Rent Nier for PS3
view large front

Nier

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.1

2234 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated

posted by Exus12 (POCATELLO, ID) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first considered purchasing Neir, I was skeptical. Frankly, I had not had a lot of good expierences with square enix in the past, and simply wasn't sure what the point would be. I had read only one good review, and it seemed to be written by many monkeys trapped in a room together with a type writer. Long story short, I traded it for another game, and have no regrets.
What caused me to pick up the game at all was one small statement on the single good review. "It's like zelda for adults!" That sold me, and I came to find out that this was very true! The plot was somewhat difficult to follow at first, but after an hour or two I realized this was intentional. The game leads you through the main characters life, the events unfolding before you like a novel. As you go along you travel through a post apocolyptic world full of creatures called shades that seem to be made up of code. You gain companions, weapons, and magic abilities as you go along, and your guide is a magic book (SO not as lame as it sounds) who is often floating around near your head. (Navi?)
The biggest complaint I read was in relation to the "go fetch" style side quests that are around every corner. so many people complained about how desperatly tedious these were. This is true, however, THEY ARE SIDE QUESTS! Most of them are not even a little bit essential to the story. They are an excess source of income, and nothing more. I did some, but didn't feel any trepedition about avoiding most of those needy weaklings.
Long story short, it is a zelda style hack and slash with some of the more incredible graphics I have yet seen, as well as great character dialogue. A warning though, not for the faint of heart. My girlfriend watched me play one mission and nearly cried. It's post apocolypse. It is very realistic. People die, children are orphaned, and sometimes, you are the cause (inderectly). It's very sad sometimes, but if you can handle a little reality than I would recomend it to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nier

posted by Blacksmith (PARADISE, CA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

F for Fantastic. Just like that analogy it may sound bad at first but ends off perfect. It started off with me hating the game thinking the fighting was bad and it was boring to do all the missions. but the more you play the more indepth the charactors get and storylines get. It also do an amazing job in story. one that if you play it again there is a HUGE TWIST. I never play games twice, expecially when they want me to by adding extra cut scenes or weapons but this one the whole story was effected. It was trully amazing and should be played if you like storylines. just get through the first play through then you'll be fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A different experience worth at least a try

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

"Nier", the newest RPG to hit consoles, is a bit hard to describe. Starting in 2049, we find the main character defending his daughter who is afflicted with a disease called the Black Sprawl. Like "Prototype" you start the game pretty bulked up- you have good combat skills and an arsenal of magical abilities at your disposal. After beating a small horde of enemies and two giant foes, the game sends us 1300 years into the future, where mankind appears to have gone 500 years into the past. Confused? Therein lies part of the problem with "Nier", as its storyline is somewhat convoluted. There are also some camera issues (enemies will blindside you from off camera), graphics are not up to the usual Square Enix standards (they're not horrible, but they're not "Final Fantasy" quality either), and going in and out of certain areas prompts long load times. While the voice acting is decent, it's not always present, as sometimes the text is spoken and other times you need to read it for yourself. Still, despite its flaws, this is an intriguing enough game to play. There's a lot to do- multiple quests for you fellow villagers, exploration, fighting off enemies called Shades, and you can even do a little fishing on the side. The game seems to veer away from the main story often, but does manage to hold your interest. Still the story is not as compelling as other RPGs, nor are the characters as well realized. I don't know if I could recommend this as a buy, though there is a hefty amount of gameplay. But if you're looking for a bit of a different RPG experience, this one is definitely worth a rent. Give it a try. It might be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by brandon071 (REDDING, CA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is good in its own way. You are a skilled swordsman who needs to save his daughter from a disease called the black scrawl. On your journey you meet a magical talking book called Grimwoire Weiss nicknamed Weiss which is your magical power throughout the game, he helps you find the cure for your daughter. The time during the game says it takes you about 2000 years before you find the cure but for some weird reason everyone is still alive. Its still very fun and exciting with some wild turns and changes throughout the game. Defineatly something you need to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

27 out of 38 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The Videos almost made me not rent it, but I was bored anyway. The game is very fun. Nier has very strong game elements of a RPG, but not annoying like Demon Soul. The game has a very strong anime appeal to it, as of like movies directed by Hayao Miyazaki director of Princess Mononoke and Howl's Moving Castle.
Neir plays a lot like Dante's Inferno and Darksiders, but more like a RPG.

Based in the future, over 1000 years from now. The world is dieing, and the remaining population seek any refuge they can.. You play as a villager, named Nier. As a hired hand, Nier would work for many people doing risky jobs or any job that would grant him income to take care of his ill daughter. Nier finds himself with apart of something greater as he finds a talking book.

Nier is a great game, Square Enix has done a excellent job. I think the game would had a proper setting if Criware gave the game's cell shading a matte finish, which would have made a more anime appearance.
Regardless, the game is great and well rounded. Good graphics, sound, music, story. Nier is very open ended: giving you the freedom of doing side quests off the main story.

Many neat RPG elements...
Nier has a many different types of weapons you can buy or sell.
You are able to hunt and do various other things to get gold for buying things.
You become stronger as you acquire XP.
As you level up Nier learns how to do different skills.
You are able to select how you communicate with some people.
You can even fish!

The game has a lot of great features. It starts off slow but becomes fun very quick afterwords. Once you played for about 10 mins, Nier becomes very hard to put down. Nier is a definite try!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Then Expected

posted by Mike18 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I originally rented Nier expecting a Demon Soul's knockoff. Luckily, I was way off. The story line is different yet not, kind of following the line of the Film Book of Eli. Pretty much the game takes place 1300 years in the future, when mankind has been desolated by plague, famine, war, and evil creatures know as shades.
The gameplay is much smoother then Demon Soul's, and nowhere near as aggravating. Your magic is cast from a floating book, which turned out adding an interesting feel to the game. After playing Darksiders and Dante's Inferno, it was nice to play a game of the like with some nice changes. Some other pieces of the game include the forging of weapons, cultivating plants in fields, fishing, and some intense boss battles. Gameplay is based on lots of blocking, evading, some sick magic abilities, and the obvious melee fighting.
That being said, the graphics are not up to par with the other ps3 games to date. I was very disappointed in that, and the fact that cut scenes are very lacking. There are a few spots I've come across in side quests where I literally had to sit through 5 text and reading. With all of the room on Blu-Ray, why in the world wouldn't they complete the experience with sick graphics and acceptable cut scenes.
Regardless of my complaints, Nier is the first game since Star Wars: Force Unleshed that I totally no-lifed, and plan to totally no-life it until I have children or die of old age. If your a fan of the genre, this is a must rent. Cheers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nierly Great

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say that thirty minutes into this game I really didnt like it at all. I decided to stick with it and see where it would take me. I was pleasently suprised when after only a hour or so I was hooked. The game play/control is a little blocky at times but I was able to forgive this pretty easily as the game itself was very fun. You can customize weapons and the game has TONS of mini quest to do as well. Also the maps are pretty big and you can free roam much of the game and complete quest or visit new areas. I didnt really use the weapon upgrade system to much but if you are going for platinum then it would be a good help in beating those bosses quickly. The story was enjoyable also and another perk is that after you beat the game you can play through for multiple endings and tons of alternative storyline. All in all a good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Neir is 'neir'er to the top than one might think..

posted by JediSpirit (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I read some reviews on this game and although they didn't talk incredibly favorable of it, I decided to give it a go anyway. Not a mistake. I really enjoy this game! It's got a little bit of everything in it. You get to fish, and not just toss a line and press a button, no. You get to chose your bait, cast your line (though a bit wimpy for such a hero), then fight the fish. took me a little to get used to how it works, but now it's a very fun, and profitable thing to do in the game. There are puzzles, quests, battles, and cut-scenes that will make you question everything. You control the action in battle, too. none of that tell it what to do and eventually it'll do it turn based stuff. Weapon selection is key. I played and played for a week, then checked my status...4% complete! I thought for sure I was at least 25%, if not even close to 50% complete, but 4%?! It goes on and on, but doesn't get boring. there is always a twist to liven things up and keep you guessing. I don't know why it got such lame reviews. My only flaws with it are the occasional camera angle glitches. The interesting cast of characters is good too. All in all it's a fun game and I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by magicklibr (KENNER, LA) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've played many games for PS3 and I am also a huge Tomb Raider fan. I was skeptical about Nier because I saw many negative reviews, but as soon as I turned the game on, I was sucked in. The story is great, the characters are addicting. There are four different endings, but I only beat the first one, because first of all the game was long enough as it is and the first ending was really the only important one. He did get his daughter back. The only bad things about this game is having to go back and beat the second half of the game to see the other characters' endings and I didn't want to do the same thing over again. Also, I thought it would have been better if there weren't so much talking in the Forest of Myth and more action. If I could've seen the sequences acted out, it would have been better. Also, when you finally do beat the game, it would have been better to just be able to finish all the side quests at the end instead of repeating the game just to see someone elses ending. All in all, good game, you really only need to beat it once!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nier? Go Fetch!

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 7 The cutscenes are pretty PS2, as are the graphics during gameplay, but when you have 50+ little yellow guys shooting red magic at you, there is something to be said for the continuity of gameplay. The game barely hiccups with all that chaos happening at the same time.

Sound / Music: 8 The soundtrack to this game gets in your head like the old Final Fantasy theme did back in the day. You notice it while playing, yet humming it without realizing, you can appreciate the thought that went into the music.

Gameplay: 7 The fighting is real-time, and not turn based, allowing for a fast-paced, exciting set of battles that really allow you to explore the many options for magic. Which, by the way, are very cool. Without giving away too much, you can customize the magic to your play style. The weapons, while plentiful, break down to three variations: one handed, which are fast, yet kinda weak. Two handed: which are very strong, but slow; and Spears: which are super effective in a straight line, but not when something is to the side or behind you. The leveling system is very FF, kill stuff, get XP, level up.
Unlike some other RPGs you can pause, and change weapons and magic if the situation calls for something other than what you currently have equipped. Very cool. There are words that you can find which can be added to weapons, magic, and "martial arts", which add cool abilities like drain HP, poison, and the usual gamut of spells.
Core gameplay is relatively straightforward, with very little time spent wondering what to do next. HOWEVER...the game's "quests" involve running (literally) from one end of the world to another in some "find item A, to assemble B to give B to C but only after you get the 10 randomly generated X's that you need for D" This is the most annoying series of fetch quests. Fishing in the game, is pretty cool once you figure out how to do it. Farming, is still lame. With 4 endings, this game is definitely worth renting. Replay is very low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by Mrnarrrm (BILLINGS, MT) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I really tried to stick with this waiting for it to get better but it just didnt, after about 20 hours I gave up. The style and graphics are "interesting" but never really work, most of the time coming off as crude and ugly instead of artistic. I did (mostly) like the controls and some of the boss fights bordered on fun but it all feels stiff and I guess just cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THIS GAME JUST TRIED TO BORE ME TO DEATH

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love rpg games because i love the ability to make a character unique in its own way and replay value for rpg is usually there because you can replay the game and make your character different
i played the game 2 days about 4 to 5 hours each day 1 day i played for 7 just trying to figure out how to freaking fish.
There were things i liked about the game but were quite few in all.

1st thing do i would love for someone to explain what an rpg is because i see people talk about this is a great rpg or this is a rpg for rpgers. This game has very little rpg quality you play a set character with no input on what he looks like you cant upgrade any stats when he levels and you can barely upgrade your weapons other than giving them words to give them certain little stats of no consequence.
BTW i bought one sword for 1600 coins and got 2 mob dropped and 1 quest drop sword and the one i bought was still better in stats and speed WTFack is wrong with that picture and you cant sell useless weapons that your never gonna use.

I played the game for some time and tried to like it and did for a bit but every time you turn the corner in the game your faced with a wall of dissapointment that just takes the life right out of you and makes you wonder why am i wasting my time with this subpar game when theres tons of games out there that are worth investing the time in.

All in all this game is a rental for sure and you may like it or be able to withstand the lack of quality it has to offer or youll just feel pretty much the same interested at first then the love is gone with the lame side quest fishing and main story all toghether.

all in all this game gets a 3 for effort but a pretty big miss.
Not the worst game i have ever played terminator salvation and the latest fight night get those lowest scores of 1 but this game is a close second or third.
Just my 2 pennies.

Good luck gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth it

posted by Hero_Toxiko (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was terrible, im no rpg noob but i seem to have a real harf time playing square enix games without quitting for boredom.
i rented it and spent 5 hours talking to uninteresting npcs trying to figure out how the story made sense and killing sheep/bandits.
the only fun i had was rolling around stalking animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

why did i put this in my Q...?

posted by logan1789 (DEKALB, IL) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So i thought the game was going to be as good as the graphics from the trailer and cut scenes, but it wasnt. it starts out with yelling and then pops u in a messed up library with a guy talking to himself with a long lead pipe. he then begins to yell at a book on the ground that he probably brought himself and then u end up talking to ur daughter. she has some dark energy coming from her which the game doesnt explain either. then cut scene to you fighting these leafs wind tunnel guys. you then use the book u hated and kill about 10 of them. after that 50 more pop up here and there and you kill them then 50 more and everytime you kill about 3 of them you level up. after killing about 200 your level 30 some freaking how and fight a "boss" then it cuts to you and ur daughter in a house. you walk slow as heck inside, it takes for ever to grab an item, and the convos take forever to get thru. once outside you can run (finally) but it doesnt tell you where to go. once you find the door you have to go to after talking to some female pope you have to kill sheep and cut them up. then the shadow guys show up and you fight them to only find out YOU LOST ALL 30 LEVELS AND THE BOOK!! you start form 1 again, but this time you have a sword (ooooo). like where did the levels go? then it tells you to save you have to open a mail box.... a mailbox? really? oh ya and theres people and animals around but you cant kill them or even harm them. theyre invincible. oh ya and apparently you can roll off a ledge or jump but if theres a small bush in the way you cant jump over it or thru it you have to go around.... ummm what!?? the game doesnt display the quests for you to see them you have to go hunting thru all the buttons to find them and your inventory. and in the end the graphics arent even that great they like died after 10 min. overall not that great of a game dont get it unless youve played everything else already and are bored. in that case go outside lol. the controls suck too! done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh! Really?

posted by JTWK004 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm just disappointed I actually spent the few hours I did trying to get into this game... Only to "go fishing" and finally accept just how terrible the development of this game was....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NEIR SHADOW OF DEATH

posted by o2dye4jag (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GREAT CONCEPT ON FRIENDSHIP LOYALTY AND TRUST IN SITUATIONS THAT ARE VERY INTENSE. AT TIMES I CRIED IN THIS GAME IT WAS SAD BUT HAPPY TOO THEY BLENDED EMOTIONS IN THIS GAME THE SAVES WERE FEW AND FAR BETWEEN WHICH MADE IT DIFFICULT AND U HAD TO START ALL OVER BUT OVERALL NOT A BAD GAME. I WOULD HAVE LIKED MORE ACTION LESS EXPLORING PUZZLES WERE GOOD IN THIS GAME AND IT TOOK SOME THINKING. I GATHER THERE WILL BE A PART 2 SO WE'LL SEE IF THEY COULD IMPROVE IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good action RPG

posted by Bigfroth (PORT HURON, MI) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like this game its fun and a little strange. combat is fun you can kill all the sheep you want. There are your normal RPG elements present here.If you want a good Japanese action RPG then give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Story by Square Enix

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game from beginning to end and found out the story is very much epic and has a real meaning to it. Sure, the graphics look dated and the side-quests are lame but overall it felt like an anime. I also loved the mixture of shooting,puzzle-solving and hack'n'slash with the RPG elements added to the side.

Cons lllll Pros
-----------------l-----------------
PS2 graphics llll Uber story
lame side-Q's llll great gameplay blend
minor camra llll EPIC music (as always)
problems llll good RPG elements (not tacked on)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can't believe their still making games like this

posted by Only1me (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 40 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First of all I didn't spend all the money I spent on a ps3 and an HD tv to play a game that looks like a ps2 game. The graphics were so bad and the gameplay was so whack I didn't even want to play it but I gave it a chance and played on, it got no better. Why why why do they still release games like this on the ps3. This game is so far behind it's insane. Bottom line is don't waste your time and for goodness sakes don't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rent ONLY

posted by extatic (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I am thankful that I have Gamefly so I don't get stuck with a so-so/lousy game. I have to say that the game has its moments but it felt like a Final Fantasy knock-off. Then there were times that the graphics seemed like they were a decade behind, I felt that I was playing Parasite Eve (which I liked by the way...but on the PS2).
Overall I say that its a rent only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT GREAT

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jun 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Maybe its me but I just couldn't get into it. The beginning seemed like an endless hack and slash which went nowhere. I got bored and returned the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

game feels like it was rushed

posted by bonedizzle (ARGENTA, IL) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Nier is ok, it just gets real repetitive. you always seem to be going back and forth from one town to another, the same stuff over and over. also the graphics seem like it was rushed (more like a ps2 game) i usually finish a game when i start playing it but i just couldn't get my self to do it with this one. i recommend on passing this one up, not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More than I expected

posted by kjones555 (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) May 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After reading the pretty brutal review on IGN and Gamestop, I wasn't sure if I was going to give this game a chance since it had already came in the mail. I was wondering if I should just go ahead and send it right back, but one line made me pop the game open and give it a try: the infamous mature rated like you hear the female character yell before the game even starts! But after actually playing the game, I've come to somewhat enjoy Nier as a game. Being a dad myself, the story hit home for me; the main character trying to do anything and everything to cure his daughter and later fighting off hordes of enemies to save his daughter. This made the main character memorable for me even though other game reviews found him very forgettable. And the rest of the cast in his party are equally as memorable in my book. The combat isn't the greatest though. It could be a little smoother and less clunky. The motion animations are a little rough to look at sometimes and the graphics in general are kind of bland. The game really picks up near the end of the title and if you like, you can play through the game several more times for different endings and get more insight on the characters that you couldn't get through the first playthrough. The musical score in the game is amazing to listen to. All in all, I liked Nier. Not enough to warrant another playthrough for me, but the time that I spent playing the game kept me wanting more, wanting to know what would happen next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

needs more action and less talking.

posted by Mathazar (WASHINGTON, NC) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If your gonna load a game full of dialog at least make the story interesting... The action was blah as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but...........

posted by rebornsprl (ASHLAND, MS) May 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

good concept and nice change of pace graphics but i didnt like quest deciding and um im not sure but should a goat be able to kick a level 10 character 50 feet? its worth renting not buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse