Rent NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams for Wii
view large frontback

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

2126 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not what I was hoping for.

posted by ObsidianJ (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I need to start out by saying I am a huge fan of the original Nights. I've been looking forward to this game for years, but I must sadly say it does not live up to my expectations.

The game isn't bad, but it is definitely not an improvement over its predecessor. The only thing that's better are the graphics. I even went back and played to original. The level design, speed, control, music, everything was just smoother and more polished.

The graphics and music are serviceable, but after Nintendo's big three of Mario, Metroid, and Zelda, there is no excuse. Last gen technology or no, the Wii can do better.

The biggest complaint is the gameplay. The original had a fast arcadey feel that encouraged replaying to perfect your lines. This one has a slow tedious mission based structure designed to glean extra playing time out of a game that should take no more than an hour to complete. I know that a short playtime is poison in today's industry, but that's what made the original so good; everything was distilled to its simplest most fun form.

I know the designers wanted to do something different, so they wouldn't be giving us the same game from ten years ago, but they took two steps backwards and none forward.

Control-wise, don't even try to use the wiimote controls. Either go with Nunchuck controls, or just use the Classic or Gamecube controller if you have one.

The game isn't broken despite my negativity. It works. There are no glitches and there is enjoyment to be had. Fans of the original, however, prepare to be disappointed. New gamers, knock yourselves out, but this is not what us old hats have been screaming about for the past ten years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Night-related pun from me.

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was excellent. It really had the feel of being in a dream world. It looked excellent, the controls were great, and the music was awesome. The only thing that keeps this game from being a perfect ten is the voice-acting. NiGHTS, Owl, and Reala's voices are excellent, Wizeman and Will's voices are O.K., but Helens voice is the worst. Helen was unbearable too listen too, and she was one of the main characters. If she was a minor character, it would be a perfect ten. But she has her own scenario. But, other than her, this game is amazing. I would actually say buy it, not rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kid Stuff

posted by AnimeGamer (EUGENE, OR) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What is all the fuss about? Okay I havent played the heralded original but this game disappointed me, with a story straight out of a primetime children`s TV show and characters to match. A sub 3D playscape and repetitive gemeplay. The first 2 boss fights are creative in a cirque de soleil sort of way, but arent enough to hold a mature gamer`s interest long enough. After an hour and a half of Harry Potter rejects I had no intention to play as a British rich boy anymore. Baby stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Difficult to control character

posted by cdmedici (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It would be a lot more fun if the remote would move the character. As it is now you move a flashing cursor and the character follows it. I completely lose control of the game and get frustrated because my guy is all over the place. I gave up trying and sent it back. Normally if I like the game a pay to keep it but not this time. It looked like it would be fun but it isn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

....snore....

posted by ldesus (WORCESTER, MA) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Short and sweet of it....Looks great, sounds great...game play is boring. Could only play for about an hour before ejecting, realizing It wasn't going to become fun. Honestly, the game does give the option of using the classic controller rather than the wand but we didn't bother. Would be a ok game for children, great game for an adult into psychedelics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dont waste your time

posted by redeem34 (MAULDIN, SC) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this isnt like the 1st one the start of game make me sick and i feel like so much is more could of got from it within the 1st 3 mission i was bored and send it back just dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wanted to like it

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of those games I really wanted to enjoy. Sadly this game comes up short in about every way.

First off there are alot of cut scenes in this game. Usually I am not one to complain about cut scenes but they are really just too much in this game. Also there are times you want to change into Nights in the starting area to look for secrets. Every single time you go to do this you are forced to go through the tutorial again.

Now I will talk about the Gameplay. Each stage has 5 missions that you have to do. The 1st mission is alot like the gameplay we loved from the 1st game. However the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th mission is pretty much mini-games that are forced on you. These games range from anything and everything. This is where I start to lose faith in the game. I did not buy this game so I could push bubbles around or run through a really annoying maze, etc etc. These mini-games would have been fine as side missions but being required ruins the game IMO. The 5th mission is to fight the boss again only this fight is more difficult then the first. The boss fights are pretty interesting and offer a good amount of challenge. But basically in my opinion the 1st and 5th missions are really the only "FUN" missions. The rest is just annoying time sinks to fill voids in the game.

Graphics wise there isn't much to talk about. Like many Wii games this title looks like it could have just about been on the PS2. The character animations look like they was poorly done and you can even see jagged edges around them.

Story wise it is pretty lame. It almost feels like they made the game and at the last minute put together a story to fill in between the stages. Also the voice overs probably could have just been left out. Nights sounds like a British women but is often referred to as a he.

All in all this game is a huge let down. IF you didn't play the first game don't even waste your time on this game. If you enjoyed the first one you might try this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Poor Score Undeserved, AGAIN!

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Something has got to give. Once again, a game falls to the absolute extremes of unbalanced ratings here at Gamefly. I see all too often here, good games that get bad ratings, and I have the perfect example. NIGHTS: Journey of Dreams is a good game, the best? No. But far from the current 5.1 rating users here seem to think it.

I have noticed a trend here at Gamefly. Two games can be so much alike, yet if one has a popular character, the ratings are better. Case in point. NIGHTS and SUPER MARIO GALAXY. Go on look for yourself. Both games generally have the same gameplay & controls. Pretty much the same objectives. Graphics do not standout on either title. Yet one is called "the first must buy game of the Wii." And the other is called "clumbsy and the difficulty of the missions are unbalanced".

There are 2 differences between these games. TWO. SMG is generally a free roaming game (Which means, outside of flying, you can go anywhere you want within the boundary of the game). NIGHTS has a set course by which you can freely roam (Which means your free to fly about the screen in any direction, but you can't deviate from a set path around the world).

The other is obvious. As a character, Mario is SO much more popular than NIGHTS. That is undisputable.

Yet if both games generally play the same way. Why is NIGHTS sitting at a current 5.1 and Mario at a current 8.8?

It's a popular vote...nothing more.

I picked each game up, and played through them. I could immediately see how to use the controls, as well as, whatever resemblance of a rehashed story each has. It's not rocket science.

They both have their flaws, and both have their strengths. NIGHTS is undeserving of the low rating. It's not a 10, yet neither is SMG. You start to wonder if these people who are giving these low ratings actually play the games through. How can you trust a review based on 5 minutes or a day of gameplay? Trust a reviewer who PLAYS through a game. NIGHTS is not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting Fantasy Worth the Journey

posted by Morwii (HOWELL, MI) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I've never played the original NiGHTS; but this game had some creative and fun moments that made NiGHTS worth while.

Some of the levels are a little cheesy, but the overall game play is an imaginative and fun land that sucks you in and keeps you there for hours.

The controls were also a little difficult to learn, instead of going forward when you tilt the controller up as NiGHTS, it takes you soaring upward into the sky. This made for a difficult learning curve, but once I used the yellow rings and surrounding creatures as a guide, the game became infectious and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If only it were a dream...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams is Sega's way of showing Wii gamers how little they'll put into the console. The follow-up to a Sega Saturn game, NiGHTS would have likely gone into the annals of gaming history 10 years ago, but the company resurrected it.
Graphics come off quite well, with nicely rendered textures and character models. I wasn't thrilled with the voice work or the music, which sounds like trance music done with a Casio keyboard. Story... is also there.
The real problem with this game is the gameplay. You start levels as a couple of kids, who can run around and collect stuff for awhile. Then you jump into NiGHTS, the colorful jester whose soul powers are flying and making stardust circles around everything. Controls for this pseudo-2D side-scrolling flight action are too frustrating and sensitive. Just flying through a ring takes some getting used to.
Eventually, you'll face off against a boss, who can be beaten if you have a clue how to do that. Likely, you'll just try a bunch of stuff to no avail and time will run out. This kicks you back to the beginning of the level, not the boss battle. So, get prepared to recollect and refly the whole thing again... and again.
This game makes no sense, has no purpose and doesn't work properly. It's a frustrating, confusing mess that most gamers will easily forget inside a day. Why even bother?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst Wii games so far

posted by Aureus (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First, let me start by saying that I could play this game for at most 30 seconds. The graphics were bad, think like somewhere inbetween late N64 and early GC bad. The control scheme is where this game truly hits the bottom of the barrel, however.

To say that the bad controls made the game unplayable would be a massive understatement. Trying to play with the wiimote as a pointer was entirely pointless. The cursor moved so badly that it made Red Steel seem like a well designed game. I had to put it down after about 5 seconds to laugh at how poorly the control scheme was executed.

Don't buy this game. Don't even rent this game. Pretend it never existed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Overdue sequel

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

32 out of 48 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well I am one of the few that still has his saturn and has the original game... Playing this game lets me realize how much time Sega took on the original. The Saturn was known for being too difficult to make games... The Wii version, graphic wise (for a next gen system) is not great... But I like to judge a game based on the Fun factor not on the graphics... I am still playing the game but so far it is almost like playing the original... and I mean that in a good sense... but the main characters don't have that anime look that the originals had... I do like the fact that most of the characters have an english accent... even Nights. With the exception of the frame rate... this game has probably 4 times the game play that the original had... most of which is based on speed, where the original was based on a high score... aka the most links... Am I pleased... yes... another good point is the CGI... almost a new style... at first I thought it was 2D but it is just that sharp... looks like something from PIXAR. I am a huge SEGA... I have all the systems from the Master System to the Dreamcast... and this is why I chose the Wii... Can't wait for the possible Burning Rangers release... another original title from the Saturn looking to have new life on the Wii... the thing that would have been nice is to have a hidden game of the Original Nights into Dreams in the new release. For the reinvention of the game and the fun factor... I do give it a 10... Highly recommend it for the fans and the curious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a decent game, but it won't win new fans

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

NiGHTS is a game that originally released on the Sega Saturn, and one that I never played more than a couple minutes. So, given the near 10-year hiatus, somebody thought it was time for a revamp.

The gameplay (from what I recall) is pretty much exactly the same as it was in the past. One nice thing, though, is that rather than try to make controlling the flight full 3D, they stuck with the prior formula of having NiGHTS zoom around the course on a 2D plane that wraps around the environment. At times this can be somewhat confusing, especially since it runs into the same problem as oldschool sonic games (moving faster than what you can see). However, the levels are surprisingly varied and when the game moves along it's pretty fun.

That's not to say it's perfect, it suffers greatly from the Wii's controls (of all things). Directing NiGHTS' flight with the Wii-mote pointing feels awkward at best (especially since it's on a 2D plane). And the Nunchuck controller doesn't really work that well given those irritating corners built into the hardware (try making a smooth circle with the Wii-chuck and you'll see what I mean with those hard edges).

The big problem in this game, however, is the story. They tried to make the world of dreams have the feel of dreams (where things are the way they are without question, though that's bound to change). They botch this up, however, by explaining things logically in long drawn out talking cutscenes. Unfortunately the cut scenes have barely standard voice acting which kills the joy. The fact that they're unskippable ensures that they'll suck the fun out of the faster paced gameplay.

So yeah, if you're nostalgic about the old game, you'll probably enjoy this game. If not I have a hard time seeing you loving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The controls made me want to throw something.

posted by ciara978 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Never, EVER have I stopped playing a game before even making it past the tutorial...until this game. I got so frustrated with the controls and the way you couldn't actually get to where you wanted to go without flying past it 27 times that I ejected the game before I got past the tutorial level.

I love video games and I've played some on every system, and I've never had this reaction to a game until now.

Definitely skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not thegame of my dreams.

posted by rulitawyn (Murfreesboro, TN) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While the graphics are beautiful and the story and art direction is engrossing this games controls and gameplay leave much to be desired I found controlling nights to be clumbsy and the difficulty of the missions to be unbalanced it seems to me that if one was to go to all after the trouble to make a beautiful 3d game like nights then it should focus on playing in all 3 diminsions this game is primarily a 2d sidescroller with 3d graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating

posted by codekitten (SHORELINE, WA) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So I generally will give a game 1-2 hours. If by then it has made me want to throw the controller into the TV for any reason, I'm done. Yeah, that was this game.

Storyline: The story here is certainly geared towards kids. It'd be fine, though a bit excessively cutesy and overdone, if I had done anything but watch cut scenes and walk 10 steps for the first 20 minutes of game play. You can't press A through the cut scenes either, even though they are subtitled and the characters read slowly.

Gameplay: I will admit I only made it through the first mission. Generally it seems that the only thing to do is fly around, chase things, and collect stuff. What drove me over the edge with the game was the fact that I got to the boss fight of the first mission, failed, and it took me ALL the way back to the beginning. The save is automatic too, so there is no getting around this as far as I can tell, even though there are 4 distinct pieces of this first mission.

Controls: Generally, the controls on this game were pretty good. I used the nunchuck and it was overall pretty receptive. The gameplay is simple, but the controls work very well for it and aren't confusing at all.

Overall, I would have stuck with this game for awhile longer if the save was more frequent. Without that, it feels like a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sega falls short on this anticipated sequel

posted by Aychbe (HOMESTEAD, PA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The original NiGHTS for the Sega Saturn was one of the standout titles for that system, giving it an instant cult following amongst Sega’s loyal fans. Although NiGHTS was groundbreaking for its time, its sequel: NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams falls very short of my expectations. The original game gave you the feeling of free flight, despite the fact it was a rail based game. In an era where most titles are capable of free roam, NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams restricts the majority of gameplay to a rail based system.

The story is solid and the FMV’s are rendered beautiful but the in game graphics are a bit dull and lacking of texture and dynamic lighting. Nintendo offers a variety of control schemes and does provide online multiplayer as well as interaction with the Wii’s Forecast Channel but overall the game does not live up to its potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Impressed

posted by ardenvi (WARREN, PA) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i would have to say this is 1 of the worst games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another bust...

posted by Mthree5150 (BELLEVUE, NE) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Some of the controls may be familiar to people that played this game on Sega Saturn, but for the most part this game is a horrible rehash of that one. As for multiplayer, dont even attempt to try it. The worst multiplayer you will ever find.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected.

posted by Wraythe (GLENSHAW, PA) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After an intense and graphically invigorating opening cinematic, I expected a wonderfully fun and adventurous game. Once I got to the Dreamworld... and flew in circles around a set course for a half hour chasing baddies, I had to turn it off. What a let down.

I admit, I didn't even come close to finishing this game and I'm not upset about it. I've never played the original and won't play any future versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CHILDS PLAY

posted by XDboy101 (RUSTBURG, VA) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never played the first NIGHTS but I hered a lot of good things about it. I also know that people have been waiting for this forever. but this is thye BEST SEGA/SOINC TEAM GAME EVER!!!! The sound is gerat and the story may be a little childish but the game play makes up for it. the flying contrls can be a little comfusing at first but you get the hang of it. I GIVE THIS GAME A..... 9 OUT OF 10. sorry. but the story is just for two year-olds. that is the only con here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Enjoyable Racing Game

posted by Retrovecto (RAMSEUR, NC) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I find it fun for it's racing quality. Have to fly through the rings as fast as you can, as well as accumulate points in the process. You can go back and keep replaying places where your score wasn't as great to get an A. (I don't know if A's do anything at this point). 2 player is lacking, You can either have a very short 2 lap race. Or pound on each other with large balloon's that you can shoot back if you boost into them. My 8 year old enjoys that. Next is the little pets, you have to take the time out of a race to suck these little guys up with a paraloop and feed them little blue balls when you go to their domain. I like to see the way it changes when you accomplish things from the Guys and the Girls side. It's a tad short, the bosses tend to be a bit hard and need better explaining. But it has replay value and you should get better each time you retry.

Largest downfall of the game is it's near impossible to use with just the Wiimote. I enjoy the graphics because NiGHTS is supposed to be a dream so it's cartoony, some people may not like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game of the century!

posted by magic2464 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the the best wii games yet! It has awesome features and totally rad graphics!And amazing abilities and fantastic worlds i would reccomend this game to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of Time

posted by GamerGrl29 (WILMINGTON, DE) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What a disappointment this game turned out to be! As many reviewers have said the controls are just awful...I feel they have ruined the whole game. After 2 hours of trying to get the hang of this game I ejected it from my wii and put it right back in it's return envelope. Don't waste a spot in your Q for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game, amazing remake

posted by EvT1991 (PLAINS, MT) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when i first got the game for the Sega Saturn, i thought it was one of the coolest games ever! so when i found NiGHTS Journey of Dreams, i just had to rent it.

Although the game seems easier now, i still have the feeling i got from the first one: i HAVE to get a better score. most people hate the track system, where its a 3d map with a 2d movement, but i think it helps make the game challenging, cause you HAVE to go through all these different obstacles instead of flying around them, and also, it makes it to where you cant just finish the level in 30 seconds.

the controls do take a lot of getting used to, but its worth it when you finally master them. (personally, i feel that the Wii-mote controls really suck, but thats why i use the nun-chuck. it gives me the feeling that i had with my over sized Saturn controller with the analog stick... just alot smaller. also what threw me off though, is that the in game graphics remind me of the original's graphics 90% of the time. which isn't necessarily a bad thing. it adds to the nostalgia.

The voice overs are great! sonic team really took their time finding voice actors. also, i think the music is still well placed as well.

Story: this was a great addition, as the original versions story consisted of an opening and ending video. now it actually explains stuff that you wondered about. like why your timed, why you turn human when the time ends, etc.

all in all, i give this game a 9.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse