Rent Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U
GF Rating
6.3

343 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very close to the way it should have been!

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 2, 2013

Member since May 2010

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Huge NG fan here going all the way back to NES days, played and beat each of the new ones on 360, etc...including the original version of NG3. That being said, we all know that the original version of NG3 was not good. I personally enjoyed the online battles and co-op challenges but the campaign was linear and weak, no weapons, no essence, no ninpo variety, no dismemberment of enemies, etc, etc....many many issues as we know. Plus everyone got bent over if you even wanted new weapons as you had to BUY them as DLC!! So maddening!

Well, so far I have been satisfied with the NG3: RE version. Pretty much everything I mentioned above has been fixed or added to this version. There are more weapons (that are in the game without DLC), dismemberments are back, combos are back, ninpo variety is back as well as upgrading weapons, skills and ninpo. The only things still missing are A) the blue, yellow and red essences and B) the herbal inventory for healing and things like Life of the Gods. Lack of each of these was -1 on my rating so I rated it an 8 out of 10.

If you downloaded and played the demo, anything you unlocked is open in the full version for you. If you played through and stuck with and bought DLC from the original version, that converts and is honored in this version as well so there are perks to completing the original if you did and now moving to the RE version.

So to me, all that being said this version is totally worth it for the price if you are a die hard NG fan as well. I was going to get this version on the WiiU but then I heard that the 360 version will honor the previous DLC so I waited for the 360 version. Also if you have not heard yet, you can play as more characters than Ryu and they have varying story arcs.

Basically, just pretend the first one never happened and check this one out. Still not as good as NG: Black or NG2 but wayyyyyyyyyyyy better than the original NG3! See you online in battle mode! \m/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected!

posted by Defarious (FERGUSON, IA) Sep 17, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this curious of why people trashed Ninja Gaiden 3 so much. I had read other reviews about only 3 weapons and the broken flesh to steel mechanic. Well in Razor's Edge all of that is fixed, and even the scythe is back! I found this game to have the right amount of challenge and the flesh to steel being a counter mechanic worked perfectly. Each boss requires learning their attacks and patterns and how to counter them well. The game isn't incredibly long but with the challenging bosses and great level creation it's definitely worth checking out if you are a fan of the series. And on the harder settings it's right back to the golden age of Ninja Gaiden. Even as a veteran player of the series I found this game to be enjoyable and quite worth my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ninja Gaiden 3 Razor Edge was fun

posted by Ashes_Darkmare (CENTRAL FALLS, RI) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy this game, it may have its frustrated moments But the game is a lot of fun over all. They could've at lease kept some elements of 2 in this but its fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Even when Improved, it's still a downfall

posted by RockerVirus (KAWKAWLIN, MI) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have completely decimated everyone of these up until 3. I was so utterly depressed with it that I couldn't finish that. The graphics were amazing, overdone in fact as it forced the gameplay to shadow in quality. The bosses too dull and predictable, far from what you should expect of Ninja gaiden. It was far to linear in it's story mode. There was not a single good note aside from the graphics. Admirably, they did add in a hud and a bit more of a development to this expansion, it still is overall quite poor.

I'm a Die hard fan who bought both of these the second the doors opened. And was disgusted at the results.

In addition to the online capabilities, I have not yet enjoyed them as there is not a single person who bought the game, who either kept it or is not a whining brat who thinks they are two good for anyone. Including those who have already reviewed this as a good game. The community is poor, the fact you have to pay for the co-op features is bs, the story is bland, this is by far the worst work Team Ninja has put out, ever.

If I could hate rated this any lower, I would have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not for the casual.

posted by CiscoRey (CHESAPEAKE, VA) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll likely end up keeping this title. The game is pretty fun and offers players some improvements over the original NG3--see Wiki for a complete list of differences.

Gameplay is fast and furious and the difficulty is often unforgiving. It's a bit unfortunate that so many reviewers penalize this game because of its difficulty--the NG franchise has always been known for its tough titles, so why be surprised? Fortunately there are still a few durable gamers out there that are willing to play it all the way through.

In my opinion, this is the best Ninja Gaiden title since NG: Black for the original Xbox. I'll admit that it's not for everyone. But judging by the high saturation of easy action games and an ever-growing casual gaming community, that's not such a bad thing these days. Few people will be able to say they beat this game on normal--or harder--difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's pretty , but thats it.

posted by Dr_Phil_A_Bole (BANDON, OR) Apr 4, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

very nice looking, button mashing, getting shot in the back by baddies off screen( sometimes 2 screens over), can't rotate camera fast enough, steaming pile of single player dookie.

Team Ninja, make it so we control the speed of battle( like the first 2) not just charge( err I mean block/guard) from point A to point B putting out fires ( ranged )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

reallly baaddd stay away

posted by enigmaticmac (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

worst gaiden i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent but anoying at times

posted by icemancobra (STANLEY, NC) Jul 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is a good game but gets verry repetive quick its worth a rent but not a game I would recomend buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

looks good, but insanely hard

posted by MadMethods (DUBLIN, CA) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2006

thats about it. Good looking but insane difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ng3

posted by whytemic2009 (MESA, AZ) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

`I BEAT IT ON ITS HARDEST LEVEL AND I HAVE TO TELL YOU THAT I WANTED TO CRY WHEN IT WAS OVER I AM SO MAD THAT YOU CANT DO ANY EXTRAS LIKE UPGRADE WEAPONS AND PLAY WITH AN ARSENAL OF ATTACKS LIKE 2 WICH I THOUGHT WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST GAME MADE BUT I STILL GIVE IT A TEN FOR THE ILLUSION IT BRINGS OUT OF TH NINJA GAIDEN SAGA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING, even My brother IN LAW liked It

posted by Jxo616 (LOS BANOS, CA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Awesome game, loved it. I've been a fan of the franchise for since Nintendo. Did not give it a 10 because I think there are a few changes that shouldn't have happened. I don't like the fact that Nimpo takes for ever to charge, also its very weak. Too little damage to enemies. Also Mushrooms, herbs and other extras should have remained. Combos were not as good as Ninja 2. Very fun though, enjoyed it so much that the campaign felt short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by jebus187 (SANFORD, FL) May 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

Was the most depressingly horrible game I've ever played. Sorry Ninja Gaiden fans. This one blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Reboot!

posted by TheBeast82 (HOOVER, AL) May 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

They revamped ninja gaiden 3 with flying colors in my opinion. I would definitely give this one a play if you like the ninja gaiden play style. It is not as long or as difficult as it's previous installments but if it is too hard for you there is a difficulty called hero where you cant die unless you fail a button time sequence or fall off of a ledge or cliff, etc. It's a great option for people who like the game but find it a bit too challenging. I liked the game but would've liked it to be longer and hope they continue the franchise based on this style of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NG3:RE

posted by Janja (ROSSITER, PA) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

It was ok but after the first 10 minutes i quit the only problem i have is that you get hit so easily on the Easy mode its like a rocket launcher is going to kill you but i got ninja skills!! Only set back i saw was the whole control thing. they constantly push up the controls to tell you how to play but its so annoying it seems like it takes up the whole screen!! 6/10 just because of the buttons and they don't give you enough time to read them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

no dif

posted by cajunvinny (LULING, LA) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

des one an the original version of NG3 other den da girl dat in some parts of it an new wepons it just as got just like ng3 it a 10 asome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »