Rent Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch for PS3
view large frontback

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
8.5

1938 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ni No Excuse. PLAY THIS.

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jan 27, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

32 out of 41 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

There simply isn't enough games like this around. Eternal Sonata was great, but not very well known, kinda cheesey and fairly early in this generations life cycle. Then came along Tales of Graces which was a great, legit RPG, but too anime-y and didn't quite give that 'next gen' feel, but still, a solid JRPG experience. Valkyria Chronicles was another great RPG, but a very unique and different experience, not at all like these games.

This however... this is it. This IS the experience we've all been waiting for since DragonQuest VIII, since Rogue Galaxy, since FFX and FFXII. This is the JRPG that we've been waiting to experience on a PS3. Not White Knight, not FFXIII. THIS.

You need to play this. The story is great, and has a lot of deep layers. The characters are good. It's rare to be playing as a kid and not having being a blubbering, childish whiney moron and instead, get a smart, brave, motivated kid who fulfills all the requirements of a young hero.

Gameplay/combat is all cool too but I especially love all the small side quests, caring for my Familiars and a lot of the little things that make up the whole of them game. The graphics are of course, very pretty.

My only gripe is the game can't seem to make up it's mind when it wants to do voice overs. There's animated cinema scenes (which are choppy, Japanese people animated, ha!) there's cut scenes, and there's OTHER cut scenes with NO dialogue, and then there's just in game conversations, which of course don't have dialogue. It's just a little inconsistent. But when there are voices, they're great.

This is a great experience and you owe it to yourself to play it.

So do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Meets up to the hype!

posted by kungfu (GUYMON, OK) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This by far is one of the best looking games I have seen, I must say at first I wasn't sure if I should get this but due to the all around good ratings for this game, I decided to pick it up and I must say It is a splendid game well worth the time and every penny.

Ni no kuni is a game that draws you into a fantasy world and definatily makes a believer out of you. This will surely go down as one of the best games of this generation.

Please for the love of God get this game, this is a game that defines class in its own genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely Deep

posted by SDHockeyFan (MARION, SD) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sadly RPG's almost feel like a dead genre today, so it's nice to see a title like this come out for the PS3. I waited a week after this came out to see if it was truely the kinda of RPG that I wanted to play and now after buying it, I am not disappointed.

I won't bother talking about the story in the game (there are plenty other reviews here that can fill you in on that).

Gameplay is fairly straight forward. Like any RPG, you move from place to place as the story line develops. Each city you visit has side quests that you can choose to do and bounty hunts for you to hunt creatures on.

In battles you control a familiar that you can give orders to. Some familiars are good at physical attacks, others are good at magic, and others are good at dodging attacks. You only use one familiar at a time and each have a limited time you can use them before needing to switch out to rest up.

What makes this game so deep is that they slowly reveal more things you can do with your familiars. You first start the game with just you and your familiar. Eventually you gain another member to join your party with her familiar. Shortly after that, you learn about morphing your familiars into stronger and better familiars and how to charm new familiars into joining your party. It was approximately 6-7 hours before I had the second character join my party and 8 hours before I learned about morphing and charming.

The one drawback I've had with the game is some of the dialogue goes on much longer than I would prefer. At times it feels like you are told over and over to do the obvious thing.

Overall, this is a great game. I wish there were more classic style RPG's available for the PS3 but this one helps fill that void.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Might be one of the best RPGs of all time

posted by ghost821 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ni No Kuni is a nostalgic experience that brings you back to the days when you were a kid, sitting in front of your first console, playing your first RPG for hours on end trying to explore every nook and cranny and acquire everything. Back to the good days where Squaresoft was capable of telling a true tale of adventure and creating likeable characters that didn't mope about being a wuss every 5 minutes.
I just beat the game, and to me, it is very similar to Tales of Destiny, Xenogears, Chronocross, and FF8 (some might say FF7 too). It is everything that RPGs these days are not anymore, with a strong focus on story telling, character development, and progression. It balances cutesy and mature elements well, and delivers well paces story telling. Everything seems rather simple, but engaging at the same time.
It is a nice refreshing breath from current RPGs that focus on coolness, fighting action, excessive unnecessary melodrama.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by LrDUltimte (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I love RPGs... I love anime... so this should have been a slam dunk for me.

Ni No Kuni is a beautiful game, the visuals and the audio are spectacular. The story seems interesting too. So why do i feel disappointed?

Its the terrible gameplay. It's also the terrible characters (except the Lord High Lord of the fairies...) Oliver is one of the most dull characters i have ever seen! The story drags on way too long to get interested in... Kinda like FFXIII

The combat is a juggling act of flipping through commands while watching your familiar's stamina meter while avoiding getting clobbered by cute but horrifyingly tough monsters while trying to catch one of the said monsters while trying to revive your imbecile team mates while hoping that Flippy would drop some glims already!!!

Its frustrating, boring and disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Delightful story!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 26, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Very E rated this game is... But fun for anyone -- If you enjoy stories as this. The game reminded me of the movie "Spirited Away" . I'm not sure if it was written by the same author, but it still had much resemblance of that show.
The game interface will remind you of Final Fantasy. The simplistic nature of controls fits well for the title, but I still would have preferred a "Zelda-like" interface that could have you switching characters out.

The story is a very rich debt and enlightening tale.

In a world parallel to ours--where magic is still alive--a great darkness has stricken the soul of everyone. Stealing fragments of people's life force and killing anyone who opposes him, this inflicted evil is cast by one who is called Shadar .
There is one who can end the reign of that evil... Known as "the pure-hearted one", Oliver.

This game has one very long tutorial, but you wont notice that the first hour of the game is the tutorial. Until you have unlocked all of the menu items in the game... You have not seen what the game or story has to offer.

I'm not a big role-scenario type gamer that likes to sit and press a button and let the game fight itself. But I like these type of stories and its a good break from the western gaming & story routine. Eastern cultures still bring delightful folklore to the table so often and its a very rare thing to see new folklore.

Its a great time killer and fun story. Playing on Normal difficulty is pretty useless. Level5 placed a lot of work in all the game elements and it fits well in all instances.
If you like a very clever story or folklore... If you liked Final Fantasy... You would definitely find this game amusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for adults

posted by Karlax (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 23 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Despite what you'll hear from the thousands of screeching fanboys out there, to any other adult gamers out there (I'm 31), this game is frustratingly childish, to such a degree that I had to give it up about 10 hours into it, something I almost NEVER do.

I'm a big fan of RPGs, even JRPGs, but this game makes it impossible for an adult to take seriously. There is fantastic visuals and animation, to be sure; the cut scenes are essentially Miyazaki movies, and the graphics are first rate. The world is large and diverse, and extremely detailed, with a lot of nice little touches.

But you can only play a game so long that actually where your main character actually says things like "Gee Wilickers, Mr. Drippy!" non-ironically. Every character is so cutesy and cornball as to defy belief; every character hits you with a "friendship makes anything possible" and "you can do it if you try your best!" 20 times a conversation. Every monster, too, is basically either a Kirby-like marshmallow or looks like steamboat willie.

I was a huge fan of Dragonquest VII, which while having a "childlike" art style, still had some mature themes. Not so here. A real shame, I really wanted to like it. Maybe it gets fantastic at hour 11 and I'm missing out, but I doubt it. Every real critic's review mentions that the plot is basically garbage, and that definitely seems the case to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NI NO BE AWAKE

posted by mistawolf (LAWRENCE, KS) Jul 30, 2013

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Iv fallen asleep multiple times playing this game, its just utterly BORING! I think i'v warn off the X button's X due to all the worthless information and boring childish dialog. The spelling errors are tolerable but the lack of fun isn't!

-Battle system (if you can ever get to it) Is so stupid! making it Real Time was a bad idea it should of been turn based so that you could actually make it fun! oh and here's a tip - the only time you block is on boss fights if you waste your time blocking on trash mobs your an idiot.

-Trash mob's spawn rates are way to high, you cant even turn around after you take out something the last thing you battled is already back up and behind you running around. so getting though an area and checking every spot is very time consuming (yet it forces you to lvl up)

-MP is wasted in battles to get the stuff over with and then when you need it for story line stuff or to heal yourself out of battle you have to find a save spot to get it back or lvl up. so tip - keep mana pots on you at ALL TIMES or you will hate this game so much.

-visuals. It really isn't that bad I liked the kid like drawings and etc.

-The amount of chat that pops up on your screen and they couldn't do a little voice acting drives me nut's. I think if it was on a Gameboy I wouldn't be as disappointed with it but its on a ps3 and for the amount of text I was required to read I would figure why not just give the game to me in book format.

I cant honestly say I had fun or if I enjoyed this game at all let alone recommend it, so just take heed to my tips.
-mana pots all times
-bring plenty of coffee before you start you will need it
-set your ps3 to never shut off or your you will fall asleep and forget to save and have to do that boss fight all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Adults Looking at this Game

posted by cwestbrook5309 (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was fantastic for me (23M). However, there are a few things an adult needs to know before going into this game. The story, game-play, and musical score are all extremely engaging and you can have an amazing experience, yet this can only be had if you drop all cynicism before playing. There are dialogues and cut scenes that are almost painfully childish. As an adult, this can really pull you out of a game and it has for me before. I essentially just convinced myself that I was playing a video game form of a Disney movie and was able to enjoy myself quite a lot. In summation, if you can drop the adult cynicism and just enjoy a Disney-esque adventure, then I could not recommend this game more. However if strong, preteen themes and dialogues are too too much for you, then do not waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a game, but that's about it.

posted by CJB0 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There was a lot of hype to this game, & while I wasn't one of the googly-eyed minions waiting with my mouth ajar letting drool down to the floor, I will say that I decided to get this because I thought that there were not enough RPGs fro the PS3. This does not meet the requirements however to be considered "great" in my opinion.

First it's playable. It isn't really replayable and it lacks quite a few cognitive measures that would make a great RPG. My reasoning lies in the facts that:

A) It's a rehashed Pokemon game system. There are games that have familiars in them that do more than a few "tricks" and capturing your enemies after you beat them to a pulp? Sound familiar? That's because it was started a 10+yrs. ago. There is no depth to this system by the way; you beat it up and it randomly decides that after you beat the living daylights out of it that it wants to give you it's eternal soul. Meh.

B) It's slow to build and incorporate features that really didn't require such. A specific battle skill for instance is learned after the battle where it would have been really useful to use to begin with. It is almost as if it's taunting you with the status of being unable to do something and then three minutes later once you win giving you the ability to do what you wish you could have done ten mins. prior. Meh.

C) Character specializations don't really shine for a very long time. The third character you acquire has a specific skill that really is not useful for most of the game. This is true for other chars. as well.

The musical score is good, not great, good, and the graphics are expected, not astounding, just expected. It is not seamless between animated scenes ( as per hype ) and probably would have been better shaded in my opinion. It gets a 7 because of how few competitors it has not because of it's inherent genuine genius. Even the story is a rehashing of the age old "Death = Hero for Revival" trope. It gets better as you go but I admit I just was n

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bleh

posted by Easton99 (YUCAIPA, CA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A little kids game disguised as an RPG. Annoying and predictable characters, and almost insulting level of voice acting. If you love Final Fantasy, you may like this one. If you prefer Skyrim style RPG's this will disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Childish Dialogue, Repetition, Poor Combat AI

posted by Palewind (OCALA, FL) Aug 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wanted to love this game. Bought it outright after reading reviews. But at 34, I couldn't tolerate the Leave it to Beaver-quality "Golly jeepers, Mister" dialogue.

Also, there is a surprising lack of depth to the combat. Many of the dozens of species of pets you can play are merely new skins. And your AI teammates have to be constantly babysat or they die, stand "in the fire," or waste all your precious MP.

This is the first game I've actually bought and will likely return without beating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kiddish and boring

posted by cdsackett (CONROE, TX) Jul 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game made me feel as if I was babysitting. Being forced to watch all of these dreadful cut-scenes and the elementary gameplay was just not what I expected to get out of this game.

With ratings as high as 9.4, I was hoping there would be some sort of substance here. Nevertheless, the game was terrible. I want my 2 hours of life back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ni Not Kool

posted by LeOwl (OREGON, IL) May 26, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, I disagree with the majority. I couldn't be captivated by the story, or be swept away with the art. I found that the overwhelming cuteness of this took away its full entertainment value. I spent a lot of time being frightened by the creepy looking creatures, or the moments where I'd say, "What the frack is that?" No, this game is not for the more mature of us out there, I'd recommend you be eight, or have the emotional maturity of to play this. Anything over, I don't think you'll get the best experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent but brings nothing new to the table

posted by SDAnimefan (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ni No Kuni deals with the mature theme of the death of a young boy's mother. Oliver is the main character that travels to an alternate world in hopes of bringing his mother back to life while saving the alternate world from destruction.

These concepts are nothing new to RPG's and Ni No Kuni does nothing to add to the genre. At its core, you will be grinding for countless hours and enduring countless pages of text because the developers have not learned the art of subtly. The repetitive dialogue becomes such a nuisance that it will ultimately frustrate players and you will find yourself mashing buttons just to get through it.

The saving grace for this particular RPG is its stylized format. The animation is breath-taking, the colors are bold and vivid and the voice dialogue although at times awkward lends a human element that will eventually draw the player in.

Game play is typically the same; battle after battle, boss after boss, find the treasure, level up, buy new equipment, talk to towns people, go on quests, etc...

On the whole it is a decent game with stunning graphics but the over abundance of text dialogue, repetitive action, typical grinding and familiar plot make Ni No Kuni a definite rent with an option to buy when it seriously decreases in value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, mediocre combat system.

posted by Starbell (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the first JRPG I've played since FFXIII, so maybe that is why, but I did not like the combat system in this game at all. Too chaotic sometimes. Other than that I found the story and other aspects of gameplay (side quests and bounty hunts) very enjoyable so overall I had to give this game a 7/10.

I didn't end up finishing the game, got about 25 hours into it or so and just decided there were other games I'd rather play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A challenging and gorgeous game

posted by safeandsound6 (IRVING, TX) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game brilliantly combines old and new jrpgs mechanics. The battle system is very tactical i.e defending at the right time, counter and positioning your characters. In a way it reminded me how paradigm shift works in ff13. Capturing new familiars, developing them gives you the alure of pokemon or persona games. And to top it of it has an overworld map which you can roam with a ship or a DRAGON.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Recian (NEW BERN, NC) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was another good JRPG and I'm starting to like the anime style graphics, they make the games more lighthearted and fun. The story and sidequests were adequate but I couldnt help feel like I was playing pokemon the whole time. Also some of the music is from WKC. But it was still an enjoyable game. It definately makes you take your time and work to earn anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Stellar, Must-Play Experience!

posted by FrizzDizz (SOUDERTON, PA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is not too often that a game hooks me the way Ni No Kuni did. It has an intriguing and well-written story. The animation and the worlds are breathtaking. I love how the gameplay is reminiscent of more classic RPGs, with a hint of new mechanics as well. This game is an instant classic and should find a home with every PS3. Don't let this game slip into obscurity! Rent it, buy it, whatever you have to do...if you own a PS3, treat yourself to this amazing, captivating adventure. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not my style

posted by Oldmanfuentes (BINGHAMTON, NY) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ni no Kuni has the parts of a masterpiece, but it's not. The story is compelling when the reader is not being overwhelmed with unnecessary and often telegraphed dialogue. The art is mostly beautiful, but the pastels, and a horrid duck tree ("tree face"), make the expansive open world bland. These shortcomings are very disappointing because Ni No Kuni has a fun Pokemon-like battle system and great Pokemon-like creature collection to go along with a variety of quests, gear, spells, and weapons. The menus and creature information pages are gorgeous and informative. So many components impress in Ni no Kuni, but the art is inconsistently beautiful and the delivery of a compelling story is not something I can gloss over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

High production values, boring story and gameplay

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you love JRPG's this may be for you. However. The story is trite and juvenile, the gameplay dull. I put in about 20 hours and never had fun. I did do a lot of boring work.

I spent maybe 10 hours trying to capture creatures, realized this was a major (and majorly boring) part of the game and quit. To be clear, the game was VERY dull before the capturing part began.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The reason why we game!

posted by Malachiix (GENEVA, OH) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is the reason why so many of us became gamers in the first place. It has everything! From graphics to sound, story, direction, pacing, etc

I cannot remember the last time an RPG had me this hooked.

Rent it, and you'll probably click "keep" within an hour of loading it up. It's that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by LilKen254 (WACO, TX) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Fun and great game I'm about 26 hours in and still have a long way to go I believe this is a must for those RPGers out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One Last Great RPG for the PS3 !!!

posted by whatnow12012 (NEWPORT, TN) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

As everyone knows the PS3 is coming to a close, so now we get a True Master piece of a game called Ni No Kuni. Dont be fooled by its wierd name, or the cutesy deal or look of the game.

The game is mature, the characters are complexed, the game script is really well done.

They basically merged Pokemon with Tales series and you get Ni No Kuni. This is indeed a rare gem of a game & like all of the others out there I also was skeptical on Ni No Kuni.

But being with games for over 20+ years since the days of the Atari 2600 this is without a doubt a hidden gem and worth a definite Rent.

But if you are Hardcore JRPG or RPG such as myself you will almost a sure think get Ni No Kuni. Also dont forget to check out the upcoming Tales of Xillia coming this Summer just like Ni No Tales is also a PS3 Exclusive.

There is nothing wrong with this game from the beatiful soundtrack the characters this game will keep you glued and keep you wondering what is going to happen next. I will not say more without spoiling the game but you also must be patient inorder to play & enjoy Ni No the game is time consuming and is also a game that takes some time to get the story rolling.

But once it does roll it never stops Kudos to the makers of this g ame I was really suprised !!!

My score for Ni No a 4 out of 5 or 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best rpgs i've played

posted by panicattackfrea (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have been playing RPGS since the Nintendo and this is one of the best
+Challenging puzzles
+Great graphics
+Tons of different monsters,items etec
+Lots to find
+World map

-Battle system should of been turn based
-Simple short dialogue from NPC's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse