Rent Neopets Puzzle Adventure for Wii
view large frontback

Neopets Puzzle Adventure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
3.9

56 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not for everyone

posted by brandyWII (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game not for everyone... now days there are more little kids trying to do what the big kids are doing and if you want to sell more of those games,,,,,,,,,,like me ..,,,, i have a four (4) year old daughter and she cant play this game...she can play tennis bowling golf..... but not this one....... by the way she is an easy learner at the age 4. so i know what i was wanting to expect. and did not get it from this game....

Thank you,
Brandy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring but worth renting for item codes

posted by Amii (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Neopets Puzzle Adventure is basically the same Othello game over and over again and once you figure out a good basic strategy it's not very challenging so things get boring quickly. There are a lot of different items to buy and use to improve your chances of winning the Othello rounds but the free petpet the game gives you is the most useful one and only one of the weapons is really worth pursuing so despite lots of choices none of them are very important. The game offers the chance to make special rare foods to help you but I never needed any because you know, Othello, pretty much the same every time so it never seemed worth the trial and error involved in figuring out the recipes. While I didn't enjoy the game I did enjoy the rare item codes. You get ten of them throughout the course of the adventure and neopets gives you bonus items for starting the game and finishing it. The only reason to play this game in my opinion is if you are a dedicated neopets player and want the item codes and since you can only get one set of codes per console this game is definitely a rent only game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, challenging, and irriating!

posted by Faylina (ATLANTIC, IA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is pretty good, I gave it a 9, however; it gets really boring after the first half hour. My step son found the whole game interesting, but I thought my brain was melting. I finished the game for the exclusive codes it gives you for the neopets website. If you don't use neopets already, this game is probably a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Neopets": Fit for rental

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Is it Reversi or Othello? Doesn't really matter.
Neopets: Puzzle Adventure is about you playing one of those two games over and over again.
In the story mode, you pick a cute character and go off on an adventure. Along the way, you'll have to beat the bad guys by beating them in Reversi - or is it Othello? Never mind.
As the story progresses, you pick up Neopoints to improve your stats, and in turn earn more points by properly placing your tokens.
You also pick up one cuddly fox creature and several items to help you beat the bad guys.
The game puts some new twists and tricks into the game of Reversi ... Othello ... whatever. Special squares, blocked off areas, and different sized boards make each battle slightly different from the rest. This game can be real fun of you play it against a friend.
But the first thing you get - the fox like creature - makes the game a little too easy. Use that fox the right way, and you will win no matter who the AI plays. Expert players will be turned off by the ease of this game. This will also dampen the fun of the multi player aspect of the game; whoever goes first will likely win the game.
There are other problems with Neopets Puzzle Adventures; scanning through the area for the next location to go to is a jarring and annoying experience, people who don't like Reversi/Othello will find nothing to like about this game and the text only cut scenes can be a real bore.
Still, Neopets Puzzle Adventures has some good ideas and it's very cute. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stick with the Nintendo DS version, if any.

posted by Kyllinge (CROYDON, PA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

The Wii version just wasn't worth the effort to play, even just for the codes. There's a lot more to the game than the DS port. More petepets, which you have to capture and train. Equipment to swap in and out and more to add onto the base storyline. I played this on a LCD TV and the writing was blurred and almost unreadable.
The game works best on the DS, or even the PC, where you don't have to play around with the remote to target locations to click on.
The game in itself is a glorified Othello game where you earn 10 prize codes for the Neopets website. Best just to rent a DS copy and use any codes on it for the website, since the codes are mainly generated by the system the game is plugged into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »