Rent Need for Speed: Nitro for Wii
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Nitro

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.0

527 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay game, leaves you unsatisfied

posted by Nin10freak (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I admit it, I am a moron for buying this game. the cars are under-done, the cut scenes are lame as can be, there is virtually no storyline, and you can win the entire thing in 10 hours of play, even if you are a completist.
But it does have this to its merit, the controls are tight and responsive and you have the option to select your control scheme, and the customization of the cars is exacting.
Even if you are a fan of the Need for Speed series this game is a SKIP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sadly disappointed

posted by 1dvsbstrd (SPRINGFIELD, NE) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I learned that this game was coming out for the Wii I was very excited. I literally created my gamefly account just to get this game. But, when I began to play I was disappointed almost immediately. Previous need for speed games have provided a racing experience that was exciting as well as accessible. This game however is so accessible that it losses all of its fun. The steer assist that is meant to make driving with the Wiimote easier totally ruins the game, and when you shut it off it still seems to be there; just to a lesser extent. In short, if you want to introduce your young child to racing games this is your chance. But, if your an old fan of the need for speed franchise you will probably be sadly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucked

posted by ladybugandcoco (WOODBURY, TN) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it sucked. worst need for speed ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by natedawg99 (CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really do not understand why people keep making such juvenile, ridiculous games for the wii. I would not spend any more time on this worthless game if they paid me to. Horrible graphics, horrible game play, atrocious controls, and a flimsy (that's being nice) story round out this sorry excuse of a game. I debated on the game even being worth writing about. I really hope that these game makers realize that the wii has untapped potential that is not being utilized in these poorly designed games for five year olds. I am sick of seeing other consoles getting better and better while the wii circles the toilet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor excuse for entertainment

posted by midnightm (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game felt cartoony and was not well done filled with stereotypes and not even close to fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good racing game for the wii!

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

this is one game that i bought instead of rented party as i am a need for speed fan.

but for the wii it about time we get a game designed around the wii. the game looks great! races are white knuckle and a lot of fun. controls are good easy to get into whether using tilt or classic controller one of the pros is you can use the controller you want and they work very well. the car customization was done really well, you can spend hours just perfecting the right paint job for your Volkswagen bug :)

multiplayer action is fun and well done.

the only draw backs i had with the game are somewhat minor. no online play (come on guys! in this day in age its expected of any game!)

and no free roam. (nothing like taking your fav ride for a joy ride and seeing how mad the cops can get at you! since you cant do that in real life :) legally anyway

game is great to rent on own for your library

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Super Kiddy

posted by xN3ed2Kill (RIVERDALE, GA) May 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The Cars Look Like Freaking Hot Wheel Cars. They Could Have Done A WHOLE LOT BETTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO GOOD

posted by ericwade (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The controls on this game suck. Graphics suck. do not send this game 2 ur house. waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Carbons little brother

posted by dmac167 (ABSECON, NJ) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Just bad. No skill required to play this game. As a huge fan of Carbon city I have been waiting for anything similar. This is not it. Child like game play, no story line, rivals who aren't rivals.

Bored after lap 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For Older Kids 7 and older

posted by cls7102 (HANOVER, MD) May 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

We rented this game because our 4 year old loved the Mario Kart Racing game so we too a chance on this one. The game itself is boring and the most excitement is the police sirens that can come after you. The other "good" thing is the different cars you can choose but once you play about three or more times it becomes very boring.

Go with Mario Kart for lil ones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a great racing game but next time, Add online

posted by MatthewX (JUSTIN, TX) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a great racing experience,

Pros
Great controls when you aren't using tilt
Sharp visuals
good story
Impressive audio
Amazing sense of speed
amazing car customzation

Cons
Controls take some getting use to
No Online Play What the heck
No sharing
Limited tracks
Camera is restrictive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fail overall.

posted by Thesap (NORCO, CA) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing like Need for speed series..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by gSe7eN (MARIETTA, OH) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Words fail to express how terrible this game is. Playing this game is an insult to your taste. If you don't believe me, rent it and try it out. Graphics rival that of the original playstation, play control is a joke, the "flavor" of the game world is absolute cartoon rubbish, the sound quality is way below par, even for a rubbish game such as this. EA should be embarrassed and ashamed for having written the code of this absolute piece of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NOT Need for Speed...

posted by smithlane (GARLAND, TX) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Think: Need for Speed tight gameplay & Cruisin' cartoonish graphics. I just really can't believe this actually is acknowledged by the NfS franchise. Overall gameplay is actually pretty good, but in NO WAY lives up to the quality graphics & environments I love NfS for...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by awesomebob (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

this game is a fun blast from the past the grafics arent the best but it is a pretty good game just wish it was able to be bought

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nitro Dude

posted by esc (HAMPTONVILLE, NC) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game isn't top on my list, but it works. The controls are wacky, the cars and towns look dumb, and the AI drive perfectly. It's hard, but it's a challenge. If you need a game that gives you a test, this is it. If you're one of those guys that likes a game that looks and feels real, this is NOT for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the Best Wii Games Out There!

posted by zachs7 (METROPOLIS, IL) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I really don't care to much for the wii, but this game is pretty good. Out of the mear 50 wii games I've played, I've only found 3 good ones. They are Crusin', Wii Play, and NFS Nitro. I'm also a NFS fan so that maybe the reason I like this game. The only 2 things I don't like about this game are the graffics (they are too cartoonish), and the emblems on cars, like the lambos, are too big.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its awesome

posted by nyancat5000 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

its very awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by whitenight (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i love the multiplayer elimination mode!!!!!! The story mode is really fun but they could do better with the graphics. but i love this game because i'm the biggist need for speed fan. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not better than carbon

posted by MelissaTheGamer (RENSSELAER, NY) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is ok , i think nfs carbon is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OH YEAH NICE GAME!

posted by AdamCar (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This is a super nice game. Although it can improve.PS.LOOKS LIKE Fast n Furious with the wheelie. Its pretty good when you unlocked everything(Especcially the zonda) Man it is a fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Need for Speed

posted by CrdvJavier (TULSA, OK) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Stories are never really a main concern on most racing games. But Need for Speed is always the exception for that. The series is known for its cheesy story line that they try to accomplish. Nitro brings it to the Wii in this exclusive cartoony arcade version of Need for Speed.

The controls are simple and are accessible in every combination possible. You can use just the wiimote, nunchuk, wheel, classic or gamecube controller. While a joystick is more precise, the tilt control is the most fun. The game's main concept this time around is speed, which is ironic due to the series lack of it. The fast paced racing comes with over exaggerated speed and a bad camera that can determine the race for you. Sometimes the camera makes it where you can't see past your own car. Its very hard to see when the tracks have the same color and the obstructions are badly placed.

There is an arcade mode and a career mode. You can play from 1-4 players. The career can be played with co-op, but they're just guests. They can help you in tight situations, but your total outcome isn't combined, its merely a second chance to win.

You should try this game if you want a break from serious street racing. Customization is the games strong point. You can change the graffiti that is used to paint the street whenever you're in first place. Change the color, add parts, and add from a large collection of logos anywhere you want. Its 30 arcade style cars have replaced more realistic powerhouses and can be used in 15 tracks total. They may not have the sense and sound of a real car, but this game can be fun when you have the need for speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

naah!

posted by cgh1321 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I have recently enjoyed all classic need for speed games on the PS2. I thought "Heck Yeah...Multi-player Need for speed" Boy was I let down...I beat the first circut in on night and sent it right back. The game has decent graphics just not as good as Most wanted or 2...Glad I rented it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Review for Need for Speed Nitro.

posted by Orbits20 (ANNISTON, AL) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is a great game. Actually the second best Racing game on the wii next to Mario Kart. The Frame Rate is very smooth ( 60 Frames per Second) and there are many different control styles. The game is fun and a little challenging. You get a certain amount of stars on each level. When you get all the stars on every event in each location you unlock collectible cars which are already customized. You can also buy cars and customize them once you have unlocked them. There are Three cups and each cup have different cars. From class C,B and A. The levels kinda get just a bit repetitive but it makes up for it in fun engaging multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fufills the need for a short while

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

The Need for Speed is all about the underground, illegal racing, but in this installment, The Need for Speed: Nitro, feels very - well, legal.
There's really no need to keep an eye out for the cops to bust you for the "illegal" street racing.
You pick you car (you start off with one, but will easily get more later on) pick a track from the first of six spots, Rio De Janeiro, and go racing. (The other five are Cairo, Madrid, Singapore, Dubai, and Grand Prix) There are six events
The first one is a simple race against the AI/other players, the second is an elemination race (after 30 seconds, the driver in last place is eliminated), the third is a race against a clock, the fourth is a drifting contest to see who can fishtail the most, the fifth is a drag race down a mostly straight track, and the last one is a speed camera where to have to go as fast as you can in certain spots of the track.
For the races (normal race, drag race, elimination race), you get one star for third, two for second and three stars for first.
In the normal race/elimination race, you can get a star for having a lap time better than a set lap time, and you get a star by doing a lot of "style" points (having the lead of a race, drifting, jumping and so on.)
The Speed Camera level awards stars for your total speed through one lap of a course, and the race against the clock awards stars on how fast you complete the course.
With these stars, you unlock several cars (there are 33 to get here), more levels on a city, then more cities.
You goal: to get to and win the Grand Prix, a six race tournament. Then you get to do it all over again with more powerful cars, and then one more time with the best cars in the game.
Problem is, this game can get real old real fast; there are only ten tracks available, some events are just repeats of other events, and this game should have an online mode.
But Need for Speed: Nitro can be fun - for short periods of time. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »