Rent Need for Speed: ProStreet for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed: ProStreet

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

2626 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Everyones Missing the point here (PLEASE READ)

posted by chargr67 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

32 out of 35 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

"ive been playing nfs since it started with underground and.."

hold on a sec, since underground? what about NFS 1,2,3 hot pursuit,4 high stakes and 5 hot pursuit 2? NFS was orginally about High end cars and resort like tracks, yes tracks. there was never free roam in NFS untill NFS 7 (underground 2).

Most Wanted was a launch title for the Xbox 360 and Carbon was a launch title for the PS3(just a year later, which seems to be a pattern now, NFS used to take a few years now its just 1). both games were rushed to meet the release of each system witch took its toll on the game.

the game engine (what powers how the game plays) was choppy and almost "hovercraft" like. the cars slid like they were on ice all the time and at times defied physics. sure its no a sim its suppost to be alil arcade but the problem wasnt that it was arcady, the problem was that the game engine was unfinshed which made for some frustrating races for anyone whos drivin a car before.

with that said yes ProStreet has taken a step away from the tuner scene slightly and went back to tracks but what we got in return was a much smoother game engine and better sense of speed. Prostree does not have cops, a bad guy, a epic story, hollywood actors, CG cut scenes, but you know what it does have? a fun racing game...

i think alot people have totaly forgot what "The Need For Speed" is all about.. this is not "the fast and the furious" or "the need for drama" no matter how you cut it NFS has always been a racing game and this year that is what EA delivers.

NFS is not defined by the type of cars, so what if it only has 8 exotics, so what if it only has 4 body kits for each car, it has a cars from every genre and a fun racing element and yet every reveiw i read crucifies it becasue theres no epic story or hollywood actors.

you people have your prioritys backwards...

NFS ProStreet is a fun, solid racing game and is built with a higher stardard then the past 3 (underground2,mostwantd,c- arbon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Challenge you!

posted by RACECRAZY (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for some time now and haven't played it for about 6 months now. I have been trying different new games like GT5 and older ones like MC3 Dub Remix, NFS Underground series, Carbon, (Juiced 2 (for the drifting mainly)) (not that they are very old). I play pretty much only racing games and have been playing since GT2 and NFS2. I've always liked to feel the sense of speed (adrenaline) but also prefer fairly realistic handling. Just last night I popped NFSPS in my PS3 and I was blown away at how awesome it felt. All these reviews talking about this game not being as good as the underground series, Most Wanted or Carbon are frustrating to me because this game has almost the perfect balance of a sense of speed and realistic handling. Granted the Announcers are very annoying and you can't view replays but ALL in ALL this game is a blast. And I challenge anyone who thinks that NFSPS is not fun to go play other games for a while and then come back to it. This game has an awesome feel and deserves more good reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too Many Frozen Screens

posted by SMoK40 (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't mind the change in format from Carbon, but the thing that caused me to pull my hair out was the consistent (near constant) game freeze when I was updating the blueprints. After 10 reboots of the game yesterday, I had enough and sent it back to GameFly having only completed 17% of the game...what a shame, not a bad game otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game freezes

posted by boberto (KENILWORTH, NJ) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my game freezes on me, after i win a race day. i am about 50% complete and simply put theres no way ill ever finish it with this freezing. EA knows about the glitches and has no fixes. THANK GOD I RENTED IT THRU GAME FLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call This One "It's Own Game"

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I picked up this game not really having much experience with the other NFS games in the series. I have really enjoyed this game thus far and can't wait to get my car built up to a point to be competitive online. From what others say you should go into this game thinking of it as "It's Own Game" and not compare it to the others which is easy to do for any within a series. The graphics and controls are excellent. The AI can be difficult and the options/leaderboards are great. Plus, EA will send you 10K in NFS money just for playing online. I am 96.9% sure I will be keeping this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NFS taking different route

posted by lilceas (SANTA ANA, CA) Dec 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love NFS games because of one reason. Because it is NOT realistic, but every man's fantasy. Building up hot cars, killing the competition, all w/o being untouched. That is definitely one thing that I will miss w/ this new game as it tries to battle GT.

It's a good game and different from the hot pursuit style games previously released, but it is still pretty fun... graphics are clean but i hate the whole RACE DAY theme they got going.

I love the free roaming in all the other NFS'. This game gets a 7 because it's still fun to customize your cars and you can use more then just one car for one specific type of race. All in all, fun game. Worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lots of waiting but worth a try

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jan 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you love racing games you are going to rent this one no matter what the reviews say. The racing is pretty tight and controls respond well. Load time and save time are ridiculously long and take away from the game. This is supposed to be a next gen game, I would expect better performance from the game engine. What in the heck are they loading anyway? Its just a 1/4 mile race track not an entire world. Drag racing is new but again, too much time loading and burnout is a frustrating waste of time. The grip racing and time trials are the best part of the game. Try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

N.F.S Pro street Review

posted by ridgeracer (LEMONT, IL) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I Believe that N.F.S is a great series of games, but Pro street is the worst in the series. The damage payments are dumb, because it is obvious that you will eventually crash your car. I like driving in the drift races though, because changing the shift for the PS3 is the right stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

FAILED!!!

posted by K1LLA4H1RE (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Game is boring after 1 hour of play. Terrible button layout and hard to control cars.

The only cool thing about the game was the options to modify your car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a buy

posted by Supes2511 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

If you loved N4S Underground, Most Wanted and Carbon...you will not like this game. There is no competition syle racing and there is no police element at all. Keeping it safe and off the streets means keeping it boring. Plays the same as Ridge racer and other racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't even get to play the game

posted by Bakkasan (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My internet was down when I got this and you cannot do ANYTHING without connecting to PSN AND EA online. Seriously why bother with a game that you can't even play a single player quick race at home alone without an internet connection. This is a deadly flaw in their thinking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment in the NFS series

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game lacks identity. NFS underground was a tuner, street racing arcade style game. This is somewhere in between that and a simulation. Leave the simulation to Gran Turismo, because no one else can come close. This change in physics and mechanics has taken much away from the series. I was throughly disappointed with this game, and am a huge fan of the series. The graphics are not any improved over the NFSU2 and the game play is much less fun. The cars are also somewhat lacking, although there are 55 of them, who really wants to fix up a chevy cobalt? I mean really. BOTTOMLINE: Don't bother unless you really really really think you will like it, even then, it's probably a waste of time/money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by anonomyss (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very good i thought. I read an earlier review and the member said "don't play this game knowing the other NFS games play it like it was it's own" This member was right. The game was nothing at all like Most Wanted or Carbon but like it WAS it's own. It has it's own style the racing is more realistic on the turns and the cars look more realistic. Not to mention that the vinyl customization in this game is amazing. They brought back the layers palette so your can have multiple images on your car or just one side of your car if you want also you can have different settings for each car so you can make one setting on a drag car for top speed and the other for acceleration. They've also added in the feature of having a clutch when playing manual which i haven't been able to use yet but i hear is challenging, if your up to it. There is many MANY cars in this game a lot of which i have not seen before in racing games or even heard of before. The only bad thing in this game i can think of at the moment is that the customization of cars is a little difficult at first but you'll get used to it just play around to get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hook, Line, and Sinker

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game gets a 10 from me for being original in its over-all Function. Its about time they let you prestage before Drag Race in need for speed, Its about time need for speed lets you actually make changes to your cars settup.

I've played about six of Need 4 Speeds and I'm glad they returned to their roots, Lets face it another Underground game would be just that another average arcade racer, Don't get me wrong I don't want N4S to go full Sim racer, thats GT's area, but I'm tired of every car handling the same way in the old games, lets face it the only difference between your first and last car is the top speed, Not the case in this game, I've driven a few of the cars in real life and they handle almost identical, except that cars in this game are easier to control, Changes you make to the suspension make noticable changes on way the car handles.

The career path is a great change of pace, Its a excellent new method, It Drag is your fortee then you can beat the game almost purely on drag racing. The same goes for just about all other game types. This is an excellent game, the list of cars is astounding, Everything from Supra's, Z's, skylines, to Cuda's, corvettes new and old, to Lambos, M3's, to the Zonda F, every type of car you could ever want is yours for the driving, all with their own unique Characteristics, No two cars perform the same and this is the best change N4S good have given us,

An Arcade Racer with Simulation performance, This is a Racing game for anybody who enjoys cars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by Mikey76 (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NFS has slowly gotten worse as time has gone on. What happened to free roam? What happened to all the different missions? I understand adding some sense of realism to games...but come on. Games are not meant to be totally realistic...that's why they're games.

I rented it and kept it for 1 day and sent it back. I seriously hope NFS goes back to the basics...otherwise there's definitely something to be said for looking into DeVry!! (You know, that freaking commercial we see all the time advertising for the online gaming degree)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

need for speed pro street

posted by fleshintog (WOODLAND PARK, CO) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! looks good, game play is ok. i waited forever for this game to come out, i played it for an hour and a half and only did like 5 races. all it does is load and save, load and save, load and save. 2 mins of loading for a 10sec drag race. most annoying announcer ever. never shuts up. all he does is talk about how good you are, even if you are terrible. and about how you used to be a street racer and your gonna tear the track up, says the same stuff over and over. i wanted to break the game in half, but i don't think the fine people at gamefly would like that. oh yeah and the trailers made the crashes look awesome, but they are not. you can flip the car end over end at 200mph and the bumpers and hood fall off, and that's it. very disappointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An awesome driving sim.

posted by Grope27 (WICHITA, KS) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The main reason why people rate it so low, is because they expect to play NFS , even though this is NFS its nothing like NFS, if that makes sense. But this game is really amazing in terms of them coming out of the arcade stle racing games, and finally into some realistic racing. This game is not worth the 60 dollars but its deffinately worth a try if you cant wait til Gran Turismo 5. You will love doing drag races, and the best thing about this game is tuning a 180 BHP car, and making it have 600 bhp etc. . If you like cars you will love this game, but I rated it a 10 because of how well they did on their first game, not because its the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME

posted by JMAMX3 (HUDSON, NH) May 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game is one of the best NFS i played, the cars are really cool and its cool that you also get pre made cars and also the boss race is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Predecessor to Shift

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I love the NSF franchise, and I've played almost every one since Underground. Prostreet was the only one I couldn't bring myself to finish. In all fairness, I should preface that I played this out of order, that I played Shift first, and that I wasn't completely crazy about Shift compared to the more arcade-y feel of the classic NSF titles.

With that said, you can determine if my opinions might be useful to you depending on whether you like Shift or don't know.

The good:
- It's got many classic NSF elements (career progression, etc)

The bad:
- It's the predecessor to Shift in gameplay, style, and feel. Meaning it's not near as polished as Shift.
- Extremely repetitive.
- It felt like driving a bulldozer, which isn't uncommon for early game cars, but the mid tier cars weren't any better (I quit playing halfway through).

Prostreet has the "follow the line" style of driving like in Shift where the goal is to take turns at optimal speeds and angles to make the best time around a professional style track. But the cars were not fun at all to drive. While the professional racer games aren't my favorite, at least in Shift many of the cars were really fun to drive and the physics were well done. Prostreet had none of those redeeming qualities.

It was also just as repetitive as Shift, if not more so. Racing the same(ish) races over and over to progress and make money was so much more tedious feeling than other NSF titles.

Drag racing was extremely poorly done. After I googled to find out what car to use and how to tune it, I never lost, and that was with using one of the first cars you have available to buy. It even makes it easy to win against even the king of drag racing. So almost no challenge at all.

If you liked Shift, give it a try, maybe you will like it. If you found Shift to be ok or just poor, then skip Prostreet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by lazygamer18 (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Need for speed: Prostreet is a nice gmae but it not getting a 10 because the controls are a little to numb. I try to sellect something and it dose not select! Still, it is a very nice game and the cars you can buy are very nice. My tip for new racers is be carful in corners, going to fast will make you total your car in grip and time attack races and in drag races try to keep your eyes on the shift meter and your preliferals on the road.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

so fun!

posted by leg_mcMuffin (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

ive always loved this game since it came out. its a classic. its a nice change from the usual nfs games. more realistic and down to earth compared to the donk rides on 22's in the other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by zombeelover (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is just amazing i think its the best need for speed game out there. The graphics are amazing and the wrecks look so realistic the cars have a amazing look and drive like a beauty i buy cars off of playstation network to put in this game and the cars are clearly the best. the customization is the best. soooo many opprotunities to make the car shine, to show your points of authority to beat the other drivers. once when you get to the top, it feels like a dream and i will not forget the races, long and short, the surroundings are just a sight to just slow down and enjoy the views of the desert, tundra, tropics, or the big city. And dont forget that 1 prson thats at the top that keeps pushing you down but just so happens that you get to just beat him and he feels like a looser. thats all i have to say and i advise everyone to at least give this game a shot and maybe you will like it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boooooo!

posted by Vidiot (KIRBYVILLE, MO) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2004

One of, if not THE worst racing game ever produced. I cannot believe that a group of developers was actually PAID to create this piece of garbage. Pro STREET? all the races are on closed tracks!! the drag racing mode is HORRIBLE! the shifting lacks proper timing in a major way and the lack of ability to purchase additional vehicles is a severe handicap, and this game in my opinion isn't worthy of the moniker Need For Speed. More like 'Piece of Dookie'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

3

posted by james1966 (CLEVELAND, TN) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

i do not like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Their Best Attempt

posted by MarineBio (SANTEE, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I like the NFS games and this one was good. I liked the structure of the game but it lacked any break from the monotonous playing. After several races I would leave it alone for weeks on end. Once you master any of the race types it looses any challenge. Nice to rent, buy if you collect the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse