Rent Ninja Gaiden for Xbox
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.2

3247 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly One Of the Best Action/Adventure Games Ever

posted by Victor (CASTROVILLE, CA) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden is the best Action/Adventure game for this generation of consoles. The gameplay is truly out of this world, with action that brings a new standard for games to fallow. The fighting mechanic is just perfect, and with a great amount of weapons you can really make it shine. But don't think that this game is a walk in the park, to became a Ninja you will need good reflexes and nerves of steel. Moving to the hardware section the graphics really show what the Xbox is capable off, because Ninja Gaiden easily has one of the best graphics engine of this generation of consoles. The game runs in a very good frame rate considering it's an Action/Adventure game. The sound and the music is truly breathtaking making you feel part of the story. Tomonobu Itagaki and Team Ninja really accomplish in bringing one of the best arcade games ever to the Xbox, and showing what makes a game fun to play. The bottom line is if you have an Xbox, you must own this game no matter what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ninja Gaiden in all its revamped beauty!

posted by arklon (EMERADO, ND) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a old school gamer so of course I have played all the original Gaiden games for the nes and I loved them. I bought this one when it first came out and I was not disappointed at all! The graphic were awesome and the game play...whoa the game play was so darn fun and addictive! Its a blast to fight in this and there are so many moves and combos to use. Even the story stays interesting and the cinemas are truly amazing.

Yes I know this game is VERY hard but so were the originals! The original games were so horribly frustrating that I am sure most gamers were bald from pulling their hair out after playing. Just like the original games though the difficulty does not change how fun this game is to play and how addictive it is and the difficulty actually adds a little to the fun factor. Besides if you did not end up swearing and screaming at the tv screen, it would not be a true Ninja Gaiden game haha.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Does it live up to the hype? APP anyone?

posted by AfterShock (PASO ROBLES, CA) Apr 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game isn't for people who don't want a challange because, let me tell you, this game is as challenging as they come. The game starts at the Hayabusa vilage where a dark samurai, Doku, raids and steals "The Dark Dragon Blade" that the Dragon Lineage has been protecting since the "dawn of time." Your main mission is to exact revenge on Doku by killing him, and to retrieve the Dark Dragon Blade. All the while looking for him you encounter many hard boss battles that range from Greater Fiends like Alma and Doku to humans like Murai (your instructor). It's a worthwhile game because when you finally complete it, you feel like you have accomplished something that most people have a hard time mastering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

May not be for everyone!!!

posted by mckeon13 (NAUGATUCK, CT) May 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have given this game such a poor rating cause it was impossible. I had a hard time getting off the first level, and then I saved in the wrong spot and had to start over. The game starts out extremely difficult on the normal level, I could not even bear to think what hard is like. I am sure that some people will be very good at this type of game, and enjoy it a lot. I know the game is no button masher, and you do have to have some degree of skill to put combos together, maybe I don't possess enough of the "Twitch" to play a game like this.

Also the camera is impossible, with no target feature, most of the time the enemy is off screen and you have to try and guess where he is.

Over all the game could have been so much better is the camera was better and possibly easied up on the difficulty in the beginning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best xbox game of all time

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game i hope they make another one for the 360. this game is perfect simply put i enjoyed every inch of it. team ninja u guys are genius.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A very hard game to play and get sucked into.

posted by homerun (NASHUA, NH) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is very hard!!! Don't buy this game until you rent it. I thought I would love it, so I started playing and turned it off after the first level. It took awhile to beat the first boss. The graphics are okay but the game play is very hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest game ever for the Xbox!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: The gameplay in NG is REALLY fun. There are alot of cool teqniques and tons of weapons to find, each with their own cool abilities and moves! One bad thing though is that the game is REALLY hard! The enemies are harder than some bosses on other games! NG makes other game slook like they where meant for babies! But if you can get over the insane difficulty, you will really like this game!
STORY: The story in NG isnt all that good. Im not saying it was bad, but dont expect somthing like FF or whatnot. It does have cool twist at the end though.. but most of the game is just your average hero type game.
GRAPHICS: The graphics in NG are really good also. The textures and lighting and the water and just everything look fantastic!
OVERALL: VERY fun if you can get over the difficulty and the average story-line.
RATING: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Freaking game ever

posted by gotmoug (wichita, KS) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

OK Im 34 in 2011 I am a casual gamer at most. This was the most awesome game ever. I dont really remember it being hard to beat even on hard bu thats just because I couldnt put it down. Simply said this game is sick. God of war 1 and this came out around the same time and Im thinking this one was the better of the two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

A challenging and awesome game, definitely worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Challenges all that i knew about action games.

posted by ChristianX (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

First off, you will not have an easy time at playing this game. In my opinion, the second level is one of the hardest simply because you have few skills and pitiful health.

The storyline is simple, but rich and there is a great twist at the end.

The most amazing thing about this game is the fact that it has such a great combat system. Each new enemy has a different strategy and its own way to destroy it. Each combo you learn is invaluable in several situations. I never once felt like i wasted my essence purchasing a weapon upgrade. The acrobatics were simple to do, but could do more harm then good if used in the wrong situations.

A hint to getting a good mission rank: Always finish the level with full ninpo and use those spells sparingly.

Also, actively search for the golden scarabs. Eventually they get you the most powerful weapon in the game, the Dabilahro!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ninja gaiden

posted by madcritic (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

ninja gaiden is a pretty cool game the action is cool the moves and weapons r cool but there r a few things that held this game back aloooooooooooooot for starters all the enemy's are too strong some of them even kill with only 4 hits on normal (there is no easy).the bosses are the same as you progress you'll start to notice that the bosses will be too tough to even land a single hit on them .this is the number 1 thing that held the game back so much when you die you dont start from a check point you have to restart from your last save and sometimes the next save point is too far away to get to it not to mention all the hard enemy's you'll have to kill just to get there they should remake this game to make it easier (ive never played ninja gaiden black) this is the worst game ive ever played WHO EVER READS THIS REVIEW STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE GAME! IT WILL DRIVE YOU TO INSANITY BEFORE YOU KNOW IT YOU MIGHT DESTROY THIS HORIBLE GAME SO NEVER EVER PLAY THIS GAME i MEAN IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ninjas Are Always Cool

posted by Author (WICHITA, KS) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

Seriously, look at the title of this review and find me a ninja that isn't cool (and if you find one, I will seriously watch every episode of The hills. God, I HATE The Hills.). Keeping that in mind, I believe Ryu Hayabusa is a god amongst ninjas, a dude that transcends mere coolness to become flat-out awesome. Ryu Hayabusa is not the kind of ninja that sneaks around in the shadows and defeats his foes with stealthy, shadowy techniques; no this is the kind of guy who will walk into the bar, and if the bartender even thinks about saying "Why the long face?" he will immediately behead the guy, and possibly everyone else in the bar. Yeah. He's amazing.
Ninja Gaiden is an extremely fast paced game that is totally beyond anything I've ever seen before, in terms of gameplay, in terms of graphics, but not so much in story and not so much with its horrific camera. The controls in this game (which are the most important for any game) are extremely tight and well made, and within minutes, you'll be running along walls and lopping off heads like a veteran with years of practice. The graphics are incredible, and this is coming from a guy who played this immediately after playing Gears of War. To have a game still hold up graphically that was made in the last generation is quite an accomplishment. The action is so fast and furious that there were many times where I'd come upon a group of soldiers, press a few buttons, and suddenly there'd be a flash of color, three guys would no longer have heads, and I'd be doing a backflip off the side of a building a block away with no clue as to how I got there. This isn't frustrating; it actually increases the "wow" factor of every fight, and creates a zen like trance where you no longer watch what you're doing, but what everyone else is doing. The story isn't great, but like a kung fu movie, you didn't come for the story, and the camera is horrific. These issues do little to dampen what this experience. You have got to check this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NINJA GAIDEN

posted by babalou (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I've always been a fan of the Ninja Gaiden, and this one was no disappointment. The only thing that I didn't like was the weird camera controls, but after a while it didn't matter. Can't wait to play the next segments on Ninja Gaiden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesomeness

posted by ripleysam (AUSTIN, TX) May 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The only issue I had with the game was the camera angle. It made it more challenging than it already is to defeat the bosses. Not for the easily frustrated gamer. It takes skill, patience and focus to do well. I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE THE GAIDEN!

posted by Heonix (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

i really iove this game because it is yhe perfect game for me,mostly the reason why, is because it gives me a challenge and i cant find that in any games anymore. the fighting is fantastic,as are the graphics and and somewhat familier storyline. I will tell you right now that the normal enimies don`t play around, niether will the bosses but what i can`t stand is that for me,when i want to go back to a potion shop the game won`t let me through. I really do reccomend this game to anyone looking for a challenge because you will get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ninja Gaiden

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

This game is awesome. Story, graphics, etc. However extremely difficult and frustrating. It took my brother and I months to finish, and we only finished it because of the reputation the game has. I hate the saving system, because if you save when too little life you are screwing yourself. I would recommend using each slot incrementally. Also the enemies could rock you one minute and the next minute you take them out, so enemy difficult is very inconsistent. Little minion guys shouldn't be able to completely kill you, they should just hurt you a little. Play this game with the strategy guide. You will get stuck and it helps to have all the upgrades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IT'S THE SAME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) May 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

It's the same game as 'Ninja Gaiden Black'!!!! No I don't mean it's similar or kinda like it, I mean it's literally the same exact game! Same levels, same story, same everything! What a ripoff!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Instant Classic!

posted by adriant079 (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

This game starts off hard even though you are playing it on normal. If you loved the first 3 Ninja Gaidens on the NES, then you'll love the xbox version. This game is for hard core gamers. Its one of the most challenging games that i played in a while. Sorry regular gamers, this game is only for hard core gamers. Its that hard to beat!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best xbox game ive played so far....

posted by enchanted (BESSEMER, AL) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is very fun and the graphics were amazing.
The game play was challenging in some parts, and it isn't for gamers looking for an easy game.There are tons of techniques you can use and the fights are unbelievably cool!
There are also many weapons usable during the game, however i gave my rating based mostly on the story line. It was cleverly thought out and very entertaining.

i highly suggest renting this game....its well worth it and you want be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An instant classic!

posted by RShinobi97 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 26, 2007

Member since May 2005

To start Tecmo & Team Ninja have really out done themselves with this one as the graphics in this game are simply a wonder to behold.
The game is hard, but not unfairly as it rewards intelligent playing as you make better use of the combo system you'll receive more essence from defeating enemies which helps to unlock more features.
The camera can be a little annoying, but its never much of a problem if you remember to use the right thumbstick especially when coming through new doorways. There are only really two spots when the camera is a bit more of a problem when facing multiple enemies usually more than three it tends to have a difficult time keeping a good focus on the action. It seems to be a bit lessened though if you can keep moving around. The second is when going through narrow passageways, but this can usually be resolved by using the right thumbstick.
The different moves look great and handle extremely well and are fairly simple to learn, but some are bit more difficult to master. The story is good though not to original, but fits the game well. The voice acting is good and fits the respective characters well, but some of the dialogue seems a bit dry probably just something lost in translation. The varied environments are simply stunning and the music fits each level well. The cutscenes are superb and simply the best around. The character designs are amazing as they are the best out there.
In all Ninja Gaiden is one of best games ever as it raises the bar for action/adventure games. If you play videogames and just want to mash buttons this is probably not the game for you, but if you like games that are good challenge which reward intelligent creative gameplay then you should love this. The game is not perfect, but is probably as close as an action/adventure game will come until the next wave of game systems come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Hyabusa!

posted by Melkiah (GREEN RIVER, WY) Sep 13, 2006

Member since May 2006

This is a game full of heart and wit. You begin in Ryu's village, and from there on you are bestowed on an unforgettable journey. From the skies on a Zep, to the Vigoor empire, this game will have you on the edge of your seat from the moment you turn the game on. Truly one worth having in your collection. Oh and good luck with the black ninjas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »