Rent Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus for PS Vita
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

262 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by huffmankw (MURRIETA, CA) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you like hack and slash types of games. This is the game for you. You use standard controls as well as some touch screen for some of the special moves. I bought the game when I bought my Vita and after set up I played until the battery went almost dead. It is a great action games pretty good graphics. Would recommend for a game to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much of the same ol' for me...

posted by TheDarkJag (DURHAM, NC) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I rented this title because I love the Ninja Gaiden series. However, I forgot that this game is just the original Ninja Gaiden for the OG Xbox with some new controls and a few new bells & whistles. This was not what I was looking forward to playing, so it wasn't for me. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game; it just did not bring me like it did when I first got the game for the Xbox years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not the best Ninja Gaiden Game

posted by sigmajt23 (LA CROSSE, WI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

If you really love ninja gaiden this will let you play it on the vita. I wouldn't consider myself a big fan of the series but I did like the slashing and blood spray of the original. The blood spray from this is no where near as satisfying as in the console versions, most likely due to the vita's lesser graphical muscle. The vita controls don't seem to be as precise as the console controls so it can make it difficult often to get any combos going. Also I felt like I was fighting the controls and the camera 50% of the time to traverse the game world. Worth a rent but glad I didn't buy it. If you really like the series stick to the console versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best game ever now portable.

posted by lowkey42oo (TULALIP, WA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I've played this on four systems now and I like this the best because it 95% accurate and on the go enough said. People be to harsh on the most perfect game at the peak of videogame-doms power. Resident evil four and various Mario iterations can't hold a candle to the depth of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for casual gamers

posted by SableFox97 (JAMAICA, NY) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

This game is hard, too hard for people just in it for the story or the cutscenes. Even the NORMAL setting requires a bit of obsessive attentiveness in order to keep going. And then theres a part of the game that takes it too far by applying a 'challenging' mini boss.

Otherwise, this is a pretty engrossing game with awesome graphics music and action. Just don't expect to finish it the same year you got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ima ninja ima ninja

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is alright. It has a lot of blood and hacking and slashing. Its all about killing pretty much. It goes by chapters. Its sorta an rpg but not really. So i would say over all its nice for the psvita because it uses all the features thats pretty much it. I don't have many ps vita games which is why I chose to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucked so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Edge153 (FORT MILL, SC) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

it was very stupid and complicated but mostly it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

After a while it gets boring

posted by Ozzy9618 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Do not like the simplistic aproach of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but could be better

posted by johnmiles2 (EVERETT, WA) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

I really liked this game but i was really hoping for game plus. Once you finish though, you have to start everything completely over which pretty much sucks. The game is still very fun though and I definitely recommend that you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) May 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Same Old Ninja Gaiden.. As It was On The Xbox,This Has Its Added Features... But Nothing Major,Its Hack,slash... As All Ninja Gaidens Are... Bosses Can Get Hard Later,But This Has A Pretty Good Story,Great Voice Acting... Stay Away From Ninja Gaiden 3,its Not The Same.... and it Scored Way Low...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Ninja Gaiden Game :P

posted by LouisV (BRONX, NY) May 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I love this game it's really fun, the graphics looks amazing on the vita screen. Although one complain i do have is when you jump its hard to control where you go, so some times you fall off the edges, I once even had to restart a whole difficult boss battle 3 times because when the game switched over from Rachael to Ryu i was in a place with no save point and to get to one i had to jump on multiple small ledges.

I saw pass all this though and enjoyed the game a lot, its a good rent :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For those new to Ninja Gaiden.

posted by Rymo Apr 26, 2012

Let me first say that this, being the first Ninja Gaiden game I've played, is simply an amazing game.

The graphics are superb, the backrounds, enemies, Ryu, and heck even the menus look crisp and clean. It's surprisingly easy to follow Ryu around the game as he jumps off walls, rolls past enemies, and preforms amazing combos.

The story is easy to follow, and throws in enough twists too keep you woondering what, or who you will be facing next.

There is also a surprising amount of weapons and costumes to unlock, although costumes are only unlocked for beating the game on various difficuties. You start off with a sword, and before to long you have nunchuckes, the controls are all the same, just different moves which makes the game ever entertaining. Fast track a chapter or two, and you have a lunar staff, wooden sword, and even the possiblity to duel weild! What also makes it interesting are the ability scrolls you can find. Anything ranging from being protected by fireballs, to throwing fireballs, now add water and other elements, and the possibilites for destruction are endless.

For those new to this series, be warned. Even on hero mode, when it automatically blocks when health reaches a certain point, the enemies are ruthless. I reccomend playing the game to chapter 3, then completely restarting over again. This way, your not to far into the campaign, and upon playing for a second time, you remember the important controls that are thrown at you, and it makes it all much more enjoyable.

I give the game an 8 out of 10.
The only cons would be the lack of imstructions given, even with the manual the whole Karma system and various items are not fully explained. At some points camera angles will be terrible resulting in a death here and there, but nothing so bad as to totally ruin the game.

If you have ever felt like running across walls, backflipping off enemies and throwing ninja starts at them, then this is the game for you.

Game on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by salephone123 (WESTMINSTER, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

dont know why rating on GF is low but I satified with this game. It took me ~60 hours to finish it. If you havent played this game on Xbox or PS3 yet, you will like it more than me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »