Rent Need for Speed: Shift for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Shift

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

6762 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS matured. First night i had it i wasted 5 hours

posted by dukenukem1 (GOSHEN, IN) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

50 out of 57 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I felt like i had to write a review since none of the others even gave this game a chance before they wrote their review. The cars do feel like a brick wall around corners, but once you start upgrading suspension and the engine you will notice a huge difference. Which is just the way it is supposed to be, stock cars should not handle like a track car. Once you make it to tier 2 the cars will be easier to drive and handle. This is not like other NFS games, you cannot just fly through corners and let the guard rail shove you in the right direction. This NFS really pushes cornering, which requires braking but not sliding around the corners. The game uses real tracks, real cars, and damage can be set to visual if you would like. The driver profile feature is really cool, it keeps track of how you race throughout your entire career and the game adapts to your driving style, which i thought was really really cool. The cockpit view is amazing, I have never felt so engaged in a game. When you hit a wall things go blurry and it takes about a second for things to come back into focus depending on how hard you hit. The graphics are absolutely amazing and the cars look amazing. There is nitrous in this game for some cars, but it is NOT the same nitro as other NFS titles. The boost is nothing like it was in underground, it is very suttle and i kept trying to figure out which button the NOS was because when i was hitting B i didnt even notice the boost. Its more of a long light boost, which is good for straights, but doesnt help you accelerate back up to speed once you spin out like older games. The car customization is different as well, there are not nearly as many choices as underground, and i was not all that satisfied with the amount of paint customization offered. This is one thing that i would change, I am a fan of choosing the brand of my parts, painting the rims, etc. and this game lacks that. This game is a blast and is a MUST rent for any racing fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a NFS game worth playing!

posted by Prodrivema (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

51 out of 70 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

For the past 12 years, I have avoided the NFS games like the bubonic plague. After NFS: High Stakes, the games fell way flat in my opinion (after reading many reviews and complaints via friends).

The new NFS game is created by some of the same developers of the acclaimed GTR racing games and believe me... it shows. This time around, the theme is more directed on the racing part of it, rather than poor storylines in the past. Its up to you to get to the worlds coveted elite championship and to do that, you need to win races, earn money as well as points.

Earning points varies from things like clean cornering, drifts around corners, drafts,etc. Also your reputation of how you drive will follow you throughout the career mode.

On the graphics side, they are truly impressive including things like full damage, and some amazing crashes. It starts out with a test lap around Brands Hatch. This will ultimately set up your difficulties and settings for the game.

All in all, this title reminds me of the games pre High Stakes era where the focus was just on racing and not stupid storylines. Never again would I have though that I would be playing an NFS title, but this one proved me wrong and is definitely a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need for Speed Shift just got better!

posted by Filmmaker (CANONSBURG, PA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

32 out of 44 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and played it for three hours then I purchased it because it’s that good! If you love Forza 2 and PGR you will love this just as much. Yes the cars do shift around the corners and that is because every car you drive in this game is like driving the real deal! No wonder they called it NFS Shift. You can also customize your cars to get them to perform to your liking. They have an easy set up or for the more serious players a professional tune shop. There is so much you can do to your vehicles and the options seem to never run out. If you’re a fan like me of racing games this is the one game you should at least rent. The graphics are outstanding just like Forza 2 but only better. This one will hold the tide over until Forza 3 arrives but it’s a keeper in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easily best need for speed yet

posted by SBF456 (DOVER, MA) Dec 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Need for Speed so far because it is a racing simulator. All the other NFS games were getting old with the same concept of running away from the police. This game is very realistic and has a wide selection of cars such as Lamborghinis and Bugatis.

Also, the campeign isn't the kind of campeign you beat in one day and send the game back. There is practically an entire campeign before the campeign! You never run out of things to do or events to race. There are many upgrades you can put into your car and lots of ways to cutomise it.

Overall, this game is a great improvement to the NFS series and I would highly recommend this game to anyone into realistic curcuit racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Suprisingly Well-Done

posted by BigDain (ARLINGTON, WA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed: Shift is presented with crisp graphics and intense visual effects that convey a sense of speed and grit, unlike Forza Motorsport 3. While Forza is a bit more realistic and presents a larger gallery of cars to choose from, it is quite simply no where near as fun to play online or by yourself. Cars are somewhat customizable, although the return of preset body kits and limited livery options have hampered this feature somewhat. But to counter this, players can turn off some or all driving assists allowing for a very good feel of the track as your camera shakes back and forth with every rise and fall in the road. The only real thing that displeased me about Shift was the lack of a split-screen option, so playing with your friends on your 72' HDTV is out of the question unless you do so over live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great racing game!

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I was a bit skeptical at first because 1: I've never really been a fan of racing games (especially NFS) and 2: The past NFS games weren't/didn't look that great. But I decided to give this one a try after seeing the commercial, and I was pretty impressed. The graphics are awesome, the controls are perfect...well almost perfect. No real story except getting the the grand finale race, but who cares! You're racing. There are a bunch of different mode types, the online is pretty cool, and the cars are cool. All in all, it's challenging, it's fun, and it will motivate you to get better. Great job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Big Step Forward

posted by washamur1 (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pro's: Graphics / Sense of Speed / Presentation / In-Car as real as it gets

Con's: Vehicle Selection / Control / Level Progression Easy

Summary: Even with a few downfalls, NFS: Shift is hands down the best NFS Racer to date. EA really does a great job of presenting a quality product from the menus to the minute you hit the gas. Inside the car view is as real as it gets, and most likely the intended view to be played on. If you decide to go with a different camera view, the controls start to become more and more sensitive. With a solid track selection and different modes to play on .. you will stay busy trying to get all the stars you can. Which brings up another small negative .. the driver progression is very fast and extremely easy ... however, this still does not remove you from the quality of the game. If your looking for a solid racer with both an arcade and simulation feel. NFS: Shift may just be your game ... at least until Forza 3 comes along.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING!!!

posted by Awe4some (Wichita, KS) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Something must be wrong with all of you who gave this game an 6 or below... This game packs a serious punch. The speed in this game is intense and it crushes the feel of speed in forza 2 and grand truismo. The graphics are great, the selection of cars are up to date, And the New A.I. is better, than any other NFS ever. The gameplay has that feeling that you are actually driving(if you have a racing wheel). The Cockpit view is AWESOME!!! EVERYTHING MOVES AND WORKS, except the radio.... I thought this was a great experience for me and EA. If you guys dont like this game, then thats because you set your standards to high, or you only play one game like its a god or something. Forza is a great game, but its just not complete, wait till october.. but seriously, if you wanna play a racing game that is intense, try NFS SHIFT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just another NFS game except on a track

posted by prplehzgsr (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Okay, first off, if you're looking for another Need For Speed arcade racer, but on a track, this is the game for you. However, if you know anything about tuning, or enjoy simulation racing games such as Forza or Gran Turismo, stay away from this game. I thought maybe EA would pull this one off. Nope, all they did was take their normal racing games, and put them on a track. The cars slide around like they're on ice. The opponents try to wreck you, and you even get points for wrecking them. The upgrades are silly, like seam welding the chassis and increasing your 60-0 braking time (I know, it's the only place I've ever seen braking time instead of feet too), or engine upgrades on a 4 cylinder that raise the torque just as much as a turbo. Also, you can't customize the appearance other than pre-packaged kits and paint and vinyls. It's because of games like this one that I really like Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

all better now

posted by Irishrage (CEDAR LAKE, IN) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Since I've been playing the need for speed series since the ps1 days. I feel like I can have a well established opinion on the series. I've only been dissapointed twice, Most wanted and undercover. Undercover, aside from story line, and interesting use of live action, (lets face it, we all loved looking at maggie q), lacked everything I love about the series. Then I played need for speed shift. This game would have scored a perfect 10 in my book if it weren't for a few missing race modes. Drag, top speed and speed mode are all absent. But now we have endurance and a few others. The points system is upgraded and alot cooler. The customizing is a little more difficult in the vinyl area(no mirrored sides) Its a little harder to get vinyls to match when you can't mirror them. But over all its a great game. With easier acheivments for your gamer score. Just buy the game, renting it just prolong the inevitable. Raging Irishmen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Need for Speed that brings a new Standard

posted by Lancer (NORFOLK, VA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A racer is usually either a Arcade style game, or a simulation type. Need for Speed Shift is the in between, and I have to say that works out very well. I will not put this game down. Need for Speed has been going downhill lately, but this game has come out to put the Need for Speed series in the right direction. The coolest thing I noticed about this game right off the bat was that at the very beginning, they place you in a race, but this race is a type of race that will let the computer AI analyze you. From here, the game will give you it's suggested settings to your particular racing style. For example. I like to be precise and not aggressive, but I like to slide my car as I exit my turns because I like to power through at an earlier time. Because of this, the game suggested to me settings like: Low Traction Control, Expert Handling, Medium difficulty, ect. I also never changed gears so obviously I was recommended Automatic, but anytime I am playing the game and I want to switch to manual, I simply start changing gears as I play. The cool upgrading and visual tweaking of Need for Speed is there. You can also tune your car to exact specs, right down to things like: Tie in or out, Camber angle, Steering column, ect. It's really alot of fun, and the perfect mix for a racer if you're not totally dedicated to one side of the spectrum (being either Arcade or Simulation).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has the worst ability to drive these vehicles. The handling of these cars is horrible. This game needs to be remade by different people or something!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hope the next one is better

posted by bigboygamer (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it is just not my type of game but cars do look good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Need for Speed: Shift

posted by RobertBH (JACKSONVILLE, AL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the more enjoyable racers I have played. The in-car camera view is superb and not once did I use another camera view. One of the downsides to this game is that the car selection is limited. Once I found my car of choice (Pagani Zonda R), rarely did I stray from using that car. There is a nice mix of race types, however I found the drift races difficult to master and was often left frustrated and annoyed. The time trial, duels, invitational and standard races are the meat of the career mode and I found these modes to be extremely fun. Earning stars and badges can become addictive and extremely rewarding. Online racing can be fun too, but like most online racers, the joy of playing online is often dependent upon the skill and politeness of fellow online racers. Overall I would highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My fav racing game..... or fav game of all time

posted by RYN029 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one intense and fast paced, adrenaline packed racing game! It is worth spending hours playing this game. From the carrer mode to the online play it is SICK! I recomend this to everyone seeking a racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFSS

posted by omerta689 (NEWTON, NH) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

need for speed shift is deffintitly one of the best racing games ever created with its life like physics and the true in the car feel. while it still has the typical nfs genra of arcade racing playing into this amazing simulation driving game its a must rent for anyone who has any intrest in racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Starting a new trend

posted by vvaterboy (GARLAND, TX) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. It is starting the track racing games of right. I cant stop playing it the whole this is awsome. The only bad thing is that if this will be your first racing game ever it will be tricky for a while. It has real everything. It makes you feel like you are in the game with the cockpit view. Overall a GREAT game.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need For Speed: SHIFT -best game yet from nfs

posted by iJagar (CAMPBELL, CA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. It is completely realistic (in the means of racing). The only flaw I found was the loading time. It takes quite a while to load. But when you do get past that, the game is amazing! I still give it 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Racing comes back to center stage

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I haven't seen a NFS this good in quite some time. It's good to see them go back to the good old days. It's got a good point system that doesn't penalize you for having a wreckless style of driving. You actually drive like you would drive a real car unlike some NFS games in the past, and you still upgrade and style your car to fit you. It also lets you get deep into the adjusting the car with advanced modifications.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game has ruined Forza for me

posted by MadCat360 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I was trying my best not to expect very much from Shift, but I couldn't avoid thinking "will this end up killing Forza?"

Unfortunately, for me, it has.

The handling itself has a couple odd points. First being the brakes. If you brake too hard, the cars will try to spin. It's like all the cars, even the stock ones, have too much rear brake bias. It makes it quite challenging to brake while turning, such as braking for the Corkscrew at Laguna Seca. The second oddity is that all the cars seem to have some sort of stability control engaged at all times - there is a distinct lack of understeer for most cars, and only very minor understeer for some.

Those points aside, the handling is superb, and in my opinion, Shift's handling can be directly compared with Forza, by any standard. With a force feedback wheel, it gives you enough information but isn't as communicative as it could be.

The drift mode is strange. I'm not sure why they chose to make the cars handle differently while drifting, because the normal "racing" physics model seems fine for that, but in drift mode it feels like the rear tires become as slippery as butter. It takes getting used to, but it's not undrivable.

The AI is impressive, as well. They seem to think and make human choices. Sometimes they go too far, choosing to swerve about the track on straights, or deciding not to brake for corners and taking out 3 or more cars. I did notice that they cleaned up their act after a couple of hours. I think they adapt to your own driving.

Let me just say this on the sense of speed: I have never once had to look at my speedo to figure out how fast I was going. Every speed, from 65 to 150+ MPH plus, feels natural and "right".

From one point of view, Shift could be considered the ultimate racing simulator - nothing gets closer to making you feel like you're in a car. If it wasn't for the odd drift mode and a few minor bugs, I would rate this a ten, because there is simply nothing else wrong with Shift.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So disapointed

posted by Racer419 (BROOKFIELD, IL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is far from what I expected in Need For Speed game. This time they completely changed the game and got away from what made the other games so fun to play. Yeah the story lines were really lame, but the ease of driving the cars and user friendliness was much better. The cars were easy to handle and fun to play. In this game I cant keep the car going straight none the less try to turn, keep my speed up, and not hit anyone. The drift cars can't be driven at all, as soon as you hit the gas they spin out. The previous Need For Speed games made the drifting so much easier and more fun. This is a good race simulator with very poor handling cars. I personally was disappointed with this game, though i don't have a steering wheel which I think would make this game much easier to play in terms of car handling. I am glad I only rented it. Hope that one day EA will make another Need for Speed that goes back to when it was more fun to play rather than sooo frustrating. Don't try to imitate Forza (Greatest race simulator ever) that is impossible. Can't wait till End of October.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by supremecho (SPOKANE, WA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

As game player there are some cool features like when you hit a car you get dazed and confused and the “proper line” is kinda cute lol BUT I drive competitively in SCCA and ICSCC and this is not even close to how a car would EVER handle under any condition, it is like they made the rear wheel drive cars handle exactly the same as a front and four wheel drive car! A four wheel drive car will tend to push the front of the car as you accelerate out of the corner hard a front wheel drive car will start to push a little softer cause the back end isn’t getting power, like in a four wheel drive car, but the back end kicking out like the rear wheels are receiving power. Everyone who says it is closer to the real thing than any other game needs to play in traffic with nitro glycerin strapped to them, Forza 2 does a better job for goodness sakes. This game wasn’t even worth the time giving it a chanced to grow on you, let alone to receive it in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun

posted by Racthoh (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Better than Gran Turismo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

need for speed:shift

posted by WFMoOcH (LAKE CITY, MN) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for something to tide you over until forza 3 wait! This game was great until you start getting to tier 2. Once you get there you buy an audi and everything seems perfect. Well you need to buy an american ride and 1 you have to upgrade it to works to have any chance but by that time the car is so powerful and unrealistic that its almost impossible to race the car. I have been a gamer for over 20 years and I consider myself able to master most any game. I don't like playing on super easy stupid mode so if you are looking for a smashing controller challenge its this game but it gets so far away from realistic racing that it makes you wanna chuck the controller through your flat screen. I'll wait for Forza and send this sad excuse for a game back ASAP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Played alot of racing games.

posted by MattOfGame (TULSA, OK) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I could not believe the way the cars handled in this game. It was awful. It is by far the worst NFS game to ever hit the shelves. This game was supposed to be a huge jump for EA, they were talking about how they were bringing a realistic driving game to the table, I would rather play Mario Cart. Get it together EA. Wait for Forza, or get Dirt 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse