Rent Nintendogs: Lab & Friends for DS
view large frontback

Nintendogs: Lab & Friends

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

1221 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cute Puppies Galore !!

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I cant afford a real dog (wish I could), so I tried this. I love it! The puppies are so realistic and adorable.

This game is perfect for all ages! So, I say to parents: nothing to worry about here!

In this game, you must care for the puppies just like a real one (except for vet visits). You must feed them, give them water, and let them sleep at night. You can buy all types of toys to play with them and take the puppies on walks (clean up its messes).
You can train your puppy to compete in Agility, Disc Competitions, and Obeidience Trials. You win money in these to buy new puppies or items.
On walks you meet other dogs and find new items (collars, toys, ribbons, etc).
You can also play wireless with a friend.

For anyone that likes dogs and cannot afford a real one, I recommend this game!

There are only two things i dislike here:
1. I get accused of leaving my puppies' messes behind when I do clean them up.
2. One dog-walker calls me a name. I understand its only a game, but I dont think its a good idea to teach kids to call people names.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cute, fun, what's not to like?

posted by Evanator (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendogs: Labrador and Friends is a game where you raise your very own dog on the Nintendo DS. Many breeds of dog are available, so there's a lot to choose from. You can take your dog for a walk, where you can train for contests (dog park) or get new items (question marks). You can adopt any breed, and even unlock some more. You can pet your dog with the stylus and tell commands using the microphone. You can play fetch, frisbee, etc. with the supplies button, and also feed your dog. You know when your dog is hungry on the main menu, where if you touch a certain dog's question mark, it tells you its breed, its name, how clean it is, how hungry and/or thirsty it is, etc. I highly recommend this if you do not have a dog and are wishing to have some fun with one. So if you have a Nintendo DS, run over to Toys R Us or WalMart or Target or whatever and buy this game! It is sure to be fun even if you have a real dog. You just can't resist the wagging tails and cute faces of the lifelike Nintendogs. Don't trust me? Rent it here, and you'll know what I mean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hmmmmm, Nintendogss...

posted by Sammmmieee (EASTLAKE, OH) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

okay so its a really fun game!!! i love it. i rate it a ten because its fun. but if your like me and dont like challenging games then its much harder. its easy to manage your dogs but the thing is that you have to teach them tricks and i dont know. i just like more simple straight to the point games. this game never ends. there is no way to beat the game. so its hard to get bored of. and also i like it because there are alot of things that you can unlock and that come new. its really a fun game. and if you are thinking about buying it then go for it its great.

-Sammmmmmieee:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nintendogs: Entertaining or Boring

posted by Chihuahua (COLTON, NY) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Some say Nintendogs gets boring fast. Others say it can provide endless entertainment with so much to do. This review will hopefully help you decide:is Nintendogs entertaining or boring?

Entertaining:

Most people I talk to about Nintendogs say "they LOVE the game!" or "I wish I had Nintendogs.", but are they playing the game all the time or do they just want it because they listen to these people? Well, there are millions of reasons why you might love Nintendogs. To start off, the game's graphics are amazing, you'd actually think the dogs are real! The noises the dogs make sound like your own dog is standing beside you! There are competitions and walks to go on, food,water, and baths to give, and trainer points to get. The trainer points add challenge to such a fuzzy game. Without trainer points there are no extra dogs. To conclude this section, I have one thing to say... This is what makes Nintendogs so fun, but what makes it boring?

Boring:
For all the reasons above Nintendogs is entertaining, but for all the reasons below it's boring. To start, you can only enter 3 contests a day, teach 3 tricks, and only go for walks every 30 minutes. Feeding and watering constantly gets annoying and you always worry about your dogs coat. Dogs are very expensive unless you have good contest dogs and most dogs are afraid of sticks. WOW, that's a lot of things and I have more. You need to walk to the discount stores, gym, and parks. The barking gives you a headache and the music gives you a worse one. Worst of all Nintendogs becomes what you think, dream, and talk about... OK maybe not.

The Verdict:
We've dicussed good and bad things about Nintendogs and the jury has returned. I agree with many people that Nintendogs is entertaining, BUT if you play 24/7 it becomes boring OR you become a human/dog. For all those people who have not tried Nintendogs yet, I think you should. I hope this review halped you decide this question: is Nintendogs entertaning or boring?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nintendogs lab and friends

posted by truebuster (FALL RIVER, MA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The game is good to whom ever loves dogs. You can choose from a variety of cool dogs. You can play in contests to get money to buy new dogs. When you call their name they respond to you. There is a lot more cool things about nintendogs lab and friends. But these are just some of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WHY IN THE........

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I got this game and then I wondered when I would ever really play it. It's just sitting there on my shelf only having been played for less then an hour. Why? Because I have a real dog that I can play with in person, and let me tell you, dogs encoded by data don't come out the same. I mean it's a good game, there's many things you can do with your electronic dog, but you can't smell it's dampen fur right after it comes out of the rain(mabey you really don't want to, I wouldn't be surprised though if you did.)

Another thing that weakens the experience are the voice commands you give to your "data" dog. Sometimes, I mean a lot of times, you are forced to use voice commands to have your dog do tricks, heed, or whatever. It can be difficult to respond in the same tone for every different command you want your dog to perform, to actually have it work properly. Like say you were teaching it to sit and you forgot how you said it in the first place, with that certain tone. If you said it in a high pitched voice earlier, when teaching your pup, and you used a deeper voice later, the dog wouldn't do a thing. It can get preaty confusing as your command list can get preaty long and complex.

So, if your not good on memorizing long lists, and your own common tones of voice, then Nintendogs is not for you.

And if you already have a dog, why bother? Learn from my mistake, fellow dog-owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nintendogs

posted by Nintendogs (RENO, NV) Jul 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first day I got it I was so excited and thought it would best game ever and it was for the first week.But then it got boring.ZZzzzzzz!

Once in a while I would play to feed the dogs but it is much cooler to have real dogs.Overall I think the game is pretty cool.YOU SHOUD RENT IT !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun and frustration with cute little puppies!!??

posted by btlejongo (MODESTO, CA) May 16, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was another game for the Nintendo DS that i just HAD to play. after hearing everyone rant and rave about this game i wanted to get my hands on on of those cute little puppies. and got that cute puppy i did and i was a little excited... but that soon changed.

when i got my puppy the first thing i wanted to do was teach it some tricks! which i did, and it at first seemed easy and fun to do... but once it learned more than three tricks it starts to get confused on which one your trying to make it do. this made me go into mashing fits and hair pulling when it came to the obedience contest. i don't think i even one a single contest.

going on walks and grooming was a fun thing, and the frisbee contest is a fun thing to do as well... but after a while you keep beating the top scores, it gets insanely repetitive and BORING! and when and if you get another dog... its the same thing over again.

-FINAL COMMENT-
this is a good and fun game for a very limited amount of time. and it does make very good use of the DS technology(bubble blowing and voice commands) and this is the only factor that gets my points. stay away unless easily entertained!

GOOD GAMING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE GRATEST GAME EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by messmaker (BROWNS MILLS, NJ) May 11, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The greatest game is Nintendogs Because it is like having a real dog. Because you take care of them.I have this game and it is alsome even my best friend told her mom to get her a ds and nitendogs.So I think everyone sould have one.Igot the 2 other ons and I gust can't wait to get them to9 play them.I love this web sit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Buying it used

posted by Zeaphyre (NORTH BRANCH, MN) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you buy Nintendog's used you hit L+R+A+B+X+Y while your game is starting from the DS screen. By the way it's in the manual.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun at first

posted by maddad (OCONTO, WI) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun but gets boring after a while. Collecting the items is lots of work and fun, and many of them are very unique. However, for some reason this game just isn't as good as you would think. For one thing, you have to play this game a lot if you don't want your points to drop. Buy this game if you want to put in some hard work into taking care of virtual dogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its great

posted by ira123 (WEST MONROE, LA) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i like this game cause its cute and fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well...

posted by FairySkull (VIENNA, IL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I had alot of fun with this game at first, but after a while, after I'd beaten all my own records about 600 times, It got really boring. It's awesome at first, but gets old after a bit. I still recommend it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED IT, ABSOLUTLY AWESOME!!!

posted by Pet101 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I ABSOLUTLY LOVED IT!!! MOST AWESOME GAME EVER!!! EVERYONE SHOULD GET THIS GAME!!! ROCK ON NINTENDOGS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CUTE AND ADORABLE PUPPIES!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ashley80344 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The puppies are just so adorable and you learn to train them for contests. You take them for walks you earn money and you can have so many different breeds of dogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nintendogs: Lab and Friends

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game would be great if the DS would understand your voice better. The terrible voice understanding renders the game unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Adorable!!!

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

When I first got this game I didn't know what to do. (Got it when I was 6) 6 more years later.... I love it

9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nintendo dogs and friends

posted by redhead28 (SWEETWATER, TN) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

the graphics of the game looked pretty good but when i turned on the nintendo ds. what i didnt like about it was you couldnt make a new and erase everybody elses files and it didnt give me a choice too so i am going to have to say for me the wasnt all that fun if they were not worried about people not starting there on file and do their on game and instead of finishing somebody else's. hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Never Ending!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by wackydude (EDGERTON, WI) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This is a great game if you like Dogs and taking them on a walk and also playing with them, stuff like that. The thing I really dont like about this game is that this game NEVER ENDS!!!!!!! WARNING:You can get extremely bored if you play this game too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nintendogs

posted by wildfire21 (NORCO, CA) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The puppies are cute! This game does take a lot of patience!! The time in the game goes by the same as in real life. Competition are limited to 3 times a day. When you walk your dog you need at least a 30 min break in between. Your dog will get tired of learning of new tricks after awhile. I only played this game for about an hour and I'm returning it as soon as possible. With all the restrictions there isn't much to do. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its okay

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

This game has cute looking dogs, a lot of things to buy for them but gets old after the first few months. There is as I said a lot of things you can buy, but the really cool things like beach houses that you might want to buy but they are way over priced and unless you treat the game like a real job there is no way to get them.

If you already have a dog forget this game, it's not nearly as good. If you don't have a dog you can go ahead and get this game but after you get tired of pretending to pet feed and throw a frisbee to pretend dogs there is really not much else to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gosh!

posted by shmanmom (LEICESTER, MA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

i wouldve given this game a ten if you deleted the memory on it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok game

posted by hellogames (SOMERS, CT) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The puppies are cute but after a while the game gets boring. You have to clean them and feed them every two days and most of the time I'm too busy to do anything. Also the puppies hate you if you are too busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nintendogs: Lab & Friends

posted by DJNKATMOMM (LEBANON, MO) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

You cannot do anything on this game...its like its all been used up or something i dont know....not a good game though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun at first

posted by christian (WALKER, LA) May 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This game overall is a pretty good game, but it gets old after about a week. When I first rented it i gave it about a 8.3 but now I only give it a seven. It's fun to take care of the dogs, teach them tricks, enter them in competitions, and take them for walks. It's overall an average game for me, but if you like dogs, you should try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse