Rent Ninja Gaiden Sigma for PS3
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden Sigma

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

5788 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Challenging and Unrivaled Gameplay.

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game will challenge you. It's not "impossible" or just plain "hard," but it's also not a game that you can expect to casually make your way through. You won't pass it simply by putting in the time.

First, the game looks very good. It has great textures, bright and varied colors, and fantastic character animations. It runs up to 1080p (if your TV can handle it) and runs smoothly with only minor screen-tearing issues.

The story is sub-par, but the mythology behind it is great. Game extras and additional levels of difficulty give real legs to this game. It will last you a long time. After you rent it, you will want to buy it. Trust me.

What makes this game stand out from other action games, though, is the fight mechanics. Unlike God of War, learning the combos is not just a way to add flair to your fighting; those combos are a necessary part of learning how to fight effectively. It will take you substantial time to learn your preferred techniques for a given situation and a given combination of enemies. The game's difficulty increases with each "chapter," forcing you to hone your fighting skills. By the time you finish the game, you will feel as though you actually learned something.

The best comparison I can think of is Guitar Hero, where when you finally get five stars on all the expert songs you feel like a real pro. This game is not a light undertaking. Be prepared for a good old fashioned gaming challenge. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great and challenging game

posted by blackout87 (POCATELLO, ID) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a great game, it had a wonderful storyline, nice variations, only a few flaws, and not too easy.
This game is great those players who like a good challenge, although, even when on normal mode i found myself at spots when i could barely get past it without dying for the seventeenth time. For those gamers who get very upset when you cannot beat something, i do not recommend this game on any difficulty other than ninja dog(If you need to know how to get to ninja dog mode please look at the cheats and codes section)
The only other flaws i can think of other than how challenging it is is that sometimes the camera can be a bit annoying, but it only happens in small areas and can usually be avoided.
this game never gets boring, there isnt any repetative material.
Wonderful and fun overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stress level= High.

posted by ultramac (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden Sigma offers a great mix of action, creative scenes, villains, and puzzles. The artwork was great and the way the game flowed was amazing. It is easy to see why NGS is such a popular franchise. Upsetting however is how difficult it is to reach the end but how easy it is to beat the game. I have to say that I had to shut down my PS3 several times due to how difficult some of the bosses were. After a couple of attempts and a new approach it became clear that every opponent was slightly different and some weapons worked better on certain opponents while other weapons worked better on others. The Ninpo attacks were amaazing and it is smart to try and upgrade one or two ninpo attacks fully and at least two of your weapons fully if you intend to beat the bosses that come in the later chapters. All in all the game was a success. Don't be upset about the ending, Team Ninja might make it up to you in Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2. Or at least they better. UltraMac

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ninja Gaiden better than ever

posted by Driffter76 (RENO, NV) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played all three games in the series and i have no complaints, with the exception of the camera. People that are giving this game a poor review because its a 3rd remake are not doing the game justice. They should rate the game its self and not judge it because its a remake.

The graphics are awsome. I love the new set of weapoms u get. I also like the fact that you get a new set of combos to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very fun but very hard.

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great but it`s also very difficult be sure that you know it`s not just a simple button mashing hack and slash it also takes a lot of skill and blocking and dodging. Also the game does not have any mode under normal so you can`t just lower the level if the games too hard. This game also lacks a complete tutorial so you`ll probably end up on the internet asking questions like how to do a certain move. I highly suggest that you don`t rent this game if you have a bad temper problem otherwise your $55 ps3 controller will be shattering into 30 pieces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very

posted by ninja12345 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good game, but it definately should have been slightly easier, this game shaved off a year of my life i think!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FANTASTIC VISUALS BUT FRUSTRATINGLY DIFFICULT!!!!!

posted by kslim1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WELL I MUST SAY THE GRAPHICS ARE SOOOOO IMPRESSIVE YOU ALMOST WANT TO PLAY JUST FOR THE EYE CANDY. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS IT IS FAR TOO DIFFICULT AND THE WORSE PART IS WHEN YOU GET LOST YOU WILL REMAIN LOST FOR SOOOOOOOOOOOO LONG YOU'LL EVENTUALLY JUST TURN IT OFF SINCE THE MAP IS HORRID AND THE GAME OFFERS NO HINTS. SO, YOU'LL SHUT IT OFF AND FOR DAYS IF NOT MONTHS OR FOR ME YEARS HAVE THE URGE TO PLAY SINCE IT IS SOOOO FUN BUT PROBABLY WONT HAVE THE ENERGY OR THE AMBITION TO BE CONTINUALLY PUMBLED AND LOST WANDERING AIMLESSLY. MAN I WISH I COULD FIGURE THIS ONE OUT. I AM A MASTER GAMER AND THIS FRUSTRATES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Turn the difficultly down

posted by alexanderl (DAWSONVILLE, GA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game has good graphics but the difficulty is really hard. game makers turn it down. i'm gonna spin a lifetime just trying to beat this game. so i said screw it send it back so i can play a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been awesome

posted by Bgerrits (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game could have been great as it is I will not be finishing it. The graphics are fantastic the fighting is fun. The problem is the level design and horrible camera work. The level design will have you fighting mini bosses after mini bosses then the main boss with no saves which means fighting the same area over and over again. The camera is absolutely horrible you will have guys with motorcycles coming after you and not be able to see them unless you manually control the camera which I couldn't do and fight at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too difficult to be fun for all

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sigma has been renewed graphically from its previous incarnation on last gen machines. Thats about the only significant improvement, however some levels seemed longer than before. One thing that stands out is that the difficulty is still frustratingly extreme.

My favorite part was purchasing upgrades encouraged by defeating numerous foes. Though it can be tedious at times, it is worth some effort to get the upgrades, and probably necessary if you ever want a shot at beating any bosses later in the game.

Sigma is a good game, basically a sword hack and slash button mashing effort. The best combat moves become massive button combos; square, square,square,square,tria- ngle,square,square...blah blah blah..thats lame. You rarely have enough time to press the buttons in the heat of any battle much less get it right. In a particularly aggravating instance there is a great move to behead your enemy by holding the triangle button for a few seconds. Neat! If you enemy holds perfectly still and waits to be decapitated. trying this maneuver works sometimes, and really well, but mostly it is just a great way to become a sitting duck because no one waits to lose his head by your sword.
The camera control in awfully, it frequently leaves you confused, and turned around mid battle losing sight of your enemy, and that proves fatal more often than not.

So with all these issues Sigma still delivers seat of your pants action, a fair story, pretty levels, and a hot chick with issues and tiny outfits. If you are going to buy this, you can pick it up anywhere new for $30, or used for about $18. Rent sigma knowing this is a huge challenge, and aims to frustrate, but its worth some patients.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweet

posted by coltjones (BISMARCK, MO) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden is one of the hardest games I have ever played, but I can't get enough of it. The boss characters are freaking awesome and the graphics are top notch. The storyline is good as well. Barely missing a perfect 10, this game is still awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The way of the Ninja

posted by hurrycaine (DURHAM, NC) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game. I rented it recently, but when I recieved it, I found that I had played it a few years ago on XBOX. Oh well, I played it again. The graphics were much better and the response time between moves was improved. The only down fall to the game is, it is so long. I played it before and it still took me hour after consecutive hour to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good!

posted by DiscNinja (BURLESON, TX) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having finished the original Ninja Gaiden when it came out I wanted to check out the improvements.
It looks great! NG has never looked better! And the added stuff is cool but it is still unnecessarily difficult! A good game to me should be a challenge but not make your veins pop out.

The story is ok but to me it would've been much more cool if it were based on a Sho Kosugi movie like "Revenge of the Ninja", taking out a corrupt ninja/business man's army of thugs and drug cartels in high rise buildings using all the weapons and tool of a ninja, but that's just me. :)

The controls are great! The thing I've always loved about Ninja Gaiden is that Team Ninja actually allow the Player to remap buttons! And, I don't know about everyone else but it's important to me to find my comfort zone buttonwise so I love that feature! Almost none of the games on the console market include that feature. Are you listening game developers!?

All in all, a pretty good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ninja Gaiden Sigma ninjas its way to the PS3.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden Sigma delivers.

Presentation:

Decent story. Good technically. Decent sound.

Graphics:

Great looking game. Minimal screen tearing but not else. Nice models and no two areas look the same.

Gameplay:

One of the best action games out today. The difficulty might me overwhelming though.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hard? Yes. Fun? Not always.

posted by jburg33 (BOSTON, MA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is difficult. I've been playing video games for a long time, and most games I find to be not very challenging. Ninja Gaiden Sigma will have even the most veteran of gamers tied up in knots, and while it is refreshing to have a good challenge, sometimes the game's difficulty seems arbitrary.

It also has a long completion time, again, something which veteran gamers will like to a degree, but which in the end proved too much for me. After the fourth "boss" i had to fight in a row with very little health, I switched it off and returned it. Still, it held my interest for a long time, looks visually amazing, has great depth, if a lame and silly story, and is fun to master.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredibly Challenging

posted by McGurtis (CASTLE ROCK, WA) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the hardest games I have ever played. It is frustrating at certain parts but once you pass them you have to keep playing. The graphics are well done, but I didn't really like some of the music. You should definitely give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Talk about Difficult.

posted by Diggler42o (ANAHEIM, CA) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had a difficult time getting into this game because I had not played Ninja Gaiden Black. The story line was pretty basic, nothing fancy. The graphics were decent, also nothing fancy. It is extremely difficult though, that's no joke.

7 out of 10 for several reasons:
Pros:
Graphics were pretty good
Combat style was exciting (although boring after a while)
Will take time / effort to beat

Cons:
Difficult, and consequently frustrating
Combat styles extremely repetitive
Instructions / Directions / Tutorials were extremely vague
Story line was pretty basic

Rentable? Yea.. I didn't have it long though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Gaiden Sigma

posted by harvilltj (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has good graphics but the gameplay is the most difficult I have ever encountered. I had it set on normal and I have been stuck on Chapter 3 for two days now. Other than that, it's a good game with some nice moves to perform. It's really a nice addition to be able to upgrade and buy items as in a role playing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as cool as I thought

posted by orrcorman2 (HIGHLAND LAKES, NJ) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Most definitely awesome graphics. Everything is cool in the beginning until the camera gets possessed and you can't see anything or anyone who is shooting at you or smashing you in the head with their sword for that matter. Lets not forget the impossibly hard to beat beginning boss. Had this games for a whole 3 hours before I returned it. Spider man 3 is way better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. It takes everything that was awsome about Ninja Gaiden Black and just makes it better. The controls are easy to learn but the game is extremely challenging. Took me a couple tries just to beat the first boss. This game is well worth renting. And once you play it you might just realize its also well worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

stop complaing and learn to play

posted by rufiosghs1 (ORANGE, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really dont know why i see complaints on this game its simply amazing. when has a game truly challenged us with its difficulty? for too long games have been to easy with go here, kill this guy push this switch. with ninja gaiden i was relieved to know that im actully seeing the continue screen. yes this game is hard. yes it took awhile to pass even just one level but thats whats so good about it. the variety of weapons is great and should suit to about anyones style. now the only bad thing about this game is no checkpoints. you have to save alot. and i mean alot. because if you die (which you will ...alot) you start back where you LAST SAVED so whenever you can save, do it. but this game is great and really a good challenge, just try and get a fifty hit plus combo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Gaiden Sigma

posted by smith8762 (ARNOLD, MO) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nice game & beautiful graphics. Controlling the camera angles however proved to be challenging at times. Would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Difficult

posted by FaTbOy666 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is pretty easy on the eyes but the fighting gets kinda boring. The enemies are too strong. I have to block way too much to my liking. I ended up calling it quits after beating the 3rd chapter. The camera angle also sucks, making me hit R2 every few seconds. The combos and weapons are pretty cool once you get the hang of it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ninja gaiden sigma

posted by warzone11 (HONOLULU, HI) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

playing this game gave me the chills. i thought it would be another naruto game where you have to do jutsu and do crazy acrobatics, but it wasnt.

i let my brother play first so i went out to watch tv. i came back into my room and i see him do crazy figthing thingy and he was owning. so that means the controls was not very hard to learn and the graphics are excellent.

the game will get hearder each chapter and maybe you can get stuck but its worth it. i loved the game. the game also takes more then one day to finish. so dont think its one of those games that are a waste because it takes one day to finish.

i loved this game and i know you will too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thumbs Up

posted by Autausaga (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It isn't too bad,though the graphics could be better but the fighting and difficulty is pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse