Rent New Carnival Games for Wii
view large frontback

New Carnival Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.9

648 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Carnival Games Worth Looking Into

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When the first Carnival Games came out in 2007, it had a simple premise: give players a whole lot of simple games, have them collect tickets to buy prizes and outfits for their avatar.
It was a smash success, so it’s no surprise that we get a sequel - New Carnival Games
The title says it all: there are 30 more games for the carnival loving crowd to sink their teeth into, and more outfits for you to win for your avatar.
In this game, you pick from one of five spots - Mystic Court, Mousy Lane, Surprise Boulevard, Pit Stop Parkway, and Snapshot Drive. Each spot has several mini games, and all but one are unlocked when you first enter the area (the locked game becomes unlocked when you get the best prize in one other game in that area).
There are also Achievements for you to get - like win a certain number of games, tickets or prizes. Also, each game has has Achievements to be unlocked as well. This gives the solo player a reason to keep playing the mini games over and over again.
The mini games are mixed - some of them are fun (like Arrow Shot, Bottle Stand Up, and Target Shoot), some are ridiculously hard (Under 7 Over 31, Horseshoe Toss and Bank a Ball) and some are really easy (Tractor Pull, Pitch a Plate, and Balloon Blast).
There are other mini games that are only available in single player mode - but I found too many of them relied on luck, not skill.
Still, the real draw here is the multiplayer - up to four players can play almost all of the mini games, and it’s enjoyable to see who can smash all their plates the fastest or get the highest score.
New Carnival Games is definitely worth a rent, and those looking for a fun family game might want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by daenelle12 (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

My 5yr old came to me the day the game and said mom that game is boring can u please send it back. WOW. I didnt beleive him so I played it, and he was right. Never will I buy that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for about 2 weeks

posted by liltxgal98 (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was definitely a crowd pleaser for a 3 year old and 11 year old...after about 2 weeks they had it figured out and didn't feel challenged anymore. It was great game to have with Gamefly...didn't have to keep it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only fun for kids

posted by Zaigetsu (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you have kids then get it, otherwise do not. My younger siblings enjoyed it a lot. So if you're older then this isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blow trash

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

what a waste of my time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Carnival Games~ Wii

posted by BlueChef (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

It's awesome and great fun! Would recommend to all, is also funny!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not nearly as good as the first

posted by bluegrass (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

New games are not great. But the biggest problem is that you are spending all your time watching the the split screen graphics not getting to play. Pass on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for awhile, wouldn't buy it though

posted by tdevil (GREELEY, CO) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I got the first Carnival Games game for Christmas (after two years of wanting it) and enjoyed it a great deal. It was simple but fun. I added this to my Q to see if it was even worth wanting. It's...kinda fun. The games are ok, but not as good as the first one. They seem kinda random and not really traditional carnival games (not all of them anyway). I don't think the MotionPlus controls add anything extra either. It's fun to rent and play for awhile but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

meh! Nintendo continually is losing my business

posted by jcox (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It seems all Nintendo titles, if they are not Zelda or Mario...then they're so not worth it. I remember the original carnival games and how bad it sucked, so for some reason I thought I would disturb my game Q with the second one.

I made a mistake, the more I look at how bad the selection is for all games on the Wii, this system really made me lose faith in this company. Nintendo really has become a sub-par system, they nailed the wii with the first few games, such as the wii sports titles, but not much after that was really worth it at all.

Games all seem too repetetive, and I don't think developers tried very hard to utilize the nintendo's controls

Games I do have for the wii that people in the house like:
Super Mario Bros. Wii
Wii Sports Resort
Mario Kart Wii
Boom Blox

Every other game we have bought or rented has been an abysmal dissapointment to everyone including the kids.

I keep reading how Nintendo is going to be a "contender" again. Oh please because they put out their first "HD" compatable system out 6-7 years after their competition.... Give me a break.
if you want to combine a DS, a semi decent handheld system, with an HD wii, which from what ive seen is what the Wii U is going to be..I will kindly pass.

Thanks but no thanks nintendo, which is sad because the first system I owned was the original NES...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

coll

posted by vincentlieu (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game but can get boring

posted by lgcrow (YUMA, AZ) May 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this was a great game to play it worked you out the kids loved it but after a while you figured out how to win the games in the game and it got boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh!

posted by elmstreetkid (PITTSBURG, TX) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game seems like it is going to be amazing from the commercials on t.v. but in all actuallity it is not. The games in this game are pretty boring, and there is only so much you can do with a wii remote anyways that the game play makes it very boring....and if you get past the boring parts the games are pretty easy, i found no chALLENGES AND i BEAT THE GAME WELL YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN IN three days of gameplay... Overall as a family game i give it a 7.5 but as single player definitly 5 or below.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

He loves it

posted by IsaacsGG (DAYTON, OH) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I rented this game for my 5 1/2 year old grandson and he absolutely loves it! Very easy for him to play without my supervision. He also loves the "prizes" awarded for each win. Good carni game variety too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by kayla12 (CLEARWATER, FL) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this game is boring there are like no mini games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Impressed

posted by Creecher09 (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I was so excited when I saw commercials for this game because I enjoyed playing the one they came out with but after playing it for only 1 day i'm not impressed with the game play. It seems like it's harder to win or even get points. I definitely like the first version better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

:(

posted by other100a (WAXHAW, NC) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

half the games dont work and or really hard and dumb, dont get it i only kept it for a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »