Rent Ninja Gaiden 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

1341 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ninja Gaiden 3 - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden 3 is fun. There are quite a bit of powers in this game that keeps this game from not being played.

Gameplay - I will admit; this game is button mashing system. Even though they took the high road with button mashing they still balanced the gameplay out with how much blood and gore you witness. There's so much blood!

Presentation - The story is about the past enemies that Ryu Hayabusa coming back to haunt him. The story is plain, but there are a lot of quick time events that keep it entertaining. You fight off enemy after enemy, jump and climb up walls, and even fight off fighter planes shooting rockets and bullets at you.

The Verdict - It has good graphics, an ok story, and awesome quick time events, but this game isn't as bad as IGN or anyone else is saying. It deserves 6/10 just because it's fun and anyone who likes slasher games and tons of gore will definitely love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Gaiden 3 is a good game.

posted by Naphtali357 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I noticed a lot of people hacking on this game with negative criticism with a one-track minded perspective. So I decided to look at this game myself. Now, I have played Ninja Gaiden before. And I like this game. It's great. The story is deep, the gameplay is new somewhat, and to top it off the ultimate technique is even better. Now I've rented NG Sigma 2, so I can see why people say that the third game stinks- the gameplay is faster, and there is just a bunch of stuff the third game doesn't have. But don't hack on the game just because it's different. It's the same thing you do in the first game, hack-and-slash-hack-and-slash-hack-and-slash, wall run, shoot some arrows do some cool finishes, etc. And when you tie everything together, the whole game seems to reflect that.

In short, Ninja Gaiden 3 is an awesome game. IT's just a little more.......straightforward, so to speak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Action Pack

posted by coolkevi (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the slash and hack style of RYU on the enemy and great story line. It was fun to play on every mission

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DON'T Listen to the critics try it for yourself

posted by lc2489 (GARFIELD, NJ) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will admit I was shaky bout gettin this game cause I didn't know what to expect. I have it now though and just completed it on normal now on hard mode I skipped over easy mode. Now I have played ninja gaiden since ninja gaiden black on the original xbox. and I have played the ninja gaiden 2 on 360 and both sigma versions. Ninja gaiden 3 is not a bad horrible or broken game as some say its just taken in a different direction.

Let me put it this way strip ninja gaiden 1 and 2 of all the maps and extra weapons and ninpos only get your dragon sword or katana or a sword of some kind and one ninpo add in some quick time events and ninja gaiden 1 and 2 would be no different than 3.

Yes NG3 is not as involved gameplay wise its straightforward and while the story is generic it make since if you just follow it heck all 3 stories make sense. NG3 is a straightforward action game with some amazing action and as for the story I read one review that talks bout how the story contradicts itself but in my opinion it doesnt yes ryu kills a lot and while i can understand killing the beggin people and all the point is not bout ryu's killing making him a murderer what the story is trying to say is if ryu does what he does for the right reasons.

Anyway thats just my opinion but the bottom line is if you liked the other 2 games at least try this one while it is easier than the other 2 (at least on normal and part of hard mode) it still is not the button masher everyone thinks play it that way and you will die a lot Ive tried thanks for reading

hope my review helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by Jman901 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not the best but has its moments

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

straight action

posted by crunklazlo (GREELEY, CO) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i started on the first ninja gaiden on xbox, fell in love with the series. the reasons i fell in love with this game series didnt show in the newest installment which was very disappointing. they took away the adventure aspect and made it a pure hack and slash. the main focus of this game was the story but it doesnt do a very good job of keeping you drawn in. what i missed from the previous 2 games was the ability to upgrade your weapons and purchase items and new nimpo abilitys. none the less it was a solid action game that had its moments but in the end it definitly is a rental. hopefully team ninja doesnt disappoint with the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sick

posted by jrralph44 (BLOOMINGTON, CA) May 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Gaiden 3 Review

posted by EvKono (CASTAIC, CA) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What happened to the freedom to roam levels and the weapon choices and search to earn upgrades? That was my only problem with the game. Ninja Gaiden 1 was the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

definately a challenge

posted by worlddomanator (PUYALLUP, WA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game had so much potential but the biffed it. as ryu in the main story the monsters get conitnually harder while you get no real new anything except swords that dont enhance anything much. but there was a build your own ninja thing with trials to level him up and give him all kinds of stuff. if they combined that with the main story i woulda have given this a ten. they tried to do too much and didnt really bring the greatness that you would expect of ryu. at least it was pretty i guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

N3 is OK, BUT N2 is much better.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

N1 sigma and N2 were both great games. I think N3 Lacks what both N1 & N2 had...and its probably because Itagaki left team Ninja. They should have mixed N1 & N2 together and kept that recipe. N3 isnt as bad as the reviews claim, and I think the reviews are more out of anger for not keeping the original brutality and difficulty the previous NG games had. NG has never been big on "story", and N3 tries to focus on that. RYU was always been the silent killer that massacered anyone in his path. When you give a game character a " personality ", it takes away from the gamers experience of BEING THAT CHARACTER, unless hes given moral choices like Commander Shepard in Mass Effect. Its like Link from Zelda...you feel as if you are actually LINK because Link doesnt have much of a personality himself...so you re able to incorporate your own thoughts into his descions.
The gameplay of N3 is greatly watered down, yet still challenging. You cant severe a limb from your enemies, although there seems to be just as much blood. The combat is much easier, due to complaints from the series being TOO HARD. I can almost press 1 button now and clear out a group of enemies, without blocking once! The fighting seems very repetitve because you seem to fight the same group of soldiers section by section. Ive yet to encounter the mutants and strange beasts N2 had. RYU is more of a mercenary military lapdog instead of a lone fearless warrior this time. But Im only at the second stage at this point, and by the time many of you read this, I may change my rating ( I doubt it ). To sum it up...N3 is OK. Its not bad but not great either. They took away what made it GREAT. No level up system, the cutting of limbs, the enemies, the weapons, and the graphics...N1 & N2 had a very polished feel..N3 looks hashed. Worth buying? YES, WHEN ITS $20 in the used section. Until then, this is a RENT ONLY release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

disappointing but not that bad

posted by mardar35 (UPLAND, CA) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

compared to ng 1 and 2 this was a bit of a letdown. but i don't think the game was a bad as most gamers thought. could or should it have been better.....absolutely. the controls were good, smooth gameplay although the camera angles were frustrating, the plot was good, a little generic but good. it also seemed like team ninja was in a hurry to get this game out on schedule.

overall, not the best game i've played but definitely not the worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Repetitive

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its extremely repetitive. It overuses certain game play elements like slowing Ryu down when is arm is in pain, climbing up walls with L1 and R1 and escape scenes. The combat is just as repetitive with only a few ways of using melee moves and only one ninpo technique.

This game does not deserve the 3 that IGN gave it though. I consider a 3 a game that's barely playable due to major glitches and what is playable is either boring or frustrating. A 3 is harsh even for something like Duke Nukem Forever in my book. That being said, I wouldn't suggest anyone go out and spend $60 on this. Personally I won't even buy it when there are used copies for $5 on Amazon. This is a fun rental though. The gameplay is decent to blast through all at once on a weekend or something, the story is mindless fun and graphics are smooth and colorful. Its not something you spend money on, but as a game you can rent, beat and return in two days its not horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A collosal dissapointment

posted by mcnerderson (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The score and title don't begin to describe how horrible this game actually is. Even if it wasn't a sequel to my favorite videogame series it would still be a terrible game. The fighting is one demential and extremely repetitive.
THERE IS ONLY ONE WEAPON. THERE IS ONLY ONE NIMPO.
Each level is a series of exactly the same battle. The enemies are all clones of enemies found in the first 4 levels. The elite ones are in white. That is the only difference. They fight exactly the same. The only difference between normal and hard is the amount of enemies on the screen, the number of their waves and how much damage they inflict. Their fight patterns don't change at all.

There are absolutely NO ITEMS and nothing to explore the environment for. Enemies and bosses give you absolutely nothing for your efforts and every level feels like you're just wasting your efforts for absolutely nothing.

Apparently, the reason for erasing everything fans of the series loved and replacing it with nothing was so the player could focus his or her attention on the story. Which is as pointless as every Ninja Gaiden and literally contradicts itself. The incompetent developers of this paper thin story want to flesh out Ryu as a character by making him find out if he is just a murderer. There is a little girl he has to save and everything. Great, but to save her and prove he is not just a murderer he has to brutally hack up upwards of 2000 fellow human beings. Many of them are unarmed and begging for their lives as well. Story fail.

The amazingly complex and beautiful fighting system fans of the series adore is replaced by a very bland and lack luster cut through bone (or whatever) one, where you auto kill every single enemy who has been cut up enough. You cannot visually see when they are ready for the quicktime event but Ryu seeks them out for you so you don't have to actually work to achieve a victory. Kunai climbing is boring and glitchy and adds nothing.
Do not bother with t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

most dissapointing game ever!!!

posted by RJONES69 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have played every ninja gaiden game that has came out for Ps3,X -Box 360 and original X-box and Ninja Gaiden 3 is a Major'Major insult to the series. I didnt get it through my gamefly account because before it could get here i was so excited that i rented it from a local video store.after playing for 2 hours i took it out of my game Q.No collectibles,upgrades 0r excitement for that matter. A Complete Ripoff !!! This is at most a$15 hack and slash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Steamlined Butchery

posted by Vhashaar (Puyallup, WA) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's been some bad press about this one, but I find the game stands up on its own just fine.

The latest installment in Ninja Gaiden features the unstoppable killing machine Ryu Hayabusa, called a ninja but really a rival to Kratos himself. This leg of his journey sees him face the burden of a blood curse upon his sword-arm, pursuing an evil conglomerate, wasting loads of their minions, taking on colorful boss enemies, and managing to deliver a cheesy yet filling story.

One of the heaviest gripes about the game has been the removal of all weapons besides the Dragon Sword from the player's arsenal (though judging by a recent patch which added the Claws weapon, there will be more on the way). The inventory management is gone from the game and the focus is on pushing forward and killing lots and LOTS of enemies. Initially, fans of the series will complain the game is too easy (relatively speaking) and the enemies don't sustain damage to the degree they used to.

Mind you, cleaving off a leg or two is roughly equivalent to splitting a torso, this complaint is largely moot. The game is graphic, gory, intense and unabashed about it. Action/gore junkies will enjoy it quite a bit. The difference is you're not smeared with enemies' viscera - just drizzled in it.

The multiplayer offering is a series of challenge stages for coop play (wipe out all enemies) or an amusing slapdash competitive mode (wipe out all enemies) with occasional change-ups (wipe out everyone) and surprising challenge in the form of lag (ninjas + lag = unstoppable). I would consistently reveal a stealthed opponent with an attack only to die to his very own stealth insta-kill attack... Bear this in mind and you'll still have a decent time unlocking new outfits and weapon techniques.

It is a sloppy ball of arcady action, though not too many players on at a time.

I feel NG3 presents a satisfying standalone action experience, even though it's all on-rails linear. Definitely worth che

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring Button Masher

posted by tylerca (CHULA VISTA, CA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It’s the same old thing with a new twist on it. Repetitive gameplay, lack of imagination, characters which don’t make sense, only fun for a few hours. Sorry to say but this franchise is long over played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't listen to IGN and there 3.0 review.

posted by rensy85 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has one Ninpo, three weapons, and there's no leveling system...WTFrack. BUT this game definitely isn't complete trash like a lot of reviewers make it out to be.

Tecmo tried to remove features (like opening a menu to use potions to stay alive) and make the game more fluent and action based. I think that's why they removed a lot of the old features. The reason there's only one Ninpo is because that's what you'll use to resort your health and save your buttocks after you've built up your ninpo bar by slaying a bunch of enemies.

The highlight of this game is the action. Even though there're only three weapons to choose from, I had a a lot of fun chopping through waves of enemies. The boss fights aren't as annoying before but still challenging and the enemies types vary enough. The storyline is what you would expect from a Ninja Gaiden game... If you like crazy violent, powerful, brutal action scenes then you'll probably like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HARD AS GAME

posted by MACALI (STOCKTON, CA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MAN THIS GAME TOOK ME LONGER THEN I WOULD HAVE THOUGH IT WOULD BUT OVER ALL THIS GAME IS THE YOU KNOW WHAT ONCE TO FINISH IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was fun

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Apr 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I play the entired game before listening to the reviews n I actually enjoy this a lot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game worth playing

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gaiden 3 offers alot of fun the game starts off kind of slow then things pick up and you are in the game. Cool boss fights alot of blood. Dont know why people are so darn picky!! Give the game a rent it is worth that stop all the hate its not a bad game!! thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ninja Gaiden 3

posted by Tbird341 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Personally i liked the game. i meen yes it is kind of repetative and doesnt have a ton of new weapons. you get the dragon sword, a bow, and when you lose the dragon sword you get the spider clans leaders sword. you only get one magic which is a flaming dragon. but even with all these cons it is still a very fin game to play. i enjoyed it from start to finish. If you play the game on hero mode it is pretty challenging. i died alot while on hero mode. the story is captivating and there are some twists in it. BUT all in all this is a great game with alot of action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointed

posted by a22shady (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing the 1st two ninja Gaiden games on the PS3 I was excited to get in and start playing the 3rd. However this game is different than the others. To start there are no swords to earn, find. There is nothing to upgrade or build up. You do get a different sword but it;'s given to you and I dont see any difference. Again you get a some different throwing weapons but given to you. There is no extra thigns to smash and break. No extra spots to look around and do anything. There is no little tutorial to the system at start of the game. Also with the move list all they give you is a whole buch of button combo's but they don't tell you what the move will do so it's kinda useless if your tryong to perform a move such as Izuna Drop and you don't already know what the button combo's are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i played this and its Great!

posted by lesachm (CANTON, OH) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I played mostly all Ninja Gaiden games and what i like about this game is it gives me a different taste than the previous Ninja Gaiden games such as new cool cinematic action pack sword slashing gamers gave this a bad score because their mad because Team Ninja went a different direction and i like this story more better i mean Ninja Gaiden 2 was just he same as the first Ninja Gaiden the same combo system and a dry story and Ninja Gaiden 3 had more of a real emotional intense deep story i think this game is too underrated so i support this game all the way good job Team Ninja

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome

posted by gen_surge (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think this one is really cool. I say don't go on what people say about this game. Try it for yourself and see if you like it cause you don't wanna miss out on an action pack adventure in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this is why i love gamefly

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i feel sorry for anyone that bought this game. this should have been a 20 downloadable game. i this one of my biggest problems with it is there aren't any other wepons this is very annoying. no type of upgrade what so ever the story is ok but the curse has no play in the game so unless you really like repetative hack and slash let this one go buy. hope this helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse