Rent Need for Speed Rivals for PS4
view large frontback

Need for Speed Rivals

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.9

764 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's fun, definitely worth a rent

posted by Dweeler (PLANO, TX) Jan 9, 2014

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty awesome. Great graphics. Cars are a little hard to control than the previous ones. Playing as a cop (which is pretty much all I found fun) was awesome. But the lack of storyline and repetitiveness leaves me wanting SO much more. It's a pretty game but i'm definitely glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

New System Same Game

posted by unoriginalplaya (BUENA PARK, CA) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need for Speed has always been a great racing game. From the innovative Underground series to Hot Pursuit; NFS has made a notch in racing fans everywhere.

While playing NFS Rivals that sense of awe has all but vanished. The gameplay is your standard foray into racing games: 1. Choose a car 2. Race car against opponents using special power ups 3. Win race 4. Rinse and repeat. This time around they switched it up and you can now play as a cop which is the highlight of the game. Cruising around until you see another human opponent fly by you in a high performance car and initiating a pursuit is great and exhilarating. The fun stops there. The limited mission variety and bland, lifeless world doesn't do much to keep you in it.

Graphics- The graphics in NFS Rivals are beautiful. Everything from the gorgeous setting to the leaves that blow behind your car at high speeds makes your driving experience a pretty one. The cars; while not as detailed as Gran Turismo or Forza, do a great job in looking true to their real life counterpart. Particle effects like when your tires blow out are also a nice addition. They don't do anything else to heighten the experience but complete the overall look of the game.

Sound- From tires squealing to engines revving NFS does what it is supposed to. Nothing major yet nothing below average. The sound track is an array of current songs remixed to keep up with the intense racing action. Again, nothing special but they do their job.

Gameplay- NFS Rivals does a good job at getting the arcade style racing down. Drifting into a turn at close to 100 MPH feels tight and gives you that "aw yeah" feeling as you accelerate into the straightaway. The lack of mission variety really brings NFS down to nothing more than race these guys, stop this race, complete time trial. The comical cutscenes don't help either.

Need for Speed has always been a great franchise give or take one or two games. Rivals unfortunately finds itself going in reverse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A need for speed is right

posted by Genoske (AUBURN, WA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing the game for about 8 hours now most of which was online the events is the meat and potatoes of this game the events range from head to head, races, time trials. But the beauty of the game is you can just drive around and once you see a player symbol over a car you can just instantly challenge them and start racing and if you are playing as a cop you can just go around busting people its a ton of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Open World Racing Fails Again

posted by ClintLugert (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've been gaming for 15+ years & I love most NFS games but Burnout is the best ever. EA did to NFS what they did to Burnout: Ruined it with open world b.s.

This is not GTA. Swarms of cops before, during and after every race is absurd. You have to fight to get the winnings for the race you just won. It's frustrating as can be.

There's no pause button. Absurd.

Though going 200mph, shooting weapons, dodging traffic, wrestling racers, and evading cops sounds fun it's a whole lot less fun when you have to stare at your GPS for the next turn. Races are TRACKS.

This game looks good and feels fast but driving around looking for your next race is dumb too.

The Run was great. So were all the Burnouts before Paradise. This is one of the most joyless racing games I've ever played.

& good luck connecting with your friends on there. Total joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun game for racing newbs

posted by kevburns1 (POINT OF ROCKS, MD) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just subscribed to gamefly, and there really isn't much out for PS4 yet so i picked this out to start. It is a fun game that non racing fans (like me) can just pick up and play. The bad thing is that it's just that, a pick up and play game. There isn't a great story or anything like that to keep you really wanting to keep playing. It's a game with objectives that need to be met, and once you meet them you unlock stuff, and then do it all over again.

The visuals and sound are really good and fast paced. When your chasing someone it really feels like a high speed chase where a small mistake will mean your car flipping into the mountains.

I give this a 7 out of 10 because it's fun and cool to play, but it doesn't have anything that really keeps you wanting to get invested in it. It's worth a rent, not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10

posted by gingyvitus (MONETT, MO) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Positive Aspects:
Drifting is super easy in this game which is a plus for me because it makes it fun

Negative Aspects:
By the time you platinum the game the map feels a little small
The game is very repetitious
The soundtrack gets old fast
The racing system is whacked out: Even if you have an amazing end-game car races on easy can still be hard because the way the game was built, you are prevented from getting too far ahead of the other cars. Also if you are racing really badly the other cars will only go about a mile ahead of you and will slow down so that you can catch up and blow past them.

I rate it so high because despite all of the negative aspects, it still was a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cars lack creativity rims.Lights,interior etc.

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

The cars has no good chooses in creativity such as rim jobs only thing you can do is change rims color no size,tires,white walls or custom brakes feel more arcade just rent not to mention online players being cops suck cause they pick with u for just sitting or driving slow admireing the very detail word graphics are insane but i was unable to enjoy them as cop or racers because of online players ramming you for no reason took fun out for me can't wait for the crew.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty darn good Acade type racer

posted by ebounce88 (POULSBO, WA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I am not a fan of racing games for one. That being said Need for Speed Rivals surprised me. The controls and racing is super fun and fluid, and playing online with people couldn't be better intergrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If you're into racing games, this is for you.

posted by NuclearSoup (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I literally got this game today, I saw a couple of videos on it and it looked like a really good game!
Sadly, when I was finally able to get this I began to play and started to realize it's not as fun as you think. The open world and the graphics itself is beautiful. But It could get repetitive with the similar rodes. Another thing is that with all the missions in the game, it's really disappointing to see that most of the missions are extremely repetitive and the only difference is that it gets harder and harder. I've never really played racing games so the overall experience may be completely different for you. For one, I did only play this game for a good 4 hours before rage quitting seeing as it's not fun for me but it's also pretty challenging. The cars control fine and they're awesome. Not to mention there's a plentiful amount of cars to drive around. But the police could get pretty annoying. When you get busted, you lose all the money you earned so that would get pretty irritating, But don't get me wrong I like a challenge in a game, it's just that it was executed pretty poorly. and it's bad enough the HUD is as convoluted as it is you consistently having to look all over the place, I've just pointed out a few things that irritated me, but like I said, the experience for me personally was not great. If you really wanna see what this game has to offer, go ahead and rent it. But I warn you it may be a waste of a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of Time!

posted by fullert0465 (ELKHORN, WI) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

I thought this game would be awesome. It was not. Once again, I am disappointed with a rental from Gamefly. Not only was this title not at the top of my GameQ, but it's not even a title I was curious about...the graphics were ok, the gameplay sketchy, and the story? Dull. Dud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need For Speed is still decent

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

This is a great need for speed game in the series so far but for gameplay it is just about the same as the new version of Hot Pursuit just with Frostbite 3 game tech making a new paint of graphics and sound and now is open-world similar to Underground days but not as great. With all that said it is a decent release.

Graphics and sound is at 1080p and next gen quality instead of 1600x900 upscaled to 1080p like Battlefield 4. It is a great quality but we need to see what it can do, especially later releases like Dragon Age Inquisition.

Overall this game I give a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It NEVER stops holding your hand.

posted by turbobeta (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2011

Within the first 10 minutes of gameplay you'll experience:

A cutscene you cannot skip.
Narration you're forced to listen to.
Broken menus with options locked off.
Control being stolen from you several times and being forced to watch a framed in unstoppable movie.

Worthless. This is the worst in hand-holding game design. It's a racing game. With cars. The same cars we've all been driving since age 16. We know how to navigate menus.

Horrible. I LOVE racing games, but this one is not worth your precious time or frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not thrill about the game

posted by sicfit92 (BERLIN, MD) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Good thing I rented the game and not payed the 59.99 because this game is not worth it... I get bored just driving around... no real story behind it... graphics arent that good really.... very disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Please Put this IN your game Q!

posted by keysean05 (FOREST PARK, GA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is simply amazing! I know that it may look similar to previous games but its different. The vehicle handling are improved from previous games the cars feel a little more weighted to the ground and less fragile. Also this game has no real story to it but thats not a bad thing. The game is straight forward choose your side and complete objectives or free roam and just have fun like me! you will rank up regardless of completing objectives and also earn sp for practically anything you do!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best but still very enjoyable.

posted by smartalek (CROTON ON HUDSON, NY) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

I would have to say that my favorite racing game would had to have been Burnout: Paradise. I was hoping to have the same experience here and I was mostly satisfied. The crashes are epic and the racing is intense. I love the look of the game and the detail in the graphics. The game does run very smoothly and that only reinforces the intense chase scenes with cops and racers. However, even though the map is pretty big, it would have been much better to see the map have more intricate roads and a lot more jumps. I would also like to see a lot more customizable options and not just paint jobs. Overall I really enjoyed it and recommend it for anyone who needs a game for their Playstation 4. It is a good game for the racing fans but if your looking for a master piece you are NOT going to find one here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Online!

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

It a great game if you like playing with your friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad - nice to pass time

posted by DINGLExBERRY (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I haven't played the last NFS, the last NFS I played was Carbon (and Most Wanted just before that), and the game has changed a lot. Carbon was actually not bad either. One thing I don't like about this game is that it does not have a story mode, it is made to be an online game - you free roam a lot, which is nice, but it's nice to have a story that doesn't blow... but despite this free-roam, you rarely run into actual players. I do like the idea of completing lists to unlock cars, and the last race was just full of adrenaline. Overall, it's not a bad game to actually even OWN not just rent, it's almost like CoD where it has a lot of replay value especially since you get to choose to play as cops or racers and could compete with friends.

Overall, good game. I'd keep it longer if I didn't need the space for Infamous: Second Son :P

I may actually buy this in the future...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than most NFS games

posted by GTO_Shabs (VERONA, KY) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

Was very impressed with Rivals. Graphics were awesome. Still not a game to use steering wheel with but NFS has never produced a game wheel worthy. Super easy platinum trophy. Yes it goes online straight away but your not required to stay there. I set it to friends only and never had a problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Bamaman88 (BRANSON, MO) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

A little hard to control in the beginning, but you get used to it. Plus, you can purchase upgrades for easier controlling. The attention to detail is fantastic and there are so many options from free driving, racing, being a cop, and etc. This is a game worth purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by trey2k198003 (TACOMA, WA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Game is beautiful to look at while playing and the whole open world racing if utilized right going forward could change the way racing games are played from here on out. Now the negative is the very little story line that everyone hears about so not much replay ability for me and the fact that me and my buddy down the street had a ruff time playing in the same open world. other than that a pretty solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pause

posted by JoeBombable (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Not 2-players, Online multi-player only.
There is no Main Menu, throws you into the game stops you midgame for tutorial for the first hour of gameplay.
Also you can't pause the game, so Home is your only pause.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good but not for long

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game is insanely fun. That said he fun is not long lasting. Everything is as fun as it should be with a nfs game but nothing takes itself to seriously. The cars all feel fun and the mechanics are fun while things are new but once you've done it all there's not much reason to hang around. Also, the crashes are crazy easy to get into and nothing feels super well balanced. Open stretches of highway make it impossible for cops to catch up as racers just hit turbo and constant repair shops and the winding roads make it impossible to get away from cops or find a place to repair half the time. It's not about skill it's about location. I say these criticisms only after having hours of fun. Also, the always online sucks. I wish developers would stop assuming all gamers are teenagers who can sit in front of a tv all day. Some of us are married with children and being able to pause or finish a quick game is a lot easier than being stuck in a high stakes always on world where you are severely punished for needing to step away for a moment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ugh....

posted by Adamj253 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Graphics are sick but whos idea was it to not allow the pause button to do anything but bring up the map. I finished all objectives and was trying to set my new waypoint, got side swiped by a fellow cop car and had to start over again. Other cop cars dont help during the pursuit just get in the way . So hopefully you dont have to use the bathroom, answer your door or phone or have your wife stare at you in disbelief when you tell her you cant pause the game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not Bad

posted by thaTruSocom (CARROLLTON, TX) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

It's been awhile since i played a NFS Title and i was impressed to a degree but i like the small things. Let me know when i can customize again, and I mean NFS Underground style!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

need for speed ps4

posted by Fisherwoman69 (OAK CREEK, WI) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

i like the other need for speed ps3 , it had a story line this is all over the place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse