Rent Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.5

1032 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Just shy of a Bad Movie to Game Adaption

posted by TimBoyd (FRANKLIN, NC) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nowadays we are seeing alot of movies turned to games, more repetitive than it needs to be. But don't get discouraged! Ingame graphics remind me of the 90's Ghostbusters cartoons, sortta PS2 retro, Ingame voice is funny to listen to and never gets old. Unfortunately its easy to walk off an edge, causing you to climb all the way back up where you was before. The puzzles and gameplay is easy and hint menus on what to do is a constant pop-up. Achievements are easy to get, and if you miss anything you can always replay a level at the start screen. This game is a great addition for kids, achievement seekers and fans of the Night at the Museum movie series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad...Worth A Rental

posted by Kaynrohs (PEYTON, CO) Nov 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In all honesty, this game isnt bad it all. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Although its a very shot game, (took me a little over 2 hours) its pretty fun. It may be a bit child-ish, but its worth a rental in my opinion.

Gameplay is easy to learn, graphics are decent, and so is the sound. Achievement wise, there are 37 of them. Very easy game if your looking for a quick 1000. A majority of these are story related, so you cant miss them. And those that are'nt story related deal with collectables. The collectables are very easy to find. Most are in plain sight or behind boxes/shelves. Theyre not out to trick you in this game. If it so happens that you end up missing one, you can always replay a level and obtain the collectables you missed before. Overall, I didnt face a single problem within the game. No glitches, no errors, nothing of the sort. Believe it or not, Ben Stiller actually voices himself in the game! The cutscenes and dialogue actually proove to be pretty funny. All the more reason I feel this game relates more towards the movie.

I feel the game deserves a 6/10. The only downfall of the game is perhaps the length of the game. Its extremely short and can be completed in hours. If you have absolutely no other game to play, definetly check Night at the Museam out! Its worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MUCH better then I ever thought

posted by ThetaRho (BROOKLYN, NY) May 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First off, I played this game knowing its made for kids between the ages of 2-8. But honestly as easy (and it is the easiest game ever) and fast as this game was, it wasn't very bad of a game. I personally beat the game and got 1000g in under 3 hours. but for the actually gaming it was fun. I don't see this being a game you would ever want to buy. but for a rental for kids 100%.. and if your an achievement hog (like myself) this game is as easy as can be, and I promise at no point during the SHORT SHORT game will you be bored.

The Graphics were nice, the controls are easy and the story rolls very fast.. Downside-- Final Boss is a Pain in the Butt.. a decent amount of Glitchy aspects in the final boss scene, but other then that.. no major issues.. (to beat the final boss, always have full health)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

rent it

posted by cruzinho (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

not that bad for a movie based game , RENT IT if you collect achievements , the game itself its a little boring but its short a think about 3 hours to finish it with 1000 achievements pts...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fun for a movie game

posted by Yomnad84 (STANFORDVILLE, NY) May 14, 2009

Member since May 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This may look like a dumb game but its very fun to play for kids and adults some of the puzzles are kind of tough but very doable.. For the achievement junkies quick easy 1000 in about 2 hours really cant miss any of the collectibles... Very Fun Game !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Pleasant Surprise

posted by Feonyx (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are renting a game like this it is for one of three reasons; You want to boost your gamer score or you have kids or both. I fit into the "both" category.

As the other reviewers have already mentioned the biggest gripe about the game is it's length (re: too short) which is great if you want your 1000GP, but not so good if you got it for your kids to goof around with it. Another is that some of the puzzles are not kid friendly at all. Why make the game easy to play and get into and then throw a hard Tower of Hanoi puzzle or car parking puzzle into it (moving trilobites around)?

The real reason for this review however is that I loved how they incorporated learning material into the game so your kids actually learn a few things without even knowing it. Sure there is a lot of artistic license needed when bringing back to life a Pharoah that has been dead for thousands of years.

If ever there was a reason for Gamefly this game is one of them. Too short, but a lot of fun.

Feonyx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hokey, but entertaining!

posted by Scott31815 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I read a previous review about this game being a quick 1000 points and, being the achievement junkie that I am, I gave it a shot. If you've seen the movies you know what you're in for playing this game! I was pleasantly surprised at how much I laughed and actually enjoyed playing this game! Even at 42 years old I can find enjoyment in a kid's game, I guess!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cute Kids Game

posted by Vlennert (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cute kids game. Your kids will love it. I especially liked playing "fetch" with the T-Rex!

Graphics are sup par and the sound effects are a bit annoying, but then again, kids don't notice those kinds of things. Voiced by Ben...so its realistic and funny. Yes, it did make me chuckle in a few places.

I rented it for the easy 1000 acheivement points. Got 1000 in about 3 hours without much effort at all. There are alot of collectables, but they are not in hard to find places. Just look around a bit as you explore and you'll find them all. Very easy 1000 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for Gamerscore

posted by HMIPookie (WEST HAZLETON, PA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game requires some critical thinking but I would say is good for all ages. I am a major gamerscore junkie as they call them and this game was a very easy 1000. I would recommend renting this game as it takes less than a few hours to complete.. and with gamefly's great service and fast shipping, this is definitely worth the rental... NOT A BUY! I would highly discourage keeping this game or straight up buying it.

myspace.c o m/hmigaming <=== I am the founder of this gaming community.

My gamertag is Pookie010906

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent it. Please, dear God, DON'T RENT IT.

posted by Belinrahs (NASHVILLE, MI) May 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game just sucked. Poor controls, really short... It only amused my 10 year old sister but she eventually got bored with it and gave up. :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

posted by elflord75 (CLERMONT, FL) May 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Hi
This game is a huge waste of a rental space and money if buying. First off the complaint list is the wanna be Ben Stiller. The character in no way looks like him, o.k. I take that back the characters' hair is the same as Bens kinda (dark brown). The graphics are superb, if they were for the Colecovision, other wise they a super subpar. The controls, Great if the game character had too only move straight. Now the jumping thats a totally different issue, that is too say athe can jump, kinda. Too make this an easy review AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No game shoud be made about a magical museum.

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) May 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

I give this a bad review on principal. Eat it Ben Stiller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The movie may be longer

posted by Travers36 (EAST PALESTINE, OH) May 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I went into this game not expecting much and got even less. There is really no reason to play this game aside from the easy 1000 points worth of gamerscore it nets you for the two to four hours you waste with it. The gameplay is quite repetitive and the "fun factor" wears off quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian

posted by littletick (PARAGOULD, AR) May 9, 2009

Member since May 2007

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

not good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not much to say

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

It is what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game based on the Movie

posted by hby206 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This is an easy game to beat. It follows the story of the film and even has Ben Stiller doing voice-over for his character. The game is simple and has a lot of collectibles to find. If you're going for achievements then this game is a quick 1000g. The only part that was a bit difficult was the last boss fight because the aiming with the flashlight is a bit off...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great game for any age!

posted by Fojonx (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game can be played by anyone if any age. It was a lot of fun for both the wife (30) and my daughter (10). It was an easy 1000G for me! It was just TOO short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Quick 1000 but very forgettable

posted by IAmPoon (HARRISBURG, PA) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Like many people, I rented this game strictly to boost my gamerscore. For that purpose, it worked quite nicely as all achievements were easily obtained in one playthrough. The objectives were primarily collecting, puzzles, and finishing levels, none of which required a great deal of effort or thought. In terms of game play, however, this game is pretty much a failure. While not complicated, the controls are far from precise, the camera angles are glitchy, and the game is very repetitive. The voice work is less than inspired and down right annoying, the graphics leave a great deal to be desired, and it can be completed in under 3 hours. If you are looking for a nice quick gamerscore boost, go for it, but don't plan on taking anything away besides your 1000 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

easy achievements not a good game

posted by m80MoNST3R (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

wow this game is a really good game if your looking to get more achievements. The game is real short but u dont have to look hard for the collectables. it took me an hour to get all the achievements. everything else wasnt that good of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but short

posted by nickie (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game was fun to play. some of the puzzles took time to figure out. game was to short, 3 days and i was done. out of that i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pull u're hair out

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

I don't know what's worse how short the game was or how frustrating the camera angles were. They expect you do jump like crazy but you cant judge the distance because the camera angles are so bad...this is on frustrating game for no payoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Night at Museum Game

posted by havoc310 (EGLIN AFB, FL) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

So much fun and sometimes challenging, but mainly easy achievements. Beat game in about 6 hours complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok game...easy achievements

posted by MikeBeams (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I'd have to say the game is OK at best, but 1K achievements only take 4-5 hrs. Would not play this again though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

Boring and terrible game. You just mainly watch scenes and if you have seen the movie it's the exact same junk. The voice acting is poor so it's very annoying. The play of the game blows. You just mainly run around. I couldn't rush this game back in the mail fast enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad for a movie game

posted by WTxxWizard (MIDLAND, TX) Dec 14, 2009

Member since May 2008

Great kids game, a little to easy for the hard core gamer unless you just want to increase your gamer score.. You actually had to think to get through the game. Lots of puzzles. Easy achievements all are obtainable just playing the game. Took me about 3 hours to finish. Would not recommend buying. Great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse