Rent No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle for Wii
view large frontback

No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

1644 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Travis is back!

posted by Satanspant (EUDORA, KS) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

That's right Travis Touchdown is back, this time with a more streamlined game...well mostly. Many good things about the first game remain, Suda 51's style and quirky humor, wildly over the time characters and action, and a few beam katanas that all handle differently. But it also kept many frustrating things, such as annoying camera angles, and controls that feel just a bit wonky.

Though there are lots of improvements made to this game to make the pace of the story move a lot quicker, such as the elimination of the open world map, it added a few things that felt pointless and rushed, such as pretty much ANYTHING on the motorcycle. Just like it's predecessor, this is more a niche game. Some will love it, others will play the first 5 minutes and immediately despise it. This is a game that really should be played with an open mind.

And any new comer to the series be forewarned, this game is defiantly not for kids, or anyone offended by strong and vulgar language, violence and gore, or strong sexual themes.

Pros:
-Wild storyline complete with giant robots and ninja girls
-Violent and messy for those that want their Wii for more than throwing baseballs and drive go carts
-Gives us more of Travis Touchdown and gang

Cons
-Boring moments of literally doing nothing for 30 seconds
-Camera makes Shinobu's jumps sometimes hard to make
-Very disappointing end

Rent it to check it out, however buy it if you like the style, help give developers the encouragement to make more creative and story driven games for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game, worth a rent

posted by jbeckstrom (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros

Fun and simple game play.
Great boss fights
Fun 8 bit mini games for collecting money and improving character
Uses vulgarity in a funny and over the top way.

Cons
Horrible camera
Some say graphics are great but I feel they are average
Pretty short

I have to say, if it was not for the camera this would have been an outstanding and fun game. The mature rating was used for more of an over the top comedic affect (taking a dump to save the game, for one). This is way more preferable than being vulgar just to be vulgar. Definitely worth a rent for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont let your children play!

posted by crshsmky (SALINA, KS) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an adult that plays the wii it is nice to see some games catered towards an older crowd. This game is bloody, vulgar, and has a high sexual content. The mini games are kinda stupid but they reminded me of playing the original NES and were pleasantly addicting. Your typical happy slashing game. The bosses were easy enough with a few being tougher than others. Overall a pleasant play in a system dominated by childrens titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Taking assination to the next level

posted by bladex20 (SMITHSBURG, MD) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NMH2 is a great game and features some great new people. This time around you start at rank 51 and continue to number 1. There are only 15 people to fight so dont be afriad. You also play as henry and shinobu which is fun. however the bosses do become extermely anoyying. NHM2 has 8-bit mini games that will make you earn small change but you don't need to meet a certain amout of money to meet the next assisin. the clothing is over priced and so are the katanas.NMH2 does have the cool jackpots like the first one did, its still there just not as cool. The story is more important and Travis grows up... a little. And the game always has a mysterious tone.
-No More Heroes 2 is one you shouldn't miss it has great plot and even has a retro movie feel not to mention some great humor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun at it's high points, boring at all others.

posted by MasterMo (PORT CLINTON, OH) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

No More Heroes 2 is overall a fun game. It's just too bad that you don't get more of the fun parts.

What this game does best is the boss fights. Hacking and slashing will get you to the boss, but it won't work on the bosses themselves. You'll need to learn bosses' attack patterns and capitalize on openings. It requires a small bit of strategy, but not to a frustrating degree, at least not on lower difficulties. Each boss is unique and they are generally a blast to fight.

But besides the bosses and the overall absurdity of the story and characters, the game falters. When you aren't watching a suggestive cutscene or beating up the next boss, you are either beating up generic enemies on your way to the boss or playing a minigame of some sort.

Beating up random thugs before the bosses can be rewarding at first; watching enemies spew blood while simultaneously exploding into cash is its own reward. Early levels are short and make you yearn for more baddies to beat up. Later levels, however, make up for this with wave after wave of generic thugs shouting generic threats. You quickly grow to wish the enemies would stop showing up so you can just move on. Swinging at enemy after enemy is only entertaining for so long.

Then there are the minigames. Unlike the first game, you aren't forced to earn money in order to progress. But if you want to buy the extra swords and stat buffs, you don't really have that choice. Most the games are in an 8-bit style, but they lack the main game's fun factor. While fun initially, playing them over and over for the money you need grows tiresome and frustrating.

My playthrough on the mild difficulty took just under 10 hours. But much of that was spent playing minigames or mashing A with the occasional dodge to get through the stages. I certainly enjoyed fighting the bosses and certainly enjoyed the character interactions. But beyond that, the game was almost a chore to play. NMH2 is a good rental, but it isn't good for much beyond that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game can be fun without Heroes

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 2, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I’ve played the franchise, and it really makes me want to go back and play the original.
No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle takes a lot of it’s ideas from the original and I say from Madword. It’s the ultimate Anit-Wii game there is.
Let me explain; most of the games that come out for the Wii are family friendly games that are made for the casual gamer. They have very little violence in them and their sexuality content is almost zero.
But many a hardcore gamers are turned off by the sanitized content, and want something very hard core. That’s when games like the original No More Heroes, Madworld and this game were made for.
Make no mistake; there’s plenty of blood to be shed via our protagonist’s (Travis Touchdown) light swords. And there are many scenes where the camera is fixed on a woman’s … um … you get the idea.
Desperate Struggles also makes fun of anime, magna, giant robots, sequels, horror games, cheerleaders, and many other things. It’s really funny to see how the writers parody these genres with great skill.
And when the fun cut scenes are over, you get to hack your way through a lot of bad guys with simple, yet fun controls, before you take on the boss.
Between these massive battles, you can take on side jobs like delivering pizza, connecting pipes, cooking meat and so on. These are actually mini games, and they are a mixed bag - I like the delivery game, but not thrilled with the meat cooking one.
Still, the biggest problem I have with this game is the change of mood. Late in the game, the protagonist makes a speech about the value of life, but to get there, he has to kill dozens of guys. Can’t have it both ways. Also, the ending is really flat.
Still I had a lot of fun with No More Heroes 2: Desperate Struggle. It’s a cut above the average adventure game. BUY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good sequel

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As amusing and as eclectic as the first, made even more fun by the omission of certain tedious gameplay elements that dragged the original "No More Heroes" down. You no longer have to roam a huge, boring overworld in order to travel places (just select a destination on the world map, and voila, you're there), nor do you have to pay exorbitant entry fees in order to enter a proper level; now it's free. This means you don't have to play dull mini-games over and over just to earn some arbitrary sum of cash (although the mini-games here - all inspired by 8-bit classics - are more fun than those in the original "No More Heroes"), and the cash you do earn can be spent on things like weapon upgrades and new clothes.

Keeps the good, jettisons the bad. That's what a video game sequel should do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

About Average is just about right

posted by McChoad (BRIDGEVILLE, PA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having played and loved the original I came into this game with high hopes. Some of them were met.

The things I liked about this game:

1. Getting rid of the bike. Driving around Santa Destroy was pretty annoying in the original and I'm glad they got rid of it.
2. The 8-bit mini games. They were all enjoyable and were at a pretty fair difficulty level. If you enjoyed yourself some classic NES, then you'll dig these simplistic games.
3. The progression of Katanas from fastest/least damage to slowest/most damage and the choices you had to make to beat certain areas much more efficiently.
4. The Giant Robot boss fight. Someone said they hated this, but I couldn't stop laughing. The lampooning of Anime is quite humorous in most of the game.
5. The gameplay in general. It's very gratifying running around as a tiger mauling people in half.

Now to the things I disliked:

1. The end boss fight. It just seemed cheap, and it wasn't very fun.
2. The length of the game. My roommate and I beat this game in 2 days and it's not like we played all day both days.
3. The lack of Katana upgrades. The Katana lady builds two Katanas the whole game. weak.
4. The difficulty of the Strength training. If you beat the final level of strength training I want to shake your hand.

All in all though, I had a good time playing this game and did a good deal of laughing at the sheer ridiculousness of it all and at the end of the day that's why it deserves an About Average rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Bit Disappointed

posted by toxicloser (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this game, considering the first one was AMAZING. After playing into it for about an hour, I realized that they did away with the "roaming" of the city, and the fact that you had to actually earn $$$ in order to advance in rank. With that in mind, it was kind of a plus because it did get a bit tedious having to go across town on a bike that was kind of hard to drive and such, BUT it considerably did cut down on the gaming time. A LOT!
After repetitve battles leading up to the main boss, I also noticed that they shortened the effects of the "special attacks" (i.e. the slot machine that appears after finishing up with an enemy) which was kind of a downer. (hey there were pretty neat) The bosses were interesting of course.
All except the very last one...UGH...I won't say anymore...just be prepared for a REAL lame thing.
Anyway, in short, overall this game was not as good as I was expecting. The story was just mediocore, and not as good as the first one. Either way, if you have nothing better to do on a weekend, indulge yourself in this. It is a good time waster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stupid, Frustrating, Recycled

posted by Dan1117 (Teaneck, NJ) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

As much as I loved No More Heroes 1, I found this game to be a complete disappointment. When No More Heroes 1 originally came out, it offered a Star Wars Light-Saber-like control, way before The Force Unleashed came out. The motorcycle driving was a great deal of fun, and the side missions weren't ALL 80's style video games.

Aside from the AWFUL tilt which makes this came frustratingly difficult when doing the platforming missions, the controls are sluggish and almost impossible to use when playing the 80's style games.

The 80's style games are my biggest gripe with this game. These games are STUPID. Aside from 1 or 2 of them, I really didn't like to play any of them. Also, the fact that playing these awful games was the only way to increase your strength and health in this game made the game even more STUPID.

The combat in the game is more of the same from the last game. There is a good amount of blood and Anime-Style killing, but it does get old. The fact that there are no more upgrades to the weapons and so few of them took a reat deal away from the game.

I think I reached my wit's end when during the super-mega-Japanese-style robot battle, one of the attack was called "Strawberry Shortcake!!!" Like I said...Stupid.

I HATED this game, and thank God for Gamefly in the fact that I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game I have ever played

posted by bigdevo47 (ALGONQUIN, IL) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I spent an hour hoping this game would be some what interesting. So, disappointed. Dumbest game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

GREAT....untill....

posted by Soupmania (SPRING HILL, TN) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Just as good as the first untill the last boss, that will make you rip out your hair. kinda ruins the rest of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you liked the first one don't play this one

posted by Houduuken (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 24 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

I ran out of the house to get this game. Was soooo excited to play another round of NMH...but they changed everything...
Please if you liked the first don't bother with this game. The 8 bit games are lame and just serve to make up for failings. This is not a NMH game. It sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I heard this game was great so I was excited to play it. I was very disappointed. Usually I agree with critics' opinions on video games, so I was glad to hear there was a game for the Wii with witty, funny dialogue. There were a few laughs throughout the game but for the most part it was an incredibly boring story. The game has good style despite the Wii's visual limitations and some of the kills are pretty creative. The gameplay itself is composed of combat that is pretty repetitive and really sketchy platforming when you take control of the female character. A wonky camera is an annoyance frequently and you need to hold down on the targeting button just to be able to see your opponent most of the time. The side jobs are decent distractions, but nothing I would put hours of gameplay into.

Very over hyped. Decent rental if all you have is a Wii but I wouldn't recommend a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Once again, I'd beat another game.

posted by predator23 (FOWLER, CA) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

I AM.... INVICABLE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No More Heroes

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

I can't believe they took out the entire city eliminating the sandbox element. People complained about earning money, through side jobs, to advance in the first game. That doesn't mean take out the entire city of Santa Destroy. Despite this huge mistake, the combat feels even more chaotic and blood driven than before. If you liked the first one than you're going to like this one. Maybe it's the kooky japanese magic that makes it work. The eccentric cast of assassins makes for varied experiences. My favorite from the list was a Russian astronaut that had been in space for a vast amount of time, who battles you in what appears to be a crop circle. It took me about 8 hours to complete, so rent it and have a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No More Heroes Forever

posted by Constipator (TORRANCE, CA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

They referenced No More Heroes Forever as joke towards the developers for Duke Nukem Forever. I rather have a game like that took a while to make and is actually good.

I started playing this one off after beating the first game, i like the start and how the first fight played out from there... well, until they interrupted it to show a mini cut. Theres nothing more annoying then a mini cut in the middle of a fight to make you lose your focus.

After that part was over it goes through some cut scenes and you end up in your apartment or hotel again w/e it is. I like the fact that they made it so I didn't have to ride that awful bike anymore but it's kinda lame just waiting on a loading screen.

I hated all the mini games, they weren't hard it is just that all the controls are off and sometimes you move or turn when you don't want to and it screws you over. IMO they should of let you play with the remote horizontally so you could actually use the controller similar to the NES one for that nostalgic feel because after all they are suppose to be like "old school" games.

I only got to the first boss fight and after beating him on my 2nd try I lost patience and frustrated over the stupid gym minigames. The running one wasn't that bad but the sparring one was, theres no hint as to what you're suppose to do with the big dumbbell looking thing. so its like a 50/50 and thats if you even time it at the right time too...
I'm just able to understand the discrepancies to come later on where it becomes more complex and instead of doing 3 of those annoying things I have to do like 12. It sucks pretty bad just to fail at it but also to charge me to redo it is just adding pain to punishment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what year was this game made?

posted by itsasecret (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

If I wanted to play 8 bit games then I would go bust out an NES. I get that its nostalgic and funny but I just absolutely hated it myself. when i actually got to the boss battle levels those were a blast.

this game is also miserable to play with the nunchuk configuration - once I busted out my classic controller I was having a lot more fun-

it still didnt save me from sending the game back to gamefly before I had it for even 24 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games to have on Wii

posted by Guamvania (FAIRFIELD, CA) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Pros
-Crazy battles
-Random, humorous characters
-Minigames

Cons
-Minor camera problems
-Not for the faint-of-heart who don't like decapitations, gushing blood, lightsabers, or frequent use of the F word

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Old School

posted by hkcavalier (HUBBARD, OH) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

No, it's not a great game. No, it doesn't have a fantastic story or stunning graphics. No, it didn't revolutionize gaming for years to come. But you know what? It's really fun.

The combat is a little repetitive but very enjoyable. The boss fights are all amazing, of course, and cutscenes rarely contain a dull moment. It's incredibly fun and endlessly entertaining, which, in my opinion, is exactly what a video game should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hate it,hate it,hate it

posted by oscarrulez (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

ok so on the first level it took my 5 hours to finish I just send it to gamefly.so I call it stupid,stupid,stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no more heroes 2

posted by jedimario (DIAMOND POINT, NY) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Well if you loved the first you will love the 2nd. This time you will go through more werid fights than you did in the first. I can't tell you the story. i don't want to spoil it. This time the side jobs are 8 bit classic type games. That play like classic nes games which is cool. There are new beam katanas as well.They work great. The controlls from the first return intact. which is great. The graphics got a update as well. No more heroes 2 is a action game at it's best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by RedQueen23 (KINGSTON, TN) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Really funny! Took me about a day to beat, but still enjoyable. Not really worth buying. Loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful is a compliment

posted by sensamoi (LAKE MARY, FL) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Boy have i not hated a game like this in a long time. It is absolutely infuriating. Don't know where to begin. The voice acting of the bad guys can drive you insane , so can the controls. It is one of those horrible old school japanese anime arcade over the top shooters with all of the pros and cons , more cons than anything. There are some minigames with your cat but i don't see what that has to do with anything. The mission minigames made me want to cry - some atari games with jumping pixels that have NOTHING in common with the game ingeneral. I rented this so i can try out a sword swinging mechanic with the wii motion plus but i couldn't wait to return it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

refereashing yet disappointing

posted by n1ghtmare (SAINT FRANCIS, WI) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

well once again the prequil was much better there is no more ridding around to your next match yet to make up for that you don't have to do a ton of mini games just to go to the next match and their are more people to kill (no not 50 more like 15 or 20.)you get new blades now however it seams no matter what your gonna have to keep charging up now and again. new power ups from what i recall and you do get to play as two other people from the first game.on top of that come old foes with a few changes return. lastly even the music has changed if only a little. i beat it in under ten hours easy on the harder of the two modes. not much reason to play it again but this game was good enough to get my blood rushing again and i needed it so rather then a six for taking away the good things i give it an eight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse