Rent Need for Speed Rivals for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed Rivals

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

264 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by lindubz (MANLIUS, NY) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay so it's not my favorite game of the year, but I don't know why it got such a low rating from everybody else. It's a fun game and a lot like hot pursuit. You get to achieve speed points through multiple races, cop pursuits, stunts and other objectives as well as switch between being a cop or racer. The cars are also still customizable, but not as much as in previous need for speed games. All in all, it deserves a 7 or 8 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed PS3 Prospective

posted by FrankNittyII (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not as upset as I would have if I bought this game. I spent more time resetting my PS3(System ONLY 8 Months old) because the game froze or the constant Host Migrations. Everyone attacked me for saying the game sucks! I can't be wrong if the game got ratings averaging 5 stars out of 10 on Gamefly. Just to prove to yall its not my system or my Internet. I did a few things;

1. I removed the NFS Rival game from my PS3. I then placed Grid 2 in there to see if I get the same results. Guess what I didn't. I continued to play other games with no problems.

2. The continuous Host Migration issues. Its not because of my Internet Service, its because of NFS Rival Servers.

In all honesty, I think NFS Rival was made for PS4 systems. Everyone that has the PS4 doesn't seem to be having any of these issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too many glitches to be fun

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 9, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is not a really bad game its just all these glitches that make the game barely playable. I recommend playing this on a next gen console as some of these glitches are minimal.

This game is like hot pursuit where you have different events to complete. Most are fairly easy with the right car and it doesn't restrict you on what car to use.

Online can be a drag because it wants to throw you into a room with other users but one user will be the host and when that host leaves then everyone freezes and has to reload. Its a major pain when your in the middle of an event and you need to get your senses back when you re-enter the race, oh and you have to start from a dead stop while the AI is pulling away.

Here are some glitches that I've seen that make this game very hard to enjoy.

- The game will momentarily freeze while the environment loads. This is terrible because when your in a time trail event the timer keeps going while your stuck sitting still for 2-3 seconds waiting for the game to catch up.

- AI fodder cars will instantly appear right in your path with no time to dodge them. This occurs with cops, racers and fodder cars. You'll be in first then last the next second near the finish line.

- Framerate decreases to a chug when there's too much on the screen like 5-7 police cars that are trying to wreck you.

- Game tends to crash when you try to do too much too fast. Turn, boost, crash, open menu, etc.

- This is not often but at times when you crash you'll see your car driving on its own for a few seconds in a cutscene then place you back in the race. This shouldn't occur.

- No vulnerability when you respawn, once you respawn your open for any hits which cops wont miss so don't crash in the first place.

Its just these little things that bring this game down. If your in it for trophies then its fairly easy. You just need a friends help to get 2 of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

R.I.P.

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It was bad enough NFS: Most Wanted was nothing more than a Paradise City reboot. This game is all fluff no substance. If I was an EA executive I would fire everyone involved in making this game. Seriously, they concentrated so much on the background, leaves falling, fog, ridiculous camera effects, and weather that nothing was left for the driving physics. Saying the cars handle like bricks is an insult to bricks. How hard is it to listen to your fan base and create what we want? I’m truly heartbroken. This game had so much potential but it was all wasted on everything except the cars, the modifications, and the driving. Once again the hype was better entertainment than the game. Need For Speed is dead, murdered by the people at EA.
R.I.P.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Freeze Machine

posted by Jhofmann (CRESCENT CITY, CA) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game I was looking forward too. But when I got it I did the cop and racer training. Started my first event and it froze on me..I restarted the system and tried again it froze on me two more times..Sent back same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Such a disappointment.

posted by Eclipsy (BEALETON, VA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After the Hot Pursuit and Most Wanted remakes, they decided to take a turn for the worst. Most Wanted wasn't perfect but it was a different turn that actually made good heads, but Rivals, you just went straight down into heck

For one, cops will chase you for no reason, you can just sit there on the side of the road, Oh look a pursuit. Want to play online? Welcome to idiot country where all the high ranks will just run into you and total you.

And the lack of cars, where are they? 23 racer cars and 24 cop cars, excluding the Bugatti, the Hennessey Venom GT, and the Koenigsegg Agera R for racers, wth?

Also, how is a MP4-12C Spyder faster than a 458? A 458 is on par with the Aventador, and also the fact the muscle cares will not steer ONE BIT causing you to mostly overshoot every turn along with your ride scrapping the wall.

The only good part about it is that they brought back being a cop and a new online system, but the map is too small and repetitive. It's like they tried to put Hot Pursuit and Most Wanted together, just to ruin it.

Everything EA touches gets ruined now, all they want is money, and this shows how much they want it, with horrible released games that include no way of trying to please the consumer.

I have loved every NFS game I have ever played, but this, I can't no matter how hard I try. The system is too badly made, there is a huge lack of cars, customization isn't as big as it could be, and they refuse to actually do anything that is truly different from before.

How to ruin a gaming franchise, by EA. How many more are they going to ruin before people start to realize it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game similar to all NFS games.

posted by ittybitty (NEWFANE, NY) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I dont understand the person that left the horrible 1 out of 10 review. User is upset that the MP4-12c is faster then the 458 Italia in the game. Well that is because the MP4-12c has 640 horsepower and the 458 Italia has 570 Horsepower in real life. The mp4-12C is a lot faster then the 458. Want proof check out YouTube and search mp4 vs 458 Italia. Reviewer also said that the muscle cars will not turn, well if you are driving the car at a high rate of speed and don't brake for the corner then of-course it won't turn. Simply drive it like a muscle car and brake early and hard, apex the corner and exit fast. The user does not know cars and does not know video games either. This is a typical NFS game, it is fun to play, the car chases are fun, racing has a real sense of speed. If you are a fan of the NFS franchise then rent the game. It is not the best NFS of all time but it is still a great racing game. Good luck and always use a seat belt when traveling at 200mph.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by LgranD10S (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Finally, the driving physics aren't too loose how they used to be in previous games. This is a much more fun and enjoyable game than the last one was. It is a complete open world and you can't stop the fun unless you get to a hideout or a police station. IT IS AMAZING. While doing races in an open world, racers and cops alike are coming at you from the opposite side while the cops chasing you try to take you down as well as the other racers deploy certain pursuit tech to stop you. the fun never ends. Remember those stopping screens after you stopped racing? NOPE. Not anymore. It is incredibly clean full of actual performance changing and simply the variety of cars and the look of undercover, enforcer and normal cop is amazing it gives a complete different feel to the game.

Idk what the guy below me is talking about. You can also btw, team up with your friends and lose the cops or wreck them together and it becomes a massive MASSIVE enjoyful moment. Gentlemen, if you liked the IDEA of the hot pursuit games and didn't feel like it gave you what you wanted, I ASSURE you, this game....is one I'll keep playing until the next one comes out. Amazing game, FINALLY NFS got somewhat close to most wanted and underground 1 & 2. AND most importantly the action NEVER stops its fkin awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously?

posted by zomg (BLANCHESTER, OH) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

Giving it a 1 because I heard about all the bugs and things so I figured id wait a bit for them to be fixed. Well I got the game yesterday and same old bugs it froze on my first race. EA get your &%#@ together, bring back the good need for speeds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Glitchy Game

posted by Daddy_Lac (NORWALK, CT) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Game is pretty good but very glitchy and freezes alot. it crashed my ps3 a bunch of times. but i beat the game in less then 3 days and say good riddance!! good thing i rent EA Games and not buy em full price, id be upset. Love Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need for Speed(RIVALS)

posted by ColecoVision (STOCKTON, CA) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I've been playing Need For Speed since 95. The 1st one, I swung the viper for three hours. Then NFS 2 came out, and they lost me. the add on I did like was the drive view ,But I wasn't a big fan.

NSF3 Hot Pursuit, the boys are back. The game play was great, great boards car were great. but we know the board and the car. Atlantica & el'Nino(1998).

NSF4 High Stakes was the best one ever. they brought the Road blocks, spike belt and the chopper, they set the bar. And then they lost me for a few years, NFS hot pursuit 2, they were fighting to get back.

Then there was underground 1&2 Luuvved it. the Honda civic on 2 was the car. NSF most wanted was great, the boys were back in town. NSF carbon if you never played it, you mist out, AI team mate. Good game. Didn't like NFS Pro that much, the crashes were cool.

NFS undercover was great too. NFS shift was not so good. The franchise has fallen off. there after the $$s. RIVALS I feel is a small redemption. Game play is fun. the build up of the car perks are not bad. The only thing I don't like is that they took out the big city. it's worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game but Why!!!

posted by moneymike08 (HEMET, CA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

I honestly couldn't keep playing this game. The game was ok for what i played but i cant even pause the game while racing.. And i dont know why Need for speed has a problem in letting me customize my cars. only options are paint the body and performance.. No Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not great! but good!

posted by drummerer78 (HOMER, MI) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

i didnt like the layout of the game the could have took more time on it! game play was ok but overall was about a 5 in my book!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome but...

posted by Mr_Prophecy (ALPHARETTA, GA) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Great addition to the need for speed series, easy controls, lots of fun, but will randomly freeze your ps3 during gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i just wonder

posted by averageman (UNION, SC) Dec 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

I wonder if rock star can do better on need for speed than AE. the font is a little small and blurry to read even with 20/20 vision. so far this game has no story line like most wanted or carbon. the cars and handling is decent ,but overall I give it a 5, I mean it is a racing game............but that's it. no story....just racing...zzzzz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Speed Bump

posted by IndigoAK (FAIRBANKS, AK) Dec 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

In general, Need for Speed Rivals accomplishes what it sets out to do. It provides you with a plethora of fast, gorgeous cars and a large world through which to drive them and it nails the sense of speed that's been missing from the series for a while now (ironic given the name of the series is Need for Speed to begin with).

That said, it doesn't take these many steps forward without bringing some faults along for the ride. The cops versus racers foundation serves the game well for the most part, but shows a few rough edges when the going gets fast and rough. Players must earn points to upgrade or buy new cars, the catch being that you don't earn then if you don't manage to bank them. You can bank them by managing to return to your hideout in the middle of a session, but in the later stages of the game this becomes almost too much of a struggle as more potent enemies arrive on the scene and begin to wear out their welcome. Furthermore, the series trademark rubberband AI returns in full form, this time with the suspect ability to teleport from miles away right onto your rear bumper, which will undoubtedly lure forth its fair share of profanity. This AI becomes the biggest hassle when as a racer you're forced to deal with the cops, a frustrating experience without fail.

The game's setting is smaller than it looks, though the Frostbite 3 engine does a great job of bringing it to life on the PlayStation 3's aging hardware. Dust, leaves and grass swirl throughout the courses as you blur through them, and lens flare and color grading effects manage to be mesmerizing, but not too distracting. There's a decent variety of environments in Redview County - your typical desert, city, forest, beach, farmland and snowy mountain areas - but they're all pretty small and you'll often be saying to yourself, "Wasn't I just here?" since most of the game's courses loop around on themselves and their surroundings.

Recommend for Need for Speed fans or racing fans in gener

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a Game for the Hardcore Racer Fans

posted by tiberius1993 (THORNTON, CO) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

The first game I rented from GameFly was Need For Speed Rivals. I do not like this game at all, I don't even have the want to explore the world. I shouldn't hit a car/wall and bounce off like its nothing, I should crash in a dramatic fashion. Graphics are ok, compared to previous installments, you see the graphics were downgraded. The driving and mechanics of the game feel great, different and a little easier to learn. The aspect that the game is constantly online, with both racers and cops, is pretty grand to think about. But it's not fun when you're racing and someone who is not in the race decides to go head on with you and knocks you out of the race. Overall: score of 6/10.

Criterion Games may had their name on the game, but the game does not show they had any involvement at all. I hate NFS games, until Criterion Games were handed the key to the franchise. Now they are fun to play. Just not this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wack!!!

posted by MeMeMe410 (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

WACK Same old Same. New package!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

uh oh...

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

wow. if you thought "NFS the run"was bad, look out!

i hope this isnt the end for this once great franchise........................................................................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »