Rent Nitrobike for Wii
view large frontback

Nitrobike

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
3.9

285 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

This bike needs more time in the shop.

posted by zMDude (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Liberal use of nitrous and Off-Roading? All Check. If the name of this game were Excitebike instead of Nitrobike, it'd be hard to believe both games weren't made by Monster Games.

That should come as little surprise, considering the developers of Nitrobike, Left Field, were the same people who made Excitebike 64. It's just too bad that the team has failed to evolve their designs beyond the N64's time, creating a game with a competent core, but too many flaws to overlook.

The first thing you will notice upon starting your first race are the graphics. I'd say that it looks like a Dreamcast game, but that would be insulting to Sega. That this game does not run at 30fps with such disappointing looks is laughable.

The game has a decent championship, in which you compete in various racing cups with events like eliminators, hoops runs, trick attacks and fast laps. Doing well at these allow you to run a series of races for the ability to move on to the next cup. Getting first place in the events gives you new bikes, upgrades to your bikes and more riders(that all look like a bunch of rejected SSX designs) to choose from.

But the part that matters is the gameplay. The Wii-mote is simply not made to support precise steering like a thumb stick or a real steering wheel controller. Add this to the bike's slippery controls and you'll be spending most of your races trying to keep your bike going where you want it to. This will lead to more frustration than fun, especially during the hoop havoc or trick attack modes, which demand perfection from tools incapable of it.

Also, the tracks, while more interesting than Excitetruck, are poorly made. Often you will fly off the track, or smash into something because you flew too high; punishing you for getting big air.

There is an online mode that I would love to have an opinion of, but since nobody is ever on, it's just wasted space.

Stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I MUST WRITE A REAL REVIEW!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jan 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

After reading the review that said "bad graphics" I was concerned because I already rented it and it comes tommorow.

I rented it because Excite Truck is getting boring after a year. The graphics are bland but not terrible; however it does make the replay value low.

I also agree to the second reviewer in how they decided to make you unlock other tracks along with not many riders and the bikes being identical.

On the other hand the controls are tight and the music is not as wild as Excite Truck. I would still wait for MX vs ATV Untamed but this is not as bad as the others make it out to be; so still rent it.

I hope Excite Truck 2 will include Motocross Bikes nad ATV's with online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

About as entertaining as watching a rock evolve

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Everything about this game is terrible. The graphics are terrible, the controls are medicore and not customizable. Playing online? Forget about it, no one else is. This game will give you about as much entertainment as a rock thats sunbathing. You can only choose from about 4 different people and bikes, and you have to play in career mode to unlock more than 1 track, otherwise you can only race one track in exhibition. LAME LAME LAME. This game is LAME. Don't rent it, or buy it, don't even sacrifice it to a higher being. It's not worth it. I hope Ubisoft buries this game in their extremely large archive of terrible games.

This game gets a 2 out of 10 for sucking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

graphics are unbearable

posted by snowman (VERO BEACH, FL) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I've been gaming since the original NES was the hottest thing out. I'm not nostalgic for those sad graphics and mediocre game play. Nowadays, we as a gaming community have grown to expect a certain status quo in our games (its called adaptation leveling- its a human nature thing); and when something does not meet our expectations we are left wanting.

This game's poor graphics, make it entirely disappointing to play. It's not nostalgic, it's very sad. Unless you want to be reminded as to how far gaming has come, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing really special

posted by gcwjr85 (RICHLAND, WA) May 20, 2008

Member since May 2007

Fun all around. I recommend atleast a 32" TV for multiplayer because the game is very fast paced and alot of tight corners. Uses the turbo/overheat function of the old Excitebike but doesn't really come close in terms of gameplay. No map maker that I noticed. Just a decent game is all. Fun with the Wii wheel. I'd probably rather play an ATV racing game like ATV offroad fury.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Are You Kidding Me

posted by ekimkay (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

Out Of all the graphically challenged, boring rehashed, mediocre, pathetic waste of resources Wii put its name on. Just when I thought Wii put out the worst game ever , they released "Rad super bike".... errr I mean, dirt pole position...NO uuuhhuuuu, oh 'NitroBike . Tha s it!!TBBbbbllltch?...?., Seriously, "THANK GOD FOR GAMEFLY". If I had actually put cash on that Insulting chance of a game ,I'd be doin' a lot more than typin'right now ....naw' mean....

O.k

thanks for that out, I felll better.
Mike at al-ter period com
mike al-ter c0m
Gamefly since 2006

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game needs more "Nitro" and more "Bike" in it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

I had some fun racing my bike against the computer bikers over a few tracks, but I didn't care for the trick race (where I had to preform tricks) or the ring race (where I had to smash through rings).
The fun didn't last very long - the races got repetitive and I didn't find any joy in winning a race (other than to unlock more tracks for me to race on.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...

posted by BigDaddy81 (XENIA, OH) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Awesome graphics, and tracks. The tracks are very difficult to navigate, and the steering was below par.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A lot of speed but not much else

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Jan 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

Not too much to say about this game. I thought the graphics were good. Sound was fine. Didn't think the steering was too lose or tight. And the AI was tough and not easy to beat, but with all that said, the game really did nothing for me. The game requires you to have rhythm jumping down, because if you don't you will lose a lot of speed really quickly. And the tracks aren't impossible (the little I played) but the game was nothing that I felt was worth holding onto. A fun rental and if you can find it cheap get it. the online feature might make it more interesting but blah for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Felt like an NES game maybe PSone

posted by TikiGuy (SEABROOK, NH) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

This would have been a great game in 1985 but it really felt like a late 80s arcade game or an early 90s console game.

I had a hard time with the controller, but I didn't play long. There were times when my bike disappeared as I was driving, not an effect but a bug. It would jump around.

I was really surprised how old the graphics work. I know Wii doesn't have the best graphics but many games on the Wii work. Sonic is a race game and it looks good, this looked like it was from 15 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »