Rent Need for Speed Undercover for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed Undercover

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, DS, Wii, PSP Games

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

7159 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Undercover

posted by Monty32105 (NORWOOD, GA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NFS Undercover is a really cool game, the cars are realistic, though I must say very over priced. The story line is really cool.The citys or areas are ineresting, first area alot of streets and tall buildings, second area Sunset Hills is your flat out desert kind of terrian, third area is really cool, its Docks are very helpfull when you have cops on your tail.An overall rating of 7 on 1 to 10.Between racing and high speed chases This game is a good adition to the NFS Series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun and Easy

posted by drrob72 (DENTON, TX) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

68 out of 85 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is game is both fun and easy. Everything the critics pointed out as a downside (races are well established and blocked off so you dont free roam when racing, and you can immediately pick races from the menu instead of driving to them) is actually what makes the game fun for casual racers. Midnight club is great but it is very hard and frustrating. You spend so much time driving to races and when racing one wrong turn down the wrong street and pretty much the race is over and time to restart. Fortunately that is not the case with Undercover. If you just like to race (and want traffic and cops) and dont want to memorize the map and know every turn by heart this game is for you. The cars and visuals look better than any previous need for speed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Missing some aspects

posted by Compton (FRESNO, CA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Well, a big lift up from tha big letdown NFS PROSTREET thats a good thing. they bring bak alot of the things that tha nfs fans miss thats a good thing. tha gameplay is great, good selection of cars, body parts also performance. The graphics are great but when you enter the dark alleys nd shadows parts of the game all you see is your car driving idk were ever. theres alot in this game good chases but the cops are to fast come on i was delivering a Bugatti and the K-9s outran me that is very surreal. Overall excellent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Is An Amazing Game

posted by LoneReaper (MARICOPA, AZ) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game brings back some of the good qualities of the most wanted and the carbon need for speeds. This game has many fast and exciting cars that suit the games story. I have always wanted to see the cars like the skyline and many others that would make the game more exciting. I would really recommend this game to all of the people that like racing games. This game is really fun and exciting and considering the changes they made to the persuit chases, races and cars it makes it really fun to play. If you want to see a cars list before playing that would be ok because all the new cars that were put into the game really make it fun. But other than that i would really recommend this game to all racing/ persuit gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the previous games.

posted by LordBelak (SUMTER, SC) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game has good graphics, but occasionally the game turns all black for a few seconds after using NOS. The game has a lot more activities than the previous game like, Highway Battles, Escape the Cops, Outrun, and Jobs. The game has a very good selection of cars to choose from. I found the game fun but their are a few things I don't like. First is that in the begging you are just given a car. Its not like NFS: Carbon where you choose your type of car, you just are given a pretty bad car. Also the handling is really bad on the first car but it is better on the rest. Second is that you can't drive to the many races you have to choose them from your GPS or push down on the D-pad to go to the closest race.The third thing is that there are a lot of stupid and pointless cut scenes. For example: the cut scene comes up and you boss says "I'm Watching you" then its over and you already knew from the important cut scenes she's watching you. All in all the game is very good and i recommend you give it a try, and just for the people that thinks this game is worse than Midnight Club you are stupid. Midnight club has awful graphics and steering, what's the point of playing a racing game with bad steering and horrible graphics.There isn't one.
I fully recommend Need For Speed: Undercover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

After 2 hrs, game is VERY hard, don't be fooled.

posted by Quintox (GREER, SC) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I recently read the IGN review of this game, which pretty much hits the nail on the head. Let me give you a quick rundown.

Story is awful, doesn't make sense, and is lame. The cut scenes/acting literally serves no importance. "Looks like we need to keep on with the mission. We will nail them soon" pretty much is every scene. There is absolutely no reason to explore the open world. Want to get to a race? Oh, just push down on the dpad and you're there. You can literally complete the whole game by racing, pushing down on dpad to go to next race, race again, push down on dpad again to next race, etc.

Oh, and the difficulty. IGN obviously didn't play the whole game, because it is true the first 2 hours are easy, but then the difficulty skyrockets to absurdity. The AI is perfect, never misses a corner, and even when they do, they'll catch up in no time. Also, your car seems to weigh nothing, while the AI are driving bulldozers. I restarted races more times than I can count.

The game's only highlight is the sense of speed. That's it. Customization is laughable, story is nonexistent, difficulty is ridiculous, and game is just plain awful. Do yourself a favor and play Midnight Club LA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Remake of Most Wanted

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

20 out of 33 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I have played nearly every Need for Speed game, so ive seen some really good Need for Speed's and some not so good ones. And if you have played Most Wanted then you pretty much already know what this game is gonna be like. Its also pretty similar to Carbon besides that this one is not all nighttime playing. And this one is much appreciated from the dissapointment of ProStreet. Which was a weird take of Need for Speed since there wasnt much of anything, including no cops. One thing that was really cool about online for this game was a mode called Cops and Robers which is highly addictive. Also a bit thing i noticed in the story mode is what they said this game would be like, which is its almost like a movie. The graphics for one are like movie graphics, which you should expect. And the camera views and the cutscenes are like a movie. Overall you will pretty much expect what will happen. Everything is almost similar, but i think it is a great game and a sure bet for a Need for Speed fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weakest of the NFS series

posted by Firewalker (DIXON, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

22 out of 37 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I have never been so frustrated by any other of the Need For Speed modern series. I have played Underground through Carbon and I absolutely loved those games, but this Title is painful to play. I'm not going to even bash the graphics lags since so many others have done it. My main problems with the game are the Rubberband AI and Car Selling system. The Rubberband AI is awful in the game, I should not be punished because I'm good at this game. The fact that I can beat a races preset DOMINATION TIME and still place 3rd really speaks out against this. The AI turns every race into a destruction derby and will pound you into the wall with any opportunity you give it. My biggest complaint with the game is the fact that you can't sell cars that you own. I have 4 cars sitting in my garage at the time I packed the game back in the envelope to mail back that I CAN'T SELL. This is BS personally. Any car that you win or are given in the store challenges are yours and can be driven but never sold. That is unacceptable. Don't give me cars that I don't want to use and then not let me sell them to get the cars I want better. The only cars you can sell are the ones that you buy and your starting car.
I was really looking forward to this game after the disappointment with ProStreet, and it really hurts when you end up taking the disc out of your system and angrily placing it in the return envelope to send back. I'm really glad I didn't buy this game and that GameFly is here to let me play the games I want to try without spending $60 on a POS like this.

THANK YOU GAMEFLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another frustrating need for speed

posted by Syndrome (TEMPE, AZ) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This installment of need for speed is a pretty average NFS. Its got all the problems of any of the games.

Pros:
-Its got racing (it is NFS after all)
-pretty good graphics (well it is xbox 360)
-decent customization (which can now be found in any car game)
-they have a bugatti veyron
Cons:
-Everything else pretty much
-The races start out fun, but after a while, all main missions seem to degrade into a calvin ball game (Where random rules are just thrown out there halfway through a mission)
-Even in the veyron, Cops seem to be able to easily catch up (to the fastest car on earth)
-If you thought there was alot of cops in most wanted, multiply that by about 5
-what to do next? doesnt matter, there is no cohesive flow to the game whatsoever.
-the menus can access anything, making traditional access convoluted.
-only 4 tiers of cars, and extremely sparse selection
-no car reset button (which other NFS's have used with great success)
-HORRIFYING acting
-Annoying voices telling you "you wont make it" when youve got a quarter mile left and a minute on the clock (note: turn speech of in options menu)
-Replaying races allows you to see the disturbingly bad programming (although the cars are the same, the computer seems to vary heavily in the speeds it wishes to use on identical parts of identical courses, in other words, sometimes its really easy, sometimes its impossibly hard, its all in the luck)
-Traffic weighs a million tons to you, light as a feather to your opponents who smash through and recorrect quickly, while you nearly have to restart your car
-minimap is misleading and causes you to pray its correct in its leading you through a short cut (which it may or may not be)
-and a BIG one, game doesnt WORK on alot of systems without downloading it to the hard drive, if you have FREEZING issues, copy the game to the HD.

Altogether, rent it if you LOVE car games, but no matter how much you like em, you probably want to stay away from underground.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHY EA!!?? WHY!!???

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the NFS series since the first release back in 1994 up until most wanted,after that installment that was it for me,the series was officially ruined.Fast forward to now and I thought that that the series had been improved for undercover.Boy was I fooled!!.The game is really trying to emulate the movie FAST and Furious which was a horrible idea being that everyone has been there and seen that in the underground series,why keep re-hashing on the same concept?The story is extremely generic and goes pretty much no where,very poor acting during cut scenes.Graphically the game looks like something made for the PS2 with everything being reflective,even the streets when they are dry are reflective.No matter what time it says it is in the game the sun is always setting which makes it blind you constantly and shadows sometimes so dark you can't see where you are driving.The in game music cannot be changed in any way so you're forced to hear the same songs constantly.If you like doing the same thing time,and time again this game is for you.I tried so hard to like this game but I just could'nt.EA would still be on top had they kept the series original as they did in the past.Unfortunately......t- his game will still sell copies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun made simple

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave undercover a 9 because it's an easy game to learn plus it's a lot of fun. With a push of a button your at the next event, so there is no need to drive to find the next mission. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

step up

posted by Bloodsplat (SHELBY, NC) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WOW!!!!!!!!!!! what a step up from carbon and pro street. this game is fantastic! If you are in to fun action packed racing games this is a must have. this game brings back some of the stuff from carbon and most wanted it is such a great game i had to buy it. I hope this review helps and post back if u have any questions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is NOT easy

posted by KTRiPP (AIEA, HI) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea why everyone is saying this game is SOOOOO easy. The beginning of it really starts off easy. It's laughable. But about half way through the game, ALL the other cars are so fast.... it's not even funny. There's no way to make your car that much faster since the upgrades have nothing to do with how much money you have, rather, you have to UNLOCK the upgrades. Which is frustrating since the other cars are so much better than yours you'll find yourself doing the same races over and over and over until 1 car messes up and you have to do everything perfect from there on.

BTW, NOS is pointless in this game. When you use NOS, the other cars use it at the same time or just increase speed magically anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Need For Speed game ever!

posted by Alexander1 (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome! You get to rome in this giant city and do jobs and race street gangs and everything. There's a lot of short cuts too. They also have new cars in the game. The cops are harder too. Overall Perfect driving game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA - Need for Speed Undercover

posted by leejgray (WHITEFISH, MT) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Shame on EA for doing a dumb log in requirment prior to playing Multi P online with this game. Up until now Playing XBOX 360 was User/password sign in free. But now with EA Under cover you need a EA user name and password to sign into the EA Servers to play the game online. For this reason alone, I would not recommend this game. What a pain in the A!
Boooooo... on EA for trying to do this to the gaming community. Just think, if every gaming company did this to capture your e-mail for future marketing we would have 50 or more user names and passwods just to game on line...

EA needs to do a recall an stop this junk/ future marketing practice. Besides Midnight Run Los Angles is a far superior game!!!
Heads up gamers. Lets keep the log to multi P info with user name and password out of our gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantasitic game

posted by Pretender (CAMP HILL, PA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was Great! I think the storyline could have been a little better but still very fun. You get to start out driving great cars right from the start. The graphics are great and the new race types are fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

need for speed undercover

posted by madfarmer (MILNOR, ND) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

is this a 5 year old's game or what. took me three days to beat it, very disapointing.graphics lack depth. no getting your car out of impound,come on. they put the spike strips behind the cop cars after taking 45 cops out to get arested cause they hid the strips weak. from start to finish the game is just weak and lacks alot. wish i woulda rented the game before buying and wasting $s, now reading the reviews. any one interested in buying the game cheap!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

needs some work ...

posted by xSatanx (HAMTRAMCK, MI) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After EA's recent run of quality, it came as quite a shock that Undercover simply doesn't feel ready. The in-game performance is frankly terrible and one of the main event types is deeply flawed. We can't deny that there's still fun to be had here, especially in the highway battles (and with some of the dialogue), but we simply can't recommend a game that performs so poorly that it's at times unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Midnight Club LA is so much better!

posted by Jonesey57 (PLAINVILLE, MA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I was expecting a high octane racong game like Mostwanted and Midnight club LA. However, what i got was a very slowpaced game that has terrible graphics. Prostreet wasn't good either but i was expecting this to be there come back game but it was far from it. Midnight Club LA is much more fun activities in it. NFS Undercover belongs in an arcade and pay 50 cents to play it. Trust me, take this out of your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shocked !!

posted by FatherTime (HARTFORD, ME) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

After much anticipation about this game i was thoroughly shocked at how much the game is ruined. The designers of this NFS should hold their heads in shame. After a bomb like Pro Street i expected them to bounce. Hello, good name, bad idea of combining all the NFS into one game !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need For Speed UnderCover

posted by forzajunki (TEMPLE, GA) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Horrible...horrible graphics, horrible driving characteristics. Okay plot. Played it for 1 hour and sent it back. A complete waste of time in my opinion. Nothing like the quality of any of the other need for speed games. Unbelievably disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by tchase23 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a great game. Definitely liked going undercover while racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but repetative

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

Game was fun to play but after a few times of barely brushing against a guard rail and you spin out, or computer cars swerving to hit you on purpose it was enough for me. If you like a racing style game it is pretty realistic in those departments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need for Speed: Undercover Review

posted by spiderpee2 (MARSTONS MILLS, MA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

the game is terrible i do not recommend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by tmgjal (SEATAC, WA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I like NFS undercover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse