Rent Need for Speed The Run for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed The Run

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, 3DS
GF Rating
6.5

4097 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need for Speed, Run to buy this one

posted by gavelty20 (PLANTATION, FL) Feb 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Need for Speed fan to begin with but this one of the best ever. The graphics are insane, the plot is perfect. I like the racing games with the plots and stuff, it makes it more fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by Bauer24 (LANCASTER, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is the most boring an easiest NFS i have played. The story is pointless. I stopped playing it. Sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Below Average

posted by Kurg (CHERRY HILL, NJ) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game seems good for the first 10 minutes, but after you play it a little more some major issues crop up.

Any racing game that you can go through hairpin turns faster by riding the guard rail is a failure by design. This game doesn't reward skillful driving in many cases. The driving design is far far behind NFS: Hot Pursuit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not up to speed

posted by deathskull (LOXAHATCHEE, FL) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

your main opponent in the game isnt the other racers it it the game itself. dont ride off the road more than 3 inches because you die. there is content out of the car but it is dumb and meaningless. dont worry about not having time to play it though, story mode lasts about 2 hours. good thing you didnt buy it, thats about 30 bucks an hour! pass this one up or use it for a coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that good

posted by Specials (LEVITTOWN, NY) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

By graphic and storyline not that bad but the problem is, is that i thought it was gonna be like most wanted or nfs underground. But its not even close. What ever and you cant even customize your cars in story mode. They just make you pick a car

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NFS Ground the gears on this one

posted by OoNewby14oO (TEMECULA, CA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but the first thing that really turned me off was the agonizingly long loading screens. Not only are they long, there's no music, no trivia, nothing but staring at the map for a minute or more. I'm aware that loading the game to my hard drive would increase the loading speed, but that would mean that I finish the game in 3 hours instead of 5. Leading to the next issue, the game is insanely linear with little room for much creative game play (freeroam, car details/upgrades, etc). I actually played NFS: Most Wanted to warm up for The Run and Most Wanted has more replay value by far! The police aspect of the game makes little sense as passing a checkpoint is enough to escape their chase. May be worth renting to see what NFS did for a new spin, but like most other players said, it just isnt what I love Need for Speed for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing Racer

posted by Tomamagic (MILPITAS, CA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This entry in the NFS series is average at best. The attempt of a storyline is a joke. The ads and commercials tries to tempt their viewers with nice cars, sexy babes, and over the top explosive scenes. I completed this game (storyline) in 3 days, playing on and off. If you're an achievement seeker, you can net at least 400+ its easy. Be warned, if you rent this game, you can only get a trial version of their EA online pass. Only people who buy the game will have an online pass included to play multiplayer. This game restricts your car selection . . .there is no car garage where you can easily switch out cars on the fly, you can only change out cars at "gas stations" during a race. Also, I was in 1st place, when I went in these gas stations, I was place last place. The replay function that they have totally kills the speed of the game. If you want to rewind or crash, it takes 5-10 seconds to reload the map/stage. If you are looking to spend some time in a good racer game, I would recommend Forza Motorsport 4. If you want to play an arcade racer, give this game a try but don't expect a solid storyline or anything. It's merely there for fluff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Way too short...

posted by AunaJarKins (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this game was a very good game. but i personally exspeted a more in depth game, espessialy from need for speed series. it was a dissapointment because i beat it in 3 days, and it wasn't constantly.

When i first heard of it i was sych'd and when i started playing it, i loved it. until i noticed i was going through the stages outrageously speedy-like.

i just hope the next one is much longer...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbagio !!

posted by xBOONDOCKSAINTx (SUISUN CITY, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Really, i mean i played the first mission and during the cutscene where they get the tablet from the laundry shoot the game freakin goes black and makes my xbox freeze and i took it right out the case !!! it is awful i mean when i first heard about it i thought to myself oh! you can finally get out of your car and run around now but no they adopted the god of war cutscenes and thought they were cool.. um no... please if this is the way NFS is going then do it right !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the run is a horrible game of nfs

posted by shadow1418 (BRONX, NY) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible its not worth it buying i payed 60 bucks i should get my money back i passed it in the second day it came out i will be returning this game back soon its just wack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is good

posted by Jaysquat (JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Only reason why so many didn't like it is because they expected too much out of something. I like this because the story is something fresh and new. And I'm a person who loves a good story. I write comics and short stories and I can easily connect this game to Most Wanted and Carbon if I wanted to make a comic book out of it.

The gameplay in itself, isn't repetitive. Your racing thousands of miles. You can't do much on a long stretch of road, guys. Especially a game based of an original movie, The Cannonball Race, it stuck to the same formula.

Overall, I like this game. Its fun and it entertains my hobbies. But I guess to each their own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More junky NFS garbage

posted by bscluber (MADISON, WI) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game had a great premise and was hyped as a totally rebuilt game...but its not, its more of the same-

-Lame gameplay

-Outdated visuals

-Very poor ai

-Overwhelming catch-up

-Moronic traffic cars

People need to stop buying these pitiful game so EA is forced to make a decent street racing game again I would recommend Most wanted or Carbon over this or NFS:Hot Pursuit 2 (PS2/XBOX1) that game was great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average

posted by NurdCore (CONROE, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It was an ok game. The story was short and I was not a big fan of the Qtime cut scenes, this is need for speed, not God of War.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Need for Speed The Run

posted by QuickZombiefood (DYER, IN) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To tell the truth I didnt even feel like i was playing a need for speed game. I really didnt like the flash back the way its set up a few times it reset me when i didnt need or want it too. i tryed playing on the hardest difficulty and the racing wasnt too bad but one of the races to get time back took me so many trys to beat needless to say I wasnt very happy with the game or its loading times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Aside from cool looking cars , game is boring as

posted by kmcroc72 (LAKE WALES, FL) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the samething over & over & over .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been great

posted by Rludlum (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Given the new tech that was thrown into this game, and the excellent experience I had while playing NFS Hot Pursuit, I was expecting a lot. Sadly, it did not deliver on any of those expectations, other than perhaps the graphics.

As others have mentioned, the races are short and become incredibly repetitive right away. In conclusion, don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thanks for the dog tag...

posted by DingusKhan (SPANAWAY, WA) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I rented it just to get the dog tag for BF3. After I put the disk in it said pay for online pass so I took it out put it back in the mailer and sent it on it's way as the reviews suggested.thanks for the dog tag and reminding me to never go near NFS titles ever again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

its depends on what you are looking for in a game

posted by patsfan123 (WILMINGTON, DE) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this is a OK game the story is bad and i mean bad what ever happened to most wanted or underground if that is the type of game you want dont wast ur time on this game
the run is like the kid of shift 1 and hot pursuit its a ok game but it dose not know if it wants to be a real life sim or a arcade game and the story is just bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cheap fun action racing movie made video game

posted by RoninOni (SONOMA, CA) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

That's what it feels like.

Visually an audibly... The Run delivers. There are some great moments in the racing and it's pretty high octane.

The story is flimsy and cheap, but serves as an excuse for ridiculous scenes.

Like I said... it feels like a cheap action movie.

As an in depth racer it falls short... lacking car customization and only allowing you to change cars at gas stations that set you back in the race. Handling it borders somewhere between simulator and arcade.

The long and short of it is... if you're a big racer fan... this game may be entertaining for a couple days.

If your more of a casual gamer... this game would probably be a worthy rental and racing experience... not over complicating you with customization details while still providing an amazingly presented "realistic feeling" experience.

Purchase only if you really like the multiplayer. You get a 2 day trial to check it out but you'll definitely want to warm up on the single player and challenges for a week or 2 if you want to at least keep with the pack.

It IS a really good game.... for a certain audience (that just doesn't happen to be hard core race fans ironically enough)

True race fans would be better off looking to their console exclusive racer (360 Forza/PS3 Gran Turismo)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trying To Be Innovated, Solid

posted by SupremeSoleNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Start Off By Saying That Every Need For Speed Game Is Different So Its Hard To Compare This Game To The Others. I See People Are Saying Its Nothing Like Hot Pursuit Or Underground ... So To Respond To Those People My Answer Is "It's A Different Game With a Different Concept"

My Favorite Need For Speed Was Most Wanted Because Of The Free Roaming, And Underground Series Was Cool For Customization. I Thought Carbon Was Terrible and So Was Pro-Street. Hot Pursuit Was Cool The Fact You Can Actually Be A Cop And Chase Other Racers. But In My Opinion I Feel As If "The Run" Is a Very Solid Follow Up.

"The Run" Is Basically a Race From Point A To Point B With Different Objectives Such As Overtaking A Required Amt Of Opponents, Or Checkpoint Races or Racing Battles. The Addition of QTEs To The Game Was An Interesting Twist Making You Have The Ability To Control Jack (Main Character) In Certain Situations. What Adds To The Competative Nature To This Game Is That It Records The Times of You and Your Friends and Compare The To See Who Finished Speedwalls or "The Run" In General. While Campaign Is Rather Easy Again It All Depends On The Difficulty Selected. Extream Is 10 Notches More Difficult Than Normal.

Multiplayer Is Fun But Also Difficult. Many Objectives To Complete and Different Cars To Unlock.

I Purchased The Game But Im Just Big On Racing Games. I Think Its A Very Good Innovated Idea But Theres Still Work That Could Have Been Done To Make This Game So Much Better ... Highly Recommend Renting If Your A Fan Of NFS Series or Racing In General

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Boss

posted by SandmanE43 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a really good game u shouled get it its very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by andrew412 (IRWIN, PA) May 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very good game graphics were good definetly buying the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Verry fun

posted by cantum2 (GREEN RIVER, WY) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Took me 2 hours to beat and its the only nfs where you get to walk i would recomend it.
pros: fun easy achievment hog
cons: short diffucult to unlock nice cars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game started out ok

posted by Ghostburton (BUENA VISTA, CO) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

then it just got more terrible the more i played it.
About half way through i quit because it was lame.
it's also another ea game where you have to pay for online. i wouldn't give this game to my worst enemy to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow ...disappointing

posted by rcote13 (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cool cars..ok story ..but i mean you barely hit the dirt and your reseting ..too short..by far the worst nfs...rent it for the cars dont buy it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse