Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3246 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OKAMI FOR THE WII IS ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING

posted by jacquel (LA PORTE, TX) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

IVE PLAYED A LITTLE OF OKAMI FOR THE PS2 AND I DID LIKE IT.
SO I DECIDED TO RENT FULL GAME FOR MY NEW WII, WITH HIGH HOPES.

BIG MISTAKE.

THE CONTROLS AIMING WITH THE WII REMOTE IS THE REASON I PERSONALLY HATE THIS GAME OR MAYBE I HATE THE WII TOO.

I WAS ASKED TO DRAW A SIMPLE STRAIGHT LINE ACROSS AND AFTER MY 50TH TRY I CURSED AND GOT SO FRUSTRATED.

MY ADVISE IS RENT THIS GAME ON THE PS2
OR NOT AT ALL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Second time's the charm...

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This is the second time I tried to play this game, once on ps3, this time on wii. I didn't get far, but not because I couldn't. I simply had no interest after I chopped down the fruit. Maybe the timing wasn't right, but this games introduction made it seem like the game isn't fun.
This game might be 'filler' material for when everything on the Q is 'coming soon'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just another Zelda Rip Off

posted by Htich575 (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

At first when i got this game i was thinking this should be fun. But after 1-2 hours of playing it i got bored and noticed how similar this game is to Zelda games. They took the fairy idea from Zelda with that little thing jumping on
Amaterasu's head. I can't stress this enough if you're not looking for an adventure similar to Zelda don't rent this game. Actually don't rent it even if you're looking for and adventure game because this game SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Okami Review - Not So Hot

posted by wiigamerev (BOAZ, AL) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Having read raving reviews of the game I was expecting far more out of this game. I did have an amazing artistic style, but that was the only thing it had going for it. Poorly written dialog, a very slow start, and a mediocre control layout were some of the worst problems I found. Any Christian family will want to veer away from this one as there are constant references to false gods.

I found myself completely unable to enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Okami - Much to be desired!

posted by JillShadow (KENNEWICK, WA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

After receiving my Wii for Christmas this year, I was very excited about Okami after reading so many good reviews about it. To my dissapointment, it is NOT the game I thought it would be at all. I have never taken the time, nor have ever felt compelled to write a review for a book, movie, or game, but Okami was just so bad I felt I had to.

1 - I don't know why people are saying Okami's graphics are awesome. To me, the graphics looked like a child quickly scribbled a picture and then I looked at it without glasses on. At first I thought it was my TV but it turns out the graphics are just that blurry and bad.

2 - The sound characters make when talking is SO ANNOYING and not needed. There is also a ridiculous amount of unnecessary dialog.

3 - The controls are horrible (which has also been mentioned many times). Your strokes must be EXACTLY on par or it fails (slash stroke anyone?). Combat is terrible. Again, as another reviewer has stated, sometimes Okami just sits there and does nothing while taking damage.

I really want to like Okami, I really do; however, between the graphics and controls, the game is not playable at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Take this brush and bury it

posted by Jedihoplo (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game looks good. The story is intersting. The controls... Horrible.

The brush strokes work when and how they want to. You want blossom and you get the sun. Forget the fact at one point in the game you need to do the blossom brush stroke numerous times in a row correctly. One mistake and you have to START OVER. Now add in the fact that half the time it decides to do the Sun power instead of the Blossom power both of which have the same brushstroke. If you do it over flora you are supposed to get the Blossom power. If you do it in the sky you get the Sun power. Now think of what happens if you have to do the Blossom storke on a tree that has the sky behind it... Unless you like frustration do not wsate your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oami

posted by samtana (WARREN, MI) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

If you want to read grab a book that's all you will do on this game you find your ridding the same thang over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the best games ever! Not for wii.

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

This game should only be played on PS2. It was made for that system and after a year brought to the wii by a different company that obviously rushed and/or didn't care. Please if you have access to a ps2 play this game on that system. It is so much better in so many ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I would usually dismiss it, but...

posted by jather (CONROE, TX) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I would usually dismiss a terrible game, select my rating and move on. But I felt this game was just a ridiculous bore. The beginning is a story that blah blah blah, yes you can skip but come on with it! Thanks, but no thanks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nice idea, bad game

posted by burro1 (Smyrna, GA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

Pretty art style, terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worser Then Gitaroo Man

posted by FarFarAway (MELBOURNE BEACH, FL) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

this game stinks its the worst thing possible ever and its dumb you have to attack using some ink or something it is really a bad game and i cant believe it got a 8.0 rating from people because i seriosuly do not like it so anybody who is a fan of grand theft or those fighting games you would not like this at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disgusting port

posted by Sockplay (GOLDSBORO, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I don't how this game get high reviews. Honestly I couldn't stomach more than 15 minutes of this. My largest complaint is the "speech effect" that goes with every syllable of text a character is saying. That was just too annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

okami

posted by whiteshadow (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I didn't like this game play for like 1mint i stop. I recomment not to rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really?

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Okami starts out like, "O.K! Sun God, beat the evil dragons' butt!"
Then you start playing, and you meet a bug-type thing, he has a brush, that is magical, that can make a sun... wait what? This game is fun if you like white wolves that are mystical sun gods. I'm not kidding.

LAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Automated Reading Tutor

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I saw the high reviews for this game and had high hopes. But there was one thing i did not pick up on before renting the game. Okami apparently is the Japanese translation for "text reader". Because you will spend no less than 80% of your time reading text, most of which is pointless and has little or nothing to do with the story. Oh, and while your reading, there is an annoying little 3 second Sim-esque speech sound repeating in the background. The longer the character speaks, the more the 3-second speech sound repeats.

At the beginning of the game I tried to view the 'cut scenes' to learn the story. Well, 30 minutes later I got to take two steps before yet another text based 'cut scene' started.

The controls on this game are, hit or miss at best. When you 'draw' to perform one of your magic-type powers, it must be done in just the right place, at just the right speed, if there are any deviations from what is programmed it, you fail. What makes it worse is that a failure to 'draw' perfectly, is usually followed by another pointless bit of text that you have to skip through before getting another chance to fail.

All in all, the story is not bad. The game however, is not good.

Graphics - 4
Controls - 3 (Much tweaking needs to be done)
Story - 7
Entertainment - -8 (If I wanted to read this much I would get a book, not a "VIDEO" game)

I wish this game had been better. Better luck next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Beautiful game, terrible controls

posted by sugacube (ROGERS, AR) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Pretty graphics great story blah blah blah: a game isn't worth playing if the "game" part is a constant frustration. I think the best evidence for my case is the /Nintendo/ Power review (the lowest score on Metacritic) which said, "You should play the original [PS2] game instead of the Wii version if you can."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okami is okay

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The game is fun until you get to the end, the main problem with the game is the no check book for side-quests, unlike majoras mask. the characters look the same the just suck. the reflector /glaive are not ment for the Wii. The game is not better than all the zelda games combined. overall the is okay but I wasted a month playing with stupid mini-games and idiotic side-quests, with perverted game programers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty but not fun

posted by tjs381 (ATCHISON, KS) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Even though the colors where nice. the slowness of the action was hard for me to endure. I like a game with a bit more to it than pretty colors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Motion Controls

posted by Cafiend (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I quit in the tutorial part b/c I couldn't draw a perfectly straight horizontal line through a rock. I dunno if its b/c I only have the Motion Plus and its too sensitive or I'm just a hamfisted lobotomized monkey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Leaves much to be desired

posted by drc006 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Okay, so first I should say that going into this game I had an unexpected, and much hated surprise, almost all of your actions are based on this paintbrush thing you have. We will get to that later though, let's start with the base game play, you play as the legendary wolf god, Amaterasu. I thought that was pretty awesome, except for the fact that the developers ruined her image, Amaterasu is known for her nine tails, they did however do well to capture her beauty else-wise. Directionally I had little trouble controlling her, my biggest issue was the camera here, you have a very finicky control of the camera and even when you get the angle you like it's still not so great. As far as fighting goes, it's pretty straight forward, to do anything of significance requires use of the brush witch in order to use, basically pauses all actions (Even the enemies) and allows you to hack and slash using distinct brush strokes. This aspect would be made much better if the enemies could move while you were in brush mode. I was discouraged by the game by this small factor. The brush also controls almost every aspect of the game from crossing that ravine to gaining brush powers. This was immensely discouraging and really broke my anticipation of a challenging game. I have to complement the graphics though, using the cell shading style that the developers did, they managed to create a beautiful landscape in the game which constantly evolves as you progress, this is perhaps one of few redeeming qualities in the game. I also thoroughly enjoyed the puzzle-like challenge the game offered, however it was not what I expected, which was what dropped my like of the idea. All in all this game gets a 10 for graphics, a 6 for game play due to the brush and camera, and as far as the story goes I did not like it at all. If it were advertised as a puzzle/action game, I would have given a better rating. All in all, Ookami was okay, not bad, but not what was expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Okami Requires REALLY Good Fine Motor Skills

posted by PJaesMom (DAMASCUS, MD) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Cute story, but much too frustrating for someone missing well-honed fine motor skills. The brush strokes--particularly the "slash"--were exercises in futility. I still have no idea what I did differently the times it worked vs. the times it didn't work. This means I didn't get very far into the game. Might have been great, if only I could've slashed. <sigh>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Motion Controls

posted by BmoreBoi (BEL AIR, MD) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I played about 5 minutes of this game before I gave up on it. The motion controls in this game do not work.

Try the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad, bad, bad

posted by danfwii (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I tried this game based on some decent reviews. Awful game. The story lacks depth, although plenty of time is spent setting up the situation. Terrible graphics, bad controls and generic fighting made this a quick return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good story bad game.

posted by PtrThLeadr (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game has a really engaging story, a lot of neat quirks, but unfortunately it fails at actual game play. The brush strokes are oddly recognized, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. For example, at one point in the game there is a side quest to draw a bunch of symbols a little girl thinks will be fashion trends, the first of which is a star (The easy kind of star. If anyone has told you the easy way to draw a star, you know what I mean). No matter how many times I drew that star, it was just not recognized. I must have tried it like 100 times, using separate line segments and whole lines. I just gave up in frustration and constant yelling at the game (I did that a lot when I tried to do some of the techniques and using the sword in combat). The last thing is the camera angle. Going into brush mode slightly changes the camera, this wouldn't be a problem if parts of the game weren't as sensitive as a rock. At times, you will find yourself against a monster that has weak points. You tackle it, it glows at specific points, and when you draw a mark on it the camera moves and it doesn't go where you want it too. I am only glad there are a few of them, and they are not randomly spawned.
As for the story, it is above exceptional. It draws you in and the humor is very well done. There was not a single dull moment in the game and always offered a way to skip dialog (Something all games should have.) The dialog is all text and no voices, but you get used to it and it isn't that annoying. To make things short, story and things you can do = awesome. Drawing things = horrible. Combat = not so bad, don't use swords as a main (You can charge swords, and sometimes when you want to swing it if just keeps on charging).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm not sure what game the other reviewers played

posted by codekitten (SHORELINE, WA) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was incredibly frustrated and unimpressed by this game. I rented it because it had such high praise from the other reviewers. However, after about 5 hours of playing, I was so frustrated with it I couldn't progress any further in the storyline.

Problems with this game:

1. The game play is confusing because it is SO linear and at the same time not. You can access areas, rooms, and characters that you can't do anything with until you go over into this other room and examine something. You can do exactly what you did before in the room you were just in to progress the story, but it doesn't matter if you didn't examine that one thing in the other room, you won't progress. This makes for confusing game play as there are rooms you know you need to do something in to move on, but you spend hours trying to figure out what that is when it was actually something inconsequential in the next room.

2. The drawing moves (especially Power Slash) are difficult to execute. You have to get them exactly right at the exact right level, speed, and distance. I never figured out the trick to getting some of them and it seemed like I could draw something the same way two times and once would fail, then once would work.

3. The character banter is mostly useless, very long, and in some stages of play there is no way to make it go faster (sometimes A works for this, sometimes not). This is what ended up frustrating me the most. Most everything the characters said was a waste of time.

The combination of the above in the worst possible way made me want to throw the Wii remote at the TV. I knew it was time to send the game back.

Good things about this game:

1. Innovative story line. The main plot-line was interesting. Wish I had been able to finish it.

2. Really great graphics and art style. By far one of the best looking games on the Wii.

I wish I had been less frustrated by this game and been able to enjoy the good in it, but graphics alone don't make a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse