Rent Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath for Xbox
view large frontback

Oddworld: Stranger's Wrath

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.1

2312 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME

posted by FeBeast (TALLAHASSEE, FL) May 26, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was so fun to play. It was middle of the road on difficultly, but there was plenty of puzzles to solve and some boss fights were intense. Tons of humor, great graphics, and a story line that is truly gripping to the end. I wasn't sure what to expect from this game when I rented it, but I was pleasantly surprised. Only problems were in the camera angles at times, but it wasn't that distracting. I will replay this game again someday and will be looking forward to the next one in this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pros and cons

posted by Vivameecro (FAIRMONT, WV) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very cool. It controls well and there is no denying that the major twist is very interesting. But let's get right down to business...

Pros:
- The story is very amusing, but it also becomes quite epic and serious as time goes on. It was entertaining from beginning to end.
- For most of the game, you have the option to either kill enemies or capture them alive for a better reward. It adds a nice extra level of challenge that is hard to pass up if you are an overachiever. By the way, ANY boss with the option to capture them alive is possible to be caught alive. And with the money you earn, you can buy upgrades to your weapons, ammo capacity, health, etc.
- You can always have 2 ammo types equipped at a time, making it convenient that you don't have to switch your ammo type all the time.
- The ammo is live. That is, it is little animals and that's funny. (Note to animal lovers: the animals do not get hurt>)
- I was skeptical after playing Munch's Odyssey on Xbox, skeptics be assured that this is no Munch's Odyssey.

Cons:
- I know I said it controls well, but that is with one exception. Sometimes it can be frustrating when you try to jump from rope to rope, as you sometimes have to do. Also, it is sometimes clumsy when switching from 1st to 3rd person when switching to a different attack when you're surrounded.
- The quicksave feature is convenient, as is the autosave. But the autosave tends to boggle down your memory and generally make it messy. If more than one person is playing through on the same console at once, take note of when you played because you'll have to go fishing for your save. Also, it is possible to save in situations that are impossible to escape, then you have to go all the way back to your last save.
- The very end is a little confusing. For those of you who like a good story. This story is excellent, but good luck with the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful game...

posted by xwillx (TECUMSEH, MI) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not liking the Oddworld series, i was hesitant to rent this game. But i have to say this game blew me away. Great graphics, from the epic landscapes down to the focusing of your binoculars and "sniper" scope. The game had an amazing feel to it, from the humor to the challenges of capturing them alive, to the crazy twist, which I never saw coming. The ammo function is perfect, though you stay with the same crossbow, you change ammo types, which are live animals that you have to "catch" to use... did i mention you use 2 at a time, which opens up much more strategy to the game. I love how it has platforming adventure, mixed with a lot of action, with great first person shooting. The ending was a spectacular, as is the entire final area; the atmosphere is breath taking. Only one thing is was annoyed by was the fact that when switching from 3rd to 1st view, your 1st person view went where your camera was facing, not where Stranger was. it very annoying in heavily outlawed areas. But other than that, the game was perfect. One of the best games for Xbox in my opinion...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oddworld Shooter, What's not to love?

posted by midget (HAYDEN, ID) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the oddworld series. I loved this game.

This game was the perfect balance of entertainment, comedy, action and challenges.

The guns were fun. The levels were hard but beatable. The characters were explained and enjoyable.

There were tons of levels, way more than I expected and you have tons of ways to do each level. Every time you play it's a whole different way because you'll never attack the same way twice.

They graphics were great too.. Especially the fuzzies.

They even left it open for a second, which I hope they do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great GAME!!!

posted by Michael (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is sweetmeats! it has a great story line all the way 2 the very end. The controls and game play r solid. The camera angles can be a little annoying. But in this game is kinda strange (hints the name Odd World) cause like u r in a world of ducks and weird lizard midget things. People call u stranger and you r a bounty hunter. With your money you can buy ammo and up-grades like spiked knuckles and and ammo clips. Also u literally have live ammo, when u run out of ammo u have 2 go and hunt 4 more. I did not not what 2 expect from this game i saw it on G4 and decided 2 rent it. But this was an awesome game with interesting turn of events. the ending surprised me but im not going 2 spoil it. so play this game. This game is a rent i think cause i beat it in about 5hrs. The replay value is al right. I probably will rent this game again some time and will be looking forward 2 it. This game does take a long time 2 load but its worth the wait.
CHECK THIS GAME OUT IT'S AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

KYLE25

posted by KYLE25 (ELVERTA, CA) May 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This was one of the best games I've ever played it has a good story line lots of action,good grafics,and it is not to hared or easy I wish it was a little longer other than that every thing else is good and the ending is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth renting

posted by dumplong (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was fun! it had a crazy, funny, well done story line. if you like to beat up crazy bad guys and towns people with a crossbow that shoots more crazy things, then this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST FRICKIN GAME EVEEEEERRRR!

posted by Haisai (PELHAM, GA) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

ok, if its made by oddworld inhabitants, its a great game. thats all you need to know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

please

posted by nanonutz98 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

hey you guys should like put this game for rent i love this game so much and its hard on the computer so ya plzz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of my favorite games

posted by Nick92970 (BURLINGTON, NC) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I love this game hate that you couldn't play on the 360,but hopefully they will make it a downloadable game soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of all time

posted by RocKrawler (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

I have played through this game 6 times and just started my 7th round. It never gets old. The originality and concept is timeless and despite its age, holds up to anything currently out for replay value and fun. My son, who is a COD and Halo fan, has played through 4 times, and daughter has played through 3 - They are remaking it now for the PS3 system with HD graphics and updated dialogue, it will be incredible to replay the new version when it comes out later this year. As soon as Gamefly lists it up we will be preordering and counting the days! Although we are disappointed that it will be a PS3 only version due to memory issues, it will undoubtedly be one to get - if you dont have an original xbox still (we kept ours just for this game) to try it out, beg borrow or steal a PS3 when the new version gets released so you dont miss out on the fun that is Strangers Wrath. Dont believe me? Check out the user ratings and see for yourself, it was also rated one of the 10 most underrated games of all time by one of the gaming magazines (which is how we found out about it & tried it the first time). You wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Didnt work on my 360

posted by DeadPanMuf (MOBILE, AL) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

OK so i recently got this game in the mail and i was so ready to play and i put it in my 360 and its not supported so i was pretty upset... if you rent this game be sure to have an original xbox handy or you wont be able to play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

exellent

posted by Tbanlord64 (PEMBROKE, MA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

this is one of the greatest, most funnest oddworld game i have played in quite a long time. i suggest you get this game if you enjoy a mix of western, sci-fi, and a cross between first and second person action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not X360 compatible.

posted by CheezPants (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

Wish I'd checked online first... it's not backwards-compatible on the XBox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great rent now if only they would let me keep it

posted by Darkshadow (CONCORD, NH) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

"What did the five fingers say to the face?"
"What? Ahh!!!"
"Now when I get back, that lift better be working. Or else I'll have to tell you another joke."

This is one of the scenes within the game among many that are entertaining to say the least.

This game (as am sure you have read in the description) is a FPS & TPS game exclusively for the Xbox (was plans for PS2 but once you start playing this game you will see the PS2 would have lagged to the point where WWIII would start).

Any ways what you want to know,

Difficulty: Medium (if you keep up on upgrades), it would be hard but it gives a decent tutorial at the very start and introduces you to the new weapons one by one as you complete the first few missions.

Graphics: The areas are beautifully done and constantly while playing I'd look around, not only to find the secret treasures but to check out how well designed everything was. And the movies are brilliant after finishing the game I went into options and watched the movies one after the other and it felt like a mini film.

Story: Awesome, starts out with you trying to collect a bounty from a guy whom you catch from the starting movie (making you a bounty hunter). Later on after the first few bounties you will find out you need a operation which will be reveled later on. The ending is awesome and am hoping for a sequel.

Gameplay: Great, you can knock out or kill the opponent and bosses, and then collect their bodies in a special bracelet thing for money (alive > kill). You main weapon (besides fists) is your 'Double Barrel Crossbow', controlled by the left trigger and right on the controller. You can also do double jumps, run (ramming enemies is fun) and something that alot of games don't have, is that the hero can SWIM! (no cliché here!). Plus the combat never gets boring, adding new and harder monsters and new ammo all the time.

Replay: Not much replay as in secrets to be found, but I find my self wanting to keep this game to play again.

Trust me rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good

posted by Bukora (KALAMAZOO, MI) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Strange game but extremely fun...
The feeling of bounty hunting in games is sweet and this game is perfect for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CHICKENS!!!!!

posted by hamstaman (CLIFTON, VA) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

I LOVE THE TALKING CHICKENS IN THIS GAME. ITS JUST PLAIN AWESOME. TWO THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

About as much fun as XBOX offers...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Dec 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

All I can really say about this game is what's not to like. It has it all. If you like a good story, graphics, scenery, action, length of game play etc, it has it all. Imaginative, fun, and captivating are all words I'd use to describe this title. Oddworld is the right name though, its weird to say the least, but in a humorous Muppetesque kinda way. I wouldn't let the writers baby sit the kids, but I'd let them make a game for me. Call it a game, but its more of an experience. Do yourself a "solid" and pick it up, you won't be sorry. For me to detail the game would spoil the fun so find out for yourself what's going on in Oddworld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Wild West

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Nov 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

Oddworld Stranger's Wrath is part FPS, part 3rd person action, and part WHAT THE HECK??? This game is still awesome though. You play a a bounty hunter in the well-known Oddworld. The graphics and environments in this game are great and controls are intuitive. Like I said before you can in be 3rd or 1st person view. Each has its own advantages. While in 1st person you can use your crossbow which uses both of the triggers. And you use "Live Ammo" (Yeah, its alive). You pick up little animals and each has its own effect. If you are in 3rd person mode you run a lot faster but can only use melee attacks. Another great part about this game is your ability to "shake off" damage. Just press the Y button and you with heal yourself. The story gives you a major plot twist towards the end involving your character. Throw in a little humor, awesome boss battles, and some nonstop action and you get the rest of this game. I give it an 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could have been huge.

posted by download (THORNTON, CO) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

I enjoyed playing this as much as Halo or more. If people knew how good it was it would have been huge. The only downside I see is the character models are pretty generic for many of the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever

posted by Orionv (JAMESTOWN, ND) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

This is one of the best games I have ever played. Fun from beginning to end. I just hope they make another one. Loved the live ammo and the different ways to use it. Really good story line too and one that you did not see coming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sweet!!

posted by surferdude (FORTUNA, CA) Aug 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

Game overall is very good. Great graphics and lots to do. Only problem I have is that the "invincibility" cheat code as written, doesn't work. Is there a part that was left out?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well balanced game

posted by scooby (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

Though it took me a bit to get used to the 3rd person/1st person switching back and forth this game really grew on me as I played it more. You'll definitely want to hang in there through the whole game as both the story and gameplay improve nicely as you advance.

There's a nice balance between brute force and strategic planning/playing. You'll find yourself trying to figure out clever ways to dispatch of your enemies. You also get more "moolah" for capturing enemies alive than dead and you have a good variety of upgradeable weapons and tools(?) at your disposal to accomplish either objective.

As mentioned in other reviews, there's a nice bit of humor in both the storyline and the actual gameplay - primarily in the random interactions with townsfolk characters and the chipmunks you use to attract enemies. However, even though there is a bit of humor and the characters are, for the most part, fairly "cute" the Teen rating is definitely appropriate for language so you might want to keep the young-uns out of the room while playing.

There is no adjustable difficulty level but the game is not too hard and even when it's easy it just gives you opportunity to be "creative" with how you advance. There were just a few sequences that I just ended up trying to run to the end rather than deal with every enemy there. You can quick save at any point so you won't get too frustrated having to play though the same sequence only to die again - this was especially helpful in some of the boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Unique Game

posted by guyperson (HERCULES, CA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I found Oddworld really odd, though it is different than other games. You use live ammo, I thought that was cool, the bounties are assorted and all different, and well Stranger's so dam cool, he's got that "I'm a taken yoose in So's You'd be smart to just drop down and die" attitude.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MMM FPS goodness

posted by solidsmoot (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game is amazing, it has the near perfect blend of FPS and third person action you could ever ask for. The live amo system is great, the game plot is awesome (this is one game i actually laughed out loud at), and the mechanics are fantastic. The only thing i could of asked for was a little variety, i returned it right after i got all of the different kinds of amo, and while the gameplay if fun it is a little repetitive. Its not a game you finish on a rent but it is definitely worth a rent. Its one of those games you will pick up if you see it in a game store later in life and say, "hey i remember this game, this game was awesome." and then buy it and play trough the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse