Rent Need for Speed The Run for Wii
view large frontback

Need for Speed The Run

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, 3DS, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

344 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Gamefly Needs to Stop Using IGN False Reviews.

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Dec 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's get one fact straight before you go any further. Do not ignore what the other real reviews say. Do ignore every single review given by IGN. They are anti-Nintendo (and that kind of bias isn't needed in the gaming world) and they also lie about what to expect from Wii games to further their own initiative. To put it "point-blank" I have read 6 negative Skyward Sword reviews (and that game is EPIC and better than ANY other game I have ever laid hand on for more reasons than can be counted in this review) and I have read nothing negative from them about this game. They give no indication that this or the other NFS games will be different than the other consoles and they claimed MW3 was going to be very bad and different which it was not at all (except in lacking the high definition part which doesn't even mean "bad" graphics, just fewer pixels). IGN is not to be trusted.

Moving on, this is by far NOT the worst Need For Speed, although I'd put it just above the original 1994 release of Hot Pursuit, and just under Nitro. This is far better than the newer release of Hot Pursuit that EA gave us and considering this was created by the Black Box division (creators of Undercover) EA could have given us A LOT better for the Wii.

What has been given is lack-luster arcade machine graphics, no cut-screens (none of the "get out and run" the other consoles get though we all know the Wii is capable of MUCH more than all of this, EA seems intent to destroy Nintendo), annoyingly non-existent physics ("hero-stunts"? Really?), decent music for a 90's or 80's game, and an "upgrade system" that entails placing one of the maybe 2 options for body kits on the car and one of maybe 6 colors the car was released in. What this is, is the original Hot Pursuit without the ability to choose cars in the main mode.

It isn't all bad, this game does have a somewhat enjoyable OFFLINE multi-player mode in a pinch and the "arcade" feel does have it's place, but I am very disappo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NFS The Game Thats Nothing Like Whats Advertised!

posted by thebeast96 (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now this is not a bad game, its ok if you are a NFS fan, but once again us Wii users get shorted and get a game thats nothing like whats advertised and not told that it is any different.
I feel bad for the ones that bought it, I almost bought Hot Pursuit last year and i'm glad I rented it instead, I sent it back the next day.
The thing I like about this game is that if is almost like a cut-down version of the Burnout games I used to play on PS2, you build turbo the same way and even can "Takedown" your rivals and cop cars.
The physics are pretty good too, your not invincible, but it goes by a damage meter and if that meter is at the bottom, then even if you barly tap a car or wall you crash. I like the direction NFS is going, I am just tired of getting shorted.
Looking forward to what next year will bring, until then Rent,Beat, and Send back and then Buy NFS Undercover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Driver vs Speed

posted by mamasledge (HARWOOD, MD) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Received it Tuesday.....going back now. My kids beat it in one day.....DRIVER SAN DIEGO is way way better....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game that didnt work

posted by ducecinco (MIAMI, FL) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Need For Speed The Run That Your Companyy Sent On January 28 ,2013. Doesnt Work At All . So I Sent It Back Todayy ,Tuesday . So You Can Look At It Examine And Let me Know What Whats going on and why the game isnt working . ThankYou

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome, just awesome

posted by poopsackles (CHALFONT, PA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

my brothers recently bought the game from gamefly and beat it within the first 3 days. although it went by quickly, there are a bunch of challenges to play and a pretty good split screen mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Speeding is fun

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and liked every minute. This game has a good story line throughout. I like the cut scenes that are setup like reading a comic book. The driving controls are easy to use driving with the nunchuk and the b button b your gas. The game is tough at times but not so tough that you get frustrated and want to quite playing. There is also alot of different challenges including straight races to eduling the cops and taking out enemies. I like the differnet locations featured in the game such as racing in california to the snow covered mountains of denver and other landmarks. I would highly recommend this game to need for speed and racing game fans alike. I look forward to many more fun games in the need for speed series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by unit34 (OSCODA, MI) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I have bettter looking games on my Dreamcast and iphone! Looks are not everthing and this game just sucks all around. If I could give it a zero I would!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than skyward sword

posted by mightyegle42 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Really great game and story. only bad part is no running

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

need for speed the run

posted by juselise (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game and all the need for speed games are way better on ps3 if you have one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Gameplay, Customization Lacking.

posted by ehauser (GREENBRIER, TN) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I never thought I would like using the Gamecube controller to steer versus the motion sensor, but actually it almost seemed easier to control. The racing and tracks were fun and the matrix like crashes were pretty cool and reminiscent of some of the early NFS games.

The cartoon storyline was a little annoying to me, luckily I skipped using the B button. Also the heroic moves were a little cheesy and could have been better.

Also, would have liked to customize the vehicles more like in the previous versions, only paint, spoiler, body kit, wheels, no engine upgrades, etc.

Overall, a nice edition to the NFS series...didn't get to finish all of the challenges, but could be a game I would purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT fun

posted by VINCENTRENEE (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Well my son was so happy to play this game but he bet the carrer in 1 day and he said it was not like the previews he watched on Youtube and t.v. this game is a wast of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i send the game

posted by 13jimenezmarcos (GIDDINGS, TX) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

i send the game already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i got this 2 days ago

posted by alwd1 (GRANDVIEW, MO) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

i got this game 2 days ago. I almost finished the game on wednesday.(today) no levels left.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game sucks !!

posted by guscreek (HARTINGTON, NE) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

Need for Speed: The Run did not live up to my expectations. The cut-scenes feel and look like a children's version of the Spider Man comic books. It's like they got the cast of Resident Evil to do the voice acting. The game play is decent, but it gets frustrating very fast, I got stuck on the fifth level and tried to beat it for 2 hours straight because cops and racers swarm you and you can't see a thing. I can't believe EA made this bad game. I was expecting better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not to bad of a game could be better

posted by moremetallica (MEDFORD, OR) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I was looking for a great game and I got a Good one with this one.
The graphics are ok. Nintendo isn’t known for its graphics anyways. But I would play an 8bit game for hours if it was fun.

I am really glad they did away with the tilt control. Nun chuck is way more accurate. I just wish they would give us an option of which one you want to use. My wife and kids like the steering wheel.

I beat the story mode in 3 ½ hours. I did not follow the story because I didn’t care I’m in it for the racing.

The game is way more fun as a multiplayer. Unfortunately unless you play through the story mode and play through the challenges you only get 1 or 2 cars to race in multiplayer.

And I noticed that when you are losing the cars ahead of you seem to slow down so you can catch up. For this reason I have gotten 1st place in every race.

I like how the game goes in to slow motion and does a 180 camera flip but when it comes out of it you better hope you are on a straight or you will hit the wall.

I love how you can choose how you want to split the screen.

And throughout the game you earn cash. But there is nothing to buy in the game as far as I can tell. But it did not come with a manual and Game Fly doesn’t have one on the sight.

And haven’t people figured out that PS3 Xbox and Wii games may have the same titles but the games are very different.

I give the
Story mode 6/10
Challenges 7/10
Multiplayer 10/10
Over all 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NFS The WUT?

posted by bruinswin (GARDNER, MA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

When i got this game I sent it back within 15 minutes for extremly bad graphics unNFS like game play and bad gameplay..... Don't waste your time get on Xbox 360 or PS3 or even 3DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Need for More Excitement

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

At least they didn’t give us the runaround like they did in Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit. This game actually has the illegal racing feel that the series is known for.
In Need for Speed: the Run, your task is to race across America from California to New York over 26 stages – and to win that race.
But the task is greatly hardened by the fact that cops and mobsters are out to get you – for some unknown reason. And it doesn’t help that the passenger tagging along for most of the ride has secrets that she won’t tell.
Unfortunately, the story doesn’t play out very well; you go from one stage to the next by achieving the main objective (beat a timer, win a race, wreck a certain number of other cars, keep within range of another vehicle.) The main questions are never answered, and the ending is a massive letdown.
The racing is what you’d expect from other racing games; it’s a good thing the makers of this game decided to ditch the tilting control scheme an just go with the Wiimote/Nunchuck or Classic controller set up, which are more accurate.
As for those “on the foot” segments – well, there aren’t any. You never leave your car during any of the segments in the Wii version of this game. And the main mode is over in about three to four hours – not good for a game costing $50.
After that, you can take on challenges. Each challenge is one of the tracks featured in the main mode you unlock with points earned while playing the game. But they’re all locked to begin with and to unlock all the challenges requires a few playthroughs of the main mode and several runs of the challenges. This game just doesn’t interest me that much.
As for multiplayer, you have two choices – a standard race or cops vs. robbers where one side has to disable the other. There’s no online option, and it similar to Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, so there’s nothing new here.
Need for Speed: the Run is a good racer, but I was relying on the game makers making more than just a good racer. SKIP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »