Played Twilight Princess; You Played This!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The core concept and even the annoying sidekick from this game are in TP. The gameplay and artwork is perfect; the only little downside is that it does not always register the controls!
However this game is a MUST RENT (at least)!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST WII GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by AJ0910 (RICHMOND HILL, GA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Warning: I realized why this game is rated T: 1) slicing demons in half, 2) some blood, and 3) a completely naked lady bathing in a lake (private parts not showing)!

That aside, I love this game! It's like a Japanese version of Zelda, except it focuses more on the overworld than dungeons. If you want to know, Nippon has 3 major regions, which are split up into 25 areas with 7 dungeons. The story is pretty good, but what makes this game really good is the graphics and the combat. Also, you can learn special brush skills which can help you fight and get to new places. There are 13 main skills (skills that you would find normally in the main storyline) along with secret skills that you can use in battle (which you can find by completing certain side quests)!

Timewise, this is the longest game I ever played on the Wii, period. With my 1st playthrough, it took me 30 hours to complete it, and I didn't do everything the game has to offer!

If you like Japanese tales and culture, love amazing graphics, or if you just want to play a good, long, Zelda-like game, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maybe it's just me, and it probably is, but...

posted by miquonrang (GLENSIDE, PA) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I just couldn't get my Wii to do the combat correctly! No matter what I tried, I couldn't get Amaterasu to attack most of the time on shaking the Wii Remote, which made the whole game quite difficult. I loved the game on the PlayStation 2, but I just couldn't play it. Plus, the game comes with a graphical downgrade (funny, since the Wii is one generation higher than the PS2) and the paper effect is turned way down. The port is impressive, but I just couldn't get the controls to work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I thought I was finished?

posted by magicmemo (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okami was a game I had high hopes for. I'd seen the rabid fan-artists and the raving fangirls. I'd heard my friends talk about it, so excited it was coming to Wii.
So..what do I do? Add it to my Q weeks before it comes to Wii and send back a game two days before.
Luckily, I was able to snag a copy and play through the entire breathtaking game. Yes. A video game. On the Wii. Is breathtaking. I'm not kidding, Promise.

Okami is more than what quite a few other reviewers claim it is. It is not a rip-off of Zelda. Sure, it carries the same elements, the same...well...everything. But honestly. Here's a comparison for you. I finished Okami and have been craving to play it over again as of late. I never finished Twilight Princess, I sent it back near the end of the game. It didn't leave me wanting more. I was finished, (as far as I'm concerned) and I'm not going to pick it up again unless I have no choice in the matter.

Okami's graphics are beautiful, the first time you see a tree come back to life will simply take your breath away. I literally gasped as the flowers spread out from it and dissolved the darkness. It's something that I'd never thought of seeing in a game.

Gameplay is amazing, although it is annoying when the strokes don't register and you use slash ten times before it registers (especially in boss battles). It's intuitive, and after a while it's just natural to swipe away at the baddies.

The storyline keeps you guessing. And since the gameplay itself is so engrossing, you honestly won't care about the plot that much. I know I didn't.

In short, this is a must play game. I'd even suggest buying it so when you crave it you can play it over and over again. Heck I love just running around and watching those golden flowers spring up behind me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OKAMI!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lemoned456 (AMELIA, OH) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BBEESSTT GGAAMMEE EEVVEERR........true statement

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!! Exceeded My Expectations

posted by wiiflyhigh (FENTON, MO) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Outside of Zelda games, this is the best adventure style game I have played in a long time. I wanted to be able to give it a 10, but several annoyances forced me to drop to a 9. I'll start with those:

-While I like games with a good story line and I'm willing to read through lots of text conversations for the purpose of the story, there was a ton of additional unnecessary chatting. Sometimes you just want to play but you have to click through a minute of text. Annoying at times, but please don't let this prevent you from playing.

-The main annoyance I had was the difficulty in executing the Power Slash technique with the wii-remote-guided paintbrush. Some of the other brush techniques were a bit touchy sometimes but the Power Slash, which was the main technique, was particularly annoying. It was just a straight line but for some reason the game didn't seem to want to accept many of my lines.

-The only other thing that annoyed me was that some of the jumps were very difficult for no apparent reason. You know how in Mario games, you can either make a jump or you can't, and it is meant to be that way? Well, sometimes in Okami I found myself trying to execute a wall jump or running jump 20-30 times simply because the controls were unforgiving. Luckily, there were only a few places where this was an issue.

Now for the good stuff:

I"ll leave it brief, but after listing the problems I had, I have to mention the reasons I really liked the game. First of all, the game was long and entertaining throughout. The enemies are usually difficult the first few times you encounter them, but then they become easier when you figure out what works best. The item buying/selling is set up well. The leveling up system is unique and it worked very well. Having a main and sub weapon allowed for many weapon combos and lots of experimenting. I'll finish by saying that the game progressed really well. Started slow, then really gets you hooked.

Have Fun!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful and Esoteric

posted by Mamitamac (COLO, IA) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is visually stunning. I've been playing home video games since Lady Bug on Colecovision and am not awed by too many games. It's amazing. Indescribable. I have to own it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

unbeliveable

posted by mack20 (PEARL RIVER, LA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if its graphics was a little better than it would of truly been a perfect game every thing about this game was awsome and its story was like you wish it could really happen lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm not sure what game the other reviewers played

posted by codekitten (SHORELINE, WA) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was incredibly frustrated and unimpressed by this game. I rented it because it had such high praise from the other reviewers. However, after about 5 hours of playing, I was so frustrated with it I couldn't progress any further in the storyline.

Problems with this game:

1. The game play is confusing because it is SO linear and at the same time not. You can access areas, rooms, and characters that you can't do anything with until you go over into this other room and examine something. You can do exactly what you did before in the room you were just in to progress the story, but it doesn't matter if you didn't examine that one thing in the other room, you won't progress. This makes for confusing game play as there are rooms you know you need to do something in to move on, but you spend hours trying to figure out what that is when it was actually something inconsequential in the next room.

2. The drawing moves (especially Power Slash) are difficult to execute. You have to get them exactly right at the exact right level, speed, and distance. I never figured out the trick to getting some of them and it seemed like I could draw something the same way two times and once would fail, then once would work.

3. The character banter is mostly useless, very long, and in some stages of play there is no way to make it go faster (sometimes A works for this, sometimes not). This is what ended up frustrating me the most. Most everything the characters said was a waste of time.

The combination of the above in the worst possible way made me want to throw the Wii remote at the TV. I knew it was time to send the game back.

Good things about this game:

1. Innovative story line. The main plot-line was interesting. Wish I had been able to finish it.

2. Really great graphics and art style. By far one of the best looking games on the Wii.

I wish I had been less frustrated by this game and been able to enjoy the good in it, but graphics alone don't make a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse