Rent Okami for PS2
view large frontback

Okami

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
8.6

3848 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War meets Black&White meets Legend of Zelda

posted by Hawkeye (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami.

In Japanese, it means both "wolf" and "god". You play the wolf-shaped reincarnation of the Shinto Sun Goddess, Amaterasu.

This game blends together the beautiful, expansive, adventure-laden worlds of Legend of Zelda, the painful, bone-cracking demon slaying reminiscent of God of War, as well as the god-like power to bring miraculous force to bear on the problems of mere mortals, a la Black & White.

Truly, you will be surprised how many parallels can be drawn between this game and other top games in the Action/RPG realm, because if you didn't, this game would defy explaination.

The world and its denizens are painted in a broad-lined, cel-shaded style, bringing back memories of Wind Waker. As a style, it works, though some of the effects can become dizzying after a while. The use of brush effects are absolutely seamless. Hit the button, and all action stops, giving you ample time to draw the technique you want. There is a small learning curve / annoyance that comes with the brush, especially during the times it is critical that you do a particular brush technique, it does a different one. However, this only happens about two or three times in what can turn out to be a 60+ hour game.

There are plenty of sidequests to keep you busy on this game. You can help people find lost pets, cook with heavenly fire, and enact revenge on errant demons on behalf of your mortal beneficiaries. There's more than a few collector lists in the game, but no Action/RPG is complete without those.

When you get into a fight, the world around you seals you away into an arena of dark energy to face your hellspawned opponents. The combat is fairly solid, using a combination of god-like agility, fifteen magical weapons imbued with heavenly power, and your world-destroying brush techniques. Every enemy has a weakness (or two), and the faster you take them out with the less amount of damage, the more money you get.

A very solid game, fun, with an epic story. Trust me, you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Recommended game....

posted by jentfoo (AURORA, CO) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

27 out of 29 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game really is something you should not let slip by, the game play is pretty unique. The fighting is quick paced and very rewarding. In addition the use of the "celestial brush" allows for some really nice and unique game play elements. The developers have done a good job in using this brush in almost all elements of the game. You will find it useful in fighting, solving puzzles, or just doing minor task. It is a nice touch but not enough to give this game such an excellent review.

What really sets this game apart is the feel it gives. It really brings you into the world with the asian feel of the characters and setting. The visuals are nothing but stunning. There is a great deal of emotion presented through the scenery, and the game does this almost flawlessly. The game has a nice length of about 30 to 40 hours of game play.

Unfortunately it is not a perfect game...First of all sometimes using the celestial brush is a pain and you have to do it over and over again before it registers right. This can be frustrating but it is rare enough that it does not cause you to want to give up on the game. Although the music is good, I would also say it is a little over used. Granted even at the end I was not wanting to pull my hair out, but it would be nice for some more epic music to go with the epic setting/story. Speaking of the story it is not entirely without fault. With that said....the story is excellent, and I am glad they did it the way they did because the additional game play is really really good. My biggest complaint is that this game is far too easy. It really spells out for you what you need to do, and you will find yourself flying through task without dieing at all or much. In addition just to give you an idea of how easy it is....I did not even die ONCE in all 36 hours it took me to beat the game. This is fun and it keeps the story going, but I do sorta wish it made you work a bit more. Overall I would rate it at a 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lives up to the hype

posted by fitzkotlr (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 7, 2006

Member since May 2005

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

After reading all the glowing reviews and seeing all the 10s and 9s I worried that the game wouldn't live up to my expectations. Amazingly, it has.

Incredible! I could spend hours simply exploring the world. Often I do just pause and sit there, watching the sky and clouds move or the ripples of the water. Every little detail is extraordinarily beautiful. It's like living in a painting and I can see replay value being very high as I go back just to simple admire the views.

Game play is very fun and unique. I have a blast using the brushes, and the stories keep me interested, which is an achievement since I don't like rpgs because I find all the dialogue and story boring. Not in this game. You'll read every word.

I hope the rest of the video game world takes notice of this game and the response it's received. We need more like Okami. It really brings the magic back to the video game experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a fantastic game!

posted by MRAKUSH (NEW HAVEN, CT) Dec 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami is a fantastic game. period. end of story.

I originally had my doubts while playing through the first ten-fifteen minutes of actual gameplay. You see a wolf, with a little companion, running around, completing tasks. I immediately said, "this is just like Zelda! it's a blatant ripoff"

Once you get involved in the mechanics of the game, all of that changes. This is not Zelda. As the wolf Okami Ammeratsu, and your little pal Issun, you "draw" in certain functions throughout the game, revitilizing the planet overrun with evil and decay.

Say you're fighting someone; you have the ability to draw a horizontal slash line accross them, and watch them split in two. Or see that dead tree? draw a closed loop around its branches, and watching it bloom into a gorgeous cherry blossom!
You need to unlock all of your drawing abilities troughout the game, too many for me to count.

The visuals are what really did it for me in Okami, without it, its a mediocre game, a great gameplay idea not done right. But oh man, some of the visuals are outright gorgeous. Reminiscent of The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, with its cel-shading, the use of color and art design are unbelieveable.

The sounds and music are fantastic too; you feel like you are in fuedal Japan.

The game was long too, I played it for about two months. I do have a nine to five job, but it took 60 hours to beat.

Maybe its because I've honestly never heard of Okami until I rented it on Gamefly, but I just loved this game from start to finish.

I have been a hardcore Zelda nut for a long time, and I can honestly say Okami is one of the most innovative games I've ever played. I think Okami is right up there with most Zelda games.

Rent it already, :)
Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. so well done

posted by Dillsauce (VENICE, CA) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

28 out of 32 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

this game has changed many of my views on gaming. video games should not only be a mind dulling and just plain fun, but artistic games are what really stick in ones mind. it leaves a mark on you that makes you wish after the game that there is a free roam mode. Okami is amazing i recommend it to anyone. the visuals are unique and incredible, the game play is great and the story line is compelling. i give this game 10 out of 10. now i don't usually write up reviews like this nor do i usually talk like this,hahaha. but the minute after i completed okami i felt the need to pass this information along. anyways ill get to the point. this game is a winner and i give it 10 out of ten and goes straight to the top of my list, you will be glad you got this game because you wont be able to put it down. so rent this game, buy it, whatever just have a chance to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the most entertaining games I've played.

posted by Kokuraz (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is insane. The fighting really brings something new to the table. With all the Celestial Brush techniques you get you need to think about what attacks to do to beat certain enemies. You have to bomb people out of the ground, set some people on fire, and slow down time to get the chance to get a hit in on someone. You really need to use your brain on this game. The Graphics are very original looking and grow on you after a while and the music is beautiful. In the begining I had a hard time with the voices but after a while it just began to fit.

There is a lot to do in the game. I still haven't found all 100 Stray beads but when you do you get something 'special'... Im (Cencors dont like the H word for ->) 'Satans lair' bent on getting them all. I hear a lot of people compairing this game to the original Zeldas. It does have a feel very much like the old Nintendo/Super Nintendo Zeldas. But I'm having a lot more fun with this game than I did with those. (I really enjoyed the old Zeldas mind you.)

This is a game I recomend to everyone. (Reading the lowest rated reviews is hallerious. Most people who didn't like the games only supported a lazy American Sterotype. "Ugh theres too much storyline.. Lets get to the gunfights and explosions." or "I actually need to put the CD in my PS2.. LAME" Okay, no one complained about the last one, but I wouldn't be surprised if thats floating around here.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my God (no pun intended)

posted by CrazyBunny (RICHARDSON, TX) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Words cannot describe how good this game is. From the perfect characters, to the amazingly original story and plot, all the way down to the beautiful cinematic, this is one of the games that should go down in history as perfection. You play as the shinto sun god ameretsu reincarnated as a wolf and must gather praise to become stronger, and fight the demons inhabiting the world around you, fixing what was destroyed in your absence. All the way you are accompanied by the amazing issun. I refuse to tell more about the story so that it may be enjoyed to it's full potential. As I look through the game I can only see one flaw it ends leaving you hungry for more. I beg that all who read this try to do everything in their power to play this game, and see what I am talking about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS!!

posted by lovemycat (TACOMA, WA) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say that Okami is one of the best games on the playstation 2. It has very good graphics and the game play is totally awesome. I have beaten the game two times and its still fun to play. There are lots of unlockables and its cool to replay the game again and again. This is one game that you'll have to rent or buy. DON'T PASS THIS GAME UP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If I had to, I would give it a 229!

posted by totalx54 (EDGARTOWN, MA) Nov 4, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In all my years, only one good game has no problems. Let me introduce you to Okami.

From the graphics, to the gameplay, this game is always good. In fact, I was going to say something bad about the camra, but it unexpectedly changed from hindering big time, to helping big big big time! Never underestemate this game for a second. It will throw you away in a flash if you do! One last thing: the game is a nice challenge so causal players should beware... very much.

~ Totalgamer (my REAL nickname!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE GREATEST GAMES OF ALL TIME!

posted by tanooki619 (DALTON, GA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okami is without a doubt a contender for Game of the Year. It does have a lot of elements that zelda has, but that is not a bad thing at all. The graphics, story, dialog, characters, combat, and puzzle solving blend together so well, that it makes this game an instant classic and true masterpiece. This is definitely a crowning achievement of modern gaming and can silence the critics who say video games aren't art. At the very least this should win ps2 game of the year and so far is my vote for overall game of the year. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST BUY

posted by Sephiroth (DE FOREST, WI) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game, beautiful graphics, i found myself stopping just to look. The game play is excellent its play kind like a 3d Zelda but different. The brush powers are awesome as well as creative. I Haven't Beaten it quite yet but I am close, and I know I am going to choose to keep this title for my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okami--awesome game!!

posted by Firebird12 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just got this game a few days ago--and I'm enjoying every moment of it. The graphics--based on the artwork in the "Viewtiful Joe" series-- resemble a Japanese watercolor painting. The game is truly beautiful to look at, and screen shots really don't do this game justice. The animation (for the most part) is fluid, and the I love how the brush painting in integrated into the gameplay--you really do feel like a "god" performing miracles as you travel through the game's world. Allowing the player to press a button on the PS2 controller and literally "paint" on the game screen is one the best ideas I've encountered in a while. The game is addictive, too--combat is fun because the title character Amaterasu--a sun god/dess in wolf form--can use the Celestial Brush to defeat enemies, and thus score more points (the scoring system is similar to that used in "Viewtiful Joe."). "Okami" is not a short game either--I've clocked in around 25 hours, and I'm at least half-way through it. This game clearly takes much inspiration from Nintendo's "Legend of Zelda" games, yet it remains an entity of its own. My only real gripe is that the voice-acting should have been in Japanese. We already have subtitles--actual spoken dialogue would have been preferable to the "Sim-speech" the characters have. At any rate, anyone who has the slightest interest in Japanese mythology and in trying something different should give this game a go. If you decide to buy it, it's money well spent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good!

posted by DevynAngel (OAKDALE, CA) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game certainly was a breath of fresh air. Intuitive controls, great visuals and if you like game like Dark Cloud where there a focus on rebuilding something between combat you'll love this.

A warning you should only play this game if you have 48 hours to spare as it's a long one! That said it's not too difficult except for a few annoying jumping and racing mini games near the end.

My only real gripes are that late in the game the camera freaks out on occasion making certain jumps much harder than they need to be and the devs stretched out the game a little to long by giving you boss battles you're already beat up to three times each on occasion. That said it's a very satisfying game and not too hard which makes it a nice diversion from more intense games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god. hero. hunter. savior. awesome.

posted by GTA647 (BELL CITY, LA) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying Okami raised the bar on action/adventure games. From its breathtaking graphics to its uniqe combat system to its funny and well done characters to its epic storyline,Okami features hours of fun and entertainment anyone is sure to enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by RockMan (LAWTON, OK) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

WoW! This game blew me away. I saw the reviews and played the demo but this was absolutely better than what you can expect. This pleads Fun and creative game play with art, amazing story line, and great graphics. I'm diffidently going to buy this game and i suggest you do the same. With the pricing on Gamefly your basically stealing the game of the year the only thing the could possibly be better is Gears of Wars, But while your waiting you should play Okami. 10/10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who says games can't be art

posted by blackhat (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

there was only one word that was flowing through my head as i dove into the magnificent world of okami. wow. watching this game unfold is like watching a gorgeous painting come to life. with an amazing story, addictive and awesome gameplay, and graphics that are completely in their own league, okami is a must rent this fall. trust me, you have never played a video game like this. its truly one of a kind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really awsome!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Oct 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: I wasnt expecting Okami to be so fun in terms of gamplay but i was wrong. There are lots of combos, lots of new abilities to buy, TONS of weapons and overall its pretty impressive. You also get the ability to use your "Celestial Brush" to make anything from bombs, to wind! You can openly explore any area of Nippon you like and the WOrld of nippon is pretty big. There might be a little to much talking for the people who want to pick it up and go, but if you want to get into the game, the dialoge shouldnt bother you.
STORY: Theres only one word that can explain okami's story "AWSOME". Thats all you need to know.
GRAPHICS AND DESIGN: I dont know what all the hype is about the graphics being SO good. I mean im not saying there bad but it just looks like the game is on a piece of paper and the environments and backrounds look like paper too (sorta like south park but in a different more detailed way). The design is great too. there are lots of really wierd enemies, like a Giant wheel with a nose sticking out of it, and cool bosses too.
GAMPLAY:9.7/10
STORY:10/10
GRAPHICS:8.7/10
DESIGN:9/10
OVERALL: 10/10 Okami is a great game. Dont rent it, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Word for this Game...Holy Cow!

posted by W4RM4CHINE (MANSFIELD, TX) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, that's two words. This game is beautiful, the watercolor images are remarkable and unlike anything I have ever seen. The game play is smooth, the camera is tight, and it's just downright fun to play. Once you get past the long opening story at the beginning (which you couldn't exit out of), the game is excellent. Thumbs up for one of the last GREAT PS2 TITLES. ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Original, beautiful, if not somehow familiar

posted by Greydawg (GREENVILLE, SC) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful


First things first, I loved playing this game. It's such a strange change of pace from traditional action/adventure games.

If you don't already know, Okami is bassed on Japanese mythology, and in my opinion it seems mythology from any culture can make for some really great plotlines, characters, environments, and designs.

In a generalization of the story and events, you play the part of a wolf/god named Amaterasu who runs around and, well, makes the world more beautiful after it has been cursed by...let's just say "evil forces". The idea of simply running around and making things more beautiful and colorful is so pleasing------there are points in the game where it looks like an enormous sea of cherry blossoms and ripening fruit washes over the land, the trees, the sky, and leaves you staring at the screen, smiling but without showing any teeth.

I'm an artist myself, and no, you don't have to be an artist to appreciate or play Okami, but I just had such a good feeling palying this game. It feels like a visual relaxation therapy session or something-----in all honesty, I have a hard time imagining what kind of gamer would not at least enjoy this game, if not love it.
However, there is a LOT of reading---If I could change one thing, it would be to add voice acting. The characters (and there are a lot of them) have great personalities, tons of variety, and yet voice acting would have really sealed the deal---I think it would have made this game perfect, and would have increased the rating from every other reviewer as well.
Also, it IS an adventure game, much more than it's an action game. What that means is you have to stick with it to enjoy it, and you have to pay attention to where you are going, etc. So it's best when you have an hour or more to play, rather than just a few minutes to get your game on. Still, if you like adventure/action games and you're wondering why there's so much dust on your PS2 these days, pick up Okami.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is Definitely A God

posted by Mrniceguy8 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For those that said you played it for a few hours and got bored, obviously you have ADD and attention span issues. The game doesn't doesn't start off with major action, I understand, but it is still fun and when you actually give it a chance, the action begins and it's an amazing experience. The game is truly original, unlike anything I have ever seen.

The fighting is fast paced, and the art style is just gorgeous. It's a lengthy game filled with a wonderful storyline and delightful characters.

All the unique ways and tricks to use your brush are fun and really make this game hard to put down. I recommend that you either buy this game, or at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okami is to PS2 as Japan is to Manchuria

posted by jfriedlan (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Dec 23, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fantastic graphics. Really, the comic book style looks really really neat. I've been playing it for 20+ hours and the graphics still seem incredible.

There are a few spots where you aren't quite sure who you need to talk to to progress, but the journal/beastiary/treasur- es/info system is very well done and usually makes it easy to figure out.

There are a lot of minigames. Some are great. Some get old pretty fast. Most of them are not like FF minigames that have infinite replay value and are necessary to the game. These are more like storyline minigames that you'll see maybe every five hours and will be allowed to repeat until you get correct.

The celestial brush is also excellent. You can at any time use your paintbrush to draw in artifacts into the active game world. You can make trees bloom, instantiate bombs, light things on fire, change the weather, or simply execute a power slash. What this area of the game really needs is a lot more techniques. You start with none and have about 10 of them 20 hours into the game. Better if you started with 5 and increased to about 30. With a larger technical arsenal the game could also offer challenging combat. The combat is very very easy right now.

The inventory elements need some tweaking. Namely, you have way too much money the whole game and there's really not much to buy. You find all these buried treasures but all you can do with them is trade for money. The divine attribute levelup system also blows. You could go the whole game without increasing any of your attributes and you'd never suffer for it.

In all, a very creative game. Well worth a rental or purchase. It reminds me of the other japanese cult games like Katamari.

But what's with the dialog voicing? did they make it sound mumblish as a feature or because they were too lazy to do English voiceovers? All dialog is like the voice in Shadow of Colossus.

It got a 9 instead of a 10 because of the weak combat and poor inventory/money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best

posted by gameguy91 (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is seriously a good game if you don't rent this game you are an idiot. this game is so close to perfection i had no choice but to give it a perfect score.

this game does allot of things right:
1. the artsy style can make you dizzy at first but after a little while it looks really good.
2. there are allot of brush techniques and using them can be fun, there are 15 of them.
3. its a long game, I'm talkin zelda long.
4. it trys not be serious all the time by adding some humor with Susano and the tiny artist and stuff so you don't get bored like how most games act serious all the time and kinda put you to sleep.
5. the enemy's are also pretty creative too.
6. there are many gimmicks so you don't do the same thing the entire game, its like wario ware kinda.

there's only a few bad things about this game:
1. some of the brush techniques lack creativity
2. its easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Okami, creation of the gods!!!

posted by auroro99 (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played many games in my lifetime, but never has a game captured my attention like Okami. I have to admit the dialogue between the characters are a bit annoying, but WOW!!!! the overall experience is incredible. The colors and effects were amazing not to mention the abilities you get as god. This is a must play for all you gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wonderful game with a Wonderful Headache..

posted by Peachy (TUJUNGA, CA) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall, the game is unique and beautifully made. As you go into the game, you explore new ways to fight and accomplish mission with a stroke of a brush. The scenery is placed as if you're in a japanese painting. The movement of the wolf is very easy to control and swift, but the camera angling is not as easily utilized. The only thing that stopped me from continuing this game was the obnoxious noises that came out of each character's mouth. No offense, but it sounded much like a child making continuous robotic noises and still wouldn't shut up. Also, as you hear these characters make balloon rubbing noises, you have to read everything they are saying(at times, it is long). Enjoy! I guess it all depends on the person who plays it.. If you fancy beautiful japanese artwork, originality in game play with plenty side quests, and can tolerate annoying mimicking noises(which can lead to heavy headaches)... This is a perfect game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautifully mastered!

posted by vegeta2999 (DOVER, PA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game was thought to be a dissappointment but in reality it only dissappointed the pessimists. The art and unique animation was completely breathtaking and takes ps2 graphics to a new level. the numerous puzzles are broken up by strategic and action filled battle. using your magestic brush you take on the incarnation of evil known as the 8 headed dragon Orochi. If you like either shadow of the colossus or ico you will definaely be delighted with this diversion from the ordinary and if you don't like either of those games you will still find urself drawn in to the wonderful and completely awsome "Okami"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse