Rent No More Heroes for Wii
view large frontback

No More Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

5764 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

You Otaku!

posted by Reinhart (TOLEDO, OH) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Do you like anime culture?

Do you like killins'?

Do you like digital female assets?

Then you'll love No More Heroes. This latest offering from the creator of Killer 7 is a rather unique, rather amusing game that never really goes anywhere.

I spent half the game trying to figure out a solid motivation for the protagonist, Travis Touchdown, to be going about killing hundreds of talentless underlings and their often interesting masters. The motivation I came up for his actions? A woman and a lust to be the best. Travis from his style to his wit and stubborn coolness are everything any real life otaku wishes they were.

Basically the game boils down to going from mission to mission and clawing your way up the ranks of the UAA (An assassin's guild.) by killing whoever holds the rank above you.

The missions and boss battles are always interesting and fun and they are what will keep you playing this game, that and nothing else. Between missions you have to do extremely boring side missions and odd jobs to pay the entry fee for the next ranked fight. These jobs range from killing to rounding up cats to collecting coconuts. Other than that, you can work out at a gym owned by a hilariously odd ex-wrestler (The gamefly censor system won't let me say why), buy videos and visit a scientist who makes new beam katanas and apparently hates you. There is also a collect fest in the form of delivering "Lovikov Balls" to a drunk Russian of the same name.

The combat is very repetitive (Slash, slash wave the Wiimote in an indicated direction, watch clouds of blood and limbs fly everywhere, repeat.) and I found that I almost exclusively used my beam katana; almost never did I utilize the arsenal of wrestling moves at Travis' disposal. That said, the combat is giggle inducing, over-the-top and fun.

The unique personality, style and music of this title will either make you love it or hate it. Because combat alone does not a game make. So, if you're open to a bit of quirk, pick it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

punks not dead

posted by kottonmouf (BARTLETT, IL) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

well...actually it is. and mtv killed it. but its spirit lives on thru this bum named travis touchdown.
third party games on the wii come in two forms: either games that try to use the wiimote in "innovative" ways and fail miserably with terrible controls or a collection of mini games. thankfully, this game is neither. no more heroes is, without question, the best third party game on wii. it focuses more on actually playing than trying to get the wii remote to do weird and pointless things. other than a few mini games the only remote usage is saved for wrestling moves and finishers. it really keeps the game fun without feeling like a gimmick. combat is very fun and smooth, since thats what you'll spend most of your time doing. theres just something fun about pulling off a finisher and decapitating 10+ enemies with one mighty swing. enemies split in half and blood sprays all over the place, anime style. even tho you're basically using a lightsaber (or a beam katana as they call it) that you bought off the internet. theres still upgrades and different types of swords, including one with five blades, awesomeness.
youre not in this for fame, money, honor or any of those other motives heroes use, no, travis is just doing this to get some booty. the point of the game is to get enough money thru (very) odd jobs and assassination gigs to fight the next assassin above you and take his place. these guys are all very unique in their insanity, the boss battles are the highlight of the game.
everything in this game has its own twisted style. the story line is excellent. the combats great. the graphics are amazing with a combination of modern and retro, travis himself still plays N64.
there was one gripe, some of the levels are a little boring. letz shake's (yeah, thats really his name) level is one straight line. there aren't even any turns. and its long.
anyone who's looking for a great non-nintendo game definatley needs to pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great but not for me

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

28 out of 43 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I understand why everyone is so impressed with this game. This game is original and clever in almost every aspect. The game play is interesting and intuitive the music is acceptable and the premise is totally unique. The directors stamp is all over this game evident in its many quirky little tid-bits. This being said I sent this game back after playing it for twenty minutes. The game just wasn't fun for me. I think most will enjoy this game but some(like me) will not really buy into the hype and quirky game play. Most of the game felt very repetitive to me and I just didn't care about getting past the first boss. I felt like I was just button mashing and not really immersed in a good video game experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game for Wii.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

54 out of 85 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is simply one of the best Wii games out currently. Other than Medal of Honor Heroes 2, no other game has quit sparked my interest until No More Heroes. Soon as you start the game there is just DEATH DEATH DEATH. Slicing through people, doing wrestling moves. It's sweet to DDT someone and then stab them with a beam katana. I also enjoyed petting Jeane in the game. The game is really messed up, which is what makes it so awesome. For one mission, you kill someone, and for the next mission you collect coconuts. AWESOME. THIS GAME GETS A 10/10 for gameplay, graphics, sweet story, weird stuff, and DEATH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No More Doubts Remain...

posted by Mistor (HAVRE, MT) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Well this game started off pretty well reflecting on the trailer anyone following had scene and putting you into the action first off. Not only that but it also managed to put the Wii-mote into a usefull stance instead of constantly burdening the player. The sandbox style of the game really shines around the city of Sante Destroy while progressing in the story almost seemlessly. The only real challenge is earning the money to pay your fight fees which is easilly accomplished by just doing a few part time jobs and assasinations.As far as the overall feel of the game it was outstanding the constant jokes and prods and overall atmosphere just made it ring of success. Personally only one game even feels moderately similar that being Killer7 the director/story writer Suda51's cult hit. As far as looks go its pretty decent although not exactly up to par with "next-gen" expectations it does stylistically present itself and wont hurt your eyes. The story is great and will leave you asking for more.The soundtrack is pretty repetive but isn't really highly noticable as your too busy slicing through cronnies. Now the combat is where it's at the seemless controls and ease of use just makes this game a hit not to mention the way your throws and everything ties toghter.

Personally, I thoroughly enjoyed this game and would recommend it to anyone looking for the Wii's first Mature but good title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Excellent Game

posted by zgamer92 (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Finally, a great 3rd party title for the Wii. No More Heroes has all of the right elements of a good dame from game play to storyline. This is one game that you can not afford to miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good.

posted by rimbaud (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 28 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics aren't "stylized" they're ugly.
the characters and environments look super low poly, the high contrast cell shaded black effect is just ugly.

the gameplay is redundant.
tap A three times and swing your arm 400 times and you win. mini-games like swinging your wiimote like a bat at flaming baseballs does little to break up the monotony.

the camera is AWFUL.

the story is shallow and dialogue is hoorendous. The whole plot is established in a 5 minute cut scene at the start with absolutely no background information. after which you run about calling people "old man" like 600 times and saying "will you do me" to the female characters. Yes, literally.

the bike is the most god awful poorly programmed means of transport ever created. in order to do a drift turn you have to swing your arm in the OPPOSITE direction!?!!

in summary, ugly game, shallow story, shallow gameplay,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is what the wii was made for!

posted by DemonBoy13 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when you first play it you'll think "its just some cartoony-bad game with lots of blood and cutting in half and bad humor!" but dig deeper... and at about rank 8 you'll start to realize that this is the wii version of Grand Theft auto! I mean. missions to kill. a cool bike to ride. buying weapons. going around town rolling over people. sounds like a grand theft auto to me! now this game goes even as deep as going from taking a dump to save. all the way to going to a trainer who wants to have s e x with you! (yes... a male...) now if taking a dump to save and doing errands for money till you get te money for a mission doesnt sound good for you. how bout changing your cloth? mabye a new sword? no. then you'll surly enjoy playing with your cat and renting videos at "beef head" either way you wil truly have many fun hours with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by TtamSteed (LONGMONT, CO) May 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

I've played my share of bloody games. Gears of War, God of War, Grand Theft Auto.... However, there's a point where it's just gore for the sake of gore. This game broke past that point in the first few moments, sending limbs flying with seriously overdone explosions of blood spraying through the air in all directions.

Not only that, but everything about the game is just plain ugly. The characters are ugly. Their clothes, hair, faces.... They look like they all were hit by a semi as a child even before you add in the low polygon count that would put the GameCube to shame and the Killer 7-esque shading effects.

Not to mention the voice acting is atrocious (and poorly synced). Travis is downright boring to listen too and Sylvia has one of the worst fake accents I have ever heard. Not that the writing is worth it to begin with.

But even with all that set aside, the game is just bad. It mostly consists of identifying the boss's painfully repetitive move pattern, waiting for your opening, then attacking a bunch. Before you can get to the boss, though, you first have to spend time hacking through the legions of identical clone lackeys, all of whom die pretty easily to the standard "lock on, hit A a bunch, then waggle the stick in the direction of the arrow for an over-stylized and insipid kill animation". But you can't even kill baddies without doing odd jobs to get money first.... Yeah, you have to pay them to pay you to kill someone. Confusing much? Not to mention the odd jobs are such stimulating tasks as "mow the lawn!" and "collect the coconuts!".

For a brief, beautiful moment, the game was almost fun. The intro was kinda cool (almost), the first few baddies were kinda fun to kill, and the first boss fight was... meh, but forgivable. Then came the pointless GTA style open world, an uninspiring introductory cutscene, and some coconut gathering. At that point I had lost interest, and it was impossible to get it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by Ferrachi (BIG LAKE, MN) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game looks like it should have been released 10 years ago on the N64. Cliche story line and awful graphics. If this is the best 3rd party game to date for the Wii we should all be worried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great for demented People & Teenagers

posted by zendba (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful


Once again I relied on the "gamefly" ratings and tried this one because it had a 7.....boy was I wrong.

The game is built on curse words & senseless violence, with little other substance. If you want a well played violent game, MK vs DC Universe is way better. If you want the "Gangsta" element, go with GTA.....If you want to waste your time, go with "No More Heros".

This one isn't even worth playing for a day....and it gave me a great idea that I will pose to gamefly...ratings for games based on demographics.....Age/Gend- er/Intellect....that should cover it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rated "I" for Immature

posted by kirkland (NORTH BEND, WA) Dec 25, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Save yourself the $40 and 20 hours of your life and just watch the boss fights on youtube.

To be fair, I really enjoyed the retro 80's video game feel of the graphics and sound (whether it was intentional or not), the almost-plausible light saber concept, and the unique boss characters. The cell-phone calls that come through the wii remote were a nice touch.

However, 3 boss fights into it, I just couldnt take it anymore.

Whoever cranks these games out needs to hire an actual english-speaking "grown-up" to do some quality control on the dialogue. After the first boss battle, the main character asks the head honcho girl "If I become Number One, will you 'do it' with me?" ("Do it", for those of you not out of 1st grade yet means "have s-e-x".)
Who, in their mid-late twenties, actually talks like that?

Secondly, how much more repetitive can the combat possibly get? Aside from the fact that every bad guy thug looked the same, I think the "finishing move" was completely disruptive to the flow of fighting. It got to a point where I didnt care if I got the random "super-move" because it always happened at a point where I didnt need it, or the camera angles prevented me from using it effectively.

Some minor gripes

- I could have coped with just a simple save menu. Seeing the guy sitting on the toilet every time I want to save or load the game is unnecessary.
- It was funny how the bad guys would groan after they've been cut in half vertically.
- I hated every moment I had to drive the motorcycle.
- There was really nothing else to do in the city except run over people. I mean come on, let me hijack a car or something.
- The mexican wrestling masks seemed too contrived; felt like yet another thing to collect. Would have been more inline with the game theme to collect Vegas prostitute cards instead.
-What quasi-metro assassin keeps anime girl dolls in a case in their apartment?

Another potentially great game lost in translation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by mrbarky (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Extremely dull, unless your idea of excitement is making your character run around while pressing the A button. Awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

All abroad the fail boat

posted by MumblesCrz (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My list of grievances for this game is long, I'll list them then explain.

1) Shader effect
2) Third Rate Jobs
3) Random mini games in levels
4) Driving
5) Saving
6) Open World
7) No mission retry
and I'm sure more that will arise as I explain.

First is the shader and toon effect that they are going for, this on is a simple fix have one more layer from color to black so that it doesn't look like I'm staring at metal people and don't have a migraine from just looking at the game.
Second what's up with the second rate jobs? Picking coconuts, cutting grass? I thought the character was the 11 ranked assassin to start the game, stop calling me a noob and give me missions to kill people.
Third why am I hitting baseballs back at people to kill them? Why are those balls on fire anyway? I have a "Laser Katana" I don't play ball I hack limbs off.
4,6,7 are all related. I get that were going for a GTA feel in the world. The only problem is that you did it poorly and it just takes away from the game. I don't wanna drive around on this horrible looking bike so that I can go to the same spot for different missions a bunch of times and on the chance that I do fail, I don't wanna have to drive back to the agency to pick that mission up again. Just give me a main menu that gives me access to the gym, clothes shop, sword shop, assassin missions ( not the job one though just get rid of that) and home. Actually I don't even need a home just a save screen.
Which brings me to my next point. I don't want to see this man on the toilet when I go to save. It's not funny in anyway. And this goes for most of the game, the cussing and bad humor seems like just a way to reach for the M rating. We get it your trying to make a mature game. How about making a good one instead.

Finally I put this out there. Just because you give me a laser sword that an obvious rip off of Star Wars doesn't mean that your game is any good. Yes Wii players want this, but we want a good laser sword game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I was expecting much more!

posted by GeminiNYC (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

I had so much hopes for this game. I was actually gonna buy it but something told me to get it from Gamefly first and try it out. I been playing it for 3 days. Im so glad I didn't buy it. The graphics are something like you would see on the original Playstation or N64. The gameplay is very repetetive (except for the side quests). There is only 1 type of enemy that you fight through the whole game besides the bosses. And it got boring real quick. I really hope they fix this game up if they make a part 2 for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not sure I played the same game as everyone else

posted by KingKupa66 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 22 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I don't know exactly what all you other people are playing. I thought the Wii was a next gen console, but maybe I was mistaken, because this game looks like a Sega Genesis original. No amount of cheesy anime styling can save this cut rate bargain bin game. The controls, while responsive weren't the kind of hack and slash I was hoping for from the wii. It is nice to see a game with some gratuitous blood and gore on the wii but that is not enough to save this game. I would have liked to see more use of the wii remote as a sword instead of only being used for "finishing moves". Basically all you're doing is hitting A really fast and then the "finishing" moves are pre-determined, leaving you to just flick the remote in one of 4 directions. Big whoop. I seriously hoped for a sucker punch of innovation, instead I was girl slapped with mediocrity.

The story is your typically cheesy anime kung fu rise to power schlock and did I mention the game looks like a pixelated mess?! Yeah, I thought I did...

I felt I had to try it based on the good reviews I saw, unfortunately I was sorely misled and terribly misinformed. If all you're looking for is a game full of mindless blood and guts and minimal use of the wii's potential, then by all means go for it. But I refuse to accept this garbage as the best of the best on the wii. Please, by all means give it a shot, but don't say I didn't warn you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bottom 10 game for the wii

posted by Hampie (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game sucks game play is way too repetitive. The controls are horrible driving is dumb and reacts late. There is no need to use the wrestling moves as the do no damage and are not even cool looking. you do dumb quests like pick up coconuts. You have to farm money to unlock the next stage because beating the last one wasn't enough? Just a poor game don't waste your time with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games in history.

posted by cnmike2 (WILMINGTON, NC) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game's sucks to an astonishing, almost incomprehensible degree. It is probably one of the top five worst games i've ever played in my life, and i've been around since Pong. The only reason why someone might rate it highly is because of the artwork. If you're of fan of anime you'll love the artwork. It also is absolutely hilarious when you recharge your sword. So it has two things that are good about it. BUT, you can play with your eyes CLOSED! You just have to pretty much keep shaking the Wii controller back and forth. If they had only put in a little more effort, it could have been so much better. The driving around bit is ridiculous, the vehicle doesn't even lean and it stops and starts moving in jerks. You really have to see it to believe it but its level of development is probably about 1981 stuff, as far as the driving goes. And where are the other cars? I literally and honestly felt sick to my stomach playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really?

posted by Bergshot (KENT, WA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Not only was this one of the weakest games I've seen on the wii, this was one of the weaker games I've ever played.

Graphics of SNES quality.
Ridiculous story.
Worst gameplay imaginable.

The game starts off with a silly cut-scene, and then the "action" commences. The game basically entails hitting the A button 3 times and then moving the wiimote in a given direction. No timing, moving, or thinking of any kind needed.

You could play this game without even watching the screen, as eventually you will move the wiimote in the right direction and proceed to the next bad guy. But then you wouldn't get to watch the blood fly, which I guess the game's appeal.

I don't get it. Repeatedly pressing 1 button and watching blood spray is worthy of $40? You can play stuff like this for free online in flash player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Top 10 Wii game?! You have got to be kidding me.

posted by Lustie (KENNER, LA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to get this game. I saw it was in the top 10 Wii games from different gaming websites. I was so disappointed. This games graphics were awful, gameplay was so ridiculous. Constantly having to shake the Wii controller was tiresome & NOT FUN. Don't think this is going to be just some good old fun like grand theft auto, it's not & you will be putting it back on your mailbox within 20 min.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not so much

posted by sxty8chrgr (LAKE WORTH, FL) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the artwork was pretty cool,it starts off really interesting when you are learning all the moves, but the gameplay was horrible.
the bike you ride around on was booch. The story was stupid and lacked substance.
it seems like the designers cut alot of corners to get this game out, too bad because it could have been a really cool game.and his sword? im suprised they dont get sued by george lucas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The De-evolution of Mankind Begins With This Game

posted by konamicode (TRENTON, NJ) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Just because a game is crammed with gratuitous gore, violence, LAME dialog and secks-starved, 4th grade educated loser main characters... doesn't mean it's a good game.

Take No More Heroes... please... take it. The graphics are laughable... the Wii is capable of much better poly-counts and cel-shading than this game even bothered to tap into. I've seen better looking games on the N64. The animation is repetitive and shamefully stiff for a game claiming to be "stylized". When they can't even spare the effort to make the run cycle look decent, I wonder why they even bother. 8000 human enemies that look exactly alike and come at you in droves gets real tired real fast.

When screaming random obscenities and begging for secks makes a cool main character... you know the game industry has finally hit rock bottom. There's really nothing revolutionary, stylized, innovative, redeeming, or even interesting about this game. It's 99% hype, and 1% hot air.

Gamefly is a life saver... and a time and money saver... or else the unfounded hype over this game might have cost us $50 we could have used more intelligently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by superEZ94 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was one of the worst games i have Evered played i mean wat is the point of it you know what i mean that is just my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Well, it is certainly...unique.

posted by rdewalt (LOS BANOS, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

As far as action games go, NMH fell short of what I was hoping for by quite a margin. Guy on the box has a laser sword or whatever it is supposed to be. You think "Hey, on the Wii I'll swing the remote, smack people with the sword."



No such luck.



Wiimote is used for selecting stance, and a horrible "recharge" where you have to shake the remote. Yeah, that's an excellent game mechanic, is there a requirement by Nintendo to stick as many Wii motions as you can in a game?



A nice touch however, is when our protagonist gets a call from his 'boss', the wiimote's speaker does the actual speaking, as if you were holding the cellphone the protagonist has.



Oh, and quicktime events went out with the Dreamcast. Sorry.



Very stylized, character designs reminicent of Jet Set Radio. Fun game for a rainy day, glad I gamefly'ed it rather than bought it. All in all, my expectations were higher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time and effort...

posted by Coyotetime (ASHFIELD, MA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be cool because of its light saber style fighting but it was just awkward. After having played it for a few minutes and beating the first level, the game FROZE MY WII...i tried it on a friends Wii as well and same thing, after the end of the first level it froze his Wii. Maybe if u like simple games with terrible controls and don't mind having your game freeze constantly...try this game but if u enjoy beating a game and enjoying it all the way through try Zelda...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse