Rent NeverDead for PS3
view large frontback

NeverDead

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.5

434 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Some Heads Are Gonna Roll

posted by scottmcdaniel (CENTERVILLE, IN) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Neverdead is pretty good.a solid nights rental or a buy for twenty or so bucks.
all shooter fans need to play this game because it is just plain weirdly entertaining and strange.I only wish I was not blown to pieces and my head rolling trying to hook back up to my body so much,a couple levels of that would be fine ,but not the whole game.abilities can be upgraded weapons are okay.I found myself using the sword more than half of the time until my firing weapons got strong enough.they start out as bb gun strength pea shooters.kinda old school to be collecting tokens right out in the open all the time too but you strangely find yourself looking for them all.monsters are odd and vary enough.sometimes there is so much going on that you would think the game might crash but doesn't,you just get lost fighting the camera and wondering again where your body parts are during the boss fights.there are lots of different levels that keep you wanting to carry on the story which is whacked out and strange.all in all a must play.I could really see this getting a tighter sequel.just really oddly sort of good,in a good way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by chefred67 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i really enjoyed this it took a second for me to get used to the controls, but once you do you can start to enjoy what you are able to do. You do spend a lot of time trying to get your body back together, and that it's self can make the game dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by collin9199 (ORLANDO, FL) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not for everyone, but I liked it. It was not a perfect game, and it was nothing spectacular. There were some frustrating moments, but over all it was a decent game. What makes me give it a good score is that it is a shooter that felt unique. I love shooters, but they all feel the same, this one added a little something that made it different, and add that on top of it not being terrible it is worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

who writes the reveiws

posted by jokenhatchet (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

first thing i got say is the reveiw was total bs i played this game and it has some good playthough but there are a few things that are frustrating if you dont know what you are doing there are some control issues with trying to get yo head back on your body and some enemies blow you apart way to eazy is the main reason the game got poor reveiws but other that that it is fun there are some good skill content and has sum fun factor but if you looking to plat this game you probly wont be able to do so because their not enough ppl for the online trophies if you even find one person to play with but if you like hack and slash games this is worth a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NeverPlay

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Feb 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This game is simply no fun.

The characters and story are annoying and senseless.
The enemies have no explanation or thought to them.

I was hoping reviews would have come out before GF sent this to me, and I thought some of the reviews were a bit harsh, but, they were pretty accurate.

This game is simply a waste of time. There's so many other games on the market now, and they are all better than this. All of them. Except Eat Lead. That game is worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

so-so

posted by zigwiglig (PLAINFIELD, IL) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics were great and I can't complain about it, but the overall story seemed to lack on the entire telling portion. The game seemed to be very repetitive and seemed to just throw you into it. I didn't like how every time you got hit you were flung across the entire level and then had to find your body before being eaten alive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bizarre and funny.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

NeverDead is a very unique game in its own, very odd--with the ability of playing as a severed head rolling around on the ground--you may also find this game is very unique and fun. Very easy and arcade like... The title is straight-forward from the get-go. Easy to control; easy to play; easy to understand the concept of the game. Konami has made a, simply fun to play game that has a very different approach inside the game concept; to lose all of your limbs while fighting hordes of enemies and regenerate or reattach the limbs. You will also hear funny slanders about falling apart, throughout the game.
Playing as a third-person shooter... The game's genre comedial-horror reminded me of another funny approach with demons. The game titled "Shadows of the Damned". These two games have good similarity, and if you liked Shadows of the Damned you would enjoy this title, just as much.

You play as part of the Demon Hunter named Bryce Boltzman's tale.
Bryce Boltzman is a Demon Hunter of the present times, from 500 generations before... Cursed to being a half Demon, Bryce Boltzman can not die, he lives his life in search for the Demon that placed him inside the curse.

The game is very fun to play. The graphics are very state-of-the-art, with great particle engines, great detail, great animation... Greatly done. It is a good past time to just chop up demons with their melee-attack weapon, with the butterfly sword or you can just admire the well designed stages Konami presents you with or shoot up demons with the variety of weapons.
Konami gives you an ability to level up your character, so you dishout more damage, gain more XP, and/or are harder to fall apart. They also give you many puzzles and challenges so that the game doesn't get repetitive. They give you multiplayer challenges, as well, to test your skills against your friends.

Simply fun, past timer... If you want a different type of game check this one out. It is very clever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by Blacknd (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

worst game i played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a rolling head? really?

posted by fightclub1 (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game was a mess from the first level of play. horrible camera angles. poor tracking with the guns.unrealistic monsters.stupid banter between characters.and a rolling head that came unglued from your body at the most inoportune times. i never made it past the first level before i mailed it back and begged for the next game in my Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could of been better

posted by JETSPEEDO (TYLER, TX) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game was a bit of a let down. down side: your limbs detach to easy, you have to chase them down when they fly off (not that hard), you have to combat roll or evade whatever you want to call it just to attach the limb and a good 60% of the time it doesn't attach, then there's this little demon (the third one your introduced to) that just wants your head and most of the time he gets it, and when he gets your head you have one chance to escape and if you don't guess what you die (it doesn't say that but you do fail and have to start at a check point). up side: the game has a good concept, some sexual and witty comments which I find hilarious, and your partner is hot. That's pretty much it, hoped this helps, rent it if you have nothing else to rent, if you have patience, and want some trophies and/or achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wth

posted by bait21 (IOLA, KS) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

I just got the game now im going to wait even >:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NeverDead Review

posted by VampireJoe (PAW PAW, MI) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Konami, You suck at making shooters these days. I thought it would be a fun game to rent, my choice was wrong. Bad controls, bad gameplay and a bad partner and just a bad game to start with 2012. The game is not good at all, It's so bad it makes me want to cry. Don't even rent or buy, it's a waste of your time. I will give it an hontest 5 though for being a fun game and a nice try for an interesting shooter, but it's an ok game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Never Finished

posted by nibroc2112 (DULUTH, MN) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

I couldn't play this POS more than 15 minutes. Get touched by an enemy and you explode into pieces, never really getting a chance to even shoot that much...which might be for the best because the shooting mechanics are horrible. Interesting Consept that was Lazily produced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

don't waste your time

posted by aradia_ryuu (FORT STEWART, GA) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

the game plays slow and the controls are hard to get use to. storyline was ok but not exciting. and the boss battles were not exciting as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Never Dead Review

posted by senseidojo13 (NORTHGLENN, CO) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

By the looks of the title and picture it seemed cool.But when I put it in my ps3 and started to play for about 30 minutes or so it seemed to be just a waste of time.The game was just a broken pile of nonsense and confusion.Just like many other reviews the games characters are just a bundle of annoyence and enemies are plainly stupid and have no explanation to them.There are many better games on the market and never dead just died to many gamers around the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Literally Gave Me a Headache

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This game is extremely frustrating. A chore to play. I wouldn't mind the weak combat and annoying camera so much if this game weren't so repetitive. There are some fun parts that save the game from bring awful. IGN's review where they gave it a 3/10 may have been a little harsh as some gameplay elements are actually really well done. Using your body parts as a grenade and using them to solve puzzles for example. The visuals and sound are both good. Those good parts are far out weighted by the annoying, frustrating parts though. I definitely can't recommend a purchase of this game under any circumstances, but if you're a huge fan of third-person shooters give it a rental. I doubt you'll have the patiences to make it all the way through this game though.

The combat is really what bought this otherwise good game down for me. And in an action game, that's unforgivable. This game is the worst game I've played in 2012 so far. Ninja Gaiden 3 wasn't nearly this bad despite it getting the same score from IGN and I have yet to play RE:ORC. Its really a shame; I wanted to like this game because of the novelty of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NeverDead

posted by kaykaykay (BELEN, NM) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Lame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »