Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted for PS Vita
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U
GF Rating
7.6

217 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome adition to the Vita family

posted by jfuse1212 (WORCESTER, MA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have only scratched the surface of the game, but already i am pumped to go out and explore the open world and find all the new cars. The "easy rider" menu is super easy to navigate and a cool change to the normal formulas of racing games since you don't have to stop mid action (if you are good enough to multitask with driving and navigating menus) i do not have the ps3 version so i can't compare, but i hear it is the same exact game, with just dumb down graphics, but the graphics on here are one of the bests i've seen on the device. Deff a must have for vita owners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!

posted by msmusicmaker (DECATUR, GA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is seriously the best racer out on the Vita right now. The gameplay is excellent and comparable to the console versions. Although the graphics are not as crisp and sharp as the console versions, they are absolutely stunning for a handheld. They also managed to fit the entire map on the Vita, which is absolutely amazing. The multiplayer is confusing initially, but after playing one online match you quickly get the hang of it (you will certainly have lots of fun with it)! I highly recommend for any racing fan.

Pros:
-Amazing graphics overall
-The entire map is in the game..no roads left out.
-Gameplay is comparable to console versions

Cons:
-4 Player multiplayer is okay, but 8 is more preferable.
-Some graphical hiccups here and there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best racer on Vita

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
--------------------------
Simply put the Vita version of the game is almost identical to the PS3 version. The graphics are not as good and the amount of traffic is less. This is simply the best racer on the Vita.

Pros
-------------------------
1) good graphics
2) controls well
3) a true Vita port of the console game

Cons
------------------------
1) multiplayer is a little confusing at first as you need to meet up for events before they start
2) minor graphical issues (texture load, etc)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Handheld Racing Game To Date

posted by Severen (GRAHAM, WA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed Most Wanted for PS Vita

+ Fun and Challenging game.
+ Great Graphics and Frame Rate.
+ Unique Game Design and Menus.
+ Open World Racer with tons of cool cars to drive.
+ Great Sound Effects.
+ Feels like a sequel to Burnout Paradise.
+ Crashes look great and the cars get pretty smashed up.

- Controls are a little sensitive and take a few to get used to.
- Difficulty ramps up quickly if you do not get first place in every race.
- Sometimes it can be hard to see oncoming traffic in some areas.

Overall great game for the PS Vita. Nice looking graphics and solid frame rate, great sound effects, menu design is unique and keps you in the game. Tons of cars are available and have their own races which is different and cool. The game is really fun but the difficulty does ramp up real quick if you dont get the 1st place prizes in the early races for each car. Also the controls take some getting used to since the sticks are really sensitive. Once you do it is power sliding heaven. I have not had this much fun with a racing game since Burnout Paradise on PS3. This game really does remind me of that game and since Criterion has been making Need For Speed games instead of Burnout games this is probably the closest we are going to get to a Paradise sequel especially for Vita. Really great game and an instant recommend to any arcade racing fans and racing fans in general. If you liked the Burnout games then this is the game for you on the go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing on PS Vita

posted by Berbrow (Woodacre, CA) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Has console quality graphics in a mobile form. It looks to be a port, but a very good one. The physics of the cars is whats the most impressive about the game. The world streams much like Grand Theft Auto games. Some times a bit hard to see text in the game for the menu, also the accelerator and the brake are defaulted as left bumper and right bumper. The game is very fun, a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An excellent game

posted by emordecai (FREMONT, CA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I ended up buying this game. I didn't think the Vita could actually handle this level of graphics, physics and speed, but it can without a problem. Very fun with a ton of races, cars and upgrades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this really a Criterion game?

posted by WRR377 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I tried playing it after constant harassment to log in to Origin for in-game ads and spying. .. errr... "online features", but it is hard to play a racing game when cars steer like they were on ice! Jamming the control stick to the extreme throw possible cause a turning response on the order of "meh". Every car I tried handles horribly and therefore make it impossible to win many races because you're constantly crashing when trying to turn!

I'd give this a zero if I could! Ridge Racer on the PS1 handled better than this piece of junk!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Didn't work.

posted by phreak311 (PARKERSBURG, WV) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I rented the PS Vita for my son. It wouldn't work in his Vita or mine. It would say touch screen to start and that's it. Both our Vita systems work fine with all our other games. I even updated it through the Internet and it still didn't work. Maybe I got a bad copy of the game?

Other than that I'm sure it's a great game. We'll try renting it again later or we'll rent it for another system :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Review for this game

posted by tron365 (MATAWAN, NJ) Jan 16, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

Good but gets boring after a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by DABombBro (ALBERTVILLE, MN) Jul 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Don't let the one ignorant review that gives this game a 1 for no reason throw you off! This is by far the best Ps Vita game I have played! The only thing you need to make sure that you do is get 1st in the early/easy races for as many different cars as possible. Overall this game gets a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by rudydh (GILBERT, AZ) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Worst game ever, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great First Vita Experience

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

NFS Most Wanted was my first real experience playing a game on the PS Vita and I was impressed. The graphics are excellent, the game plays similar to the console and I will likely keep this version over the console as I think it will keep my playing my hand held. The controls are easy to use and the game is a lot of fun. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatness

posted by maverick444 (PINE GROVE, PA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This is a game that proves that there are possibilities that other games have simply missed. The open world of this game loads smoothly and, while there is not as much traffic as the console version, there is enough to do so that this is not even noticed. If you own a Vita and want the platform to continue, support high quality like this.

Graphically, this is a shining example of what can be truly done on the Vita. Where games like Asphalt and others have failed to impress, this game looks stunning with appropriate lighting, shines one the vehicles and smooth framerated.

The gameplay is interesting and fun. The different cars feel different. The truck handles different from the sports car. The ability to earn upgrades through races and then upgrade those parts made each race a necessity and constantly drove me to reach for that next goal.

The menu is equally polished and easy to navigate. It feels less like a menu and more like an intuitive way to access everything in your arsenal. If you want to change cars, simply check through the menu to find those cars that you have located. Want to retry a race? The menu will take you directly to races that you have already attempted. If you want to find a new race or the most wanted cars, the menu will put the route on the minimap which is another bright spot of the menu system.

The only negative items are that the graphics are not as strong as the console, but I still say that this is a fascinating game graphically on the handheld. There are only 4 players for multiplayer but that is not a personal issue because I prefer the single player. The final gripe is one that should be taken lightly. There are over 40 cars in this game and I just wish there were more. I know, greedy, but it is not a bad thing to want more of this game! Each car has many different areas to edit so even those 40 cars could take plenty of time to get all of the upgrades and then upgrade those items.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »