Rent Obscure: The Aftermath for PS2
view large frontback

Obscure: The Aftermath

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

280 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

would be a good horror game ....

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if it wouldn't be for the controls. This game has most of the criteria that would make it a good horror game, from the decent graphic, story, music, surrounding environment, etc.. Sadly, the game is flooded with bad AI and controls's problems. I believe this is the first horror game that allow 2 player mode! You can either control one character and swich between the two or you could have another player join in and take control of the 2nd character. This is where the problems occured. The camera keep switching out of place, your AI keep running off in the wrong direction and die after being stuck somewhere. It's a nice ideal allow two players to play at the same time, but it's a bad idea when the camera suddenly switch to the other character instead of from a zoom out view for both of them, it's annoying when one player went outside of the camera view! you can't see and usually die because of it! Also, your enemies move quite fast comparing to other horror games, while you move like you have a broken leg!

It is a decent horror game, but its control problems kind of kill my interest for the game. It's less frustrating if you play this game with another player, but the control problems is still there.. but at least that player will not blocking your way when you trying to move something like your AI would!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Falls Short of Begin Good

posted by ZiggyK (PALMERTON, PA) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The story line was decent. In the opening sequence kind of rolled my eyes and thought "oh boy" but when I gain control of my character I was actually kind of excited about the game... for a whole ten minutes.

The voice acting is horrible and the characters are amoung the most unelievable characters I've ever encountered in a game.

The controls aren't very good themselves. Running around doesn't pose many problems, but when it comes to doing any aiming or using any weapons, it really stinks.

Lastly, there are a lot of very bad camera angles and camera controls aren't that great themselves.

The area where the game is good is the storyline. It's a neat concept with decent puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Obscure The Aftermath

posted by 212416 (SIKESTON, MO) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

It's a great game but it is some times irritating. The lock picking parts are the most irritating of all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

short but fair

posted by Djperson1 (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

ok the game isnt so long... its like 7hours or so but the game shines when your playing with a friend... two player coop through out the entire game... drop in and out, the game is somewhat challenging but beatable... No replay value but is a fun game so its Worth a Rent yes a rent you can beat it pretty easy but its worth it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Two player fun

posted by BEAUX25 (TAYLOR, MI) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I am enjoying this game. I liked the first my wife and i played through and beat it and we are determined to do it again with this one. My wife being a novice gamer has noticed things are wrong with this game but can't put her finger on it. I am an experienced gamer and CAN put my finger on it! This game is poorly executed. If you have played resident evil or silent hill it does not stand up well against those. The controls can be clunky at times. Item gathering can be hard because neccasary prompts don't alaways appear when searching rooms. But for all the bad things i can say we look forward to playing every night after the boy goes to bed the story has us hooked. Its reminiscent of a teen horror flick. So its fun with two player probably shouldn't waist your time with one AI sucks!! alright then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

wait for the game to come

posted by macgyver96 (SHICKSHINNY, PA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

i cant wait to play this game now i am wait for it to come to my mail box

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just What I Needed

posted by Jariah (HAYWARD, CA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Obscure: The Aftermath was a nice surprise for me. After reading horrible reviews about the game I was pretty worried about putting it on my Q. Well, turns out, the game was pretty fun. A welcome diversion from playing through MGS4 for days. I love survival horror and until Silent Hill and Resident Evil hit PS3 this will have to do. And it's not that bad. The puzzles where medium to easy and the boss battles butter to get through. I have to say, I was absolutely thrilled with being able to finish the game in just about three days. The story was cool, kinda silly, but still cool, the voice talent had some pretty, um, interesting lines, but the game play was nice. I found the first Obscure to be difficult to handle. The camera work was awful, the whole concept of switching characters was weird and took too long to get used to. Not with this game. Much easier to get a handle on and pretty enjoyable for those of us needing a little break of the difficulty of Metal Gear or the Sins of GTA. A good rent with nice graphics and fair story. If ya check it out, when ya beat the game and it gets to the credits, wait for it to stop. Another level opens up at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game with poor camera angles.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I've played the other Obscure games and thought they were decent so I picked this up. This too was also decent, but I truly wish that these game developers would design a better camera angle. I can't figure out why they always lock the camera at a position where you can't see what's going on. That was a big irritation when playing. Also they could have been more generous with items and ammo, most of the game I used a melee weapon to fight, and guns only when tougher enemies showed up. The partner AI isn't very good, several times they would just run around instead of attacking with their equipped weapon. The monsters as well seemed a bit tough especially for the lack of ammo. The game itself isn't very long, but it's worth the rental price. Here's my breakdown:

THE GOOD
Creepy story.
Nicely rendered cut scenes.
Very graphic (blood wise).

THE BAD
Flunky camera angles.
Slow movement of characters.
Very stingy with ammo and items.

THE UGLY
Irritating lock pick puzzles. It was a complete time consuming pain to line up all the tumblers to pick a lock. It got to the point several times where I just felt like shutting the game off because wasting such time on trivial nonsense takes away from the fun of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I really liked it

posted by thatgirl (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I played the first Obscure and now I've finished the second. This game is the most fun if you play it with someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been better

posted by ikelred (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

The storyline and puzzles were good. Controls were awkward and characters were slow compared to monsters. I found it impossible to get past the boss fight with Jedediah and Leonard so I couldn't finish the game. I have found this the case with many games. If they are going to make a game that is impossible to beat they should at least provide some kind of cheat so you can at least finish the game. Glad I just rented it instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor Voice Acting

posted by lamelsliss (HESPERIA, CA) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

I absolutely loved Obscure part 1 which is why I tried this one. It was sadly a disappointment. The controls are not the same from what I can remember about part one, but that isn't the worst part about it because I can deal with the controls. But Oh My God, the acting is BAD and it ruins the game for me. I guess if you can get past the voice acting and the controls maybe you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »