Rent Need for Speed Rivals for PS4
view large frontback

Need for Speed Rivals

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
6.6

1575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's fun, definitely worth a rent

posted by Dweeler (PLANO, TX) Jan 9, 2014

Member since May 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty awesome. Great graphics. Cars are a little hard to control than the previous ones. Playing as a cop (which is pretty much all I found fun) was awesome. But the lack of storyline and repetitiveness leaves me wanting SO much more. It's a pretty game but i'm definitely glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10

posted by gingyvitus (HANAHAN, SC) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Positive Aspects:
Drifting is super easy in this game which is a plus for me because it makes it fun

Negative Aspects:
By the time you platinum the game the map feels a little small
The game is very repetitious
The soundtrack gets old fast
The racing system is whacked out: Even if you have an amazing end-game car races on easy can still be hard because the way the game was built, you are prevented from getting too far ahead of the other cars. Also if you are racing really badly the other cars will only go about a mile ahead of you and will slow down so that you can catch up and blow past them.

I rate it so high because despite all of the negative aspects, it still was a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not perfect NFS

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This does feel like another version of Hot Pursuit (with the events) mixed with a little Most Wanted (online) which is fine but once you do the first mission its pretty much the same the rest of the game. The level up system is biased on the speedlists you complete which is not a bad thing its just seeing someone whos a higher rank just means they've completed more speedlists and majority of the speedlists are pretty simple to complete. If you have issues with specific race or event just hold off until you get a better car. The game doesn't restrict on what car you use per event which is cool.

Nice variety of cars and I do like how the cars are balanced out in terms of speed and strength. I hate that they show a GT-R but you can't drive it unless it was a pre-order.

Here's where the game drops for me. I keep running into lots of glitches that make the game annoying. There are times when you crash it puts you in the wrong direction, there are times when you crash the game spaz's out and you see your car driving on its own for 5 seconds before it actually puts you back into the event. Some of the jumps don't register as complete which I know is a small thing but it adds to your speed points when complete.

But the absolute annoying issue is the online. This is a game that always wants to put you into a room with other players when you start the game. Even if your not interacting with them and just doing your own thing, when the host disconnects (I don't know why theres a host to begin with) everyone has to stop what they are doing, wait for a 1-2 minute load screen then it drops you right where you left off. So if your in a race, the game stops and when you get back you find yourself stopped with the engine off but the AI is still going. So catching up sucks! I liked Most Wanted because it "FREELY" let you go online/offline seamlessly. No load screen just seamless. This is the most annoying thing in the game. Best to play in a private room to avoid this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

New System Same Game

posted by unoriginalplaya (BUENA PARK, CA) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Need for Speed has always been a great racing game. From the innovative Underground series to Hot Pursuit; NFS has made a notch in racing fans everywhere.

While playing NFS Rivals that sense of awe has all but vanished. The gameplay is your standard foray into racing games: 1. Choose a car 2. Race car against opponents using special power ups 3. Win race 4. Rinse and repeat. This time around they switched it up and you can now play as a cop which is the highlight of the game. Cruising around until you see another human opponent fly by you in a high performance car and initiating a pursuit is great and exhilarating. The fun stops there. The limited mission variety and bland, lifeless world doesn't do much to keep you in it.

Graphics- The graphics in NFS Rivals are beautiful. Everything from the gorgeous setting to the leaves that blow behind your car at high speeds makes your driving experience a pretty one. The cars; while not as detailed as Gran Turismo or Forza, do a great job in looking true to their real life counterpart. Particle effects like when your tires blow out are also a nice addition. They don't do anything else to heighten the experience but complete the overall look of the game.

Sound- From tires squealing to engines revving NFS does what it is supposed to. Nothing major yet nothing below average. The sound track is an array of current songs remixed to keep up with the intense racing action. Again, nothing special but they do their job.

Gameplay- NFS Rivals does a good job at getting the arcade style racing down. Drifting into a turn at close to 100 MPH feels tight and gives you that "aw yeah" feeling as you accelerate into the straightaway. The lack of mission variety really brings NFS down to nothing more than race these guys, stop this race, complete time trial. The comical cutscenes don't help either.

Need for Speed has always been a great franchise give or take one or two games. Rivals unfortunately finds itself going in reverse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A need for speed is right

posted by Genoske (AUBURN, WA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing the game for about 8 hours now most of which was online the events is the meat and potatoes of this game the events range from head to head, races, time trials. But the beauty of the game is you can just drive around and once you see a player symbol over a car you can just instantly challenge them and start racing and if you are playing as a cop you can just go around busting people its a ton of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Open World Racing Fails Again

posted by ClintLugert (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've been gaming for 15+ years & I love most NFS games but Burnout is the best ever. EA did to NFS what they did to Burnout: Ruined it with open world b.s.

This is not GTA. Swarms of cops before, during and after every race is absurd. You have to fight to get the winnings for the race you just won. It's frustrating as can be.

There's no pause button. Absurd.

Though going 200mph, shooting weapons, dodging traffic, wrestling racers, and evading cops sounds fun it's a whole lot less fun when you have to stare at your GPS for the next turn. Races are TRACKS.

This game looks good and feels fast but driving around looking for your next race is dumb too.

The Run was great. So were all the Burnouts before Paradise. This is one of the most joyless racing games I've ever played.

& good luck connecting with your friends on there. Total joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun game for racing newbs

posted by kevburns1 (POINT OF ROCKS, MD) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just subscribed to gamefly, and there really isn't much out for PS4 yet so i picked this out to start. It is a fun game that non racing fans (like me) can just pick up and play. The bad thing is that it's just that, a pick up and play game. There isn't a great story or anything like that to keep you really wanting to keep playing. It's a game with objectives that need to be met, and once you meet them you unlock stuff, and then do it all over again.

The visuals and sound are really good and fast paced. When your chasing someone it really feels like a high speed chase where a small mistake will mean your car flipping into the mountains.

I give this a 7 out of 10 because it's fun and cool to play, but it doesn't have anything that really keeps you wanting to get invested in it. It's worth a rent, not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad

posted by Cunningham28 (HIXSON, TN) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

Hated it, kept glitching and cars wkuld spawn on top of me amd knock me off the road

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same old same old

posted by ryfi (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I feel like this is a step backward in the series. You can barely call the map "open world" and the missions are crazy repetitive.. I don't regret renting it but I would have been very upset had I spent 60 bucks on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad or great

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Oct 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

Its a great game or bad game its just fun to just drive for a few days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

need for speed disc condition upon delivery to me

posted by luciosii (LANSING, MI) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

the disc was damaged, not heavily but enough to stop working after the tutorial needless to say i was not happy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing special

posted by henrygamer (LOS BANOS, CA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I don't hate it but I have to say I thought it was going to be better typical need for speed hopefully Crews will be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its Ok

posted by Saint_Shamroks (CASPER, WY) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Its an ok game.

An arcade racer through and through. barely any story and limited car customization. Fun for the first couple hours but gets really repetitive after that. being a new racer online is something to laugh at because the other players who are police have the top tier cars. you will never get away from them.

all in all its a fun game to have if your friends have it also.

I don't recommend this title if none of your friends have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, yet it won't keep you playing for too

posted by Hurrucan (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It's fun if you have nothing else to play but the whole system where you earn points and need to drive back to your place in order to deposit them can be a little annoying, it's really a good choice if you have nothing else worthwhile to play instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its okay, but it can improve.

posted by kevinperez (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2011

The game server is not that good. Also, the cars details looks really decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Freebird

posted by Fealy2120 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I wasn't a huge fan of the guided missions. Also, it doesn't allow for as much dynamic racing as I would hope. You essentially press R2 the entire race and drift when you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

eh...

posted by mee001 (SATELLITE BEACH, FL) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

it doesnt have very long appeal but its well worth renting its fun to rent and then send back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nfs

posted by HollywoodH88ter (ROYALTON, MN) Aug 3, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Not bad for a racer fair platinum some frustration from time to time but a easy 100% if you stick it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it was okay just got boring

posted by angelousx (LEMON GROVE, CA) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

After awhile good game was fun for awhile but then just got boring but liked the choice between being a cop and a race that was a good feature

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun Game

posted by Diesel70 (MINATARE, NE) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is very fun and very addictive. The graphics are really good. There is a good variety of cars. You can play it for hours and it is still fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice game but needs improvements...

posted by RetSamX (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Pros:
Stunning graphics.
Multiplayer mode.
Police campaign.

Cons:
Music selection.
Repetitive.
Lack of story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too shallow

posted by clapon (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 20, 2014

Member since May 2014

I would have given the game and higher rating, but it lacked a more in depth story line. Maybe even be more challenging. After beating the game, unlocking all the cars, and upgrading all vehicle to their maximum potential I just terrorize people online. Out of boredom.

Graphics are great though. Also the sound quality is spot on. Just something more to keep it from being short lived.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need for speed rivals

posted by daddyblkcat0013 (SYRACUSE, UT) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

it has great replay value and the online is fun i only wish it had two player mode for when my friends and kids want to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe not for Racers!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

More of a cop game. Just rent the game! I'm no expert..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It Looks Amazing

posted by Uplayaz (COLUMBIA, KY) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Unfortunately thats all I can say for the game. I did really enjoy the game, i thought it was fun. It may just be that i'm not that into racing games unless its Mariokart. Anyway on to the gameplay. You can pick from racer or police at any time and each have their own objectives which unlock new vehicles. the different game modes change the way the game is played but also sticks to the roots. The map is HUGE! It really gives that open world feel. Their are a ton of extra content and the online is fun. Over all I think if you like racing games and need for speed this is definitely worth a pick up. If your not into all that it may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse