Rent New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U
view large frontback

New Super Mario Bros. U

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

755 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Positive review

posted by onok96 (DORCHESTER, MA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is much easier than the one for the Wii, but it's super mega fun especially if you gather with your friends. This game is for everybody. Even little children, I have two nieces that play all the time and it's so cute. This is a great game and I simply love God-mode on the gamepad and how it adds an extra player to assist in the best ways. Nintendo's original ideas are giving game developers a step into future. Great game and so far it's the only Wii U game at the moment worth holding onto if you rent it from Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great comeback for the Mario franchise

posted by VenturaGamer (TREMONTON, UT) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

New Mario games, add too many new things that make the game not as interesting. And worst of all they are repetitive, and not even to the old games, but the newer ones. New Super Mario Bros. 2 was alright, but it didn't add enough for a newer console. My favorite still is Mario Bros. 3 on the SNES, and when I played this game, I felt as if I were playing an upgraded version of the old Mario we all know and love. It brings many things to the table that make it really shine for the Wii U. I didn't like boost mode as much, but for my sisters, it was great, because they got to actually finish the level. All of the secret levels and shortcuts was really a bonus on this game. It has great multiplayer and really focuses on bringing back memories of Super Mario Bros 3. I feel as ifI could really buy it, and still play it regularly. This is a great starting game for the Wii U, especially compared to all of the other games, Nintendo decided to put on the launch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly surprised.

posted by Element187 (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I only rented this game for nostaglia sake. I didn't think there was anyway a 2d Mario game would get more than a couple plays before returning it, but after a few games here and there the game just grabbed a hold of my attention completely after the ice world. Now i can't put it down and have stopped playing BLOPS2 and AC3 in lieu of this game..

While playing Mario in 1080p is pretty nifty, its the new power ups and new actions like swinging like Indiana Jones that is pretty sweet. The game keeps throwing new concepts at you over and over again. The art on some of the levels is just superb, my favorite is the level that looks like something out of a Vincent Van Gogh painting. (Full disclosure the last 2d Mario i played was SMB 3 on the original NES when I was a kid.)

I haven't had this much fun playing a 2d Mario game in more than 20 years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TWO WORDS: GREAT GAME

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The other Mario games were good, but this one is great! The graphics are perfect!!!! BUY THIS one! Its one for the ages!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Mario Game 9.5

posted by jdsampsonite (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy Mario games. If you are only playing the game to get to the end and beat Bowser this game is not going to be to difficult and will go pretty quick. This is partly because there is a lot of short cuts in the games, and even divides where you can skip whole levels. So if thats your only goal you may feel it was to quick. If your like me and you want to beat every level and collect all the star coins you will find a very deep and challenging game. Some of the levels you will have to play several times to get all the coins. Then if you really want to be frustrated and challenged try the new challenges that they have available. Some of them are pretty ridiculous. I am in awe of the people who are able to gold on all of these. Coin mode is still there if you want some multiplayer hijinks. Then rush mode is a lot of fun as well. When you have to get as many coins to keep the level moving fast to complete the game in the quickest time possible. So if you love Mario play this game.
I cant wait for additional downloadable content as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful

posted by Seda (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I purchased this game w/the system and it was as good as the previous mario brothers. 5 players keeps everyone busy and no one fights over the wiiU "special" controller since it is used to help the team and not actually using a character. Since the special controller helps the team and isn't required others in my family that normally don't play video games actually played and enjoyed themselves. If you haven't rented this then you need to and it is also worth buying. Game is a bit short but there will be DLC content to add to it at a later date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tenTENten

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The masters have done it again. And we should start with Miiverse. Miiverse is sensational and its potential shows particularly brightly in this game. Throughout the game you will be privy to other players thoughts about the game and maybe a helpful hint or two if you turn off spoiler blocking. You can then comment on or +yeah that comment or drawing. Just play it, you'll get it.... or you may not be so intelligent or perceptive as you think.

Mario looks great in HD. 'nuff said. New enemies, return of classic and forgotten enemies, new powerups, co-operative OR solo play, use your Mii, challenge modes.....I could rave on and on.... just play the game.... play it now... if you didn't buy this at launch, buy it now but rent it while you wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by awesomegamer543 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the definition is awesome the levels are awesome and the power-ups are awesome overall its awesome !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it!!!!!

posted by scotty27 (LAKE CITY, FL) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if u love mario u will love this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unexpected Greatness

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow, This game threw a huge curve ball with my expectations.

Don't let the colorful artwork fool you. This game can get challenging...NAY it WILL get challenging as you progress through the worlds. Super Mario Bros Wii U also adds new game mechanics to almost each new level, making you expect the unexpected.

The music is fantastic, classic mario veterans will recognize their favorite bleeps and bloops throughout their adventure.

Your favorite returning cast and crew are back and ready to blow your mind. Iggy? check. Wendy Koopa? check. Yoshi? Check. Sudden Nostalgia? definite check.

And what can be said about the art....Fantastic, colorful and vibrant, You will die sometimes just admiring whats going on in the background. Some of you may even recognize a famous artist reference in one of the later worlds.

This is a must Keep for any Wii U owner, gamer casual and hardcore, and Even YOU ASPIRING ARTIST. Don't miss out on this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

new super mario bros u

posted by mrpokemon (WILMINGTON, CA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well first of all i would like to say that I LOVE THIS GAME the graphics are amazing there is finally a really good background in the levels and also i would like to say that i love the new baby yoshi they are so cute and they are really helpful in the levels especially the pink baby yoshi wich if you shake tthe wii remote or press zr in the wii u gamepad they turn into big cute ballon yoshi wich can float until they run out of air and also the new power up the acorn is pretty much a tonooki suit except that you can shake the wii remote or press zr on the wii u gamepad to go up a bit and this helped me out a lot in gameplay i can actually beat the firs castle in just 2 minutes with the acorn suit now back to the graphics warning spoilers coming up but in the final battle with bowser bowser actually looks like a reptile he has scales and the texture to the skin you could tell that his skin is rough the challenge mode is good the boost mode is good as well so now the rating in a scale from 1 to 10 i would give it a ten so this pretty much wraps up my review of new super mario bros u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

well...

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the Mario franchise. Lately though it seems the games are getting way too easy, or simply, im getting jaded. New super Mario bros 2 for 3DS was too simple and little gimmicks to stay around. This one is a better. I like its use of many Super Mario Bros 3 references. And some cool new gimmicks (like the baby yoshis). But again its not 'new' enough and still mostly easy- despite some interesting challenges and bosses. If you love Mario, then this is the game for you.
Also I found the 'boost mode' with game pad dumb. It either makes the game ridiculously simple or hinders the gameplay. With groups, we generally avoided that mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you played the first two, your not missing out

posted by Kona9 (LANCASTER, MA) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game's fundamentals are still the same, I'm not going to lie, I was very excited when the DS and Wii versions of the New Super Mario game's came out. BUT this game makes very few changes,aside from the game-pad functionality (which is really cool) and the new squirrel suit power up the game is the same as the other two. If you havent rented those two or bought them. Then this game will be right for you. I personaly grew very tired of it near the end of the game I felt forced to play rather than drawn to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Childhood Revisited

posted by DARKtemp6 (STUART, FL) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

wow. just wow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST MARIO YET

posted by ghost31 (CHINO, CA) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

GET THIS GAME THATS ALL I GOT TO SAY JUST GET IT 10 OUTA 10 PERFECT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

As far as Mario games go....

posted by Kwcjr91 (GRIFFITH, IN) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I did not enjoy this installment. You'll find this game particularly difficult in comparrison to Mario 3d world. I found the challenge weighing heavy on the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than wii

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Better than the wii version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by SvenH03k (FAIRFAX, VA) May 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2003

Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This was just a great fun little game to play. The art style and music is top notch. The only reason I didn't score this games higher was the total length and difficulty. This game will only take you about 5-6hrs. to beat and the level difficulty is so easy a 5 year old can play (they did that on purpose so they can). This is a great start to Mario in HD hopefully some tougher games come in the future.

PS.
The homage to old school Mario at the end was awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Does it Yet Again

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

If you're one of those gamers who are anti-Nintendo and stuff, don't play this game and don't complain about it. If you're a loyal Nintendo and Mario fan like I am, you definitely need to get this. Unlike New Super Mario Bros. Wii, this is not a clone of the handheld entry, it's so fresh with its HD graphics and new courses and worlds. I don't care about HD, it's not a necessity for me, but the HD does make the game pop. I suggest getting a 1080p tv for the game, even if you're not an HD fan either, it just makes things clearer and easier to read. Of course you can always just use the gamepad screen since it has everything that's on the TV screen for some reason. All in all, it's a solid platformer with all the famous Mario elements plus many fresh new ideas that keep it going, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Perfect

posted by JB7266 (LEBANON, TN) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Yet another great Mario game!!! I really found this to be similar to Super Mario 3 for NES, and LOVED it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nintendo Strikes Back!

posted by wolfhunter64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Mario has always been a favorite of many people. However, Nintendo keeps repeating the same old thing. But in New Super Mario Bros. U, they make a huge comeback. Some things that I liked were how you can use Baby Yoshis to practically get through a hard level, and I also liked the diverse worlds. But they could improve on music variety. The game recycled a lot of old tracks from the Wii version. Although it wasn't as bad as New Super Mario Bros. 2, it was pretty similar. But I think it made a great launch title for the Wii U, fitting the system perfectly. And although it isn't the best game, it's definitely up there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by macmaster87 (LAKE SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

awesome but the levels are hard in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Reminds me of Mario World

posted by Nytmaere (LOUISIANA, MO) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

My husband and I have played almost all the Mario games and after a while they felt much too repetitive to a point where we didn't even care to try the new games.
We had very low hopes for this, thinking it would be the same as the SMB Wii or SMB2 3DS.
But we received this in the mail and immediately within the first few levels we felt this was great, the world map and level design just reminded both of us of Super Mario World (which happens to be one of my favorite games).
Definitely recommend this!
We plan on actually buying this game when the Super Luigi DLC comes out in the summer/fall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love this game

posted by masonmaurer (NASHVILLE, TN) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

love this game love playing it on the game pad .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse