Rent Nintendogs: Dachshund & Friends for DS
view large frontback

Nintendogs: Dachshund & Friends

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

944 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by zombieman9 (MOSELEY, VA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one i thought would be kinda childish but i was wrong. it has its odd points but this is a good game for any dog lover. the game starts off slow but has you earn trainer points and cash the game starts to open up. you have to be dedicated the first hour or two but after that you can buy maybe 2 dogs with cash you will hopefully earn. the down side is that you can only walk your dog once every 30 minuets. so you have to turn off your DS then come back later. but you can enter events to earn money so you can buy another dog so you don't have to wait so long. another downer is that you can only enter 3 events a day. the last bad thing is that dogs cost about $510-580 and those are just your starters. you eventually unlock more dogs with your trainer points. so basically its a long game that can get repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game if you have the time

posted by foxymom (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very realistic. You really need to give your dog lots of love and attention. I own a dog and I was very surprised at how well they were able to capture the way a dog moves, acts and reacts. I actually grew quite attached to the dog although it was not the breed I preferred. My only problem is that I do not have the time required to play this game. I am an adult with a full time job, a real dog and pre-schooler. I only get a few stolen moments to play (waiting in a waiting room, my lunch hour and maybe an hour or two after my son goes to sleep). I would turn on the game and my poor dog was starving and parched every time. I do think it would be a great game for a kid that wanted a real dog. It gives a good idea of how much time and effort is involved with owning a real dog. My real dog wasn't a fan of the game either. He couldn't understand why I was telling my little pink box to sit when we was right in front of me "sitting".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN FUN and FUN

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I think this game was the best puppy game, on the DS. First of all when you get your puppy you get to teach it it's name. Also, you get to groom it, and take it for walk by controlling it's leash. Plus, you can have up to 8 dogs, and if you can't control all of your dogs you can go to the dog hotel. And there are so many ways to earn money to buy your dog food, water, accessories, treats, toys, and so much more. To earn money, you can sell some stuff that you once brought, also when you plan your walks there's a question mark. And when you walk your dog and land on the mark you can meet another dog or there's a present that your dog gives to you and you can sell that gift to earn money too. So, if you really enjoy puppy games this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pet-Themed Game Ever!

posted by Killer421 (TECUMSEH, MI) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When i got my DS bundle with Animal Crossing, iI decoded to get this as well. THIS GAME IS THE BEST PET GAME KNOWN TO MAN! I named my first dog Balto because it was a siberian husky. Great game, I give it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok for a while

posted by chocobofan (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this was the first game i got for my ds. when i started playing this for the first month i loved this game.but then it just got boring all you can really do is go for walks and do tournments (those are the only things you can do for a challenge) i just thing this game would be better for younger kid but thats just my opion. ps.to get easy domation dog link with someone who has that tpe of dog *wink*

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Inovative, but tedious and boring sometimes.

posted by Danger (SILVER CREEK, NY) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I rented this game first because of all the good reaction with it. But quite frankly it didn't live up to expectations. The Gameplay is new and fresh, I'll give it that. But It just gets tiring after a while. Talking to the dog of your choice may make people see you as... well... Insane. The touch screen commands get annoying sometimes as does the voice commands.

It's new, and Innovative, but lacking past that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nintendogs

posted by alex9993 (FORT ATKINSON, WI) May 8, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

really cute game i would be playing it forever because it's so cute and i love dogs;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nintendogs: Dachshund & Friends

posted by Budyzr63 (NORWALK, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a very cute game, I just couldn"t get into it, but that's just me so others may like .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Ds game

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is good for people who just love mans best friend...like me.

PROS

+very fun game

+contests

+wireless multiplayer

CONS

-contests are hard

-repetitive gameplay

-EVERYTHING IS JUST SO DARN EXPENSIVE!

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT AND ADDICTIVE!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by shess63 (BRIGHTON, CO) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

now i have not played this game before but i do own one and i can tell you it is an aesome game! you can feed it take it on walks and find presents and have your puppy meet other oines! give it bathes and you can have up to 3 dogs. There are 3 competions you can take them to agility,obedience,and disc competions.

Over all rating:A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who does not like nintendogs!

posted by commandos (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The nintendogs dacshund and friends is so much fun I play it all the time I like it because it is like you have your own dog. That is why I love nintendogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Problum

posted by Adamsfamily123 (BATAVIA, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Gamefly, my brother put Saints Row the 3rd on our gameQ. It was number 2. But nintendogs came and that was number 5. Why did nentendogs come insted of Saints Row or Just dance 3 or GTA???
Wright back

From,
RickAdams123

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great for all!

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

if your child or yourself wants a pet gamedont get petz this is better by far better graphics better everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NINTENDO : DACHSHUND & FRIENDS

posted by p2glm (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

THIS GAME IS FUN FOR LITTLE KIDS LIKE FOR THE AGES 3YRS. TO 8YRS. ITS REALLY ABOUT HOW TO BE RESPONISBLE AND TAKE CARE OF DOGS THAT YOU OWN IN THE GAME. REMEBER TO DO YOU HOMEWORK BEFORE ADPOTING OUT ANY PET.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love dog so much i just cant stop play with my D

posted by gabrielle7 (SHORELINE, WA) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i love dogs so i am a big of nintendogs and i love to play it so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insite On This Game

posted by A123456 (YUMA, AZ) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2004

I have been reading so many reviews that say that you can't delete your profile. Well my dear reader you can.

If you ever want to erase al of your puppies and saved data. press and

hold A, B, X, Y, L , R all at the same time while the game is loading prior

to the title screen appearing.

BUT BEWARE: IF YOU ERASE ALL SAVED DATA, IT AND YOUR PUPPIES CAN NEVER BE RECOVERED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same as all the other Nintendogs but LOVE IT

posted by brittaneya (EAST BETHANY, NY) May 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I love nintendogs its just you only need one because its all the same and you can eventually earn more dogs as you win contests so the purpose of having more than one nintendogs is stupid but dont get me wrong I love nintendogs but a more better game try the petz dogs pack. This game (nintendogs) is an awesome game I love it you just need one though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

i got the husky in this version. this is better then a real dog. i give nintendogs 4 reasons to love the dogs out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nintendogs: Dauchshund & Friends

posted by TC2390 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

If you like dogs, feeding them, taking care of them, etc, this game is definitely for you. one thing i really don't like about this game is that it is very repetitive. sure, you can enter your dogs into competitions and try to win, but you are limited to the following things:

1.Competitions
2. Playing with your dog
3. training your dog

So, all in all, unless you really love dogs, this game can get boring very quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jan 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

See my review for Labrador & Friends. This one is the same!

For anyone that wants to delete previous data and start their own game and not use the dogs left by orevious renters, do this:

Insert the game and turn on the DS. Before the title screen appears hold down L, R, X, Y, A, B. The game will ask if you wish to delete the data. Select yes and it will delete the data, allowing you to start your own game. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good idea, gets boring too easy

posted by ssjjss2 (LEXINGTON, MO) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game looked like a good one. it was, BUT i had problems getting into it. you get a dog you teach it tricks you feed it and enter it in competitions, it didn't have enough to do. it could be better if there was a lot more to do. but i have to admit it as really good graphics. and it takes full advantage of the DS MIC. that was the best part but as soon as i got it i sent it back. not one i would keep for a long period of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way more fun than I expected!!

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

So when I first got my ds, I didn't want to get Nintendogs because I heard that it got boring, and it just didn't look fun. But since I got gamefly, I decided what the heck; I'd rent it.

It is so much fun! I really wish they had a keep it price. I don't want to send it back!! I love my puppies. :(

So, let's see, as a practical review; The contests are a little hard, yes, but I think some are easier depending on the dog. My husky is fabulous at the disc competition, but terrible at obedience. My dachshund is champ at obedience, but okay at disc. So, it depends on the dog. Not necessarily the breed either.

Downsides... I wish they'd give you more money at contests, and that it didn't take so many trainer points to get different dogs. I bet it takes forever to get all the breeds! And I wish the dogs could grow up and have puppies! (I am a lover of the pc dogz 5).

Last word: I am totally buying my own copy next paycheck!! Thanks gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a good game

posted by danieeleee (PASCO, WA) May 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

hey people this game rocks you can do any thing you want on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nintendogs

posted by froggie (RANTOUL, IL) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The only reason I give this a poor rating is because if someone else has played the game before you, you cannot delete their game to start a new one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nintendogs

posted by puppylover (WOODSTOCK, GA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is very fun and you can play for several hours without getting bored. My only problem with it is that the game passes time while you are not playing. 4 example,they get hungrier, dirtier, thirstier, and/or run away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »