Rent Need for Speed Rivals for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed Rivals

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS4, PS3, Xbox One
GF Rating
5.9

545 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse parts of all the good NFS'

posted by BDRAGON (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start this game off; If you take the NFS most wanted the creative cars the free play and customization and throw those in the trash, then take Hot pursuit with the brilliant well rounded racing and crashing and throw those away as well you get NFS rivals.

I played it for a few hours right after it arrived in my mailbox. I thought "Oh, cool fast cars and play both sides" till I realized "oh crud" they took all the choppy bad driving experiences from both games and put them in this one. I remember the long chases while outrunning the cops in NFS:MW and finding that perfect hiding spot to lose them. Then the beautiful landscapes and long comfortable chases in NFS:HP; Thats the word I was looking for, Rivals is very choppy and uncomfortable almost as if the roads are to small for the cars or the AI's are bone heads and/or the physics of the game are way-off. Also too unrealistic, so you start off with a super-cop car thats doesn't respond well and has the feel of driving a semi truck around some of those turns only going 70 mph. Then you're some no name racer with a brand new ferrari. People like leveling up and car progression, some even like racing that Cobalt SS through the whole game.

This game could have been better if the basically added playable cops to Most Wanted; this would have performed much better and would have received a much better score and GF rating.

Thanks for reading, I'm going to play some Most Wanted right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shockingly Awful

posted by wetterg (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Jan 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a need for speed fan all my life. But this is by far the worst NFS game I've ever played. The only thing it has going for it are the graphics. That's it! The single player missions are confusing and often impossible. And the one on one races against online players is a joke! Nuf said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game is amazing

posted by Timlee777 (FONTANA, CA) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I rented it and did all the updates and installed the game on to my XBOX 360 and it ran just fine the graphics are amazing. The XBOX 360 I have is the Star Wars R2-D2 edition which came with a 320GB HDD so I have about 257GB free. I had no problems with this game at all. with the other comments before I don't know what size hdd they have but the game worked good for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unknown

posted by AndrewStark (BEDFORD, KY) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I recieved the game today in the mail, popped it into my Xbox, and It had me download the latest update. Once complete It reloaded the game and then asked me to install the optimal visual enhancements, or I couldn't play it. I tried to install them, however it told me you can only install on the Xbox Harddrive. I have 2.7Gb free on my harddrive and it takes 1.6, however when I try to install it tells me that It can only install on the harddrive not the place I'm trying. Stupid. If I got to actually play the game the rating would be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

need for speed

posted by johnanthony (PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

total junk couldn't play it you have to down load hd stuff I have a new xbox and space I even have an xbox hd player and it still wouldn't play checked on line 8 out of ten people having same problem shame on you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need for speed rivals

posted by Electro_shock (POOLER, GA) Nov 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

It didnt even work on my xbox 360 because i have the slim i guess. Didnt even get to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't even bother

posted by schneid (PROVO, UT) Oct 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game was just annoying. Driving was too difficult, races were too hard, and the cops almost always busted you, so keeping your points (to get new cars, customize, and upgrade) was almost impossible at times. I played a total of 4 times, each time stopping just because I was so frustrated. Don't even bother with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Almost an 'ok' game, but not quite.

posted by arclyte (BRONX, NY) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2007

The graphics and gameplay are pretty much what I'd expect out of a feature title like this. I'm not much of a racing game player (Forza is a bit much for my liking), but Need For Speed and the more 'arcade'-like driving games I've always enjoyed - my favorite being Midnight Club (Dub Edition). I was expecting much the same here, and I was, for the most part, not disappointed with that aspect of it.

However, EA obviously made some mistakes with this game. First of all, I'll consider a few flaws that I saw in the game 'proper'. The very beginning of the game forces you to play in a tutorial mode for both the cop and racer sides of the game. They don't really announce to you that that's what they're doing, so the first time a tutorial screen popped up and my car kept driving without my control I was a bit frustrated. But that was a one time thing and I paid my penance to get through it. But then, they dump you into the game itself with little to no real clue as to what the different races types mean or any way to figure it out from help menus or the like. And I get the whole 'in the action' thing - especially if you're racing against someone online, but not being able to pause the game at all? Way to make me feel penalized for playing your game.

I mentioned that whole 'racing online' thing - and this is the part that made me send the game back after only a day. I get myself into a race. It's neck and neck three quarters of the way through (after a few clumsy mistakes on my part) and I nitro my way into first place - only to have to migrate hosts and start the entire race over again after waiting 5 minutes for that to happen. This happened to me several times over the course of the night and I just got fed up with it.

Overall, it's a bump up from previous Need... games but nothing groundbreaking, but the forced online multiplayer aspect of it just breaks the entire game for me. Sorry, EA, change your online ways or we won't be playing together any

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT!?

posted by Blaze77 (SMITHFIELD, UT) Sep 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I used to love need for speed, all the cool customizing you could do with your cars was my favorite part and the police chase definitely topped it off. With this need for speed though, it was so difficult to get away from the cops that by the time I did (or if i did for that matter) i was too irritated to even continue playing the game. As far as the customization of the cars, it was terrible. The only thing you could do to significantly change the style of the car was to change the color. In my opinion, I would rather play need for speed carbon than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard drive

posted by Amberdawnnx0 (SANDUSKY, OH) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

My son was really excited for this game, he loves all the need for speeds but he was disappointed to find that it requires a hard drive to play it, rather annoying. Too bad I didn't read that before I wasted having it sent to us, I will def. check in the future before I rent or but games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Super worst game in racing history

posted by bdstewart2020 (NEW CASTLE, DE) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

You can't do anything with this game message keeps popping up on the screen everytime I try to play. Pause button don't work if you pause it the game will be still running and you lose your racing place. All the forza games tops this game any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphics are great!

posted by halofrenzy6711 (BREMERTON, WA) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

pretty good game, gets boring a little to quick tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thrill rides galore

posted by FiniteGamer (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

It might not be the best need for speed game, but the cop/racer profiles you get to play is going to be a joy to fans of the series and newcomers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is getting old

posted by jones29 (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

Why is it that we have to sift through through 3 or 4 nfs games to get one that's actually good? How come you can play a nfs game from a decade ago and after all that time end up playing a much better game? This game is garbage, maybe the next one will be good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a little to over my head

posted by tumbleweed1972 (MONTICELLO, AR) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

graphics where off the charts for this game. but i am old school and and never could get the hang of everything there was to do on this game. from upgrading your ride to buying a new car. i just couldnt figure out this game but the graphics are great!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

4GB Xbox owners beware

posted by rmpine (PALM COAST, FL) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Unless you have the OFFICIAL xbox360 hard drive you CAN NOT play this game. It's locked down so you must install 2 gb of content and only onto an official xbox360 HDD. Period. If you use removable storage like I do, do not rent this game because you will not be able to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by jbarnett84 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

this may be my fave need for speed in a long time :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow just wow

posted by ermagerd_swag21 (GARDEN CITY, KS) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

The only thing good in the game was graphics everything else was junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quick pace

posted by dill660 (WESTBROOK, ME) May 24, 2014

Member since May 2014

great racing game really the open map is nice for just driving around and getting into trouble. when the game turns to night it makes it a little harder to see oncoming cars but its only dark for a few minutes. be able to play as a cop or a racer makes the career longer for more playing time and thats a plus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need for speed RIVALS

posted by crazydriver (MCKENZIE BRIDGE, OR) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

The game is like hot pursuit. IT IS SLOW,cars do not turn right. I find the game could have been better.I should never rented the game.Wast of time.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the better need for speeds

posted by NathanSmoke (WELLINGTON, OH) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

this is one of the better need for speeds i have seen in a long time the graffics are amazing. the gameplay is awesome. the car selection is pretty good could have put more cars in it but still good. the car chases could have been a little easier but still pretty realistic this game gets a 9 in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow

posted by Johniscrazy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This Game Was Terrible The Only Reason I Put 2 Is For The Graphics And Customation But The Rest Is Trash Even The Wii NFS Games Are Better Then This I Sent It Back The Next Day I Got It And Theres No Pause So Thats Stinks But Its Always Online I Never Get To Have A 1 Player Session And All The Racers And Cops Are High Ranks Also The Missons Are Hard Like "Do Any Gold (Med) Race" Or " Do A Silver Race (Hard) Thats All I Need To Say 3 Words WORST GAME EVER Well Not The Worst But Its Ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game.

posted by DarkElemental94 (ELLISVILLE, MS) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Need for Speed Rivals I would say has good graphics but they could have been more in depth with the game just like Need for Speed Most Wanted (2005) did with a actual storyline, but overall I like the game and gameplay and that is why I gave it a good rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What?

posted by toby2621 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

I hate the fact that it makes you install hd stuff just to play the game... thats so geh-aye... another reason why im converting over to the PS4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS

posted by fasthall07 (LAWRENCE, KS) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Well done, only suggestion would be to force the player to switch factions to keep the storyline synchronized.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse