Rent Nintendogs: Chihuahua & Friends for DS
view large frontback

Nintendogs: Chihuahua & Friends

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

991 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OH, Chihuahua

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Mar 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first game for my DS. It's been years since I acquired the game and I still think it's excellent. The graphics are very impressive. The dogs have their own distinct personalities. It's funny to see how they react to each other.

The interaction is quite admirable. You train your dogs, (You can have up to 8) to listen to your voice. For example, bring your dog over to you and guide it into a sitting position. When it does it, tell it the command "Sit." eventually, it will learn the trick and do it whenever you tell it to. But make sure you keep up with training (Just like real dogs, they may forget.) You also want to keep your dog in shape, so bring it to the park, on walks, and to the gym often. The more you train at the gym, the better they perform in agility contests (Yup, they have those. Also obedience, and Frisbee contests) By the way, how your dog ranks in the competitions affects how much moneys you get.

You can buy a variety of toys and foods. And if you're really loaded, you can redecorate your house. (My doggies live at the beach for $50,000)

Make sure you keep your doggies clean! They hate being dirty! Daily bathies and brushing are necessary!

Oh, yes, there are a few special features. One is the dog hotel. if you're busy and don't have time to take care of multiple doggies that day, you can send all but one to the hotel and they'll kindly care for your doggies. Another special feature is 'bark mode.' If you have a friend with a Nintendogs game, you can each send one of your dogs over to the other person's DS. You can even have your dog bring a present to your friend.

It seemed like some people are confused about renting this game used. You CAN delete data in this game. Turn on the DS and select the game, while it's loading, but before you see your beloved doggies, hold L, R, A, B, X, and Y. A menu should show up asking if you want to delete user data.

Well that should just about do it. If you like dogs, go for it. It's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bark Bark Bark

posted by dwmacfar2 (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) May 27, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. In this version of the game there are Chihuahuas, Yorkes, German Sheppard, and more. Also, if you friend has another version, and you meet him on multiplayer (Bark Mode, lol.) you can then buy that dog. For instance, I own this version and my friend owns lab and friends, so he can buy a yorkey and I can buy a lab ( I know because I bought a really cute lab). Then the contests are fun, my favorite is the agility one. The graphics are great, the dog looks real. You can take your dog on a walk. You can take him to the park, a clearance store, and the gym to practice for agility tests. At the park there are sometimes more than one dog to play with beside yours. At the park you can just play with the dogs or you can throw the tennis ball/frisbee around. If you throw the frisbee it will let you practice for the frisbee competition. You can teach your dog a bunch of tricks like sit, beg, lay down, and many more. Then you can go in a trick compition. You still have to feed your dog and you have to give it water. Even though I have been saying him a lot there are girl dogs too. Then you can accessories with bows and collars. Then you have to wash your dogs. You get to name it. Then you might find presents or dogs or some suprise on your walk. So so much to do. The way you train your dog by the way is you will tell him the command when the dog is doing it, click the lightbulb in the right hand corner, and say the name of the commanded in the mic as clearly as possible. These are all the possibilites in the game, these are also the reasons why I like the game so very very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by chrisapril (EARLY, TX) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was a little worried at first that my daughter would get bored with this game really quick. But she loves playing with it time and time again. She loves the interacting part of it, she calls the dog and the dog actually comes. Terrific game for my 7yr old daughter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall good but some flaws

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a good game but you can't delete your profile (As far as I know I bought this last year but only kept it for a couple months. I'm in tight with GameStop trading) so I got stuck with a dang Yorkie, boxer, and a poodle. Also, during school I ask my mom to feed them and give them water, but she doesn't know how to even turn the dang DS on. (LOL!!!!!!) It is very good, but unless you know how to delete profiles, or want to be stuck with the last renter's dogs, I recommend dropping 20 to 30 bucks to get a fresh start, but if you want to try it first, go ahead. It is pretty much the same with the others (Different versions). The only reason the scores are different is because of the breeds of dogs. Worth buying more than renting, but go ahead and rent it, just to try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by stevey3455 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only problem is it can get repetitive after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nintendogs

posted by manywaters (HESPERIA, CA) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll admit that initially I was drawn in by the whole cute puppy thing, selecting and naming your very own unique Nintendog, teaching it tricks and whatnot. The competitions and bizarre item collecting (Pirate Hats, Scholar Glasses) gave me something to actually do with my new puppy, but the game gets old, I can only win so many disc competitions before I get bored, and the constant feeding, watering, bathing, walking, and "potty breaks" just wasn't doing it for me. Getting another dog helps for awhile but it's just prolonging the inevitable, eventually you just lose interest. Overall it's a decent title that may be good for younger kids but it's not going to win any awards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Went crazy playing this game!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You really need lot of time! So when I got the game I played it as soon as possible! It was fun to begin with but the fun turned to me going crazy. That stupid mutt had NO clue what it's name was! I think I named it Ash. HOW CAN IT BE HARD TO LEARN A NAME LIKE THAT?!??!?!?!??!?!?!?!!??!?!?!!? That dumb dog did not deserve to have a name like that! I should have named it Dummy! THEN I tried to teach it tricks! We started with sit. I went crazy teaching it tricks! I would give the game a 1 but the dogs are SO cute!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Nintendogs master and Groming champ tips

posted by HIMANSPY (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a perfect game for all kids that love dogs manly the small dogs. Well other than the dogs are just cuties but you get to buy toys and clothes to train and accessorize your puppies. Some dog that you can get are the min pin (miniture Pincher), Docson, Chihuahua, German sheperd and more. This game has a walk mode that lets you meat other people who are all so on walk mode. Now with some more info on the game why not rent it then you should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i is cool

posted by boondock (SHERMAN, TX) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't like

posted by Lizabeth (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't like the game at all! I repeated the dogs name 20 times in a row and a message would pop up "I don't think your dog knows her name, try saying again." I would again say her name over and over again until the message would pop up again. I kept the game only a few days because I didn't feel like wasting my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by darklord54 (BELLEVILLE, MI) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

i did not like it i thought it was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nintendogs: Chihuahua & Friends

posted by might1182 (FRESNO, CA) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Both of my kids really enjoyed playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nintendo dogs

posted by jacjac (LABELLE, FL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

After reading the other reviews thought this would be a great game....maybe our version was broken, but we could not get the dog to do anything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Frustrated!

posted by cdwark039 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I thought I would enjoy the game, since I love Chihuahuas...but I was very frustrated. I couldn't get the puppies to recognize their names. I thought there was a problem with my speakers, but it must have been the game itself. I finally decided to give up and try playing another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the best

posted by marmary123 (CLINTON, CT) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

It was good but the part i don't like is the obedience challenge, the dog wont sit still or listen to me. And also the person who played before still is on the game and it doesn't have an erase data thing on it so i cant start over and do my own . so i would not recommend getting this game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i looooooooooooooooooooooooooooove nintedogs

posted by massilo (VALRICO, FL) May 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

i got my game hear on gamefly it is good .3 of my frends have it and we do bark mode a lot . you shuld get it . my dogs ar SO good one of them went to campionship in ajillate trell the game is SO SO SO good you shuld get it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chihuahua & Friends has the cutest dogs ever.

posted by danny10 (HOLLISTER, CA) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

Chihuahua & Friends has the cutest dogs ever. The accessories are so cute from camo collars to santa hats. The dogs also sound so cute when they howl when they hear a siren the thing that I hate is when the dogs start biting you when your tring to teach them a trick or just petting them. It is like you probably forgot to feed or give them a bath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for all ages...by far, BEST pet game!!!

posted by Manna1 (NAPLES, FL) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is great for all ages! My 3-year-old loves to play "doggies" when we're waiting for our food at the restaurant. It's simple enough for him to play, yet still fun for me! He enjoys the basics of the game (feeding, watering, bathing, playing) - I enjoy the challenge of the contests! :) This is a great game for all ages...and by far the best pet game around!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendogs is my favorite DS game!

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The graphics are amazingly accurate to real dogs, and I like how you can talk to your puppy, and teach it tricks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nintendogs:Chihuahua and Friends

posted by nathen1b (PORT ROYAL, PA) Jun 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

There is something wrong with this game, it did not work on our ds.

Not readable...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Doggy Greatness

posted by Gamegirl (VACAVILLE, CA) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This Is the best game ever. I actually found that I was playing with my dog a lot more. If you like dogs or not try this game I guaranty you'll love it. It's AWSOME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

all nintendo dogs games are the best

posted by killer (BRENTWOOD, CA) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

this game is fun and if you try it you will want to buy it.I rented a game and then i thought it was cool so went and bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wow, it poops too? no wonder why this game stinks

posted by fernypants (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

i feed sad that this game was just hype. it's neat that the dog can learn tricks but i kinda began to feel guilty that i wasn't paying attention to my real dog.

i guess this game would be good for kids but my nephews also didn't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

woof woof!

posted by waahoo (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game is awesome! It's like having a real dog. You can feed, wash ,and take care of a dog on your nintendo DS. The best part is when you get a dog. There is a variety of breeds you can own. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nintendogs,A blast at first but nothing good lasts

posted by jacmaykt (NEWTON CENTER, MA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Nintendogs caught my eye the minute I saw it, Oh what a blast this will be! However, in the end I was wrong. In the beginning Nintendogs was sooo fun! I was addicted to feeding,walking, training and going to competitions with my pet( besides the fact that it was the most difficult thing on earth to say the trick the right way every time.)
After about a week, Nintendogs got extrememly tiresome, I had a life other then feeding,walking and training my virtual pet!( I'm sorry Pebbles, I hope virtual heaven is treating you well!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse