Rent Obscure: The Aftermath for Wii
view large frontback

Obscure: The Aftermath

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
4.6

420 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

"Obscure": good graphics, bad camera

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Some blobby creatures are out to take over a college campus, and who are you going to call? How about four college students who whine a lot during the game?
Okay, not a good start, but in Obscure: the Aftermath, you play as one of four students who pair up in different ways during the game. If you take too long to make your way through the game, the computer controlled students will whine.
Get used to the complaining - going from point A to point B is tough because the camera has a tendency to spin in a circle or give you a bad view of the area you're in.
And if the camera's not bad enough, there's the invisible walls to deal with. For instance, finding a path through the forest is almost impossible because these fit, athletic students can't climb a five foot tall fence or a three foot tall log. You're given a chainsaw, but can only cut certain trees, and not others. Why?
It's too bad these problems show up. The graphics in the game are good, there's several ingenious puzzles, the students are likable (if you overlook their whining.) and the story's very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another quick port of a poor game for the Wii

posted by Padrino (PETALUMA, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I actually rented this one my mistake. As a huge fan of the horror genre, I had added it a while back. Since then, I played the PS2 version and realized what a contrived worthless mess of a game this is. The plot and characters are so cliche that I believe the developers must have though they were funny but far from it. The enemies are all kinds of boring as well as the combat (pretty much Silent Hill). So if you are looking for horror on the Wii, stick to the good game cube ones (Eternal Darkness, RE0, RE1, RE2) or get the updated RE4 or even Umbrella Chronicles before you waste your time with this one. Better yet, grab Fatal Frame 1 or 2 which you could play on PS2, Xbox, or Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ow i didnt do it on purpose!

posted by Kliss2 (VILLA PARK, IL) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

lets see where to start. fans of the first game will be a bit disappointed with this game. i know i was. in the first one there was 5 characters and once you got them all unlocked you could freely play as anyone you wanted and if they got killed, either restart or keep going and let them stay dead. that was the freedom of the first game.

in this one they sacrificed that freedom for a little bit more story. they tell you who you must be and at what point. there are a few times that you can choice who to play as but once you enter the next room the choices became clear what the right choices were. the storys not to bad but the voice acting severly lacks. the controls are clunky at first but once you get the hang of it it isnt bad. my worst struggle was the lock picking part with the wiimote because it was very unresponsive.

im a major fan of the survival horror genre but this game made me die alittle inside. its got two player fun which is good but the freedom the first game offered was completely disroyed and the worst part is that you unlock cut scenes as you progress and once you finish the game you get the last cut-scene and some animation art. that is until you shut off the system and realized that it didnt save and that you have to rekill the final boss (which is a huge pain) all over again just to show your friends the cool cut scene before the boss. all and all this game made me sad. it was nothing like the other one and i did nothing for the genre besides make it two player. still worth a rent cause the story is intresting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game

posted by Primal (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have only been playing this game for about 3 hours and I enjoy it a lot. I reminds me a little of the original resident evil series. I find it amusing and fun. It's not the best game but if you are playing with another player I find it more fun. The story is very interesting and unique.

I don't really play the Wii that much cause I don't really like the controls. I would give this game a better rating if I was able to use the classic controller. But I do recommend getting this game if you are a fan of the original resident evils. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Remember Bug Island? Dissapointing!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

If you do this plays like it and is not worth a rental! Not even more time reviewing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

decent

posted by Guitarist6 (ANAHEIM, CA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Even though there were a lot of people on here leaving negative reviews i still decided to rent this game because i had hopes that it would still be a pretty decent survival/horror...And you know what ? In someways it's pretty good but this game does have a lot of flaws...Like the camera angles they aren't so great and they tend to get a little annoying....Also a big complaint that i have is when mosters come out you don't have much of a chance to survive,they just get near you and pound you repeatidly that you can't get away...The controls are ok

the voice overs are pretty bad too sometimes..

Pros : decent graphics,some fun puzzles,decent scares

Cons : bad camera,bad voice overs,hard as heck monsters,poor thought into making this game

This game could've been so much better if the creaters had just tweaked the whole game a bit more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confusing. Sometimes just wondering around.

posted by HOCASPOCAS (ELGIN, IL) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The story is boring, game play is confusing and sometimes I am just wondering around to figure out what to do. If you buy the guide or have a walkthrugh possibly you will enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A BIG WASTE OF TIME!!!

posted by Moodys13 (LEXINGTON, SC) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I SAW THIS GAME IN THE STORE AND THOUGHT IT LOOKED PRETTY COOL.I'M GLAD I DIDN'T WASTE MY MONEY(AND IT WAS ON SALE), HOWEVER I WASTED A RENTAL AND SOME TIME.THE GRAPHICS WERE GOOD,BUT THAT'S ALL IT HAD GOING FOR IT. THE STORYLINE WAS CONFUSING AS WAS THE CONTROLS. IT DOESN'T COMPARE TO THE RESIDENT EVIL SERIES AT ALL. BOTTOM LINE, I GOT IT ON A FRIDAY,OPENED IT UP ON SAT.,PLAYED FOR AN HOUR,AND SEALED IT UP ON SUNDAY TO BE SHIPPED BACK. A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just couldn't get into it

posted by EvIlDeAd (burnside, PA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

well i saw one person compare it to resident evil gotta disagree.(every resident evil game is better) i'd rather downgrade back to resident evil 1 then even put that disc back in my system... creatures were cool...

but the characters you play as i found myself wanting to let them die just because they annoyed me. i dunno... could have just given up on it to quickly... but when the characters are annoying i don't wanna play the game...

so if you find yourself between this or table tennis... get the table tennis... much more entertaining... and you don't have to worry about them not giving you enough ammo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like playing Solitaire in the dark...

posted by Geist13 (VACAVILLE, CA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Obscure: The Aftermath is like playing a game of Solitaire in the dark. Seems like a cool concept until you actually sit down and play it. -trying to swallow fist- Simply put, the game is just no fun!

The game begins with a lovely car drive, as the main character recaps past events before we are put in control of him and his female Companion. From there you wander around listening to other students talk dirty, examine typical bulletins, and try to open up locked rooms. It is a pretty dumb opening. Then you hang out with your pals, and I assume get high. Next thing you know, you and your female friend wind up in some very dark place. This was pretty boring, except for a few freaky in game gimmicks. I stopped playing after my first monster encounter. Both characters died and I wound up in the college dorm restroom with only one character. Spent some time wandering the hallways, every door locked and no idea what to do. Apparently, the character lost his room key.

Obscure: The Aftermath, just could not hold my attention, and I've played some BAD games. The video game is just lackluster in every regard. It fails pretty miserably, and I love survival horror games, bad and good.

Pros:

Surprisingly great graphics. Not remarkable but very nice looking scenes and rich textures.

The game's atmosphere is downright creepy like a survival horror game should be. Blood and gore.

Some cheesy B rated comical dialogue which works because the game is bad.

Cons:

The DARKNESS is beyond bad. Extremely annoying, you can hardly see anything at all. The only way it suggests to fix this problem is to adjust the color on your t.v. which you shouldn't have to.

Touchy control scheme which falls apart during battles. Could have used a complete overhaul.

Horrible camera work and frustrating angles. A nightmare having to deal with.

In closing, Obscure: The Aftermath is a poor man's Silent Hill, and no where near as good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as Bad As everyone is saying

posted by schilznizz (BOISE, ID) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

First off I don't get why a lot of people don't like this game. Is it perfect, in many aspects no it is not. Is it 100% next gen, oh far from it. Let me take you back in time, it was a fun time it was a good time it was a more simple time. Let me tell you the first game this game brings to mind, Silent hill, followed by the old resident evil series and other games that were made back in the day before there was this blindingly high expectations to have the best looking game. The first and foremost reason I really like this game is because it sticks with the basics and reminds me of a better time in gaming. Lets try not to forget that the people that made this game were meaning to have you on the edge of your seat and wondering what will happen next, and were definitely aiming for a more classic way to look at the ever expanding horror genre. Like when did horror switch to none stop action, and a over the shoulder view. I love the classic feel to this game it makes me want to go back and play my silent hill and my resident evils that are now collecting dust. I totally respect the creators of this game for making a game that is so classic in its nature.
As for other complaints like the camera, well in my personal opinion simply keeping track of your cursor will solve every thing. Yet if you neglect it then you will have the room spinning, literally. As for the complaints about the combat one reviewer complained and i quote "The enemies are all kinds of boring as well as the combat (pretty much Silent Hill)." And I say to you the reader that there is absolutely nothing wrong with the combat being that way. Unless you absolutely hated Silent hill, which I think if you like the horror genre you loved it as much as I did. So in closing that would mean you should like this just as much. Don't listens to the mindless babble this is a classic sort of game and should be treated as such not treated as the next best thing in gaming with the best of everything in it. thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN GAME!

posted by Jonnyboi (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I have only played this game with 2 players and I must say I am very impressed. The music, the storyline, the surprise's, the length of the game. If you liked Resident Evil 4 which I loved and you enjoy playing co-op do not pass this up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well...

posted by ChrisNknox (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game was exciting all the way thru I was at the edge of my seat either anxious or frustrated as is it frusrating at time as far as the camera work. But this game rocks yea it was a little Dawson Creekish at first but it gets better and should have a higer rating then what it does. Maybe thats because everyone was renting on the PS2 Format or buying PC Format instead of the Wii take it from me its worth the rental and or the buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

scooby doo + silent hill + dawsons creek = obscure

posted by tehlink (BOWLING GREEN, KY) May 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

First of all the game starts out as dawsons creek style drama in a college campus with the usual strange people running amok. but the game changes to a silent hill-esque nightmare but later it turns into scooby doo murder files (which doesnt exist) with you looking arouynd for your friends and getting them out of predicaments caused by the shenanigans of some random people. the gameplay confusing but, utilizes the wii remote and nun-chuk, the latter is a little un-responsive. All-in-all pretty good except for the awkward attempts at drama, and the environments turn into creepy scooby doo-ish areas with sounds like running and a chainsaw blaring. Definately not perfect but not bad, defininately worthy of a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

obscure aftermath

posted by bucneked (PEARL, MS) Apr 23, 2008

Member since May 2006

i rented this game for my wife who loved it so much we had to buy it. a very good follow up to the 1st game. the controls were easy unlike some wii games seem to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Don't Thinks its as bad as everyone says it is..

posted by Zericon (HALETHORPE, MD) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

In my opinion, this game has its flaws, however its your typical 3rd person horror. Not scary, but not Mario brothers either.
Worst part about the game to me is the go straight syndrome, you go where the game wants you to go and nowhere else. The Dorm, The grounds all look so creepy, yet i can't get there, or when I can, I can only go Thru the one unBLOCKed door that suddenly became unblocked this time thru...
If Everything else on your key seems to be 'Long wait' It's worth at least a rental while everyone else is getting tired of the other games. :)
Graphics are better than most non Nintendo titles on the Wii, faces look like faces, text is readable etc...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks awesome, but sucks

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Apr 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

The sound in the game is great!
Thats about the only good thing...the camera is annoying and turns when you don't want it too. The puzzles are too hard to figure out because their not clear on instructions. The story is bad, and the graphics are mediocre.

It starts out all happy, and then your instantly thrown into a cemetery and I had no idea what to do for about 10 minutes. It's a really dumb game.

Puzzles are too hard.
Story sucks.
Graphics are mediocre.

4/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A worthwhile game

posted by esrevnoc (ETHEL, WA) Apr 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Obscure: the aftermath is spooky, fun, and challenging. i have beaten this game twice already and i love the story and gameplay. and is even funner on co-op mode.i recommend that you atleast try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another, cheap, survival horror knock-off

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

If you have played resident evil or silent hill, or any other survival horror game, obscure feels like a stupid knock-off of both of these titles. The story is bad, game play is forgettable, and the design of the game is lame. If you have ever enjoyed a survival horror game i would give this one a try.
It only costs 30 dollars but so does Resident Evil 4 and you would be doing yourself a favor if you that instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »