Rent Need for Speed Rivals for Xbox One
view large frontback

Need for Speed Rivals

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS4

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

1041 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a little bit

posted by RedHeels0809 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The last NFS I played was Hot Pursuit, so this was a breath of fresh air with how far the game has come since then. But it suffers the same problem NFS Hot Pursuit did, after about 2-3 hours of gameplay, it becomes monotonous and boring. Smash this, Drift that, upgrade here. Definitely worth a rent though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IF I COULD RATE A ZERO I WOULD

posted by billyblanks (HENDERSON, NV) May 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

CHEESY GRAPHICS, CHEESY GAME PLAY, THOUGHT THEY WOULD HAVE MADE IT BETTER BY NOW BUT ITS JUST AS BAD AS THE MOVIE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by jasonkelly214 (NEWBERG, OR) Jan 14, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The last need for speed game I owned was Most Wanted. I really didn't see a huge improvement over that. It was fun, and I enjoyed the option of playing as police, or racer, but it didn't wow me enough to pay to keep the game. I liked the idea of having the world be real time where xbox live friends could all be racing simultaneously but it didn't live up to its potential for me since none of my friends have the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Need For Speed

posted by DeeGamer (SUN CITY, CA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to the way Burnout Paradise is set up.... only much worse. after having this game in my Xbox One for about an hour, i put it back in the mailbox. the game froze 3 times and forced me to watch the long intro without being able to skip it each time, the game finally got started after this. I played for about 5 minutes and the game kicked me out back to the main menu, it did this twice, so i took the game out and went on with my life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game with server Issues!

posted by RawBott (PITTSBURG, CA) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I will keep this short and to the point. This review will only be focused on the Cop mode rather than the Racing mode since I didn't bother wasting time on that mode because, honestly, chasing people was a BLAST!

I personally never played the cop mode in any other NFS games if that mode was available on those installments. I played the last one and lost interest within the first 30 mins. This game, I was hooked from the start! The graphics were great and the scenery was visually stunning. There were a few times where a part of me felt like some of the missions were repetitive, but quickly faded the minute I started chasing someone down the rode at 100+ MPH.

Since I'm reviewing this for the Xbox one, let me quickly get down to business as what issue I found on this game. Obviously, this game was developed to take advantage of the servers provided by microsoft for instant access to your game without having to quit the game. Well, let me say that it was poorly implemented in my experienced with it. When I started the game I was a level one like most of you. I played for a few hours driving around and doing some missions. I quickly ranked up to about level 8. When I turned the XBOX off and resumed again the next day, I was back to level 1. It was as if the game never saved my progress. So giving it a second chance I played everything all over again, went up to level 13 this time and two days later (I didn't play for 2 days by the way) I was back at level 8. This quickly made me returned the game (rented it from here) and got something else. I was not about to do everything all over again.

Nevertheless, it is a great game indeed and I'm sure some update already came out for it to fix the issue of game saving (probably). Is it worth a rent or buy? I say rent for sure and only buy if the game is under $30 bucks. I think that's a fair price for this game. Furthermore, this game gets an 8/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frequent server & host problems

posted by VanyaSulie (DEBARY, FL) Dec 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game was pretty fun ... when I could actually play. In the middle of a race, the game would have to switch hosts, or disconnect from server constantly, totally taking you out of the moment. It was unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game, one downfall

posted by iSycrani (CORONA, CA) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game so that I could enjoy some friendly split screen competition... and wish I would've read up a bit more before, because split screen is not available. Oh well, otherwise, it is a fun game to play with all the lovely 'Need for Speed' characteristics that their fans can appreciate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a short time.

posted by NukaColaTaster (SHREVEPORT, LA) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You can definitely tell that Need for Speed is trying to innovate in Rivals. However some of these innovations take from the creative elements that built a Need for Speed game. The next-gen graphics on Rivals are some of the best I've seen so far, but the lack of a pause menu (even in single player) and the horrible Kinect voice commands left me highly frustrated at times. Commands that often open an unpaused menu in the middle of a race, or that force the camera to look around your car are not even a rare occurrence... and these commands cannot even be turned off in settings. However, this game is very fun and can get addictive even with all of the issues and the lack of car customization. I would not purchase Rivals but I definitely recommend renting it for a time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2 EASY

posted by BigBeans1048 (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Dec 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good to rent. To easy for the competitive types. For example to drift you just tap X once and it does the rest for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Racing game

posted by OOBIN (PROVO, UT) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Big map Choice of what to play. always unlocking things. 60 levels each for both cop and racer. Your cars have Pursuit tech which are basically skills. They are upgradeable for every car. Very fun and even girls can enjoy it. I recommend it for racing fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Junk (WINTERS, CA) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Worst Nfs I've played in awhile, the last good need for speed was pro street, and the series has gone down hill and has gotten worse every game since. The game looks good, that's about it, the game is too one dimensional, it's not challenging and the racing is repetitive, the cop pursuits are stupid, hit the other car 3 times to disable and that's it. The original hot pursuit on ps1 was a much better game than this
There is no option to switch from automatic to manual transmission, the camera views are limited, no cockpit view. Played this game for 15 minutes, couldn't even get past the training session before I couldn't take it any more and shut it off. Don't waiste your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worthless NFS title

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love older NFS titles, but there has not been a good one for the last 4 years. They are trying to throw way too much into an arcade style racing game. The graphics are decent, FORZA 5 has way too much quality and makes this title looks like a knock off racer. The handling is odd, the theme has nothing to it, and the customization is horrible.

You are either a cop or a racer. (rivals) OOOOOHHHHH that just ruined the question on why its called rivals. (its very cheesey) and just all around a horrible game. I tried to give this a shot but when a telephone pole wrecks your car and take you from 1st to last... its just too much to even enjoy this game. Its boring and not exciting at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by Antihero813 (LITHIA, FL) Oct 1, 2014

Member since May 2014

Online is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent? yes...Buy? HE11 NO!

posted by WarlockNV (URBANNA, VA) Sep 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This is one of those games that almost forces you to throw the controller as HARD as you can. You can play as a cop, or as a racer, but the races are basically all the same. No new areas open, you just drive on the same roads. You cant pause the game once your out on the road either. You earn "points" as you race but if you wreck or get caught by a cop you loose EVERYTHING you just gained. I had 264000 points from one race session, had tons of cops after me, and ran to a hideout (entering a hideout id the only way you can "bank" your points). I had been damaged and the screen was flashing red.... I was going into the hideout fast to try and NOT get caught.... as I hit the button to enter the hideout a millisecond after my car crashed and wrecked... guess what... NO POINTS, NO NOTHING. I also had started a career, and this forces you to not only sign into Xbox live (that's expected) but it also forces you to sign into EA servers. I have an EA account but it doesn't allow you to use your OWN existing screen name... you have to use a NEW one.... that's frustrating by itself, but heres the kicker. After doing all of this and creating a new account I played the game for about 4 days. Reached level 5, unlocked all the cars up to the FORD GT. I logged out for a day came back the next day and guess what.... ALL my progress was erased and I had to start BACK from the VERY beginning.
To sum this game up.... rent it, p1ss yourself off with it, then return it and get something less frustrating or just beat your head against a wall... it's much more fun than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not nfs

posted by jonjon92 (ATLANTA, TX) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Guess game makers forgot what made need for speed fun and good this isn't it go back to your roots or not making new NFS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

enjoyable

posted by Kormath (HAILEY, ID) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

Like lots of other reviews here the game is fun, but the fun doesn't last long. I wasn't impressed by the online only gameplay. I would have liked to see an offline mode to just cruise around and race when i didn't want to deal with the griefers and 12 yr olds.

The game is like most other n4s games. You race, you upgrade, you race, you upgrade, you grow bored and move to something else. Having weapons made this a little more fun though. But sadly i'm into my 3rd day of renting and about 5 hours of total gameplay and have sealed the envelope to send it back. It's a good rent, and a good buy if you get it used, but i feel sorry for those that paid full price for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Poorly Done Game

posted by DigitalHD (LIVERPOOL, NY) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Need For Speed use to be a great series. I use to enjoy playing the NFS games. I've only played the game for a few hours and was ready to break my controller.

----GAMEPLAY----
After a long unskipable cut scene, you get to choose your side, Cop or Racer. Say you choose Cop, you go through a tutorial. Simple enough right? All games have tutorials. However you can not skip a single thing in the tutorial. The narrator talks on and on for a while and you can only continue once she is done speaking. Once you finish the Cop tutorial, you are FORCED to go play as a Racer so you can "understand your rival". Now that's pretty simple EXCEPT the game FORCES you to sit through basically the SAME EXACT tutorial that you did with the Cop side. After all of that you get the option to choose your side once again. Once you choose your side, you are forced to make an Origin account and then sit through another cut scene explaining the "All Drive" system where you are constantly playing online with other players, bla bla bla.

----GRAPHICS/SOUNDS----
On the Xbox One, the graphics aren't that bad. However the sounds are very unrealistic. The police sirens are computer generated and sound absolutely terrible.

----CARS----
If you want a large car selection, don't get this game. NFS Hot Pursuit had probably 5 times the amount of cars that this game has.

----HANDLING----
I think this game has crappier handling then the only NFS Underground 2 game had.

With this game, it seems like they tried to make it look pretty and didn't bother with anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gorgeous graphics with a refreshing twist.

posted by Rico731 (WARWICK, RI) Jul 10, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game looks incredible. And the controls are tight. It strikes a balance between arcade and simulation racers; like a realistic Mario Kart. You can play as either a cop or a racer, and you can switch between factions at any time.

As a racer, you're objective is to win races and avoid the cops. As a cop, your objective is to stop the racers with your awesome pursuit tech. Each faction gets To Do lists between chapters, Pick your assignment, do what it says, and progress. You earn Speed Points for preforming tasks and you can spend them on customizing your cars.

The game map is HUGE, and by default you'll be playing online with/against human opponents. Single player is available, but it is hidden in the menus. The included GPS makes it easy to get to locations and events. And racers can challenge each other at any time by pressing LB.

Like Titanfall, this game is a lot of fun, if a bit shallow. If you like racing games, you might want to buy this one. But even if you're not, you owe it to yourself to give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lost Saves

posted by Gangrenous (ERIE, PA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since May 2011

I don't typically write reviews but felt this game warranted one. I love the NFS series but EA really let everyone down with this one. Don't get me wrong, it's a great game to play. Just don't expect the game to keep your save data. It can mysteriously disappear and you will be back at square one with a lot of wasted time. I did some research and found this to be quite a common problem. Who releases a game with this kind of bug? Shame! This game is going right back. I'm done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, Arcade Racing

posted by bullelk (MERIDIAN, ID) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

In my opinion :

The Good: Neat integration of online features. Big, open world. Good concept. Entertaining most of the time.

The Bad: Terrible angle for the third person racing, not sure if this is supposed to be a feature that any sort of uphill driving or cresting over hills you can't see anything coming. So many visuals and flashing that you end up crashing into walls because you have no idea where to go.

The Frustrating: The AI makes no sense. I don't feel a direct correlation between winning and my skill level. The cops in the game are like the bad guys in Call of Duty - spawn endlessly and out of no where. I don't like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NFS is Back

posted by SuckItNow (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

Finally a new "rivals" series game has been released and it is in full HD glory! Insane crashes and take-downs mixed with a two sided career mode, there's lots of fun to be had whether you want to be "good" or "bad"! The driving challenges are usually good challenge as you're generally racing ghosts of actual times in your difficulty bracket.

The gangs of online members swarming any player they can, usually as cops, can get annoying.. But once you get a fast enough car it becomes entertainment.

Definitely worth a play through!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I don't think we like it

posted by cyberrang2 (GREENVILLE, NC) May 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Dark grafic.can't play it longer than 30 minutes. It was back in the mail if tomorrow wasn't Sunday!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

so-so

posted by Magnum90 (ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL) May 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2007

This game is fun and all but the most annoying thing is the kinect for this game. there is no option to turn it off and if you cough yawn or do anything even talk to a family member in the same room as you it does all kinds of stupid stuff like look behind you mid-race or opens the map all annoying things but other than that i give it a 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

STAY AWAY

posted by ALBiNO_JuNk (LOMPOC, CA) May 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I really enjoyed this game and spent probably 24 hours playing it. The frostbite engine makes this game look gorgeous and smashing through obstacles never gets old. But guess what? Since they use cloud saves, you have a chance of your profile and everything you've worked for being rolled back to a previous time and that's what happened to me. I lost MILLIONS and wasted an entire week. Absolutely disappointing considering its actually a fun game. I even would have given it a 7.5 had I not been rolled back. This will happen to you at some point, and I can tell you right now, having an entire week erased because of this horrid save system (dat always online BS) sucks. For your sake, stay away or at least keep up to date on the saving issues. Who knows, maybe someday, years from now It'll work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get your own copy can't have mine

posted by levism99 (TOLEDO, OH) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

The reason why I play any racing games is because of this so now you go play it and find your own reason cause this is mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse