Rent Nintendo Land for Wii U
view large frontback

Nintendo Land

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

280 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful game to play with Family/Friends

posted by katyarborough (SPARTANBURG, SC) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game exceeded my expectations and it was so easy to get people who don't know anything about playing video games into one of the many tournaments. Normally, I don't go for arcade games but there is something for every gamer and any skill level. There are games that you can get anyone into playing but there are also games that experienced gamers may find challenging. Sure, it was a vibe that's more geared toward families and children. However, I think anybody that loves their new Wii U will love having this go-to game stay in their permanent collection as anybody can play it, it's something you can play with family/ guests, and it utilizes the full capacity of the game pad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best party game of year, and fun single player

posted by jdsampsonite (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best part of this game is in the multiplayer fun that is to be had. You can team up with a group of friends and take on giant bugs in Pikmin, sword fighting in zelda, and shoot metroids. These are all fun experiences to work together with a friend in. It doesn't matter how many friends you have either. The game adjusts the difficulty to the appropriate level in whatever your playing. If you don't feel like working together you can go against each othe, which is the best part of the experience. Play a 3rd person shooter style competition in Metroid. With the person with the game pad controling the ship. Pikmin you can battle the people on the tv to collect the most candies.(This is probaly the least satisfying bc it feels kind of like a button mashing brawl. Still fun and maybe as I play more with people more strategy will come in to play) Luigis Ghost Mansion is a blast because you get to super excited when you are one of the people on the screen and your able to finaly take down the ghost. Mario CHase is a lot of fun as players on the scream and shout about where mario is and try to work together to bring him down. My favorite of the competitive ones is the animal crossing one sweet day. In this one the person with the game pad is in charge of two guards with each of the analog sticks. The others try to gather the candy. I think this one is the best balanced and my family plays this one for hours at a time. The single player games are all decent. The best is donkey kong crash course in it's very fun and frustrating way. They all have a fun addicting element to them. They are by no means easy. Easy to understand but very difficult to master. I would recomend this game to anyone.
Downside is on some of the competitive I wish they had more levels to choose from. I also wish there was downloadable content of new attractions. Some of the single player games could have greatly benefited from online leader boards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by masonmaurer (NASHVILLE, TN) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

love this game got it at game stop for 26$ then 50$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii Sports ain't got nothing on Nintendo Land

posted by Jesse978908 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game's purpose is to show off what the dual screens of the Wii U will mean for console gameplay. I'm not 100% sure it accomplished that. The F Zero attraction is so broken you will likely only play it once or twice. Yoshi and Takamaru's are gimmicky.

Yet I am pleasantly surprised at just how wonderful and nostalgic this game is.

Each attraction is lovingly created around a Nintendo franchise, but they are not all created equal. Zelda, Mario, Luigi, Metroid, Pikmin, and DK have amazing games. The rest are forgettable tech demos.

However, when Nintendo Land is good, it soars. I have not enjoyed a party game this much ever before. Metroid Blast is good enough that if it was the only attraction on this disc, I'd be fine with that. Mario Chase perfectly explains why Nintendo created the Wii U Gamepad. And if you liked Skyward Sword, you'll love the Zelda attraction.

Overall, I keep coming back to this game in a way i never did with Wii Sports. This is not the game you get for grandma though, its not the mass appeal of Wii Sports but rather it is for Nintendo lovers, those of us who grew up with Link and Mario.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its no wii sports

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked wii sports better but over all you can have fun with N-Land- I wished more Games was 1 player to many co-op games in N-Land- Great Rent Game are a buy at 30 bucks. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow!!!

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Once I got this game I was hooked. It has all my favorite games in it! I really like Luigi's ghost mansion. I recommend to everyone!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect, and thats perfectly fine

posted by KAYJAY (THE COLONY, TX) Nov 29, 2012

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What Nintendo did with the Wii Sports pack in of the Wii, they have done with Nintendo Land. 12 games and they are all addictive. Easy for anyone to pick up and play (friends, girlfriend, spouse, family), but increasingly difficult to master. In short, be forewarned. Its hard to put the controller down. There is plenty of variety. Some games are solo only. Some games are multiplayer (local) only. The rest are both. All the games utilize and take advantage of the hardware/software in different, but intuitive ways. Example: some games can be played using only the pad while others require both. If this game possessed online multiplayer, there would be little need to purchase other games right now. But then again, it doesnt need it. Still would have been a nice feature. GOOD WORK NINTENDO...as always.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game to start your wii u career

posted by luke1010 (CHATHAM, NJ) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

This Game is great for family game nights if you are going to get a wii u get a deluxe set it includes this game unless you like action games better get the NSMBU and NSLU bundle but if you like parties this game is for you.

I think the coolest game is Mario Chase as 1 to 4 toads try to tag mario or pikmin adventure where you and 4 friends have to team up to beat robotic bulborbs if this place was real unreal life we would be doing awesome games GET THIS IF YOU ARE GOING TO GET A WII U GET THE DELUXE SET OR GET THIS GAME WITH A BASIC SET

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Launch Title EVAR!!!

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It is just like the Wii's Wii Sports, it showcases all the functions of the system while also providing a fun experience. Even with the heavy homage to Nintendo and its classics, it's fun for everyone. The one player experiences are great for when alone, the 1-5 player games are better when you have a friend, and for the 2-5 player games they are just awesome to play. The lack of online multiplayer is kinda disappointing, however I love how you can feel like you're at a real amusement park by having all kinds of Miiverse players with the game show up in the plaza via internet connection. All in all, go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun with flaws with family

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

this is obviously a pseudo sequel to wii sports. It attempts to get the entire family on the boob tube playing a collection of mini games. The game is fun. The majority of the mini games are quite deep and addictive. Some are outright crazy party madness (aka Mario chase and animal crossing:sweet days). The problem is the complexity of some games turn off the casual person from playing. Wii sports was simple pick up and play and no issues. Nintendo land demands a little more from the gamer. And the fact not all mini games provide that multiplayer experience so it did turn some family members away. The gamers and the children stayed for the experience. The non gamers simply watched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kids loved it! Adults not so much...

posted by mistyrachelle (KYLE, TX) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

First of all, thank God for gamefly.com. Otherwise I would have bought this game and I would have been upset. Don't get me wrong, it is not a bad game.... just not worth $50. We got this in the mail, and I popped it in to play. I played all the games, and they were entertaining enough I guess. A couple of cute ones. The way you use the gamepad with the games are kinda cool, but honestly I have nothing grabbing me to ever pick up a controller and play this again. I played all the little games, and I'm done.

My children on the other hand can't get enough of this game. They aren't looking forward to me returning it. They love the multi-player games too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good FREE Game

posted by tpmeads (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I cannot imaging paying $60 fo this game, but as an add in it has some great things going on. It is much more fun when playing with multiple people and have some creative party games. The one players games are a bit boring, but a couple of them are suprisingly detailed. There are some good games to show you the Wii U's capabilities, but all in all I see it as a mini game compilation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WoW just WoW

posted by Seda (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I wasn't expecting this to be as fun as it is, don't get me wrong I enjoyed the similar game released on the Wii but didn't think this would have nearly as much content as it does.

My kids played this game more than any of the 5 others they got for xmas (we did ours early) and didn't want to put it down when it was bed time. We still havn't gotten through half the games content but will over the next week or 2.

The "zelda" type game seemed to be their favorite since it required team work with the sword/shield and bow guys.

Luigi's ghost game i really liked because i got to chase my kids around and catch them (there is a mario game similar to this and it is just as fun on here)

Game is a 10 and if you haven't tried it then you really need to, great for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »