Rent Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian for Wii
view large frontback

Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Another movie game......another bad movie game

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Props to the game for getting Ben Stiller to do voice work (or an EXACT sound alike)-- but thats about all i can praise in this awkward wanderer of a game.

You sneak around museums collecting random stuff and evading random enemies. None of which is interesting and most of which is not even part of the story.

The story revolves around finding pieces of the magic tablet that brings the museum pieces to life. Most of the time, you are just trying to get the camera to point forward or attempting to maneuver your character with the terribly awkward controls. The jumping is very difficult to manage. Many of the actions you must perform in the heat of "battle" (you dont have any weapons and run away instead of fighting) are clumsy and some are down right frustrating.

In a moment when you are running from a dinosaur made of bones, its virtually impossible to get your character up and around and jumping and climbing without dying 10 times as you try to get your character to do what you want him to do.

Its a controller thrower if you arent blessed with the inner peace of a zen buddist.

I am not......so i sent it back within hours of putting it in my Wii.

The game is filled with busy work. Collecting items to unlock "bonus" material. Not interesting and not worth your time.

Be prepared for another movie game lemon if you get this one in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Museum not Quite Worth its Admission Price

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There have been some great movie-based games out there, but Night at the Museum 2 is a disappointment. Although the audio tour buttons are educational and it does have some interesting things in it, the majority of the game is boring. The missions are simple, and the fact that you visit many museums instead of just one makes the storyline more interesting. The controls are okay but do not use the Wii's motion-sensors. Overall, a couple of fun things for kids, but otherwise maybe a pass. Night at the Museum 2 isn't the worst game ever, but it absolutely could have been better. GRADE: C+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Museum not Worth the Price of Admission

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If there's going to be a trend of making games based on museums, then they will have to do a much better job than the two already out now. (This game and Escape the Museum.)
Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian is based on the movie of the same title. You play as the main character, Larry, the security guard.
In this game, you wander about a 3D platformer, taking on missions, gathering all sorts of things, piloting vehicles, making jumps, and dealing with bad guys.
But the most important thing you do is gather up several gold ingots (squares) that have been spread over a few musuems. Each ingot gives you a power you will need to use to solve puzzles.
The eight powers are mixed; I like the paintbursh power to bring paintings to life, but not the animal control one (a pain to use), or the gear and "fix it" powers (boring.)
Another problem I had was the button mapping. I would prefer to have the jump button mapped to the A button and the "use the ingot" button mapped to the B button. But the game makers don't do that; they have it reversed.
The game's not very long; it would probably take from four to five hours for most players to get through start to finish. You can try to get all the collectibles and awards, but I wasn't temped to try that.
It also contains many bits of information about historical men, women, and items. I would rather have the game makers stick with a game and not a trivial educational device.
Other features this game has that can go are the basic minigames. There's a game where you stack blocks in the right way, one where you move creepy crawlies to the right spots, and a multiple choice trivia game. They're completly forgettable.
Throughout the main game and mini games, you get points you can use to unlock bits of information or the concept art (another feature that didn't thrill me one bit).
Unless you are a big time fan of 3D platformers, you can skip Night at the Musuem: Battle of the Smithsonian.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Should Have Been Something I Liked...

posted by MrsDoherty (HURLEYVILLE, NY) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

No really, this should have been a game that I really enjoyed...history, museums, not overflowing with action yet challenging, but no. First of all, I understand that everything is taking place at night, but does it have to be so dark in the museums? I mean, really, even with that "super" flashlight I could not see a darn thing - especially in the Air & Space Museum. The controls were all over the place, I would have to stop and think about what button I had to push for the flashlight, the key chain, the map, changing the powers of the tablet, etc etc. I must have fallen off the playform in the A&S museum 30 times and finally gave up after having to hear Napolean's speech each time I fell! The historical information was very condensed and didn't really bring much to the game, and the blue circles that you came across wherever you were supposed to do something either made it too easy, or left you scratching your head. I really wished this was more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Night AT the Museum

posted by OldSkuleGamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game had better than expected graphix, but it was extremely easy to solve. My 12yr old daughter solved it in approx 10 hrs. Worth buying - NO, worth renting - SURE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

another movie game

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had just received this game and was pleasently surprised by how good this game is. The controls are very easy to use walk with nunchuck and perform actions with the A button. The replica of both the museum of natural history in nyc and the smithsonian in washington are like really being there. there are maps built into the game after you find them so you can not get stuck. this is one movie that translated well into a game. It is cool to have ben stiller as the voice of larry just like the movie. this is a definite buy if you enjoy the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Needs More Work

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

The graphics were nice, but they looked nothing like the characters in the movie. When did Kahmunrah start using eye-liner? Most movie games get the actual actors to do their own voices for the characters they played. These voice actors were awful and sounded nowhere near like Ben Stiller or Owen Wilson or the others. Trust me, stick with the movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not too happy :-(

posted by christina1 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

checked mail yesterday got the game. we tried to play it this evening and it was freezing up on us, we checked the game and it was scratched!! The kids got bummed they didn't get to play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame but Involved

posted by loukerri (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It is a little to involved in the controls and such for as lame as the quests are, and yet too lame to need to be as involved as it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Night of the Museum 2

posted by Lisa12 (GLENDALE, AZ) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

O.k this is from the second movie, where it takes off at. It will teach you as you go so don't worry about it if you can't get the hang of it.
Its good if you can remember from the teachings what to do though.
The graphics aren't that good but it still makes you feel as if you are there. Its a little different from the movie of course but its still alot of fun! I hope you have as much fun as I did playing it with my son.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Night at the museum

posted by brendamike (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game was a lot of fun. Would play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yuck!

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since May 2008

I played it for about an hour and hoped it would get better. It is a very planned game and very boring. All you do is go from one blue lit circle to another. What I would have loved is an exploration of the museum, scavenger hunt type of thing or try to create an exhibit or build the musuem's customer's base, but that wouldn't be a "Night at the Musuem" movie game, would it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but easy

posted by canislupis (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The controls at times can be annoying.
Ben just will occasionally move and fall off a cliff.
The camera angle make it harder to see and move.
They could have tightened up the characters some more.
I would have liked to be able to walk around the museum and collect anything I missed or just free play.
I would have like my saved game to say 100% after I won and not progress from saving at the last save.
I wish they would have let you but wax models with your tokens.
Easter eggs would have been nice.
I would say if you loved the movies then rent it otherwise pass.
If you watched the movies you will have no problems flowing through this game.
I beat the game in 3 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty easy game play

posted by Cangel76 (SOUTHINGTON, CT) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

My eight and a half year old son probably got throught he game in a total of six hours of game play, definately a better rental than buy. We just forgot we had it here for four weeks, opened it and finished it in six hours over the course of an hour or so a day for six days. Sending it back. It is a fun game for kids and family but don't expect long playing time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very disappointed

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) May 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Hello - maybe I went in with the wrong idea but I was hoping for a challenging (yet cute) adventure game like a Spyro or a Rayman sorta thing. Yet this game presents ZERO challenge - it's incredulous actually. Move on. My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »