Rent Need for Speed The Run for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed The Run

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.9

3121 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

THE NEEED IS TO RUN AWAY FROM THIS GAME

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My opinion, HOT PURSUIT Kills this game. In THE RUN, you cant draft cars anymore, the nitros are seriously lacking...they charge up on their own instead of actually being rewarded for drafting and drifts.....and speaking of drifting...its almost non existent in THE RUN. The cars are clunky and unresponsive. You can only change cars by pulling into a gas station, which is a dime a dozen. I like the B movie story they put in, and the graphics are good, but THATS IT. If you want to pull your hair out while trying to maneuver these horrible awkward and unresponsive cars...then this is the game for you. MIDNIGHT CLUB LOS ANGELOS IS STILL THE BEST RACING GAME EVER. Even SPLIT SECOND kills this game. Take a lession NFS guys! EPIC FAIL AGAIN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by SUP3RMAN_GA (BLACKSHEAR, GA) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game contains nothing that reminds you of Need for Speed. "The Run" aspect of the game is pretty boring. You basically race in 3-8 mile increments trying to pass anywhere from 1-5 cars, all to make it to New York first. Though you get to drive some really cool cars, many very early in the game, there are almost no customization options. It only took me a few hours to beat "The run" and then I started playing the "Challenge series." This was worse than the run, because you basically race each individual section of "the run" (which you have already completed mind you), trying to beat your time. I have looked forward to this game since I heard they were making. One of the most disappointing games ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An unusual miss for NFS

posted by elliott30 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

After playing NFS: The Run for about an hour you can confidently claim to have experienced most all facets of this game. Each race has you battling to overtake a set number of drivers before you cross the finish line, and every time the game will strategically place drivers ahead of you to battle in certain parts of the course. Almost like clockwork I would be nearing the last mile or two of the course and the final 2-3 cars would show up ahead of me and I would scrape by them just as the finish line appeared in the distance. That monotony isn't my biggest issue with this game though; I really just miss the old NFS formula of racing on tracks and speedways. When you race on a track, if even for only a few laps, you will gradually learn the best line, the best time for braking, and when to go for an aggressive pass or hold conservatively for a better opening. With "The Run" you only get to see corners and slopes one time so there's no room for improvement here because you get one shot to make it perfect before it's behind you and gone. (I should qualify that statement though, because this game features a "return to checkpoint" option that allows you to rewind the race a bit to attempt a faster time, or to avoid a big crash.) I have always been a fan of the NFS franchise so it's hard for me to dislike one of their creations, but this one just couldn't pull me in like other versions. I can say that I did like their creation of a cinematic element to this game, so that was a nice change of pace. But overall, the feel of each race just wasn't like other versions of NFS so I found myself thinking of what other game I could be playing that would be more fun, and that just doesn't make for an enjoyable experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the best NFS but still a blast

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The Need for Speed franchise has been around for about 10 years. It started out strong and then went downhill and then in 2009 it was back with NFS Shift. Since then it hasn't dwindled in strength with games such as NFS hot pusuit and shift 2, now we have Need for Speed the RUN by Black Box. While it isn't the best NFS game ever it's still worth playing.

Need for Speed the Run is a ton of fun to play. The cars handle very well, the AI is intelligent and there's a nice variety of cars annd tracks.

NFS the RUN looks great. It uses the one andonly Frostbite 2 engine. It doesn't look as good as NFS hot pursuit but it still looks great. the game also runhs great, there's not much screen tearing or slowdown.

The game has descent sound but nothing special.

The online play is fun but not very deep. There aren't many options in termso of customization or anything,

Overall NFS the run is a great game, even though it feels very much like past games it's a must own of fans of the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened?

posted by theboy31 (EAST ALTON, IL) Dec 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ok 1 hour into the game and I am ticked. 1. Why put in a leveling system when the player has no control what so ever with it. 2. What happened too the cool car customization you guys were famous for? 3. Don't automatically pause my game too throw a stupid pop up on the screen telling me something new about the game in the middle of a turn! much less in the middle of a friggen race! I crashed too many times because of this. 4. If I am prompted to sign over my personal info to EA one more time in this game I will stop playing it period, they even ask you "Will you allow us to send your personal info too other companies so we can make another dollar off the sixty you just gave us?" Who was the idiot who clicked yes?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not quite a cross country race...

posted by Derecka4 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about this game idea I was stoked, a race across the country between 200 drivers! When I played the run for the first time I was disappointed... they seemed to waste a great game concept, Instead of racing coast to coast , every turn, every mile, it's a series of mini races.... pass 6 drivers, pass 8 drivers, make up time by running though checkpoints... blah!

Instead of really being driven by an overall goal and leaving the creativity of winning the race to the player it is instead just your A-typical race game with just an idea of a bigger picture.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good idea just didn't cut it

posted by kennyedawg (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

game would be great if not for the extremely long loading screens and the drifting element made to complex just could not get the hang of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

unbelievable

posted by XtremeGame (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i dont know what to say id rather play most wanted again than to even install this on my ps system. its like what were these guys thinking check it youve got a ton of cars but only a few you can use, the races start instantly no time to start it urself, cannot modify your cars, cant win pinkslips, cant choose your races, the only way to switch your car from a lame car to an even lamer car is by driving in the middle of the race and goin to a gas station which btw when you go in everybody else passes you and youre all the way to the last, then if you choose a too lame car then you definitely cant win, cant tune up your ride, honestly i figured out what happened the guys did a lot of work on the graphics and sound so they had to take away somthing and that was the real essence of need for speed, so ppl dont waste your time its just like pro street, they drop you in a race and thats it. love gamefly saved me a bunch else i wouldve bought it and probably couldnt sleep for a month just thinking how let down i was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Bother

posted by c4jones2 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I sent this one back the same day I got it mostly due to the bad taste the first few missions left me with. I found the driving controls to be clunky and unresponsive, which is a huge problem for a game that's all about driving. The story line is pretty weak but I was willing to overlook that as long as the gameplay was fun. It's not. I'd much rather try one of the many alternatives to this game because even a game like GTA, where driving is secondary, is more fun to drive cars in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

got bored...repetitive affair

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
Many will disagree, but I greatly preferred NFS Hot Pursuit from last year over this game. The main problem was it was repetitive. However, other flaws like not being able to switch cars easily or long load times just annoyed after awhile.

I think this is at best a rental for a NFS fan. I wouldn't buy it.

Pros
==============
1) built on Frostbite 2.0 engine (makes for good graphics)
2) decent arcade racing

Cons
==============
1) repetitive
2) slow load times
3) hard to switch cars
4) lame story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Need for Speed goes Grand Theft Auto

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Is this Need for Speed or Grand Theft Auto? I couldn't figure that out. I had to check the label on the disc several times!

This was horrible. I'll stick with Underground 1 and 2, Most Wanted, and Carbon. Now those are real street racing! The Shift series are excellent circuit racing!

I want the live-action cutscenes back, with actors like Dean McKenzie (Cross), Emmanuelle Vaugier (Nikki), Danielle Kremeniuk (Angie), and many more back. (I would love to race Cross).

I don't care for the "getting out of the car" and making the character escape from a crushing car and so forth.

I want to race, no matter whether it's legal racing tracks or if it's illegal street racing. I only want to race. That's it -- race.

The graphics were indeed awesome. I will give them that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun But Aggravating

posted by nyocum5 (BLAIRS MILLS, PA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has a good idea to it, but the game at times seems rigged. I would hit my car's top speed and still not touch the racers. I would be right behind the racer and try to hit nitro at the finish line and not even gain on him. I had the easiest handling car yet it seemed unresponsive to my controls. All of these factors made the game very aggravating for me. I didn't find myself having fun with the game, instead I found myself POed o and wanting to throw my controller. At times it seems impossible to beat. This game would be a lot of fun for a person who is good at racing games and can pick up on it fast, unfortunately that isn't me. I might try this game again later on when i cool off, then again maybe not. The only thing that kept me playing this was to see what happens at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trash

posted by Bert27 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is trash total waste of time only way to play would be to use the disc as a Frisbee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Real Butt Cheek Clincher of a Game

posted by VaMpIrExTuRd (MANTECA, CA) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is highly under rated and mostly judged by fans of the original. this game brings Fast and the Furious type action to the racing genre. i hated other need for speed games, but this one really rocked. the city and high way details are amazingly beautiful. controls are kinda slippery but at least theyre realistic. i love this game and i wanna buy it. just take it for what it is and you'll love it too. its ment to feel like a fast and furious film, not a customization obsessed rpg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This NFS Runs Out of Gas

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) May 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept for this game is good, a cross country race against 250 drivers. Sounds awesome right? Although the idea for this game is good it simply doesn't deliver on gameplay and is poorly executed. This game takes everything we love about NFS and throws it away.

The Run incorporates action game elements which are just lousy button mashing QTEs that don't belong in a racing game. Less would have been more in this area. My biggest complaint is the non-upgradable vehicles and the unimportant leveling. All the cars drive well, but you only have a very limited number of cars to choose from and once you make a choice be prepared to drive it for the long haul. If you can't make the time, that's too bad, your stuck with that car. Very few opportunities to switch vehicles and doing so penalizes time. This means you'll probably only get to drive about 6 or 7 of the 30 or so cars available in the game--so weak!!Also, leveling is worthless because once you pass level 8 you've already maxed out all your driving upgrades. Further levels earn you profile icons and backgrounds. So, the developers took the two best aspects of NFS, leveling you character and customizing your ride and threw them out the window.

The game is very short. I was actually hoping it was a race across the country and back: it's not. Beating the game doesn't unlock new cars so there's virtually no replay value. Challenge mode adds nothing to the game, you get to race weak cars that aren't available in the single player, and once you beat them you've earned nothing. Again the leveling is so poor that it defeats the purpose of challenge mode, how many profile backgrounds do I need to unlock? One of the challenges "Time Hunter" where you race while dodging dense traffic. The problem is that the draw distance is so bad that vehicles actually spawn right in front of you. You cannot find the race line because traffic suddenly appears to block you making the gold medal almost impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO MULTIPLAYER OFFLINE!

posted by jackbadman87 (KETTLE FALLS, WA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Got this game and wanted to play with a friend (not online) but that option isnt even availible. Screw this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

need for speed the run

posted by dragonlord4 (MORRISTOWN, TN) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

love it i think it the best one they made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing special

posted by pagan85 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was kind of expecting a little more from this. Yeah the races were cool and had a movie scene atmosphere to it but in the end I felt like it was lacking. I will give it props on the Rockies and New York races those were pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NEED FOR SPEED THE RUNNN

posted by anthonyandwendy (KENNEWICK, WA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

JUST PLAYED THE NEW NEED FOR SPEED ON MY PS3 I REALLY LIKE IT ITS FUN AND JUST ALL AROUND AMAZING I WOULD RECOMEND IT NOW THINKING OF RENTING IT FOR MY 360 TOTALLY THE BEST OUT OF ALL THE NEED FOR SPEEDS SERIES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Need for speed the run

posted by tugboat2178 (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I don't like that theirs know free rome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!

posted by jcruz617 (CHELSEA, MA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nfs the run

posted by billyblanks (HENDERSON, NV) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

worst racing game i have ever played. terrible online play , terrible menu/team play. the worst racing physics since rad racer for nintendo. just an all around fail of a game , i guess i should have expected this from ea since its not a sports game. glad i did not buy this piece of junk and spend 10 dollars on the online pass. thank god for being able to rent games...what a piece of junk this was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

is this some kinda sick joke ?

posted by ChrisCooley (HARTFORD, CT) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

i mean everything about this game was great, accept the thing that mattered most . . . the actual gameplay ! the cars are impossible to go through a sharp corner without hitting anything, man the handling sucks .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eeehh

posted by sammy9 (IRVING, TX) May 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

who makes a game where your not able to drift? i mean heck even real cars drift but not in this game? i wouldnt buy it just get it on here!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the run

posted by arthurblount (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game is one of the best i,ve played in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse