Rent Need for Speed Undercover for PS2
view large frontback

Need for Speed Undercover

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

793 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like NFS Most Wanted, you'll love this one!

posted by Laniac (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

NFS Undercover picks up where Most Wanted left off, most notably where Most Wanted lacked the most. You play an undercover cop in Tri Cities attempting to take the underground street racing scene down from the inside. With the help of a high ranking agent, you will infiltrate multiple racing rings and earn their trust through winning events and accumulating bounty.

The driving engine in Undercover has been completely revamped, and it shows with mind-blowing visuals and excellent feel. The arcade-style driving dynamics are still there, but the feel of pavement versus cobblestone versus grass/dirt is quite measurable.

Also, the list of available cars to drive has almost doubled in Undercover, with classic American muscle cars thrown into the mix. It's nice to fly down the street at 170 mph in a 1968 Dodge Charger R/T, with the supercharged Hemi growling the whole way. EA's Black Box division did a great job of choosing cars that would appeal to all car lovers, with new hatchbacks, muscle cars, exotics, and turbocharged japanese models to choose from.

The actual race modes have gotten a face lift in Undercover as well. In addition to classics such as Circuit, Sprint, Tollbooth, and Bounty events, there are new races like Outrun, Timed Circuit, Highway Race, and Takedown. Sadly, Drag has been eliminated, taking away a unique and fun aspect of the NFS franchise. But in a quirky twist, EA added Takedown, which allows you to use your power of authority as a cop to protect and serve and wreck other street racers' cars within a given time limit. While fun, it can be quite frustrating, with little reward in the end.

NFS Undercover is an overall great game, with an amazing car list, dynamic driving engine, and interesting story. The live-action cutscenes aren't the most well-acted drama ever, but they do create a sense of purpose for the gamer. Driving missions are peppered into the storyline to create a sense of danger that allows this game to be worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A well designed game with an excelent storyboard

posted by gamerman43 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I would say that this is probably the best Need For Speed game of them all. This game has a lot of really nice cars such as the 2008 Mustang Gt, Mazda Speed 3, Dodge Charger(old and new), and many more. This game also has the best graphics that many people have ever seen. The only "inappropriate" content would be on the loading screens are pictures of girls wearing 25 percent of their clothes while "modeling".I would recommend this game for people 13 and up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need for speed undercover

posted by iceman59 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game yes it has sum hiccups but in all it's a fun game to play i know it's not perfect .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Disappointment

posted by BadAsMe (Purdon, TX) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I was very excited when I saw that NFS had a new game coming out. And I was very happy to find that it was affordable. My Excitement faded quickly. This game felt like once again they were in too much of a hurry to get a game on the shelf. Please EA Take your time next time

When in free roam you may find yourself getting confused, if you are a NFS fan (which I definitely am). It will feel familiar, but out of place. This is because the map is a fun-house-mirror image of the NFS Most Wanted map. The three separate regions are connected by Highways that weren't in the original map, and are attached in odd places.

Two thirds of the map are warped reversed images of the original. Rosewood and Downtown Rock Port became Sunset Hills and Palm Harbor. And Port Crescent is almost a carbon copy (no pun intended) of Camden Beach. There are, of course, several pieces missing, IE the Golf Course. And, several pieces re-arranged, Like the College campus.

In My Opinion, They should have either used the old map completely, or not at all.

Unfortunately, the map is only one of the first few things you will notice. The Story Line is weak at best, at times confusing, and doesn't always make sense. In the opening cut scene where you meet Maggie Q, is she talking to you, or the suit? Are you the suit? (no, you aren't) And logically speaking there are times, when it would be impossible to remain undercover after performing some of the tasks you are required to do (takedowns for those that have played it)

The controls (on the PS2) are just as twisted as the map. Check the controls before starting the game. You cannot adjust them at all, by the way (once again PS2) You Also cannot toggle the Event Camera, which is a major pain while in a race, or in a pursuit. More than once I have found myself nosed into a wall, during a race, Or a mere few inches from a spike strip while in a pursuit.

Absolutely no Free Cars
Cool Downs are in really odd places
Invisible wall extensions, and curbs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yeah....NO!!!

posted by Tootle05 (SAVANNAH, GA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I would rather slam my head into a door, over and over and over.
I Love the Need For Speed Series, but the only fun thing in this game is running from the cops and running up a huge bill for the city to pay....thats about it.

FAIL.

Need For Speed Pro Street came out BEFORE this game and has BETTER GRAPHICS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i

posted by dr3vil (RICHMOND HILL, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game wack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA Continues to Go Downhill...

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well, here we are... another 'Need For Speed' game. I used to look so forward to these. Since the weakness of 'Most Wanted' I havent been as ecstatic about these. This is one is a huge step down. This one's programmers make Forrest Gump look smart!

---

The Downsides:

1. No more live-action cutscenes. Its computer animation. Though the animation is better than GTA, I really liked the live-action ones from the last two.

2. No traffic when I am racing. Its not street-racing with no traffic!

3. Very few (and I mean very very very few) good vinyls to put on the the car. (I miss those splash vinyls from 'Underground 2')

4. The new controls are awful. I liked using the right analog stick as the gas/brake. It was easier on my thumbs.

5. Boring. I'm going back to U2 now.

---

The Upsides:

1. Beautiful graphics.

2. Beautiful computer animation (though I prefer the live-action).

---

E.A. .... Wake up !!!!
Stop being so lazy and go back to your old N.F.S. games for reference!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game was fairly good but had its kinks...

posted by GeneralChris18 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

To start off I appolagize for any spelling errors I make, try to figure out what Im meaning. When you first start off Im not sure if its just deppending on what car you pick but the game forces you to drift and drifting in this game is kinda hard, you can upgrade the tires to not drift hardly as much but once you unlock that last available cars you cant upgrade those. The story is not well done, its good but its just told badly. Two of the race modes are confusing, highway duel (Where you have to race on a set track and you and a npc has to outrun each other) and I cant remember the name of it but its where the npc follows you and you try to get away from them, you can drive where where ever you want but in both it has catch up on, so you have to take a quick turn and make the npc get stuck or go the wrong way (Which is hard but possible) but once your almost out of time thats when catch up is turned off. In some of them there was 8 mins to lose them. The choice of cars were pretty good, sounded and look awesome. The level of customization was up there, you could shape your vinyls anyway you wanted to. The game is kinda short and fairly easy, I beat it in about 14 hours. The grafics are okay, were kinda low but still looked good. All in all.. its a okay game, but if you can look past the bad story telling, low grafics and messed up drifting its a good game, and I recemend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You've got to be kidding me here.

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

You can't change the controls. There's only 15 EA Trax, and none of them are remotely listenable. As once again Ea assaults our ears with techno remixes of already bad songs. From people you've never heard of unless you spend 90% of your time raving. The controls they give you are horrible. Seriously, the X is acceleration, fine. But then triangle is handbrake. Making a handbrake turn, which you need to do for almost every sharp corner unless you want two people to overtake you, near impossable. The graphics are idiotic. The gameplay is second generation. The cop chases, which should be what redeems this game, are unforgivably boring. And the live-acting is original Pc game laughable. Like soap-operas. Without acting ability. And all of this comes down to an unplayable, unforgivable peice of useless plastic. Honestly, the game would be more fun popping it out of the system, taking it outside, and using it to play frisbee with your dog. AVOID THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by XShotzieX (WORCESTER, MA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

ive been playing this for a few days now since i got it and im loving it
deffinetally a good imput into the NFS series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game i've ever played

posted by ultimateA (LILBURN, GA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

the phisics are great, the cars are fast, the race is on, and I've got 10lbs of nitros. this is one of the best games of 2008-2009. the handeling mimics the cars themselves, you can blow cops away, you can even hit speeds up to 220 MPH this is astounding the customisation is great right down to the pen marks. a lot of the sourroundings are destructable. the worst part of the game is that most of the races are the same if you think about it, hold down pedal at start, hit nitros, get to the finish line, collect money. then there is the upgrade of the performance is good until you have upgraded everything to pro then you have tobuy a new car. but even with those shortcomings this is still a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BBBBBBBBBBBBBAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!

posted by redvsblue (Rexville, NY) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

i am a huge nfs fan ecspecially underground 2 this one wouldnt even load the career!!!!!!!!!

pros.the cars

cons graphics,gameplay,everything else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Skip This One.

posted by JohnnyBoy (RENO, NV) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

NFS is one of the better graphics game out there. They have always had beautiful scenery for the experience. Yet, what they excell in is destroyed by the bad things in the game play. About the only time that EA, in NFS got the police right was with Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit 2, for the Gamecube. Starting with NFS: Carbon, the police action/AI became very bad. And now, it has fully degenerated. I guess there is no way to inform EA that "pursuit breakers" means that the pursuit is broken. It does not mean that the cops orbit around your location waitng for you to move, or that they "beam-in" down the road in front of you to pick up the pursuit again. Also, loading the map with thirty to fifty police cars during a chase is not fun. The moron at EA who thought so should be horse-whipped. However, this game typifies the slide of EA, stunningly beautiful gaphics that are ruined by atrocious game play. You want a awesome racing sim? Stick with "Gran Turismo" and forget you ever heard about Need For Speed.
Oh-yeah, and one more thing EA, Not all of us are Neanderhals who just jump at the chance to do infinite drag races. . . AGAINST TRAFFIC!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by floopes (GALAX, VA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

To start off this game is ok just not very fantastic. I didnt get into this game as much as i thought i would. Just try it, you may like it but its not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i give it a 5

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

This game was a major dissapointment.The graficks are bad.The controls stink. It just doesnt feel right playing it.I only gave it a 5 cuz the cop chases are HALARIUS!!! THE COPS ARE STUPID!AND THRES like 20 of em at heat level 1!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need for other interests

posted by jmitch (MADISON, IN) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I have been a loooong time fan of the need for speed franchise. I especially fell in love when i played nee3d for speed underground. I thought "wow, this is amazing". Then came need for speed undercover. The story felt too much like the fast and the furious to start with. Every cut scene just seemed to relive that movie to me. Then the game play was just a repeat of boredom. They just didn't seem to build up anything new to add with the new title. Hopefully the next one will be more creative, and have its own story, and not one borrowed from somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Need for Speed Undercover

posted by crijam13 (SWEET HOME, OR) May 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

did not like that ever car did not react well to steering ,game lacked imagination

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

need for speed undercover

posted by djshotime7 (UNIONTOWN, PA) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

This was a good game i just think thay should make a diffrent story line it reminded me of blacklist

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the undercover story

posted by viper0619 (ASHTABULA, OH) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game is pretty good but what I didn't like about it is that the dragracing and the drift racing was taken out I'd like to know why that is also the graphics were a bit dark it was hard to see on coming trafic however the gameplay was great and I loved the fact that this has the new chevy camero in it it was a lot of fun to drive and put parts on it I gave it an 8 for the game play and storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The good? the bad! the not drawn in

posted by Delvlos (STURGIS, MI) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

Ill try to make this short. At first i was excited about it. Like others that faded. Loaded the game, saw the cars running by and i thought for a second it was a Ps1 game. I thought, well, it dont matter to much, game should still be good.

WRONG.

Game itself isnt bad, but i was racing in one place, and the area in front of me was NEVER drawn in. The ground became the color of the sky, i raced into it and stopped. Then game paused, drew in the area. and i was able to start racing again from a dead stop.

Lucky i had a good lead and was able to still win race.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Good Game, But...

posted by sstone1972 (RICHWOOD, OH) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Well. Here I am, finally getting to play NFS: Undercover. Been waiting a while to get to play this game, and while the game is fun, it's not as good as other NFS games.

The Graphics: On a scale of 1 to 10, I have to give this game a 6. The shading is no where near the quality I expect from a NFS game. That was the appeal, to me, of NFS: Most Wanted. The cars looked real. Here, they look like cartoons.

Storyline: It's funny, but I expected more of a storyline in this game, but, except for some cut scenes, there really isn't one. From 1 to 10, I give the storyline a 5, just because the cut scenes are entertaining, when we see them.

Races: Here's where the fun really begins. They have added several new races to the game that are pretty fun.
Outrun: A one on one race where you have to basically escape from another racer. If you can evade the cops, then you can easily evade another racer.
Circuit Timed Race: You have to take first place and hold it until the time runs out. Easier said than done.
There are others, but I'm running short on time, and want to play the game some more.

Overall, I gave the game a 6. Just remember that this is the PS2 version of the game. Don't know about the PS3 version, as I don't have a PS3 yet.
As soon as I get one, this will be the first game I rent, just to see the differences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why is carmen such a bad driver? why are they all?

posted by mugensposs (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

ok, aside from the lack of normally-considered (a.k.a.: reasonable) instructions, annoying characters who lack the ability to behave like sober humans even in the midst of a mission, and no flexibility on how and when you get to go back to the safe house to upgrade before bigger challenges, the worst thing about this game is the forced saving times in autosave, which usually is a blessing for the average gamer. Turn it off, or you run a risk! They can begin at any moment after a mission is completed (or failed), regardless of when or when you don't want them to do so...just lost my profile after 10 hours of play because power cut off for a moment and corrupted my file. and what's the deal with the vinyls taking so long? this was a valiant effort, but ultimately, more frustrating than it's worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game should have NEVER been made!

posted by herbvore20 (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I can sum up my impression of it in 2 words: it sucks! I felt more like I was playing a rejected sequel to Hot Pursuit II than something that was presumably created AFTER the Underground series and Carbon. Even Most Wanted is infinitely better than this drivel. And as if the graphics quality and gameplay engine weren't abysmal enough, the idiots that mad this didn't give you ANY control over the default control settings, meaning that you CANNOT use the right stick for acceleration or braking, or for the speedbreaker. Furthermore, shifting is fixed on L1 and R1, with nitrous being fixed on R2 and handbrake fixed on L2. Basically this game is unplayable for me and a complete waste of time, much less money. If you want to actually enjoy being chased by cops, rent Carbon instead, or at least Most Wanted. Trust me, you'll be glad you did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most wanted - Drifting +Cool cop chase multiplayer

posted by ray830 (Brooklyn, NY) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I was left just a little disappointed by the last Need for Speed (Carbon), but this game even tho its the fast and the furious (Not so much as Carbon) Its still a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

need for speed undercover let me down

posted by ransomdc (CANOGA PARK, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

when i saw this games commercial on t.v. i was so excited to play, but when i recieved it i was totally let down. in my opinion this game is exactly like most wanted with a paint job. besides the fact that they gave it more of a story line then the other ones everything about it was just like most wanted. if your looking for something that is different, i suggest you rent forza 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse