Rent New Super Mario Bros. for DS
view large frontback

New Super Mario Bros.

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

6485 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NEW Super Mario Bros on DS Review

posted by jagman3 (ORANGEVALE, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This was driving me INSANE it just suck so bad that i bought it and i thought that i was going to get a really good game but i was shocked how terrible the game was so i was so mad so my opion is DONT EVER LAY A FINGER ON THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

again and again and again.

posted by sqwerl (EAGLE, ID) May 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

ok , look this is not a good game. In a way you do the same level over and over. Also it's so boring and it's really agitating wen you get stuck. It's the worst game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by JTTER7 (NORBORNE, MO) May 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

THIS GAME WAS HORRIBLE GAMEPLAY AND WAY TO HARD WHO DO THEY THINK WE ARE MASTERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate this game

posted by dudeyman (DUXBURY, MA) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

i think this is a bad game. the graphics aren't that good and the controls were messed up. if you like mario games don't get this game it will wreck your perspective on mario.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mario could be better

posted by gamer22 (NEDERLAND, TX) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I like it ok but it was a little to easy and it bores me a lot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same Thing

posted by Geronimo (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This Game is boring. You are basically doing the same thing over and over again. Its also dum you have to got all the way to level 8 just to rescue the princess peach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DONT LIKE THIS GAME I GIVE IT A 2 OUT OF 5

posted by loserbomb (CORAL GABLES, FL) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

THIS GAME YOU WILL LIKE IF U PLAYED THE ORIGINAL BUT THIS 1 JUST HAS LAME POWER-UPS. SO UR GOIN 2 SPEND A WEEK WITH A REMAKE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

only one horrible problem

posted by snowuse (YOUNGSVILLE, LA) Jul 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

This needs to be brought to attention. Nintendo decided that it is a great idea to have no save option unless you beat a castle. That means you can never just pick up the game and just play a few levels, like every other game in existance. Other than that frustration the game is great. It just makes you feel like you're being rushed through the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Well i have nothing to say about it XD

posted by Zachzman (BUFFALO, MO) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

My sister hoged the game and i didnt really wanna play this but i lost my old one but before i knew that i got this 1 just so we could play together...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

more of the same

posted by horsumhack (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

You may want to take my brief review with a grain of salt since, despite being semi-obsessed with video games, they constantly disappoint me, and even those I like best I consider to have serious flaws and weaknesses. Okay then…
after 8 billion mario games i've suddenly had to come to the painful realization that, this treasured franchise, spanning multiple genres and sporting amazing production values, produces game after game that i, well, dont like. new super mario brothers is perhaps my least favorite of them all. for one thing its the sort of game that garners lots of complaints about being too easy but that i find tediously difficult (besides never having difficulty levels of any kind in their games they are the sort of games that if you play well you tend to be mildly rewarded with things that make it easier but if you play poorly you tend to be up against the wall all the time). people also might comment on the standard perfunctory story of this game but i feel it would be more fair to say it doesnt actually have one. what else, i don't know, it's a side scroller where you jump on peoples heads. it tends to be cleverly designed and if you liked mario games in the past i don't know why you wouldn't like this. if you've never tried one you sort of have to. but as for me i sort of hated this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Problem

posted by CJFrewerd (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I absolutely love this game. Whenever I play it it just hits me so hard with nostalgia. The levels are very well designed, it's not too hard ( I beat it when I was 7) and the controls are very good. There's just one problem.
THE COPY I GOT SENT DIDN'T EVEN WORK.
I tried putting it into my 3DS- it didn't work.
I tried it in my DSi-It didnt work!
I even tried it in my original DS from 2004- IT DIDN'T WORK!!!
I mean, the game is great and all but I don't want to have to wait day after day for a game that doesn't even work!
All in all, Gamefly, you should really work on actually TESTING YOUR PRODUCTS BEFORE YOU SEND THEM.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by DizzyLizzy0214 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is a really good game. It takes you back to a classic Mario game, but IT IS A REALLY SHORT GAME!!! I completely finished all 8 worlds in a day and a half and if im going to pay $25 i want a game that is going to last me a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game

posted by Genie51 (PONTIAC, MI) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

it was ok. i had trouble with the jumps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mario mario went out mario game

posted by godzilla20 (BULLHEAD CITY, AZ) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this is just the same old mario game just better graphics if i want to play a mario game i whould play the 3 nes games mario,mario 2,and mario 3 and mabey marios time machine,mario all stars (which is mario 2),and mabey the sega cd one mario's hotell

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Super Mario

posted by cmratt (MURRAY, KY) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The game was awesome but i had trouble getting to play in my DSI...I think the game is getting too old to send out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a okay game!

posted by parodiebro (WARREN, ME) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The new super Mario bros is a great game don't get me wrong but after you beat the game its sucks! its like your spending the rest of your freaking life collecting star coins! and if you say I'll start a new file and it wont get boring guess what! it will! because you've already beaten the game you know all the freaking short cuts! it just sucks dude and please don't get me wrong when you first get it it rocks! but if i were you when you first play the game collect ALL the star coins if you don't you'll regret it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok overly hyped

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) May 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

its and good mix of old mario and new mario but i do miss the old tunes that the old mario started with back in the days but its not in there it's not a bad game its one of those "like it" or "hate it" types rent it first and see if its your flavor but it could be just me I'm all mario out just like I'm sonic out but if nintendo want to do mario a favor put all the mario(mario bro, duck hunt, mario 2, mario 3, super mario on one cartage's something like mario all stars i love that one and with a bonus add mario RPG

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

is the new super mario game really good?

posted by gamerzrock (GARLAND, TX) May 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 25 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Mario is back in an OK game with OK graphics with pretty good boss battles.Unfortunantly,it can be a little frusurating at times which can make you pretty mad at times.Most of the levels are pretty easy but if you ever get stuck on one of them, you can use your star coins to unlock an alternative level. alltogether, I rate this game 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of easy

posted by Phnxign (BLYTHE, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

easy tittle took just under 6 hrs to beat but still enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's A...lmost A Mario!

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2005

Imagine if all the upgrades of Super Mario World were pushed back into the format of Super Mario Bros. Welcome to New Super Mario Bros., in which our red-suited hero will dash and jump his way through rather short (albeit imaginative) levels, each with something new and clever, and even a few secrets, to boot.

The one problem is that there's little incentive in this version to do a great job platforming--getting to the end of the level will suffice. Should you choose to collect the three Star Coins in each level, you may need to repeat a couple of times, but on the whole, it's still rather easy. Worse, the bosses are all too easy now, as you can store your special powers, activating them whenever you feel like doing so. (The Mega Mushroom is especially cheap; an instant kill on the final boss.)

It's a nice compact game, but there's no real replay, unless you count some cheap-stylus action/puzzle games that have been tacked on for what constitutes "multiplayer" in a Mario game. The music's certainly nothing special, and the graphics--while fine, especially for DS--don't have the charm of Yoshi's Island, or the solid feel of Super Mario World.

This is definitely a rental, worth checking out for the variety of old-school level designs (and new-school flourishes) alone. You'll enjoy every minute of it (save for a few cheap levels where things sudden fall from above); you'll just wish there were a few MORE minutes to the whole game. In all, it's a good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Like It Better Than I Expected To

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 26, 2008

Member since May 2006

Normally, I hate it when developers try to take classic games and make them new, but in New Super Mario Bros., it finally worked.

In this game, it has the same basic story as Super Mario Bros., but with new twist that actually made the game more than a rip-off of the original instead of make the game a scam to make extra money. New features in the game include a giant mushroom that turns Mario into a huge monster-like plumber, and a mini-mushroom that makes Mario the size of a pea. The graphics aren't great, but they're good enough for this title. This is not too hard, not too easy, just right. One flaw is that saving points are WAY too far away from each other. This includes lots of mini-games. It has multiplayer that lets you team up with the other plumber, Luigi, for a new level of action.

All in all, this game is alright. I do recommend this to Mario fans, of course, and any other people who are hungry for some Mario action. I give this 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Mario

posted by WCrawford (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

This is simply another SNES-style Mario game. They've added a couple neat twists (mega mario, mini mario) but taken away some, too (flying mario).

For true fans of the game, this is great. For anyone else, it's just SMB3 with a few differences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

New SMB... I've played this before

posted by Trivilar (EASTON, PA) Jun 5, 2006

Member since May 2006

While I found the game to be very faithful to its roots, that was just my problem. Having started my gaming career on Super Mario Brothers, I felt like this was just ANOTHER rehash. No real changes, just new maps. If you are a huge fan of SMB 3 or SMW. Then by all means, give this a whirl. If you say, yeah those games were cool, but I want something new... you will be disappointed here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good selection for DS owners

posted by PS3fan899 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

This is a good selection for DS owners, but the problem is that it's way too easy and short. Surprisingly, it's still somewhat fun. Graphics are good, controls work well, but the overall Gameplay is too easy. As for the plot, it's the same as every other Mario game, but I guess that's why we love them. If your a DS owner looking for a good game for it, I would still recommend this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

new super mario bros

posted by mrpokemon (WILMINGTON, CA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

i would rate this game in a scale from 1 to 10 a 7 the graphics are not that good but we all know from the beggining that graphics dont really matter its the gameplay that really matter and this is no exception the new power up is awesome i am talking about the shell power up wich is really useful in the mario vs luigi feature where you compete for stars and the player who gets a certain amount of stars win and the minigame feature isnt that good if youre playing on youre own but if youre playing with other people then its a whole other story i should know because i played with alot of my friends but my favorite is the mario vs luigi feature well that was my review of the game new super mario bros game for the nintendo ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse