Rent Need for Speed: ProStreet for Wii
view large frontback

Need for Speed: ProStreet

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

798 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

More realism/simulation than past NFS titles

posted by madcapr (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I personally like this game, because I enjoy realistic racing games. It isn't as good as the Gran Turismo series, but it is a well done game with realistic physics, tracks, and cars. Please understand before you rent this that it is a totally different style of racing than the previous several NFS titles. Here are the main points of why I rate this game a 7.

1- Decent graphics, but nothing to write home about.
2- Good sound effects, especially if you use the first person views and you have surround sound speakers. You can hear cars as they come up behind you on the left or right side.
3- Nice selection of cars. Not overwhelming, but a good mix of classics and newer models.
4- The controls are very well done. If you have a plastic steering wheel shell, the response of the steering is almost perfect. I like to shift manually, and that works well, too. Drag racing uses a vertical scheme that works well, also. The cars respond in a more realistic manner than some previous NFS titles, and therefore require you to brake and accelerate properly to do well.
5- You can actually damage your cars now, and even total them at times. You have to pay for repairs, or use vouchers that you can win. This adds more realism.
6- The tracks are realistic racing tracks. Again, if you like realism, this is a good thing.
7- Some of the "fun factor" is lost because the game is more realistic. You don't get to fly through the city at 100+ mph. You also don't get to "free roam" and race random people. There is a structured flow to the game.
8- The customization options are good as usual. You can buy packages, or tune individual parts. You can also win upgrades for winning races.

If you are expecting the same old NFS title, then you might be disappointed with this one. Otherwise, enjoy this game for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA Killed NFS, Again

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

As I strode over to my mailbox, I was greeted by Gamefly with NFS Prostreet for the Wii.
Glee!
I was always a NFS fan, playing almost every new one since porche unleashed on up to hot pursuit, underground 1 & 2, most wanted, and carbon. Now, the first thing one notices about Prostreet is that for the first time 4 generations of NFS, it isn't illegal street racing. I guess how you take it here is how much you liked the old stuff. Although it's great they are finally getting out of the city and the same look shown over and over, but once you play a few tracks, you'll miss the views. The setting takes place on some race tracks out in a desert somewhere. No buildings or other fancy things, just desert, a few gas stations, and some nifty sun effects. But, this can go either way. You can be glad/mad they stopped the inner city racing and mad/glad with the more legal desert road racing.

Customization is back again and allows for simple upgrades to full blown customization in almost every aspect. Nothing big here, most of the same from the last couple NFS.

Now, obviously, the big thing with Wii is the controls. Sadly, they just don't seem to work well. They give you three main options for control assists, where the computer will help a bit on turns and braking. It's nice, but, it still just doesn't seem responsive no matter which way you go. I felt that there was a limit to how far I could turn with the wii mote when I knew i should have been able to turn a bit more like in the previous games. The 'casual' setting, the one that gives the most help, makes the game a lot more playable, but makes one feel like their cheating, and 'king' the 'full experience' feels broken.

There is a 2 player mode that works well, which is expected, but beyond some quick races with friends and the single player race campaign, that's it.

No online.

This is what finally killed the game for me. Playing by myself is nice, but what good is it if I can't show off my awesome ride to the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The real good and bad...

posted by Ingenious (STILLWATER, OK) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like racing simple tracks with super cool cars that damaged realistically with nice graphics, then this is your game.

Pro :
- very nice design
- there are cheat codes
- nice cars
- nice customization
- drifting is more fun

Cons :
- Named ProStreet when you only race on TRACKS not REAL STREETS
- boring and/or tiresome minigames
- track design is very limited & its practically useless using many supercars when you accel to its max speed once or twice
- odd controls
- confusing interface (full of graphics and ads)
- Lots of ads in the game, especially during race
- bad & weak (if any) story
- no cops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible Controls, Confusing Game Setup

posted by 2rent2kid (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't even comment too much on this because we gave up on it rather quickly.

We drag racing fans so I thought this would be a hit with my husband. The controls were horrible, we did more damage to cars than I would have thought possible. Moreover, I would say we blew up our engines 75% of the time.

Setting up the races and cars were also not alot of fun. I didn't seem to get the car I requested, the car choices were very limited, and I didn't even know the 'types' of races they were offering--they primarily were not drag racing.

Also of note, no chance I could even encourage my young kids to play this--total frustration would have set in immediately.

Who knows, maybe we just didn't know what we were doing. But it's a game that's supposed to be fun--I shouldn't have to work too hard to be able to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Improved; But Buy Most Wanted For Under $20!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The fun factor got burned out!

I have to say that the graphics are not that bad and the controls are pretty good (accept for drag racing). The interface is a mess and the series has lost it's focus. It has better controls and graphics then Carbon; but the best of it all goes to Most Wanted. I still have to say no need to rent it (and possibly forget future titles). GT Pro Series surprisingly has better controls (despite the weird graphics) and lack of depth; maybe GT PS 2 will be a Gran Tourismo contender!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game stinks

posted by annonymous (LAKEWOOD, NJ) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

bad graphics, bad steering, the game stinks. if i could put 0 for a rating i would. do not get, waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by Richardsim (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I tried playing it, but I'm afraid that I'm going to fall asleep at the wheel. I hope EA stops with pro racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I have this game and played it a lot. I have a lot of cars and money and all my cars upgraded it was fun. Except I can't pop a wheelie worth anything. The graphics were pretty good . It was fun to play it on the steering wheel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the last equal NFS game

posted by stevenkage (SUBLIMITY, OR) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

i didnt really care much for this game. Need For Speed has always been about street racing. well, there is no street racing here. why? why basically change the game? if something's already good, dont screw with it! but the graphics were incredible on Wii, and the controls were fantastic.

also, this was the last NFS game that was the same for all consoles. ever since then, the Wii versions got knocked off from the glamorous Xbox 360, and PS3 versions. EA, why make the Wii owners suffer? all versions were equal! i guess they're racist or something. until they fix that problem, i will not buy another NFS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sinfull

posted by zxzx24 (MELBOURNE, FL) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

awful absolutly awful. There are almost no instructions and the ones that are there a confusing as for the graphics... there might as well be none its awfull like a game for a five year old unresponsive controls and you fell like your going slow unless you reach 80mph

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good, if you're in to ricers

posted by prime01 (SOUTHAVEN, MS) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

It doesn't feel fast. There were a hand full of "real" cars but mostly they were all ricer 4 bangers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Take racing to the streets and ditch the game

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Need for Speed: ProStreet takes a series that was doing so well and changed everything. What a way to take a driving game into a ditch.
First of all, let's talk about the way this game is set up. Unlike the open world model popularized by NFS: Underground and NFS: Most Wanted, ProStreet takes you through "race days", where you have to score enough points through several events to win or dominate the day. Not only did EA do away with the open world where you could explore and take random missions, but they force you to go through several events before you can advance.
Controls for the Wii are where the game really loses it's way. It uses the Wiimote in a sideways position. You tilt the remote left or right to steer. I know that the motion-sensor controls of the Wii are impressive, but can I please use an analog stick for a racing game? And for drag racing, you shift by violently thrusting your remote back and forth, often putting you back in neutral by mistake. Just use the D-Pad! It shouldn't be this difficult to move a car.
The graphics are nice, presentation value is high and the amount of licensed sponsors are suitably impressive. These are qualities NFS has possessed throughout it's history, though.
But then there's the soundtrack. ProStreet features one of the worst licensed soundtracks I've ever heard in a game. It's loud, obnoxious, confusing and highly repetitive. There are two versions of a song where a whiny girl band sings about Pac-Man... or Batman... or something. This is really shocking since NFS has traditionally implemented wonderful soundtracks. I guess everything slipped on this project.
Need for Speed is a great series with lots of wonderful installments. This is not one of them. If you need your speed, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best but something new

posted by seejay1990 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Well for everyone looking for illegal street racing, eluding cops, and destroying the city's trees with your ride.....sorry this is not the Need For Speed of old. The most drastic change in this game from the others is that you race entirely on a road-course type track. Its a bit of a bummer because i loved outrunning the police from the other series.There basically is not storyline to speak of. The only story there really is, is that your an unknown racer named Ryan Cooper and your working your way up through the ranking to become the top dog. Not very original but that's what it is. The graphics for the Wii are ok, nothing to brag about. Though the graphics are ok unlike the Xbox 360 and Ps3 versions when your wreck your car doesn't fall to pieces. On the 360 and the Ps3 bumpers fly off, rims shatter, windshields shatter and headlights break. You get none of that in the Wii version. The most you will get is the paint scratching, 5 secs of smoke that will turn off, and cracked windshields. The car customizing is pretty standard as far as Need For Speed games. nothing really special here. The one big bummer for this game is that there IS NO ONLINE PLAY!! With the racing only taking place on a closed track online play would be such a huge plus. Sadly there only is 2-player split screen. Boo nintendo! The control layout for the game is nice. The motion-control layout works great. Its better with a steering wheel such as the one from Mario Kart, or any other Wii wheel. No complaints from me. Overall compared to past games its a little bit on the weak side. But it is worth a rent, I personally wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not the best....

posted by luige360 (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

out of all the nfs this one wasn't what i expected u cant free roam and u have to stay one these tracks that are so easy the cars were really nice i have to admit but that's the only thing good about this game i would suggest
carbon
most wanted
underground 1,2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic game!

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

I've played a few of the previous Need for Speed games and was not impressed...However, this game impressed me so much that I chose to purchase it! It's got a great career mode, great cutscenes, hot chicks, and loud engines. The best part is the wii controls. You turn the wii-mote sideways and use it as a steering wheel. Then for drag races you hold the wii-mote like it's a gear shifter and shift from gear to gear. The graphics are even great for a Wii game. I don't really understand why nobody likes this game. I've gotten hours upon hours of fun out of it. It even has a multi-player mode for 2 players. You can choose from over 46 cars! This game is strait up racing and I find alot of fun out of damaging other peoples cars!

The only thing this game lacks is online play.

Definitely worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little repetitive

posted by oLderSKooL (APPLETON, WI) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

It's been said before, but the game gets a bit old after the first showdown. Making money to upgrade your car's is not a problem, and the selection of cars is pretty darn good. My WRX and Eclipse were in the roster so I was pleased. To date this is the best racing game on the Wii, overall as far as racing games go it's pretty good. The drag racing gets old fast and the speed challenges are actually kinda tough. I recommend trying it out, and buying it for those of you who enjoy a good car game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Driving Game EVER!

posted by wiiier (IRVINE, CA) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I rented this game because I bought Need for Speed: Carbon and it was pretty bad, and I thought ProStreet would be way better. WRONG! It is even worse than Carbon. When I pressed the "A" button to drift, I did a 360 and banged into a wall, and it said "HEAVY DAMAGE" and my car wouldn't move.

Don't Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good

posted by redhead73 (SILVERHILL, AL) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I didn't play the game but I watched my husband play and he was not really thrilled with it. He said it was ok but a little boring. He has played the one on the play station 2 and likes it better. Sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphic are better than Gamecube days

posted by Nin10doe (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I'm a graphics maniac and I tell the truth.
To me there are 3 levels of graphics
first level is the detail and quantity of items on the screen
second level is just plain textures and bulk effects
third level is lighting, transparencies, shadows and stuff.

NFSPS first level can get muddy sometimes, expecially when speed kicks in. Sometimes you have no idea where you are going and it hard to locate turns. Signs are low quality, no people cheering you on, nothing but your car, rival cars, signs, road, sky, and boundaries.
Second Level is pretty good. The cars paint jobs are plain no matter what finish you have but the second level shines when I noticed the bump mapping of the road, the smoke effects, the tire marks, the cracks in the road, the dirt kicked up from the tire look fantastic to me based on earler NFSs on Gamecube.
Third level is eye candy. Whatever is above, beside the car is projected on the car. Wow, much better than GC. The sun glistens on the road, chrome looks like chrome, shadows are true. Its nice.

The game is good until you realize how much you miss pimping out one ride to win all like the ole skool NFS.

I gave it a 7 because there more work to be done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by daveNsara (ATTICA, MI) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game was the worst game I have ever played! The first time playing it and will be the last time I play it for the Nitendo Wii. When playing split-screen the roads did not load correctly causing it to stop every 5-10 seconds to load the road. The graphics are also not very good, and I am very unsatisfied with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Red, Yellow, Green

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 24, 2008

Member since May 2007

Pros:
Graphics are really nice at 480. The intro movie and cutscenes look fantastic and cars are very detailed. Fairly easy to drive (I'll explain later).

Cons:
Lag, but manageable (I'll explain with driveability below). Need to practically turn your Wii-mote upside down to steer. Button assignments not very easy to initiate. I kept forgetting I can hand brake by pressing the A button, but don't because it feels too far away. I'm sure with little practice this problem will be solved.

This is a very polished title. Unfortunately, it doesn't feel that way because of so much lag. I realized that EA went to a lot of trouble making this game.

Steering. You have to tilt your Wii-mote so far out the way it feels like you're going to flip the dang thing over and twist your arms. However, there is no oversteer which I love about Prostreet.

In other Wii titles that had lag I would die or lose. Unusually, you can use the lag to your benefit to win races.

In the end, I fear that Prostreet will fall short for many gamers. I also feel that this is the best Need 4 Speed title at the same time the worst. Even though EA went to a lot of trouble graphically with fairly easy playability, it may not be a wonder title due to laggy graphics. I would prefer they had downgraded the graphics to solve the lag rather than trying to make it look next-gen. Hope they will learn from this and make a better NFS title specifically for the Wii.

I am going to keep this game for another day or two to decide if the lag will keep me from buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not too bad, be ready for ads

posted by BMagPDX (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

An overall fun game as long as you don't expect any depth. Not sure what previous reviewer meant by the interface, but I found it easy to work with, however you don't buy a game for the interface; instead, you buy it for how well it plays.

Good: The Wii controls are fun. Drag racing is simple and enjoyable requiring you to hold the Wiimote directly towards the screen, "popping" the Wiimote down to shift quickly while holding the gas with the "B" button. In normal racing you hold the Wiimote sideways like a steering wheel and turn it to steer, which I also found quite fun with a good accuracy. Graphics are pretty nice, physics also seem fairly realistic when breaking and turning.

Bad: Upgrade options for cars are a complete joke; case in point, say you want an engine upgrade and can only afford a Stage 1 upgrade, well you get three choices yet all three choices cost exactly the same and offer no difference in performance between the three. The same goes for every single upgrade in the game, different product names but no difference in price and no difference in performance other than Stage 1, 2, or 3; quite ridiculous.

Also, while we are on the upgrade portion, they spent a ridiculous amount of time allowing you to customize the look of your car (which could be good to some people,) for a non-multiplayer game which could, and should, have been used to actual performance modifications. Actual upgrades are overly simple, you can't go in and upgrade something like your cam or clutch plate. Also, all upgrades ONLY effect one of three tiers, so don't expect any particular upgrades to, say, improve shifting times.

Damage modeling is very weak, at best. Don't expect to see any bumpers dragging or dented body parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun Game, Bad Graphics!

posted by hogcia (LINDENHURST, NY) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I have the game for the PC, and the graphics are way better! I loved the PC version and figured I would like the wii’s version also. But the graphic are so bad that I can’t enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »