Rent Octomania for Wii
view large frontback

Octomania

Not Rentable
GF Rating
3.6

97 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Different type of puzzler and yet interesting!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This has a kiddish look to it and the gameplay feels a tad clunky and yet it is a pretty good rental. I hope someone remakes Tetrisphere or The New Tetris (2 BEST TETRIS GAMES EVER)!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's too cute for its own good

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Octomania is a puzzle game - one with several colorful octopi and a few grills intruding onto your game board. (Why am I thinking of calamari at this point?)
Each 3x3 grill has a number on it - the number of octopi of one color (your choice) that you get on that grill by maneuvering them about the game board via rotational motions.
Once that's done, the octopi vanish, and a gas in the same color of those octopi appears, and if you put more octopi of that color next to the gas within a certain time limit, those octopi vanish, you get a combo, and the gas increases, giving you an opportunity for a larger combo. If not, the gas vanishes and another grill appears.
But you're not alone - you play against a friend or the computer. With every combo you score, your opponent gets hit with a few rocks on their game board, making it harder for him/her to clear it. But every combo your opponent scores puts rocks on your side, making it tougher for you to clear your game board. There's also a diamond with special powers. First game board to completely fill up with octopi and rocks loses.
However, the game controls are very jerky, all of the characters are cute to the point of nausea and they say really annoying things during the matches.
Oh, and the single player storyline can be finished in less than two hours.
If Octomania had better controls, then it would be good as part of a mini game compilation, but the bad controls and lack of content doom Octomania.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should have read more than just the description

posted by skeeterak (WASILLA, AK) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I thought this game sounded like it would be fun for my almost 5 year old and myself, based on just the game description. I put it in, to find mention of a magician, a demon and a lazy angel. I was disheartened. I do not support magic, devils or demons. And if you've had a close call with death, you know your angel isn't lazy. I sent this game back as soon as possible. I do not want anything to do with it. Had I know more about it, I would not have wasted time on it.

God bless you. Remember, you know what's right and wrong. Your children don't. They won't know what's real either.

I'll be reading more than just the description about games from now on before I add them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun For A Short While...

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

This game's kinda fun. And very intersting. But it gets old after time.
I still enjoyed it. Atlus could have tried harder though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You Could Find a Better Puzzle Game on Yahoo Games

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

There wasn't really anything unique about this game. You could probably find the exact same gameplay on a free online game.

Turning jewels into octopi in a puzzle game doesn't make it fun or exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

poor game play

posted by roadrunner (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Octomania has to be in my opinion a throwback to the beginning of the video game era, bad graphics aside the game play is poor and primitive. I would have rated it a zero but there wasn’t one available on the rating scale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cute but Annoying

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game is an unique puzzler. But its annoying storyline and terrible controls ruin what could be a fun game.

The Wii remote D-pad is far too unresponsive and makes it a chore to use. The pointer control option ( using the wii remote itself ) is fun, but lacks polish and is too slow many times. Thus causing you to lose the game.

I did love the sugary cute graphics and characters. But the storyline was beyond foolish. It was this that was the icing on the cake. Having to suffer through the lame storylines just to play a puzzle was too much.

It isn't the worst Wii game that I have played, but it ranks among them.

Could have been good with more polish. The game was clearly rushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is unacceptable...

posted by Mikey0505 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I'm probably gonna have to give this a big fat no... That was a really stupid experience and LITTARLY got bored of it after 5 mins. Im so tired of tetris remakes YOU CANT IMPROVE TETRIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »