Rent Need for Speed: ProStreet for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed: ProStreet

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.2

6556 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Different than what I thought

posted by WickedS (MCDONOUGH, GA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I'm a big NFS fan. I have owned all of them. My hopes was very high for this one even after playing the demo. Like someone mention it gets boring after seeing the same type of courses over and over again. The wheelie course is neat. The other track courses are to short and not enough driving time. I'v even created my own racedays but that didn't help either. I missed not having the free roaming and most of all, no POLICE to chases you around. I was looking foward to that adrenaline rush.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Step In The Right Direction

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Well after playing Carbin I was let down. Carbon was a step back for the series when compared to Most Wanted. I rented this expecting another let down, but was surprised. It was much better than Carbon. Now if they can add the Good of Most Wanted, ProStreet, and Underground then they have a chance at a really, really good game. It is worth a rental and possible purchase, I got it for a Xmas present so now I can return the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET IT

posted by tomclancyf (AURORA, CO) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

53 out of 78 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Ok this is like blasphemey for me because I am a long time dedicated Need for speed fan. I was extremly excited to check out the newest installment (pro street). I bought the game the day it came out and rushed home and put it in not questioning it because it had the "need for speed" title. It is by far the worst game in my library. Not to mention the story line is a replica of the original Grand Turismo on PS1. Thats right they dropped the street racing genre and now you have to race at a track (boring), cant wreck (boring), real physics (boring), upgrade car with real money VIA microsoft points (disturbing, Not running from cops which is the main appeal of the game. Anyways I can go on and on telling you how horrible this game is but im sure there are a few out there who will love it and as far as im concerned Need for speed is no more. sold out to project gotham style racing. which is really unfortunate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what is this?

posted by impjuice (Houston, TX) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game cannot be a NFS game i had to look at the cover twice after playing it for 3 hours. This game is just terrible. The grip races are just a pain in the butt come to a corner doing 25mph and your car just wont turn. The announcers are annoying. The ONLY thing you can do is race. They tried to make it seem more realistic and came about... no where near close. I bought this game, i prolly shoulda waited to rent it. I beat the drag king in 3 hours with the first set of cars in King mode. The game is to repetitive and easy. EA you should fire the person that made this game seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ugggh

posted by IBloTreez (BELLEVUE, NE) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

well, to my opinion nfs pro street sucks. carbon was way better.. more understanding... and the grip races in pro street suck.... the garage look sucks... i got done with 3 career race days and i shipped the game back in because i did not like it at all...

for all the carbon lovers, do not get this game if you like free roam fast corners, sweet paint jobs and customizable features on your car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not What I Expected

posted by Woodchippr (GRANGEVILLE, ID) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The first and biggest complaint is the game is way too repetative. There are too many races on the same tracks using the same cars over and over again. It just gets boring after a while, and gets to the point where you are almost lapping the opponents because you know the track so well. My second complaint is the fact that there is no way to qualify before any races. Thus you end up in the last position everytime, and makes you fight your way to the front of the formation of cars. It usually ends up in you causing damage to your car because as you get behind an opponent, as the A.I. slows down and you end up wrecking into the car in front of you. Also the cars all jumble up at the start, and makes it near impossible to get past them without hitting one, or one hitting you. Another thing I dont like about the game is when you get a new car, you cant use it for any other races other than what you have it classed at from the beginning. Meaning that if you get a new car and you choose to send it to the drag races, you can only use it in the drag races and nothing else. So, unless you have lots of money, your cars are really limited as to what you can drive on certain tracks. Another complaint is, is there are a lot of cars that are locked that you can only buy with Microsoft Points on Xbox Live. Now for some its not a probelm, but for others that means going out and getting Xbox live and going form there. Unless you want to do that the cars remain locked. Last complaint is, is when you have your moderate difficulty set, your driving aids get in the way of driving the way you want. When you are trying to accelerate out of a turn, the computer steps in and hits the brakes. Not a good thing to do when opponents are behind you. Overall the game has its fun points, my favorite is the drag races. The graphics are very nice, but the game isnt what I thought it would be. I would rent it, but not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in series

posted by MadKing (JUDSON, TX) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

18 out of 33 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is a very very good racing game, and the best in the series I think. You may think that the game will not be very good because of the change in direction for the series, but that's not true at all. The game holds pretty true to it's previous titles. If you liked the other games then you will probably love this one. The crashing is nicely done, and seems quite realistic. The scenery is nice, and really makes you feel like your there. The audio is also top notch. I would give this game a perfect because I think that it did everything that a racing game is expected to do, and did it very well, but also gave us a little more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boaring...

posted by bbeason (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you take away running from the cops on the open road, racing through down town streets, going the wrong way on the highway just for fun, you get a another rip off of GT or any other race simulation.

Graphics are great, the sounds are also better then I expected and the physics are better the past Need For Speed games (you can tell when you're driving a different car), but Game play is what is lacking badly. Tracks are very small and seem to be all the same with diffrent back grouds, and the so called "modes" are all the same expect for the drag racing (which is the only reason I played for as long as I did). Also from what I've seen you have a very small choice of cars (I didn't even see a place to buy a new car, though I didn't look very hard after I got board) and the upgrade system is off the wall. No idea what they were thinking with that.

The announcer makes me want to shoot myself as well... I lost interest after the first 3 "race days".

I was hopping for something more. Unless your into the Tuner sub-culture you will probably be just a disappointed as I was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than people say...

posted by CluB2DeAth (HARPER WOODS, MI) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

If you're a legitimate car enthusiast that enjoys tuning cars and sim-like racing, you will like this game.

If you're a Fast and The Furious ricer wannabe and want to run through a course without using that left pedal known as a brake, stay away.

The game is more of a sim that previous entries. It actually takes technique to get around courses, especially with a manual transmission. ProStreet looks much better than Carbon. Car models are a little better than the PGR series, but the environment has a little pop-in. If you deal with it, it won't bother you that much.

Tuning is a big part to this game. You can spend hours just tuning a car to perfection. You can pretty much tune a muscle car (like my Challenger R/T) to wheelie almost the entire 1/4 mile with the settings.

No free roam isn't a big factor if you're in it for the racing. Many people grew into the NFS series from Underground, so they never experienced the previous games like Hot Pursuit 1-2, Porsche Unleashed, and the first 3 that got me interested into the NFS series. Some people say that they have been fans since the first one and still burn this game, which I find kind of hypocritical, since this game goes back to its roots.

Just one bad thing that I've found the most annoying is the freakin' announcer. It sounds like the same guy from Burnout 3, or SSX3. And you can't even turn him off. If you have a loud enough custom soundtrack on that can cover him, then you're fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Street To Track

posted by Sharp19 (DEKALB, IL) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This was a highly anticipated game to be extremely good and much better than Carbon. Deciding to take the racing from the street to the track is a major change for the NFS team.

The handling is a bit different compared to the other NFS's but the graphics are superb and everything is done really well. Only thing I really dislike is the fact that it's following in the footsteps of every other racing game and there is not much extra stuff available like the free roam.

Many different opinion but I give this a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by newgod33 (Ardsley, NY) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worse NFS that has hit the market. No cops every race is on a track and to easy to unlock cars by useing micro points. do not make the mistake of buying this gme as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFS Prostreet

posted by ryleynoyes (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, with the exception of being too easy. I tried turning off all the assists, but i still saw the assist lights turning on anyway. The final boss can drift his AWD car, but you can't. Other than these flaws, i LOVED this game, and can't wait for the next NFS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

JUT OK.....NOT AS GOOD A THE OLD!

posted by rydiggidy (PITTSBURG, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good Graphics, Lame story, stiff feeling trying to make corners on the track, the old series was better by far!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Solid Gameplay!

posted by R0B0DAVE (ARLINGTON, TX) Jan 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes many are down on the game because it breaks from the mold of running from cops and crashing through gas stations. However, this game has great graphics, great gameplay, solid controls, different variants throughout, solid multi-player etc. I initially thought the same as the bad reviews but gave the game a chance and am really loving it now. Yes its got its bad points just like any game mainly the fact that if you have a lot of money you can just use Microsoft Points to buy everything you want but for us budget players who dont have $200 + to waste on a game we have to play it though to get our cars and mods. This game is a great game for the MS wireless racing wheel too! Only bad is on drift trying to hit the A button while steering all over trying to drift is a bit difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad... About 2 up from Carbon...

posted by XJet2025 (CONROE, TX) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a good way to redeem ones self after NFS Carbon. With this game =

The Good... realistic racing, actually adjusting your own car, and the addition of wheelie races which are actually fun. at least 2 steps up from carbon and its just way over the top "fast and furious" ricer addiction. the drag races are solid and welcomed back, "grip" races are done fairly well although the 240zx the start you with is pretty much most of what you need for the whole game. drift racing is much more real now. and Damage, that real and functional in this game makes it at least so far closer to a more sim racing game rather then the "floor it and ride the walls for turning" style of other nfs games previous.

The bad... its short, tone down the paints and make a bit more game, the car selection is interesting, because well a 89 carolla vs a viper is always funny no matter what the out come... Pre -burn out warm ups... "All wheel drive" cars burn just that "All WHEELS", what happened to the stats of the old muscle cars that 0-100 is outrageous and way way to long. drive physics are sometimes a tad sketchy, meaning if ur driving in a desert course its not going to drive like being in england, or Tokyo. so i take a tick off for that. but hey this isn't Forza or Gran Tursimo

The Funny...the Drag king (queen) LAME the people before her were doing their races almost 2 to 3 seconds better then her.... Mr. showdown king, why is he so emo? Okay most of the characters in this are questionable at best but hey what ever. Some of the "exotic" cars in this game just aren't something ur going to see. i.e. Paganni Zonda more then likely never going to see it racing against a Camero or anything else for that matter unless its pro and against Ferrari or Lamborghini...

Hoping in the next one... Most wanted 2... just reprogram Most wanted with more people more cars and add 2 more levels of cops and we have a deal. Don't change to much else it was beautiful...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

stupid stupid

posted by subydude (CLIFTON, NJ) Nov 19, 2007

Member since May 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

ok for all the stupid idiots out there pro street is base on where racing is going now. meaning street racers are basically taking there car to the track now days . if u watch the videos and listen to what the developers say then you will understand the concept of the game and the whole point of it. who ever says it sucks is just mad because they are garbage and don't know how to tune there car. unlike underground 2 where they just give u performance packages. u actually got 2 tune your car 2 the way u drive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst need for speed

posted by byxman (MOUNTAIN CITY, TN) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is a disappointment to the need for speed series. the cars just wont turn. it is to easy to crash. the story line sucked. and ea really needs to step it up to sell next session cause this hurt them bad. i only played like three races be deciding that the game was not worth playing and to it out of my 360 so i could play ddr instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by goku1234 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i am a NFS fan since the first one came out even for pc but no cops no chases what the hello. I am really upset with the making of this game sorry NFS but you need to put back the cops and chases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A botched job of a game

posted by skunkoz (STANTON, KY) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Offline content is ok at best,...online play was ruined,...thats all i have to say besides ,..dont buy it ,...maybe rent it if u are a big fan of NFS games.,..ok hope i am of help.,..PS ,..only thing its good for is ez achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game isnt a game its a remake

posted by Jimbo84 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game shouldnt be called need for speed it should be called pgr4 and 1/2 not even close to the need for speed franchise DONT BUY THIS GAME DONT EVEN RENT IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow this game is lame.

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

You feel like your in some cheesy nascar racing game. with advertisements on every coroner sure the cars are nice but that's about it. most wanted is way better. Its entertaing maybe for like 5 minutes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst NFS

posted by Predict (TURLOCK, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The online is horrable. It is not even a good racing game. The only good side about it is the drag racing, but it is crapy online. Their is a lot better racing games then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lpved this game

posted by Runthrough81 (READING, PA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

its not a very complex game but i like the different racing styles. I hate when some racing games make you race 200 laps on a track LAME. This game didn't get boring even after the 10th time i beat it. Still remains my favorite racing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'm disappointed with Game-Fly for this.

posted by The_Bomb (DIXON, MO) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I bought NFS: Prostreet awhile back and my buddy knocked over my Xbox (and put a big burn ring around mine). I ordered this game for Game-Fly to play because I've been wanting to play it for awhile. I got the game from Game-Fly and put it in and it wasn't in for even a minute and it said disc un-readable. I am very disappointed with Game-Fly for this and hope that nobody (and I mean NOBODY) gets the disc that I got because it does NOT work. It will just say disc un-readable. PLEASE Game-Fly swap the discs with a better one for everyone else's enjoyment. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst need for speed

posted by AmyWagner (TROY, MO) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

one day i saw this and thought wow that really looks cool got it played for 5 min and was so bored and went to a game that is more entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse