Rent Okami for Wii
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.8

3259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, Great on the PS2

posted by SeaFang (DELTA, CO) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I first played this game on the PS2 and I simply loved it so I decided to try it on Wii. However, I was dissapointed as I found the motion controlls hard to work with. I still love this game but when I play it again I will play it on the PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by vyckee13 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I thought that this game was one of the best games I have ever played!!! ( no joke) I love the visual effect in this game, and how the game just keeps going! It's funny how the characters talk in the game. Also the story at the beginning ( Was SO long) really got to you. You really have to pay attention when it's telling you the story because it's telling you who your character is and what you have to fight at the end. =';'=

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami

posted by Ricochet (PARK CITY, UT) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though this game may look and seem old, it was one of the best wii games I have ever played (besides The Legened Of Zelda Twilight Princess) and I recommend it to EVERYONE.

I had so much fun going through the life of Ammy, that I began to feel like I was her, which is weird but very true.

It was difficult getting the brush motions down, and frustrating when they didn't work, but other then that the game was top notch when it came to controlling the wii remote.

All the characters had their own personallity and seemed to come alive even though they were only on the screen and I enjoyed talking to each individual till they ran out of things to say and began to repeat themselves.

Some of the bosses do repeat themselves and I found that I actually yelled at the TV when I had to fight Orochi THREE TIMES over in the exact same style which was....Kinda laaaame; they were also very easy to beat if you had Execute Slip L because they would blow away any Demon in a heartbeat and I found myself using those more then anything else and was kind of bummed when I ended up running out on the last level.

Just for the record I almost cried at the scene where Issun and Ammy parted ways because of how loyal they both were to each other and the bounds they had formed.

I also thought Waka was going to turn out to be the last boss for various reasons but in the end he'd grown on me and I loved how he came to Ammy's rescue against Yami.

ANNNNYWHO, this game is a must play for everyone. =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 29, 2011

Member since May 2010

im lazy so no long review trust me if u like or LOVE Zelda get it and if u havnt played zelda (U SHOULD!) and want a good story game and a funny game then....Get It! if u dont have a wii or hate pointing at tv then get it for PS2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the PS2

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I love this game! For me the Wii version of this is better than the PS2. Why? Here are the reasons:

1.) Better graphics: The PS2 just has bad graphics compared to the Wii. The Wii is clearer than any other system.

2.) How the pointer is used: The Wii's pointer is used for brush techniques and has better control than the PS2 joystick.

3.) Better for fighting: Now the PS2 controller just has buttons and joysticks. With looking at the screen for gameplay and using controls for the PS2, sometimes I forget where each button is (BELIEVE ME)!

Both have the same story and plot. With the reasons that I have, rent the Wii version than the PS2. But if you want to rent both versions to see which one you like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best adventure game

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this is by far one of the best games i have ever played it is an adventure game like zelda more like twilight princess only bad thing about this game is that it is hard personally i think it is harder and funner than zelda only bad thing it has a simple combat system but if you like any zelda game give okami a chance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by 1234565 (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

This was a great game. I was VERY sad when I had to send it back after I finished it. The game had great art and music. I loved the characters too...even Issun!!! Okami has a well developed story so you can't 100% it in 1 day. It takes more like a couple weeks or even months! If you don't think you'll like this game check out Chuggaaconroy's channel on Youtube. He did a complete play through of it. If you like the Zelda series, you'll probably like this game. Again, Excellent game. 10000000000000000000000000000000000/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST WII GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by AJ0910 (RICHMOND HILL, GA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Warning: I realized why this game is rated T: 1) slicing demons in half, 2) some blood, and 3) a completely naked lady bathing in a lake (private parts not showing)!

That aside, I love this game! It's like a Japanese version of Zelda, except it focuses more on the overworld than dungeons. If you want to know, Nippon has 3 major regions, which are split up into 25 areas with 7 dungeons. The story is pretty good, but what makes this game really good is the graphics and the combat. Also, you can learn special brush skills which can help you fight and get to new places. There are 13 main skills (skills that you would find normally in the main storyline) along with secret skills that you can use in battle (which you can find by completing certain side quests)!

Timewise, this is the longest game I ever played on the Wii, period. With my 1st playthrough, it took me 30 hours to complete it, and I didn't do everything the game has to offer!

If you like Japanese tales and culture, love amazing graphics, or if you just want to play a good, long, Zelda-like game, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by samantha1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

it has good art direction and fun gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OKAMI!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lemoned456 (AMELIA, OH) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BBEESSTT GGAAMMEE EEVVEERR........true statement

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by loudinni (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is, quite simply, the best video game I have ever played. The mix of puzzle and action is perfect.
I also appreciate that if you just want to step back from the narrative for a bit and kill monsters and rack up points, you can. The final boss fights are awesome and I feel that this game is the best use of the Wiimote that I've experienced.
The story is wacky and makes practically no sense, but the fundamental narrative is enough to drive you forward.
The graphics are sensational and imaginative. Using the paint brush as your weapon is a lot of fun.
This is the only game I have ever played three times all the way through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adventure worthy puzzle game

posted by Purple71 (ELKINS, WV) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am an old school gamer whose has been playing since Pong! Became addicted to Zelda and now will be adding Okami to the list. I got this game on the advice of the other reviews. If you are into adventure puzzles with a good storyline this is the game for you. This was a hit with my 18 yr. old son, my 63 yr. old Dad (who has just as many consoles as we do) and myself. I am actually going to go out and buy this game we all loved it so much.
The "artwork" anima is something to get use to but the characters are great, funny and the more you play the harder it is to stop for the night. I was glad to finally find another game out there that did NOT have blood, guts, shooting as its main story goal. There are fantasy battles but the main goal of the game is solving puzzles within the adventure. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful and Esoteric

posted by Mamitamac (COLO, IA) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is visually stunning. I've been playing home video games since Lady Bug on Colecovision and am not awed by too many games. It's amazing. Indescribable. I have to own it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only game to get me into a culture!!!

posted by aquakitten (MISSION, TX) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i first played okami I didn't get it much until i kept playing. Every time i picked up the controls i just felt the power flow though me and cherry blossoms flowing around me, i really felt like okami amaterasu.
There was some disturbing content while playing the game but it was an amazing experience to feel. The brush techniques were awesome too. (especially because I am an artist myself)
The title says all, i got into Japanese culture after playing the game and being blown away while learning some Japanese along the way!
In short, breathtaking and entertaining wait until your child is about 13 or 14 though

- review by 11 year old......i learned the hard way about some content

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

unbeliveable

posted by mack20 (PEARL RIVER, LA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if its graphics was a little better than it would of truly been a perfect game every thing about this game was awsome and its story was like you wish it could really happen lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a long game

posted by bman1234 (CHEYENNE, WY) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

okami is for people that want a long game to play its not a game that would be betten easyly even if u know where ur going it like a 40hr.game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best rpg adventure games out there

posted by steve432 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now a lot of people really do not like the wii, I myself believe this is due to the fact the graphics are less then cutting edge unlike the xbox 360 and ps3 but that's just what I myself believe to be the cause of lesser ratings for the most part on the wii.
Now when I get a game I of course examine the graphics but not a great deal i don't really care how "cutting edge" they are or are not but when i saw okamis graphics it made me realize just how cool cell shading can actually look when presented the right way. So this game gets a 10/10 for graphics mainly because the game's selection of how the graphics were presented really matched one of the overall themes of this game which is the beauty of art.
At first when I started to fight using the reflector I was getting so aggravated because no mattter how rapidly I shook the wii remote amaterasu didn't attack constantly but then I realized you had to time the weapon swing right which made me realise how good this game actually was compared to all the other games I've played where you can just swing the remote constantly and basically be a god, not even having to use any skill to take down enemies, thats why this game made me love how you actually had to work at mastering the combination sets and the timed attacks.
One of the best features to this game was the vast character cast, true the characters are usually based off the same model but they also were given very different appearances and personalities which I loved. The quests were hard making this game a great challenge so i didn't spend only ten hours on it and beating it feeling so let down...the game took me 38 hours to beat even when i didn't do all the side quests so the whole adventure was just awesome.
Overall i loved okami it actually was a very good adventure game it was humorous in parts and very serious in others paired with the music it really made me feel heroic(lol ya i know nerdy). I'd have to say rent okami see if you like it. I sure did!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami vs Link progect is a GO!

posted by mudkip (EDGEWATER, MD) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

So your a god stuck in wolf's body with a perverted bug and you have to save the world, SWEET!!!! X3 I've always loved manga and anime so buying this game gave me amazing drawing ideas you couldn't get with a manga book. The colors the style the likeness of Legend of Zelda and the story can give you an exciting feeling and when you finissh the game you scream," KEEP GOING!!!!" The ending made me cry with the emoitions of all the charicters and the ssong Reset (thank you version) made the story feel like you were in it! I really wish Nintendo and Capcom could combind Okami and Legend of Zelda because they would make a powerhouse! All and All 10 goes all the way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game

posted by Billio121 (BLOOMINGDALE, IL) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

In this game, Okami Amaterasu, sun god, is sent on a quest with a little sidekick named Issun. The goal is to rid the land of Nippon of Evil and the terrifying three-headed dragon Orochi.

This game is perfect. There is only one bad thing. sometimes, in the middle of battle, the game freezes up and you actually have to unplug the Wii system - you can't just go to the Wii menu, turn the power off or reset! The Celestial Brush is just wonderful to use with the silky-smooth controls, and the graphics are just beautiful. In fact, I loved this game so much that I decided to buy the game for myself! I would say this is well worth at least renting, if not buying the dang game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Wii game EVER!!!

posted by bigdadiben (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

If you own a Wii you must buy this game! The lowest point of this game is fastforwarding through the diaglog, but that's very easy to do. Game play is FANTASTIC! The most inovative feature of this game is the paintbush feature where you can alter reality with a paintbrush. There are so many places in this game where you think "hmmm, I wonder if this would work", then you whip out the paint brush and all of the sudden you've fixed the bridge, made the sun shine, or made a magical forrest grow out of the ground. This game puts me in the mood to drink Saki.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I thought I was finished?

posted by magicmemo (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okami was a game I had high hopes for. I'd seen the rabid fan-artists and the raving fangirls. I'd heard my friends talk about it, so excited it was coming to Wii.
So..what do I do? Add it to my Q weeks before it comes to Wii and send back a game two days before.
Luckily, I was able to snag a copy and play through the entire breathtaking game. Yes. A video game. On the Wii. Is breathtaking. I'm not kidding, Promise.

Okami is more than what quite a few other reviewers claim it is. It is not a rip-off of Zelda. Sure, it carries the same elements, the same...well...everything. But honestly. Here's a comparison for you. I finished Okami and have been craving to play it over again as of late. I never finished Twilight Princess, I sent it back near the end of the game. It didn't leave me wanting more. I was finished, (as far as I'm concerned) and I'm not going to pick it up again unless I have no choice in the matter.

Okami's graphics are beautiful, the first time you see a tree come back to life will simply take your breath away. I literally gasped as the flowers spread out from it and dissolved the darkness. It's something that I'd never thought of seeing in a game.

Gameplay is amazing, although it is annoying when the strokes don't register and you use slash ten times before it registers (especially in boss battles). It's intuitive, and after a while it's just natural to swipe away at the baddies.

The storyline keeps you guessing. And since the gameplay itself is so engrossing, you honestly won't care about the plot that much. I know I didn't.

In short, this is a must play game. I'd even suggest buying it so when you crave it you can play it over and over again. Heck I love just running around and watching those golden flowers spring up behind me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A viewtiful masterpiece

posted by Tashientsu (Branson, MO) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

the game my be hard at first but when you get the hand of it, the game is perfect. the places you go and the story is perfect too. will love the music. if you love art you will love the art style of this game. this game has everything.
I have not even beat the game yet. it is really long. the game is not too hard. but still gives a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, A must have for the wii

posted by Yousinea (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

29 out of 31 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of Okami back when it came out on the ps2, although admittedly I never got to complete it back then, I had rented it, got halfway through, figured I would just buy it next time I had the money to burn and finish it.

HA, little did I know that Okami would quickly become one of the hardest to find ps2 titles I'd ever seen.
anyway I found it out was comeing to the Wii and was quite happy

First impresson: You start the game out with the Reflector (a disc weapon that functions more or less like your standard adventerur sword) The wii 'shake' fighting is flat out aweful for the reflector, the main problem is that while you 'shake' it counts as holding the button down meaning you more have to do 'timed flicks' there's a huge learning curve there but once you get it down it's not so bad.... although it IS abit hard to keep your timing when you're being attacked.
Once you get your first rosary bead weapon (think whips) you can shake-fight much easier, and set your reflector to the subweapon slot and do 1-hit kills on any enemy stupid enough to fall into the sheilds trap ;p

The brush: When I played this game on the ps2, I admittedly barely used the main feature.. the celestial brush... mostly because drawing with the analog stick is such a chore. The wii makes -most- of the brush techniques SO much quicker and easier that I found myself fighting more with the brush than ever before. Though as someone mentioned, for doing the slash definately use Z instead to make a straight line. (or start making your slash motion, press the A button halfway through and release it before you get to the end of your swing)
In the orignal making cherrybombs was a pain (circle with a line comeing out) but on the wii it's laughably easy. Same for making Wind, it's so fast and easy to do wind now.

Storywise Okami is just all around great, and the game takes atleast 60 hours to beat if you don't rush things and do most of the side quests.

all in all I give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Great!

posted by Sciurus (HAMPTON, VA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

Okami, surprisingly, uses almost the full potential of the Wii system. Although the graphics are a bit odd, it does go well with the asian theme. It doesn't end quickly, it doesn't get boring, and though sometimes the drawing can be hard to master and get exactly correct, Okami, overall, is a perfect Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YOU MUST PLAY THIS GAME

posted by GoCubs (DPO, AE) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Anyone who is a Zelda fan, Adventure fan or just a plain game fan should buy this game. Beautiful graphics, amazing music interesting puzzles, this game has it all. DONT IGNORE THIS GAME. IT IS AMAZING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse