Rent New Super Luigi U for Wii U
view large frontback

New Super Luigi U

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
6.8

187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

luigi u

posted by simonbelmont999 (BETHLEHEM, GA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

only one word HARD but overall good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Y

posted by Rude755 (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I should have read the description, however I did not. Luigi U is unplayable for me simply because of Luigi's slippery floaty control. Talk about taking it back to Super Mario Bros. 2. At least the floaty control worked in that setting. In a speedy, precise platforming game such as this, the floaty game play mechanic kills this game for me. Other wise I'm sure this is a great stripped down version of Mario U bonus stages that are unplayable for me. How about a fresh new platforming game for Luigi.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It’s Mario – only shorter and more hectic

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

With the big success of the game Super Mario Brothes on the WiiU, there was going to be a sequel.
Well, sort of.
In New Super Luigi U, you get 80 more levels that feel like the original levels shrunk down by at least half.
And with good reason, too. Your time limit is 100 seconds per level – and another 100 seconds for the boss fights. The game will take much less time to get through than the original – which is probably why they put a $20 price tag on this game.
But what’s also clear is the jumps in this game are just as hard as the original – or even tougher. Even with the addition of Nabbit – the guy who can’t be defeated by other enemies – it may be a tough time getting through those jumps. This game can get so frustrating that some players will end up throwing their controllers at the screen.
New Super Luigi U is one game that beginners should not try – until after they spend some time with the original Super Mario Brothers U game.
But if you just want more of Super Mario Brothers U, then this is your game. More levels, more multiplayer mayhem (there are up to five characters on screen at the same time instead of the four in the original), and the same great powerups that were in the original are on display here – just in a speeded up version.
New Super Luigi U is one game that a definite rent – and fans of the genre should have little trouble paying up the $20 to buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Even better than NSMBU

posted by Rhino47 (WYOMING, MI) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The levels are much more bite-sized, only giving you 100 seconds to beat each level, but that's what makes it so fun. Hectic, chaotic, absolute fun. The fact that Nabbit can't get hurt by running into enemies adds to the chaos, not only allowing less experienced players to enjoy, but allowing experienced players to mess with their buddies. I can't even describe how much fun I've had with this game. Nintendo platforming at it's finest. Long live Luigi!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kind of A Disappointment.......

posted by JB7266 (LEBANON, TN) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I can't believe I'm writing a bad review on a Mario game, but here it is. I played the Super Mario U completely through and loved it, then I turned around and got this. I honestly felt like the levels were the exact same, just a little shorter because you only have 100 seconds to complete each course. They are so fast it isn't even like playing them, you are just running through each course.

I feel like this was a waste of a rental from GameFly, but I am glad I didn't purchase this game! Even if it is only 20.00, I could see where some people might feel like they got ripped off if you purchased this and Mario U. Just my thoughts, and I'm really disappointed that the Mario developers came out with this, as I have LOVED every game they have put out....until now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

super Luigi u

posted by justinkwade (SALLIS, MS) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

i did not care for this game you didn't have time to do anything all you can do is run

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same ol

posted by hellmoose (SALEM, MA) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

Same old mario game, just harder to control the now high flying and hovering Luigi... Also competing with friends bouncing into you... We found it more annoying than harder

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Difficult, But So Fun

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It was quite awesome to first hear of this game coming out, a little more Luigi love beyond the Luigi's Mansion games, I had to get it. Before I got Gamefly I got this via pre-order at Gamestop. Previous to this game I played New Super Mario Bros. U and I was afraid this game was just the same thing with Luigi. It is, and yet it is not. The courses have been shortened and the time has been reduced to 100 seconds (a minute and 40 seconds) and the enemy patterns are more challenging. It's more hardcore than any Mario platformer, and you need to take advantage of Luigi's abilities to get through alive. Like I said, it is hard, but it makes for a great satisfaction when you finally complete it. It's easier to get all 3 star coins in each stage when you have a second player taking on the role of Nabbit, but it's not like the star coins are used in this game compared to previous New Super entries. In the end, I love this game and I do not regret getting it, and I highly recommend renting it and/or buying/keeping it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome! Not what it looks like.

posted by blockykid (LUTZ, FL) Sep 15, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

At first glance, this game is just New Super Mario Bros. U with Nabbit slapped in Mario's place, but actually has brand new levels that provide a much greater challenge and the most heart-pounding part is the fast-ticking timer. You only get 100 seconds to beat each stage. I love this game. Would reccomend to anyone with a Wii U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »