Rent New Super Mario Bros. for DS
view large frontback

New Super Mario Bros.

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

6492 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS Title Yet

posted by Socrates (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2005

51 out of 56 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is, in short, a perfect game. Take an old concept, that of the original super mario game, put all the new bells and whistles on it, focus entirely on the gameplay, and you have the new super mario bros. Although the game might strike some seasoned mario vets as simplistic and easy, there's a surprising amount of depth for this relatively simple side-scroller. Each level contains multiple paths, some of which lead to hidden levels. The item system will be familiar to anyone who's played super mario world. And the inclusion of new items, such as the mini and mega mushrooms, and the blue shell will give old fans a new thrill.
What I found most surprising about this game was the multiplayer. Mario is not a game traditionally known for its multiplayer ability (outside of the mario-kart and sports titles), but the multiplayer on this is top-notch. Although simple in concept, I found myself playing this mode with friends for literally hours at a time.
The inclusion of several familiar mini-games (to anyone who has played mario 64 DS) as well as the ability to play them with friends in multiplayer mode, rounds this title out nicely.
In short I would recommend to anyone to buy this title. It's fun, it's so easy to play your grandma could do it, and it'll have you connecting with other DS owners in a way you never thought possible through its incredible multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

additcted

posted by firestone30 (LOMPOC, CA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

best best best best best game ever!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by romeojr (WYOMING, MI) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best handheld game for any DS right now. Mario will never lose its cool!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nostalgic

posted by BigDaddyRoyRoy (LONGVIEW, WA) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario classic with new twists

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

jlh0524

posted by jlh0524 (COLUMBUS, GA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So much fun!! My four year old can even play this!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by milkdud03 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best installment of Mario Bros since the original incarnation all the way back on NES. When I played this, it felt like I was seeing an old friend I haven't seen in 20 years. I would say that buying this game is a very safe bet, and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fred neps's review

posted by mommy1234 (EAST HAVEN, CT) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

yo this game is awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!!!!!!

posted by teddyb12 (CREWE, VA) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was amazing it is so much fun and exciting! Some of the levels are so fun that i play them over and over. I play this game all the time there isnt a time that im not playing it. Sometimes im so into the game that i jump out of my seat and scare everybody in the room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Masterful Return to Side Scrolling

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) May 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I've been gaming since the early Atari 2600 when "side scroller" meant "leaps and bounds in new technology". Video games that actually leave the boundaries of the single screen? Unheard of! So to say that I've cut my teeth on and endured most side-scrolling games caught in the wild would be an understatement. I knew I'd pick the game up regardless of the possible gameplay outcome but I didn't realize just how awesome this return to side-scrolling action would be.

The graphics are superb, the music is pleasant the entire length of the game, and the gameplay controls never once frustrate. The gameplay is somewhat shorter than I would have liked if you do nothing but concentrate on getting from the first to last world. The game once again shines in the mandatory Mario-esque placement of secret areas and feats of skill when attempting to replay all the levels to find all the stars and coins.

The extra moves and power-ups that Mario receives does nothing to take away from the gameplay either. I feared that the extra goodies would simply be used as band-aids for cover poor level design or flawed difficulty level. I was proven pleasantly wrong. The new power-ups are brilliant and the additional moves that Mario can use are never forced down your throat or take away from the fun of the game.

Excellent game and an excellent purchase for casual gamers, hardcore gamers, and collectors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This could be the BEST mario game ever for DS

posted by nicnik3 (BURLINGTON, VT) May 21, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Ok, first off, the graphics are amazing, i mean the 3-d and the 2-d blend so well that everything looks 3-d, i also digged the way some of the turtles danced to the music in this game. The greatest thing is in this game is that nothing is overly hard or confusing, its just straight up super mario bros. The one thing i would of changed is Giga bowser in this game, he is sorta lame, but its alright. I still give this game 2 thumbs up, if you like the original super mario bros. u will definitely love this!!! There is a bunch of new power ups and stuff, they just add to the adventure.

P.S. This game rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Couldn't Be Better

posted by thrashramy (GLENDALE, AZ) May 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! I have been waiting for a new mario game like this since the Super Nintendo. The worlds are great fun, the new power ups are cool, and the new mario just kicks butt! My entire family is enjoying this game! I recommend it to anyone who just want to have a fun gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Awesome

posted by Spawn714 (POPLAR GROVE, IL) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This Game rocked aside from the new feature to become huge its now multiplayer wirelessly and now you can play the mini games multiplayer how great is that i give it a 10 its worth buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by Icantspell (BATTLE GROUND, WA) Jul 30, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! It is a new Mario game with the old style side scrolling Mario gameplay! If you loved the old Mario games then you will love this game!

Pros:
Oldschool side scrolling Mario style
Tons of levels
Many things to collect
Nice music

Cons:
Controls a little different than other oldschool Mario games. Takes a couple of levels to get used to.

Graphics: 10/10
Sound:
Music: 10/10
Sounds: 10/10
Gameplay: 10/10
Controls: 9/10
Replay Value: 9/10

Overall: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lets hear for Mario and Luigi! Also Nintendo.

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 30, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

..... ..... ..... THIS GAME IS THE BEST FOR THE DS!If you loved the classic mario bros you will love this(Big Time).I had this game for ten seconds and I loved it. So I'd get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

more of the same

posted by horsumhack (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

You may want to take my brief review with a grain of salt since, despite being semi-obsessed with video games, they constantly disappoint me, and even those I like best I consider to have serious flaws and weaknesses. Okay then…
after 8 billion mario games i've suddenly had to come to the painful realization that, this treasured franchise, spanning multiple genres and sporting amazing production values, produces game after game that i, well, dont like. new super mario brothers is perhaps my least favorite of them all. for one thing its the sort of game that garners lots of complaints about being too easy but that i find tediously difficult (besides never having difficulty levels of any kind in their games they are the sort of games that if you play well you tend to be mildly rewarded with things that make it easier but if you play poorly you tend to be up against the wall all the time). people also might comment on the standard perfunctory story of this game but i feel it would be more fair to say it doesnt actually have one. what else, i don't know, it's a side scroller where you jump on peoples heads. it tends to be cleverly designed and if you liked mario games in the past i don't know why you wouldn't like this. if you've never tried one you sort of have to. but as for me i sort of hated this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

all i can say is that it is a classic. if you have ever played the original you are going to love this one. it has a great replay value also its worth it all!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is cool

posted by sasuke45 (LARGO, MD) May 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I have played the old super mario game for the nes and thism one is so cool but the thing that it is missing is multiplayer on story mode now that would be an extremly best selling game plus if you had wifi for the minigames it would be even better but so far i give this game a 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great platformer without the old magic

posted by GoldFibre (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 16, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

New Super Mario Bros. was a lot of fun and had some classic Mario feel. I don't want to give anything away, but it combines elements from many different Mario games to make something new. However, one major shortcoming will prevent it from becoming a classic:

This is the easiest Mario platformer to date.

I still play Super Mario Bros. 3 on my NES because I feel a sense of accomplishment every time I beat it. SMB 3 was a difficult platformer. Beating New Mario Bros. is just too easy for me to be proud of, so I am never going to go back and play through it again. For a while after beating it I was going back and unlocking hidden levels, but it just couldn't keep me entertained.

In a nutshell, this game is worth playing through once, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by Griffin (OLIVETTE, MO) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really like it when you kill Bowser at the end of World I, and Bowser falls in the lava and then he sinks in the lava but the he comes back to the surface as his bones and then he sinks again and then you win World I. I like when you fight Bowser and Bowser Jr at the same time. The hardest level is the Tower in World 5. The minigames are also fun, especially the one you use your stylus to touch the character's head, and it's like Where's Waldo. If you don't this game, you should get it NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am speechless

posted by dwmacfar2 (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) May 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is amazing. the graphics are the best on the DS so far, even better then animal crossing or mario kart. The story mode is cool. Multiplayer looks cool. The minigames are new and from super mario 64. The storyline, not that original, bowser jr. steal princess peach and you have to get her back. So the game has eight worlds and you have got to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back, Mario. We missed you.

posted by dan4071 (CHARLESTON, WV) May 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

does it feel good to go back to Mario's roots. Don't get me wrong - Super Mario 64 was an important and integral step for Nintendo's plumber hero to take, what with the company essentially being the trailblazer in the world of 3D platforming. But in moving forward, rising expectations pretty much dictated that Nintendo shouldn't look back, so the classic sidescrolling formula was simply relegated to "classic" status, only returning in retro repeats of existing games on current systems and, occasionally, as spin-off franchises for other Nintendo characters. An official Super Mario game would have to be something special for it to exist on a current Nintendo system, which is why the release of New Super Mario Bros. for the Nintendo DS is so significant: it absolutely is something special. This game marks a brilliant return to Mario's side-scrolling environments, with a look, feel, and play that feels unbelievably classic, with new elements that do a fantastic job advancing the design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is Incredible

posted by carlito (FREDERICK, MD) May 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games i've ever played next to the first mario. What makes it so good is that its what its called a New Super Mario Bros. Its like the original mario but in a 3d form. Some people may think this is a gimmick to make some money but this is very well thought out and very good. If you liked the old mario games play this one and you will be hooked for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New Super Mario Bros?

posted by 6787834 (MURRIETA, CA) May 16, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Well Brings BAck Memories Anyways I Just Got The Game. Freaken Nice 2d/3d Graphics!Really Good Same Old Mario Soundtrack.But If U Want To Beat It FAST U Could Prolly Beat It In A Day.Hope That Helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

is the new super mario game really good?

posted by gamerzrock (GARLAND, TX) May 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 25 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Mario is back in an OK game with OK graphics with pretty good boss battles.Unfortunantly,it can be a little frusurating at times which can make you pretty mad at times.Most of the levels are pretty easy but if you ever get stuck on one of them, you can use your star coins to unlock an alternative level. alltogether, I rate this game 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NEW Super Mario Bros on DS Review

posted by jagman3 (ORANGEVALE, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This was driving me INSANE it just suck so bad that i bought it and i thought that i was going to get a really good game but i was shocked how terrible the game was so i was so mad so my opion is DONT EVER LAY A FINGER ON THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse